Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.428 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 208 reviews
5 Stars
141
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
14
188 out of 208(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 61 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works in my at 15

Date:September 5, 2012
Have put approx 400 rounds of hollow point thru my colt ar15 with 7.62x39 upper with noFTFs and 5" inch groups at 200 yds and iron sights off sand bags. However, I just bought an AK 47. Same ammo shot 2"groups at 50 yds. When we took it to 100 yds got 3 rounds in10 on paper and those were keyholes. I'm going to try FMJs. Hopefully the shorter bullet will stabilize in this barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo For AK47 Type Rifle

Date:July 14, 2012
Fired several hundred rounds of the Herter's ammo from my WASR 10/63 UF AK-47 rifle. The 122gr FMJ has been 100% reliable and been able to hit target using installed iron sight and red dot (Ulitmak rail and Bushnell TRS-25 combination and achieve absolute cowitness with irons). No FTF's, no FTE's.
I usually purchase the 122gr FMJ but accidentally bought 100rds of the 122gr HP. The 122gr HP reliability, at least with my WASR, is not 100%. Majority of the 122gr HP will work; however, occasionally the exposed lead tip will cause the round to jam below the breech of the barrel due to the soft lead tip. During post-fire cleaning, noted the area below the breech has significant lead build up. Easily cleaned with Hoppes #9. I haven't fired the heavier 154gr SP and don't plan to either.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with the Herter's 122gr FMJ ammo. It's been reliable and purchased it in bulk as well for ammo stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sparks

Date:May 30, 2012
Just tried out the Herters 7.62x39 FMJ on some aluminum cans and noticed sparks off the rocks behind. Haven't checked with a magnet yet but suspect a steel core like much of the other Russian made ammunition. Otherwise, good stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You get what you pay for

Date:January 11, 2012
This ammo worked great but there were a couple of duds that did not fire out of the batch. I only used it to taget practice and for the price I cant complain that there were a couple of bad ones in the batch. All in all a great value & I will purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Scottsbluff, NE
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Russian Ammo for Russian guns.

Date:February 21, 2011
I have fired both the Herters ammo and the much more expensive, and found no difference. This ammo was made for AK's and SKS's so it is easy to understand all of those reviews are good and the AR reviews are not so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo for the price

Date:December 27, 2010
This ammo runs fine in my AK without any problems. As with some other reviewers, in my AR15 chambered in 7.62x39, i get an occasional failure-to-fire with any of the Herters, Tula, or Wolf ammo. After installing a higher power hammer spring, I get better results, but not completely eliminated FTFs. It's the design of the AR15 bolt, in addition to the Russian primers (harder and more deeply seated) in the Herters/Tula/Wolf ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bargain!!

Date:December 23, 2010
For the price it can't be beat. I did have a 2 failures to fire. The primer was dented but it didn't go off. Also had 2 double feeds. I may have to attribute this to the new AK I was using it in and probably just needed broken in. After the those episodes it's been good. I think the ammo do run a little bit dirtier but the big difference that I found was excessive muzzle flash. It's spectacular especially in an indoor range and good for show. I do plan on ordering more especially given the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

For the price, you can't do any better

Date:May 30, 2014
I was skeptical about buying this for a mini 30 after reading online complaints, so I went to the range yesterday with 100 rounds to test this steel case ammo out myself. I have a 2013 mini 30 and had only 1 failure to fire out of 100 rounds. Also pulled off a 1.5-2inch group at 100 yards (with accustrut). My conclusion is that for a new series mini-30, the ammunition is cheap, relatively reliable, and sufficiently accurate. I recommend it, since there are no extractor issues for the mini 30 and it's the cheapest non-surplus 7.62x39 that you can buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid AK food

Date:May 13, 2014
Shot this through 5 different AKs, using standard and drum mags. No jams. No misfires. Went bang every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62x39 Amno

Date:May 13, 2014
I used this to test fire /function a high dollar 7.32x39 custom AR for a client.
For the price , this is Excellant ammo and will work in any AK, SKS or rifle chambered 7.62x39.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:April 15, 2014
Never any problems with Herter's Ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo- not for mini-30

Date:April 8, 2014
This is excellent range ammo. My only issue was with my rifle. The primers are not too hard (most guys think that's the problem)- it's that they are set just a bit too deeply for my mini-30 to reliably detonate the primers. Had many rounds not fire in the mini-30 but we took the same rounds and they all fired fine in an SKS. Maybe one in five failed to fire in the mini-30.
So, great ammo in the right rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:April 1, 2014
I know some people complain about steel cased rounds,ETC,; but I can tell you: this brand have worked for me SUPER....even the 223 ones!!!! Just buy it, and forget about some people might say!!! These Russian steel cased rounds (Herter's, Wolf,ETC) work no different than Remington and whatever other more prestige brand!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:March 25, 2014
This Herter's ammo appears to be made for Cabela's by TulAmmo based on the stamp on the steel case so you can compare it to that. I fired plenty of rounds through a Zastava AK 47 with no issues whatsoever. I would not hesitate to buy more of this brand as long as the prices stay in line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:March 25, 2014
It went bang every time I pulled the trigger - what more could I ask? I'm not looking to get 1 in MOA out of this stuff, just plinking fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:March 25, 2014
Recently bought a bunch of this ammo for my Yogo AK and have no problems with feeding or no fires. Now the Yogo kicks like a mule! will be buying this ammo again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I have yet to find anything my AK-47 won't eat...

Date:March 25, 2014
Ammo works fine in my AK-47. Granted, it's an AK-47...it'll eat anything...so probably not a great measure of a product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST FMJ 7.62x39 for the AK-47 & SKS! AAA+++

Date:March 21, 2014
I have shot 1,500 - 2,000 rounds of this ammo FMJ and have not have had any problems! NO FTF,FTE, OR STUCK CASES out of my AK-47's and my SKS. The FMJ ammo is VERY ACCURATE Shooting it out of my Romanian AK-47s with the Chrome Lined Barrel. Shipping to store it Makes it awesome to order online and pick it up without having to pay shipping and go looking for it at other stores. I would recommend this to anyone. as long as you keep the ammo in the boxes and don't touch them they will not rust. i made a mistake of loading all my mags and afew weeks later i noticed alittle surface rust starting to show on the case. i felt bad having to go shoot them up lol. If you keep them in a ammo can with Silicon Packs and dont touch the cases they will not rust. i have some stored from about 3 years and opened afew boxes without touching the cases and see no rust at all! i go the extra step to Vacuum Seal them in the boxes and store in my ammo cans. I have only shot 1 brand of 7.62x39 ammo and its been Herter's Which is made by Tulammo. Great ammo and a great price! STOCK UP NOW! Cabelas is my #1 Place for ammo! Take my advice coming from a guy that Says AK-47's are Better Then AR-15's! :) Heres af quick pic to show how accurate the ammo is for hunting with iron sights. no need to have the fancy ammo that cost a arm and a leg.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters ammo

Date:March 18, 2014
I love this ammo. It has not failed to load yet. It is cheap for target practice. And i would not think twice to use it in any situation. GREAT AMMO....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rock and Roll with the AK-SKS-Mini 30

Date:March 18, 2014
Functions great, clean burning and low recoil .....fun..fun...fun and even more fun if you add a Slidefire stock to your weapon. Can't beat the price for the product you get and its non-corrosive too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 208