Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(238 Reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 238 reviews
5 Stars
164
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
15
217 out of 238(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 61 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great value

Date:December 11, 2012
would give it 5 but they aren't brass casings....no failures for 300 rounds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Practice ammo

Date:December 5, 2012
have shot several hundred rounds of this
ammo thru my sks with no problems or
malfunctions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap ammo

Date:November 26, 2012
Cheap ammo at a cheap price. Shot fine, not reloadable but I knew that when I ordered. Will order again. Great for plinking and such.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pretty good

Date:November 12, 2012
Some loading problems but really good for the price needs to be cheaper so i can afford to use full auto
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Recreational Shooting Ammo

Date:November 1, 2012
This is a good ammo that cycles well in x-Warsaw pact countries made AK-s and SKS-s. It's not the cleanest nor the most accurate ammo. It's very well suited for weekend recreational shooting, and it's the cheapest out there when on sale at Cabela's. Beware though, some ranges will not allow you to use this ammo due to the bullet's steel content. Good luck and have fun, but above all be safe!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great!

Date:November 1, 2012
This ammo, functions perfectly, and is a great value for the money. Although I prefer American made brass cartridge ammo, this will suffice in my Eastern European rifle since they are made for this stuff to begin with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for ak47

Date:October 15, 2012
Shoot great out of my pap ak 47
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works in my at 15

Date:September 5, 2012
Have put approx 400 rounds of hollow point thru my colt ar15 with 7.62x39 upper with noFTFs and 5" inch groups at 200 yds and iron sights off sand bags. However, I just bought an AK 47. Same ammo shot 2"groups at 50 yds. When we took it to 100 yds got 3 rounds in10 on paper and those were keyholes. I'm going to try FMJs. Hopefully the shorter bullet will stabilize in this barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo For AK47 Type Rifle

Date:July 14, 2012
Fired several hundred rounds of the Herter's ammo from my WASR 10/63 UF AK-47 rifle. The 122gr FMJ has been 100% reliable and been able to hit target using installed iron sight and red dot (Ulitmak rail and Bushnell TRS-25 combination and achieve absolute cowitness with irons). No FTF's, no FTE's.
I usually purchase the 122gr FMJ but accidentally bought 100rds of the 122gr HP. The 122gr HP reliability, at least with my WASR, is not 100%. Majority of the 122gr HP will work; however, occasionally the exposed lead tip will cause the round to jam below the breech of the barrel due to the soft lead tip. During post-fire cleaning, noted the area below the breech has significant lead build up. Easily cleaned with Hoppes #9. I haven't fired the heavier 154gr SP and don't plan to either.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with the Herter's 122gr FMJ ammo. It's been reliable and purchased it in bulk as well for ammo stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sparks

Date:May 30, 2012
Just tried out the Herters 7.62x39 FMJ on some aluminum cans and noticed sparks off the rocks behind. Haven't checked with a magnet yet but suspect a steel core like much of the other Russian made ammunition. Otherwise, good stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You get what you pay for

Date:January 11, 2012
This ammo worked great but there were a couple of duds that did not fire out of the batch. I only used it to taget practice and for the price I cant complain that there were a couple of bad ones in the batch. All in all a great value & I will purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Scottsbluff, NE
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Russian Ammo for Russian guns.

Date:February 21, 2011
I have fired both the Herters ammo and the much more expensive, and found no difference. This ammo was made for AK's and SKS's so it is easy to understand all of those reviews are good and the AR reviews are not so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo for the price

Date:December 27, 2010
This ammo runs fine in my AK without any problems. As with some other reviewers, in my AR15 chambered in 7.62x39, i get an occasional failure-to-fire with any of the Herters, Tula, or Wolf ammo. After installing a higher power hammer spring, I get better results, but not completely eliminated FTFs. It's the design of the AR15 bolt, in addition to the Russian primers (harder and more deeply seated) in the Herters/Tula/Wolf ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bargain!!

Date:December 23, 2010
For the price it can't be beat. I did have a 2 failures to fire. The primer was dented but it didn't go off. Also had 2 double feeds. I may have to attribute this to the new AK I was using it in and probably just needed broken in. After the those episodes it's been good. I think the ammo do run a little bit dirtier but the big difference that I found was excessive muzzle flash. It's spectacular especially in an indoor range and good for show. I do plan on ordering more especially given the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Real good ammo

Date:January 6, 2015
I have purchased this ammo every time it goes on sale and is always a good deal. Accurate for intended purposes. Runs great in my AK and SKS with no jams.
I thoroughly clean my guns after every use at the range and after I get home. Will be buying more.
Manufactured either in Russia or Ukraine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's

Date:January 6, 2015
Herter's 7.62x39 ammo. I recommend this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great food for my SKS

Date:January 6, 2015
My SKS loves this Herter's Ammo. It doesn't make a mess of my rifle, its accurate and never fails to feed nicely out of my 20 round detachable magazines. I've only used this ammo since owning this rifle and will never buy another. Cabela's has the best selection and deals on it too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62x39 Ammo

Date:December 31, 2014
Herters ammo works for me and is cost effective.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:December 16, 2014
I have shot a lot of this ammo. Quite frankly I started buying because it was cheaper that other 7.62 x 39 ammo on the shelves. I like to shoot and with a semi-auto I can burn through a lot. So I went for the Herter's. I have never had a failure. it always works, feeds well, and the accuracy is the same as any other brand for this caliber. I have also shot Herter's Pistol ammo (40 cal and 9mm) and it has all worked flawlessly. If you like to shoot and want to help keep the cost down go for this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good practice ammo

Date:December 3, 2014
Good practice ammo. Good groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 238