Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(201 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 201 reviews
5 Stars
138
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
14
182 out of 201(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:March 4, 2014
I purchased an ak47 8years ago and have been using this ammo since day 1. Never a failure to fire and very accurate. Don't see why anyone would buy expensive ammo when this so called cheap ammo does the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap and reliable

Date:March 4, 2014
I have shot hundreds of these through my yugo sks with no ftf/fte. They are dirty but reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots Great!!!

Date:March 4, 2014
performs flawless in my AK and my SKS!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good for cheap shooting

Date:March 4, 2014
Shoots great depending on the box. I've had a couple boxes where tje bullets got stuck in the barrel due to not enough powder. But other than that "keep calm and AK on"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works in Mini 30

Date:February 28, 2014
This is excellent plinking ammo. Very affordable (cheaper than 9mm pistol ammo), and it works.
I've put about 1,500 rounds through my Ruger Mini-30. No FTFeed or FTE. Rare FTFire, but this is endemic to this model rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable

Date:January 18, 2014
I have run several hundred rounds of this through my Saiga AK. Does just what it is supposed to do. No duds, no feed or extract issues.
But I should also mention that I have run a couple thousand rounds of about 8 different brands of Russian ammo through it with only 2 misfeeds, so it seems to like whatever I put in it.
I buy some whenever I am in Cabelas, at this price it makes for some fun and economical range time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST FMJ AMMO FOR YOUR AK-47 OR SKS!

Date:January 12, 2014
I have shot thousands of rounds of this stuff which is made by Tulammo. I love the FMJ ammo and it even works best with my slidefire stock! i have had some trouble tho with the hollow points with misfires and jams but none of that with the FMJ. i will buy this stuff everytime it is on sale! shoots accurate. just dont touch the steel cases unless your gonna shoot it or it will rust. i noticed when i loaded them into my mags for storage the cases started to rust. just dont touch the cases and store them in a ammo can with silicon packs and they will be good for along time!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable Russian Ammo

Date:January 8, 2014
I bought a box for my 1966 Chinese Type 56 SKS. I had no problems with feeding or extraction and these rounds completely blew apart the stump that I was using as a target. They also seemed to be cleaner than other Russian ammo that I have shot. I will buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheap is as cheap does

Date:January 2, 2014
I had bought a thousand rounds of herters ammo a year ago and I constantly find myself clearing duds from my mini 30, in one magazine I'll get every other round that won't fire the first time, I'll have to double charge the handle strike twice or more or clear all together.
out of a hundred rounds I'll have close to 10 or 15 duds this ammo can ruin a day of shooting making it frustrating,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Damaged our rifle

Date:December 30, 2013
Purchased this for my boyfriend as a Christmas gift. After firing approximately 25 rounds, one of the bullets broke during firing, leaving the empty casing jammed in the barrel of our AK47. Had to take it to a gunsmith just to have it removed. Also had to have the receiver worked on because it bent when the bullet broke. Casing was extremely thin and looked as if it had been recycled.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters

Date:December 18, 2013
Good cartridges, great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

herters 7.62 x 39 ammo

Date:December 17, 2013
I bought several hundred rounds of herters soft point 154 gr. just to see if it is as reliable as the fmj's and hp's at 123 gr. you can intermingle them in the same mag and they run flawlessly. AKM is really the reason, but impressed that the soft points never got hung up on feeds 100 yards on red dot and the ammo was impressively accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Plinking Ammo

Date:December 13, 2013
Always in stock, fair price and feeds an SKS just fine. Haven't tested it for long range precision, but it hits the target at plinking range every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No problems in my SAR-1 or SKS

Date:December 8, 2013
Fired at least 2,000 rounds of Herter's FMJ and HP through my Romanian SAR-1 and Norinco SKS rifles. Not a single misfire or dud. I might just be lucky but for the low cost and performance so far, I am very happy to buy and shoot this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:December 3, 2013
Shot over a thousand rounds at targets. Seems accurate and never had an issue with jamming or misfires. I took my AK on a spur of the moment hog hunt. This is the only ammo I had at the time and it took down both hogs in the first shot. Cant beat Cabelas price either.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like

Date:November 26, 2013
I shoot these in a old sks and in a new ruger m30. Both guns like this ammo. I seem to like the 122 hp the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters 7.62x39

Date:October 29, 2013
I ran this herters ammo through my newly built AR7.62x39 upper and was very surprised how close the groupings were. I had a few duds/FTF and that's with an enhanced firing pin and wolf trigger spring. Other then that I have been very satisfied and will buy more in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:October 27, 2013
I have shot 223hp and 7.62x39hp in great quantities thru my AR platform rifles and have never had a misfire. An occasional misfeed due to cheap magazines, but never the fault of the ammo. If you like range shooting you can't beat this ammo. Great prices, too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:September 30, 2013
I have bought a lot of this ammo and have had great success with it. Out of a few thousand rounds I have only had a couple with issues. Accuracy is great and it's hard to beat Cabela's price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:September 27, 2013
good value ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 201