Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HERTER'S Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.17 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
39 out of 47(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Review 1 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff for AK & SKS

Date:March 12, 2014
Fired 300 roundsof Herters 7.62x39 FMJ through my Chinese SKS and Russian AK-47. No failures to feed or duds. Just bought another 500. Great stuff especially when on sale and using the CLUBFIVE shipping discount.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deal for a first buy !

Date:March 12, 2014
I was a little anxious about this order, it being my first from Cabela's and of course ammo beng non returnable or (I imagine, even price adjusted).
But when it arrived (late due to weather).
I am very pleased to say that I like the boxes (ammo cans) and the ammo shoots great, a little smokey on a quiet day.
It was rather accurate at both 45 Yds and very good at 25 Yds, Got on paper consistently at 100 Yds.
It loads OK and cycles perfectly in my old (2005) Bushmaster. Every round has fired perfectly, non "cooked off" even with a warm barrel. This is great bulk "shoot um up" target ammo at a great price.
I would not hesitate to buy it again, but having bought allot of it, I think I'm good for quite a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent all around

Date:October 29, 2013
This ammo is excellent good price and good quality
all in one package
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very happy

Date:October 29, 2013
i would buy again very good ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:October 22, 2013
Shoots well through all my guns
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:October 22, 2013
work fine in a new Mini Thirty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:October 4, 2013
I ran about 150 rounds through my brand new Arsenal SLR-101s with no issues at all. The ammo is stamped Tula Ammo. This is just repackaged Tula.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AAA

Date:September 17, 2013
FAST SHIPPING, EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition wi

Date:September 10, 2013
Get it when you can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Complaints

Date:September 4, 2013
Not sure what kind of guns some of the other reviewers have, but my new Bulgarian ate up all 1000 rounds in one session without any misfires, jams, etc. In addition, my barrel barely had any dust or needed cleaning at all even with emptying 40 round clips within several seconds...as fast as my finger could action it. Accuracy was typical and nothing to complain about.
The price is great and as low or lower than anything else I can find. Quick delivery to front door. Dry boxes are a nice addition. Will be buying more and recommend highly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good

Date:August 28, 2013
My son and I just emptied four 20 rd Tapco mags though a Chinese SKS using this ammo. Not a single ftf or jamming issue. I know that's not a lot of rounds but they all went boom. They'll sure heat the barrel real quick! I like these rounds so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good SKS ammo

Date:December 11, 2012
Ammo shoots great and it's cheep. The ammo box is a must have 8)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 27, 2012
The ammo came in a great dry storage box and was shipped quickly and nothing was damaged. Can't wait to take it to the range to see how it fires.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rounds, good price

Date:October 17, 2012
Ive fired over 500 rounds through my sks and never once have i had a FTF or FTE. These rounds are great to shoot and just not on the wallet either. Im getting great groupings at 100 yards (about 10 inches) and Ive never had a problem with them being too dirty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:September 11, 2012
best ammo for the money....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's 7.62x39 mm IS reliable ammo

Date:July 28, 2012
I have been using Herter's for almost a year in my Romainian AK-47, mainly because it is cheap. I have shot slow-fire, short bursts and emptied 30 rnd mags as fast as I could pull the trigger. Haven't kept a close count but have fired probably well over 1,000 rounds with ZERO problems.
Recently had a few FTE's in my new Century Centurion AK style assault pistol but probably because it is 100% American made with tighter tolerances than the Eastern European AK-47's. It is still new and tight but should eject better when broken in. Most problems with this ammo seem to be with non-AK-47 rifles (e.g., Ruger mini 30).
It is a little dirty -- like all Russian ammo but not a problem for me considering the low cost. If you have trouble with this ammo, you'll probably have to switch to a much more expensive domestic brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty darn good ammo

Date:March 31, 2012
I have 3 different SKS's, made by 3 different manufacturers-Yugoslavian, Russian, And Chinese Norinco. I've had serious problems with other ammo brands- FTF, FTE,etc.- but NEVER a problem with Herter's ammo. It's the ammo I use exclusively when I want to plink w/my SKS's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Home of the N.O.Saints. La.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Problems

Date:January 25, 2012
I bought 500 rds of 122gr FMJ. I shot 200 rds, some at rapid fire and never had a problem with my WASR 10/63 AK47.
After reading the reviews, it appears the shooters having the problems are using mini 30s.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable and Economical

Date:January 11, 2012
I would say my fail to fire rate is MAYBE 1 out of 500 which I find to be great for mass produced steel cased ammunition. I tell all my friend's to buy this stuff in quantity. If you have a failure to chamber or eject issue you should be looking at your rifle and magazine combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo

Date:December 29, 2011
I bought 500 rounds a while back and finally got around to shooting some last month. This stuff was great! My WASR 10 not only ate it up but at 50 yards it was going EXACTLY where I wanted it. I was getting groups of less than 1 inch with iron sights. And for me that's saying something. When it comes to shooting I'm average at best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 47