Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

HERTER'S Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

We've teamed up with the premier Russian ammunition manufacturer to bring you this winning combination of high-quality, low-priced non-corrosive ammo. Polymer-coated steel cases cycle smoothly. 62-grain hollow-point bullets.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Review 1 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2012

Great Bang for the Bucks

By
Location: Mason Oh
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought 500 rounds of this for my new S&W MP Sport AR15 I have shot more than half and not had one misfire or jam nothing.
I like this better than the FMJ rounds I got at the gun show.
I highly recomend this ammo. No reason not too!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2012

Good value

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have gone through a few thousand rounds of this ammunition in three different AR's (DD, RRA, and STAG). No issues.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2012

great deal

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The ammo I bought is great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012

goes down range fine

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Goes through the 8 cycling steps of the AR-15 with no problems.
Load magazine, insert, charge, pull trigger, no worries
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2011

Works for me

By
Didn't keep exact count but have run several boxes through my Saiga .223 and through my self assembled AR15 with no failures at all. I have a scope on the AR and I was very happy with the groups at 50yds. Groups are as good as any other ammo I have used. I'm just a plinker and have a 50 yd range here at home so I'm very happy with this ammo and am buying more to ad to the stock pile.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2010

Reliable Ammo

By
Location: Utah County
I purchased 500 rounds for my SW MP-15 5.56 Nato. During a training course I went through 400 rounds using 20 round MasterMoulder mags and the rest with Magpul 30 round magazines. Not a single jam or failure. Another person in the class had the same setup with no problems. Would purchase this ammo again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2014

Just as expected

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Worked as expected no problems
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013

Herter's .223 HP Ammo & Storage Box

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Great range ammo, no problems at all. Nice that it comes with an ammo storage can. I liked this ammo so much I ordered more. And I will again too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2012

Good ammo for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Outstanding value, very good plinking ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2012

Functions fine, slightly under powered

By
I have run this in a CMMG bargin bin AR and it ran without a hitch. My Bushy Patrolman's carbine didn't seem to care for it. I had a couple of stuck cases that I needed to knock out with a cleaning rod.
Both were clean and the Bushy was cleaned again with a chamber brush and it still happened so I attribute that to the gun. The CMMG ran great, and that's why I bought that gun. I wanted to shoot steel cased during the winter and when it is very muddy out so I don't have to pick up brass.
One thing I noticed was a green'ish build up behind the gas rings on the CMMG. It might have happened if I shot more through the Bushmaster, but I didn't notice on the bushy. It came right off after soaking in Hoppe's, my standard method of cleaning the bolt carrier and bolt.
I got the Herters back when it was 189/1k delivered. I would buy it again in a heartbeat if it got close to the same price difference that and brass.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2011

GOOD BANG FOR THE BUCKS

By
Location: BAYTOWN TX
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I HAVE HAD BUT ONE DUD OUT OF A HUNDRED ROUNDS.THATS NOT BAD FOR THE MONEY.I HAVE PURCHASED SOME MORE AMMO.THIS AMMO WORKS WELL IN MY XM-15.I DO NOT RAPID FIRE.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2011

Decent for the price

By
Location: Jonesboro, ARKANSAS
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought a 1000 rds. to run through my brand new SAIGA .223. I have shot approx. 400 rds. and have had (3) stove pipes. I'm pretty sure that when my SAIGA wears itself in a bit these rounds will cycle very well. I intend to buy another 500 rds, to be sure. If all goes well, I will load up with this ammo as my primary go to stuff. If they turn out to be junk I will post another review saying so. Besides, they're HP. It may be my Russian rifle likes Russian ammo!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2012

Not Bad

By
Location: NJ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I shot about 100 rounds of this ammo in my XM15 and its ok stuff. Initial feed seems to lack probably because of the steel casing. I had to cycle the charging handle more than once on a few occasions to get the ammo to lock in. Just to see how it measured up I used UMC brass in comparison, there is a noticeable difference. The buffer spring would make a noise when using this ammo where brass went off without a hitch. Overall it is useable ammo and would buy again at a good price, but it is not a clear cut alternative to brass ammo. Use with knowledge that it is not the best stuff, but effective at the range as long as you check the gun internals regularly plus the ammo and gun are well lubed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2012

tula ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought some of this ammo and it preformed very poorly in 5 of my 6 ar's. It would only work in the mil spec gun. the head stamp says its tula ammo. If your gun is not mil spec I would not recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's .223 62 gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2010

Caution!!!!!

By
Location: Hammond, IN.
Read reviews under other package size. Used in Ruger SR-556 had 3 jams out of 60 rounds had to leave the range and go home!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.