Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
43 out of 51(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Review 1 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2014

Shoots great!

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
AK 47 will eat this all day long with no problem!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014

Good Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is good ammo, never had a failure to fire or to feed. I got this in a bulk buy that was on sale and the price was excellent. Will continue to buy and shoot this ammo!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014

Great deal !

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Great range ammo. No problems at all. Also a great price on shipping too !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014

Good stuff for AK & SKS

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Fired 300 roundsof Herters 7.62x39 FMJ through my Chinese SKS and Russian AK-47. No failures to feed or duds. Just bought another 500. Great stuff especially when on sale and using the CLUBFIVE shipping discount.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014

Great Deal for a first buy !

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was a little anxious about this order, it being my first from Cabela's and of course ammo beng non returnable or (I imagine, even price adjusted).
But when it arrived (late due to weather).
I am very pleased to say that I like the boxes (ammo cans) and the ammo shoots great, a little smokey on a quiet day.
It was rather accurate at both 45 Yds and very good at 25 Yds, Got on paper consistently at 100 Yds.
It loads OK and cycles perfectly in my old (2005) Bushmaster. Every round has fired perfectly, non "cooked off" even with a warm barrel. This is great bulk "shoot um up" target ammo at a great price.
I would not hesitate to buy it again, but having bought allot of it, I think I'm good for quite a while.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013

Excellent all around

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This ammo is excellent good price and good quality
all in one package
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013

very happy

By
i would buy again very good ammo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013

Great Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Shoots well through all my guns
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013

Great value

By
work fine in a new Mini Thirty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2013

Good stuff

By
I ran about 150 rounds through my brand new Arsenal SLR-101s with no issues at all. The ammo is stamped Tula Ammo. This is just repackaged Tula.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2013

AAA

By
FAST SHIPPING, EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2013

Herter's 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition wi

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Get it when you can.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2013

No Complaints

By
Not sure what kind of guns some of the other reviewers have, but my new Bulgarian ate up all 1000 rounds in one session without any misfires, jams, etc. In addition, my barrel barely had any dust or needed cleaning at all even with emptying 40 round clips within several seconds...as fast as my finger could action it. Accuracy was typical and nothing to complain about.
The price is great and as low or lower than anything else I can find. Quick delivery to front door. Dry boxes are a nice addition. Will be buying more and recommend highly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2013

So far so good

By
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
My son and I just emptied four 20 rd Tapco mags though a Chinese SKS using this ammo. Not a single ftf or jamming issue. I know that's not a lot of rounds but they all went boom. They'll sure heat the barrel real quick! I like these rounds so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

Good SKS ammo

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Ammo shoots great and it's cheep. The ammo box is a must have 8)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2012

Great Ammo

By
The ammo came in a great dry storage box and was shipped quickly and nothing was damaged. Can't wait to take it to the range to see how it fires.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2012

Good rounds, good price

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Ive fired over 500 rounds through my sks and never once have i had a FTF or FTE. These rounds are great to shoot and just not on the wallet either. Im getting great groupings at 100 yards (about 10 inches) and Ive never had a problem with them being too dirty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012

great ammo

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
best ammo for the money....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2012

Herter's 7.62x39 mm IS reliable ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have been using Herter's for almost a year in my Romainian AK-47, mainly because it is cheap. I have shot slow-fire, short bursts and emptied 30 rnd mags as fast as I could pull the trigger. Haven't kept a close count but have fired probably well over 1,000 rounds with ZERO problems.
Recently had a few FTE's in my new Century Centurion AK style assault pistol but probably because it is 100% American made with tighter tolerances than the Eastern European AK-47's. It is still new and tight but should eject better when broken in. Most problems with this ammo seem to be with non-AK-47 rifles (e.g., Ruger mini 30).
It is a little dirty -- like all Russian ammo but not a problem for me considering the low cost. If you have trouble with this ammo, you'll probably have to switch to a much more expensive domestic brand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® 7.62 x 39 122 Gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2012

Pretty darn good ammo

By
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have 3 different SKS's, made by 3 different manufacturers-Yugoslavian, Russian, And Chinese Norinco. I've had serious problems with other ammo brands- FTF, FTE,etc.- but NEVER a problem with Herter's ammo. It's the ammo I use exclusively when I want to plink w/my SKS's.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 51