Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 232 reviews
5 Stars
160
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
15
211 out of 232(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:August 26, 2014
Best price going for quality ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:August 26, 2014
Always goes bang and shots straight..excellent price! Steel cased,who cares.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo...great price.

Date:August 11, 2014
Shoots great. Not overly dirty. Perfect day-at-the-range ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters 7.62x39

Date:August 5, 2014
This ammo is relabeled Tula and shoots just fine at a great price when on sale! I Would buy again with no problems. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tula ?

Date:July 22, 2014
There were no problems, it appears the same as Tula ammunition in a different box, but I don't know that for sure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

For the price, you can't do any better

Date:May 30, 2014
I was skeptical about buying this for a mini 30 after reading online complaints, so I went to the range yesterday with 100 rounds to test this steel case ammo out myself. I have a 2013 mini 30 and had only 1 failure to fire out of 100 rounds. Also pulled off a 1.5-2inch group at 100 yards (with accustrut). My conclusion is that for a new series mini-30, the ammunition is cheap, relatively reliable, and sufficiently accurate. I recommend it, since there are no extractor issues for the mini 30 and it's the cheapest non-surplus 7.62x39 that you can buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots Great

Date:May 25, 2014
Good shooting ammo. Too bad its just Tula ammo repacked for more money. Very reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid AK food

Date:May 13, 2014
Shot this through 5 different AKs, using standard and drum mags. No jams. No misfires. Went bang every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62x39 Amno

Date:May 13, 2014
I used this to test fire /function a high dollar 7.32x39 custom AR for a client.
For the price , this is Excellant ammo and will work in any AK, SKS or rifle chambered 7.62x39.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo for the price

Date:April 28, 2014
Shot 120 rounds of this Herters. H.P. & F.M.J. all fed & fired fine. No F.T.F. no ejection trouble either. All with a 59 year old Soviet SKS.
But it is dirty, so you gotta clean when you get home. But we all do that anyway, right?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for combat

Date:April 25, 2014
I fired my newly cleaned SKS "Paratrooper" (16" bbl) for the first time with 50 rounds of Herters 7.62x29. 50-yard plinking accuracy was acceptable. HOWEVER, among the 50 rounds there were 2 hang fires (1 second or less) and 1 REVERSED PRIMER (fail to fire). The range officer nearly had a fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the ammo is good, the service is better

Date:April 22, 2014
i have bought quite a bit of this ammo and i have never had a problem with it. i believe this is the same russian ammo that has been around for many years with many different names. not a problem, this is a common industry practice. but what is not the same and is always unique is the service given by cabela's. that is what keeps me coming back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inadequate Chambering

Date:April 21, 2014
First box ever of this ammo jammed every round. Had to cycle the bolt manually to feed the rounds. One casing apparently was not the correct diameter and got jammed to where I couldn't extract the shell. I had to assemble a cleaning rod and ramrod the shell out with it. Very dissatisfied with the ~20 rounds I was able to put through my DPMS .233 Oracle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TERRIBLE

Date:April 19, 2014
This ammo is the wost ammo i have ever purchased. i bought it to fire out of my custom built AR15 chambered in 7.62 x 39 and out of 60 rounds all were failure to fire. i had to recharge the gun a second time to fire the round. This stuff should be recalled. I bought this from Cabela's based of the overall 4.5 out of 5, but i dont know how people are rating this. must be based of the cheap price. I am as angry as i am disappointed. i dont care how cheap it is there is nothing fun about shooting when you have to recharge the gun after ever pull of the trigger just to fire the next round. PLEASE PEOPLE, STOP BUYING THIS JUNK SO THEY TAKE OFF THE SHELF!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:April 15, 2014
Never any problems with Herter's Ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ak ammo

Date:April 8, 2014
very reliable. goes bang every time. very dirty ammo though. be sure to clean afterwards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo- not for mini-30

Date:April 8, 2014
This is excellent range ammo. My only issue was with my rifle. The primers are not too hard (most guys think that's the problem)- it's that they are set just a bit too deeply for my mini-30 to reliably detonate the primers. Had many rounds not fire in the mini-30 but we took the same rounds and they all fired fine in an SKS. Maybe one in five failed to fire in the mini-30.
So, great ammo in the right rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:April 1, 2014
I know some people complain about steel cased rounds,ETC,; but I can tell you: this brand have worked for me SUPER....even the 223 ones!!!! Just buy it, and forget about some people might say!!! These Russian steel cased rounds (Herter's, Wolf,ETC) work no different than Remington and whatever other more prestige brand!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:March 25, 2014
This Herter's ammo appears to be made for Cabela's by TulAmmo based on the stamp on the steel case so you can compare it to that. I fired plenty of rounds through a Zastava AK 47 with no issues whatsoever. I would not hesitate to buy more of this brand as long as the prices stay in line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:March 25, 2014
It went bang every time I pulled the trigger - what more could I ask? I'm not looking to get 1 in MOA out of this stuff, just plinking fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 232