Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

HERTER'S Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

After an intensive worldwide search for high-quality, low-priced ammo, we returned home successful! This great-shooting noncorrosive ammunition is loaded by the premier Russian manufacturer with over 125 years of experience. Polymer-coated steel cases cycle smoothly. 150-grain FMJ bullets. Non-corrosive.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.045 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
18 out of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Review 1 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Golden Valley MN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo for Cetme

Date:March 14, 2012
Purchased 4 20 round boxes of this along with a few boxes of 7.62 NATO ammo from Winchester. My Cetme did NOT like the more expensive 7.62 NATO ammo AT ALL! This .308 steel cased ammo from Herters worked FLAWLESSLY during break in for my rifle and I will now ONLY use it for my Cetme! I love this stuff! Great price and my Rifle LOVES IT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good Ammo

Date:April 7, 2014
I have run almost 1000 rounds of the Herters international .308 through my FAL without problems. Dirty? Yes. Smelly? Yes. Half the price of Brass? Yes. Great practice ammo, shoots tight groups at 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Ammo

Date:December 10, 2012
After spending many hours scouring the net and local gun shops for a reasonable price on .308 ammo, so far this is the lowest I have encountered. Better yet, this ammo functions great! After 300 rounds through my DPMS LR-308 Oracle, so far I have not had a single FTF or FTE. Will definitely buy more. A+
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308 DPMS AR10 Works good

Date:August 20, 2012
I bought a case of this about a month ago to break in my new DPMS AR 10. I ran 125 rounds through without a single FTF!! No Jams and every group of 10 was ejected about 3 feet away and within 2ft of each other on the ground. Very consistent. Used it to rough sight my gun at 100 yds yesterday. Got 3 inch groups standing with no support. Pretty decent for cheap stuff. This ammo is DIRTY!! 1st 25 rounds of break-in have to be cleaned after every round. Brushed bore then took 3-5 patches to get clean. I would definitely recommend for any rifle that eats ammo!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works fine in my bolt!

Date:June 7, 2012
For the price, this ammo can't be beat. They work fine in my Remington 700 and actually fed better then the more expensive brass ammo! The only downside is I can't shoot this at my local range since the bullet is copper coated steel, but I can shoot the all day long at my buddy's ranch! If you can shoot this, I would recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

IMPRESSIVE SO FAR!

Date:March 11, 2012
I got a 500 rd. case about a month ago & decided to use it to sight in my new EOTECH HWS on a M1A Scout Squad rifle. I only used a couple of boxes total, but once I got it set, I was able to shoot sub 2" groups of 4 in no time. Much more accurate than I expected, and also much cleaner. The primers looked a bit deeper set than others, but no misfires or jams. You might want to take all this with a grain of salt, as I've heard the Springfield's will eat just about any ammo. I won't be using the same brand .223/5.56, as its price difference isn't enough to make me switch from brass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Raleighwood
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Steel case? Russian?

Date:March 1, 2012
Bought my 500rnds. In 2011 on sale. Shoots great in my DSA FAL. Noticed a ball o fire on one round fired. May be a ball of fire on all but didn't notice. Shows accuracy potential. Shot 60 rnds with no problems. Would not recommend this ammo for a fine gun like a BAR or a high grade bolt gun. DSA does not recommend this type of ammo (aluminum or steel case with lacquer finish) in their guns but it works in mine as I expected it to. An FAL should digest anything.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: East Syracuse, New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad Investment

Date:February 27, 2012
Do NOT- repeat- do NOT buy this ammo. Spend a few dollars more for the good stuff. Too many FTFs and jams. It is not worth it. Go instead with Winchester, Federal, etc.. You get what you pay for, and I certainly paid. Learn from my mistake.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

unbelieveably accurate

Date:February 18, 2012
Looks like Russian Wolf ammo but more accurate by far. Works good ina Armalite AR-10, not so good in a Browning BAR hunting rifle. Too many no fires because primer too hard or in case too deep. Cabelas please call them and tell them about the primers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters .308

Date:January 29, 2012
greta ammo at a great price. much cleaner than some surplus ammo i was shooting. nice groups at 200 yards with my M1A. next time i'll buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oakland,ME
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

in my ar-10

Date:January 23, 2012
so far only 150 rds down range but no probs yet ammo looks good.even lines up with drop dots on my burris ar 332 for the money what else can you ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad Batch?

Date:December 25, 2011
I bought 500 rounds of .308 of this for practice thinking I was getting a great deal. All the primers were seated too deep and would not fire in my AR10. However, they did work in my bolt rifle. And after they were fired, I noted the primers actually blew to a proper seating in the casing. I also bought 500 .223 and they were just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bourbon, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo and price

Date:December 3, 2011
Ran 40 rnds through my L1A1 (FN-FAL type) as fast as I could pull the trigger and had no issues with feeding or function. Considering all 40 went down range in less than a minute the 6 1/2 " group at 100 yards was better than expected. This ammo was cleaner than the surplus ammo I had been shooting. I highly recommend it and IMHO for the cost you can't find better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Flint, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Timely

Date:August 2, 2011
This is the second time I have ordered from Cabelas and both times I have been completely satisfied with the delivery time. Products ship right away and arive quickly. As for the Herters ammo I just bought, I will report back. The ammo came in before the gun, but I will make sure to share my thoughts on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:July 6, 2011
Used Ruger M77 1.5'' group at 100. 4.0'' at 300 8.0'' at 600. No missfires. very impressive for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

misfires

Date:March 17, 2011
The ammo is good as long as you don't mind every 4th or 5th round not going off. The primers are too hard for my DPMS SASS .308
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Somewhere in PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Cheap Ammo & a Hint for Cabela's

Date:December 27, 2010
This stuff works good in all my .308's, including my AR-10, a little under powered & a tad dirty, but for the price I am NOT complaining. (4 out of 5)
However, I wish Cabela's would start selling individual boxes of this stuff on their website, in addition to bulk sales.
HINT, HINT Cabela's. Sell this ammo individually on the website like all the other Herters Ammo (Please & Thank you). It would increase your sales!
Cabela's continues to be my number #1 source for all my ammo needs for competitive sport shooting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

save your money

Date:December 12, 2010
undercarged so it does not cycle my ar 10. also extremely dirty only fired 14 rounds (manually cycling them in) before 40 match federal and guns internals were black. also blinding flash out of a 20" barrel. bad stuff sorry i even ran 14 through my rifle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressed

Date:December 8, 2010
Better than I expected. I noticed 1 loose primer out of the fist box after ejection but thats it. Excellent accuracy, 1" groups @ 100 Yds. The soft steel cases were giving on the mags and the action of my SOCOM 16. Cycled perfectly. Seemed much cleaner than the wolf & Tula stuff that I've burnt through my AR15's. Cheap & fun to shoot, will buy (allot) more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Steel Cased Ammo

Date:September 8, 2010
Wolf's had big hassles with their .308 ammo - like hard primers, unseated primers, case head separation, all kinds of bad stuff that limited it to bolt guns.
Herter's is also from Russia (probably down the street in Tula as well), but it's not the same as the Wolf's. The primers are set properly, aren't too hard or too soft, and the stuff is reliable and shoots well. It works flawlessly in my FAL - as consistent as SA milsurp or Silver Bear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22