Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.46 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(228 Reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 228 reviews
5 Stars
157
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
14
208 out of 228(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 61 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pretty good

Date:November 12, 2012
Some loading problems but really good for the price needs to be cheaper so i can afford to use full auto
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Recreational Shooting Ammo

Date:November 1, 2012
This is a good ammo that cycles well in x-Warsaw pact countries made AK-s and SKS-s. It's not the cleanest nor the most accurate ammo. It's very well suited for weekend recreational shooting, and it's the cheapest out there when on sale at Cabela's. Beware though, some ranges will not allow you to use this ammo due to the bullet's steel content. Good luck and have fun, but above all be safe!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great!

Date:November 1, 2012
This ammo, functions perfectly, and is a great value for the money. Although I prefer American made brass cartridge ammo, this will suffice in my Eastern European rifle since they are made for this stuff to begin with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for ak47

Date:October 15, 2012
Shoot great out of my pap ak 47
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works in my at 15

Date:September 5, 2012
Have put approx 400 rounds of hollow point thru my colt ar15 with 7.62x39 upper with noFTFs and 5" inch groups at 200 yds and iron sights off sand bags. However, I just bought an AK 47. Same ammo shot 2"groups at 50 yds. When we took it to 100 yds got 3 rounds in10 on paper and those were keyholes. I'm going to try FMJs. Hopefully the shorter bullet will stabilize in this barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo For AK47 Type Rifle

Date:July 14, 2012
Fired several hundred rounds of the Herter's ammo from my WASR 10/63 UF AK-47 rifle. The 122gr FMJ has been 100% reliable and been able to hit target using installed iron sight and red dot (Ulitmak rail and Bushnell TRS-25 combination and achieve absolute cowitness with irons). No FTF's, no FTE's.
I usually purchase the 122gr FMJ but accidentally bought 100rds of the 122gr HP. The 122gr HP reliability, at least with my WASR, is not 100%. Majority of the 122gr HP will work; however, occasionally the exposed lead tip will cause the round to jam below the breech of the barrel due to the soft lead tip. During post-fire cleaning, noted the area below the breech has significant lead build up. Easily cleaned with Hoppes #9. I haven't fired the heavier 154gr SP and don't plan to either.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with the Herter's 122gr FMJ ammo. It's been reliable and purchased it in bulk as well for ammo stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sparks

Date:May 30, 2012
Just tried out the Herters 7.62x39 FMJ on some aluminum cans and noticed sparks off the rocks behind. Haven't checked with a magnet yet but suspect a steel core like much of the other Russian made ammunition. Otherwise, good stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You get what you pay for

Date:January 11, 2012
This ammo worked great but there were a couple of duds that did not fire out of the batch. I only used it to taget practice and for the price I cant complain that there were a couple of bad ones in the batch. All in all a great value & I will purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Scottsbluff, NE
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Russian Ammo for Russian guns.

Date:February 21, 2011
I have fired both the Herters ammo and the much more expensive, and found no difference. This ammo was made for AK's and SKS's so it is easy to understand all of those reviews are good and the AR reviews are not so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo for the price

Date:December 27, 2010
This ammo runs fine in my AK without any problems. As with some other reviewers, in my AR15 chambered in 7.62x39, i get an occasional failure-to-fire with any of the Herters, Tula, or Wolf ammo. After installing a higher power hammer spring, I get better results, but not completely eliminated FTFs. It's the design of the AR15 bolt, in addition to the Russian primers (harder and more deeply seated) in the Herters/Tula/Wolf ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bargain!!

Date:December 23, 2010
For the price it can't be beat. I did have a 2 failures to fire. The primer was dented but it didn't go off. Also had 2 double feeds. I may have to attribute this to the new AK I was using it in and probably just needed broken in. After the those episodes it's been good. I think the ammo do run a little bit dirtier but the big difference that I found was excessive muzzle flash. It's spectacular especially in an indoor range and good for show. I do plan on ordering more especially given the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap, reliable ammo

Date:October 8, 2014
I always buy some of this Herter's HP or FMJ ammo when I see it on sale. It shoots well, low cost, pretty accurate on paper. Have yet to shoot big game, varmints, or prairie dogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always a good time.

Date:September 30, 2014
Hard to beat the price of this ammo. Have shot hundreds of rounds (closer to 1000) with no failures. Just a good time for not a lot of loot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:September 23, 2014
Have been Purchasing for my older SKS. Smooth cycling, has never jammed, very reliable and extremely fun to shoot this ammo. Performs very, very well each and every time I shoot. Does not matter if it is for target shooting or hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo at great price

Date:September 17, 2014
I bought this for my AR I had doubts so I just took it out for a range session had great groups my AR ate all this steel case ammo with no miss fires, jam ups, or anything great ammo not to dirty as well high recommend this honestly this is gonna by my #1 ammo for my ar
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:September 16, 2014
I have never had any problems with Herter's ammo in my gun. It shoots well and is very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters 7.62 x 39

Date:September 16, 2014
Great ammo and price for shooting my SKS.
Only drawback is the bullet appears to be bimetallic and attracts a magnet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:September 16, 2014
This ammo is really good for the price. Runs better than tul or wolf for me. Maybe a little less dirty? But I didn't run enough to really say
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works in my AK.

Date:September 9, 2014
Goes bang and flies straight. I noticed its a little more dirtier than brass casings but I clean my rifle every time I go out and shoot so it doesn't bother me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent hunting round!

Date:September 9, 2014
These rounds with the 154 grain soft point bullets work very well on game like feral hogs. Makes a very effective round for deer as well. Accuracy is about 2-3" at 100 yards out of my Chinese SKS rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 228