Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 241 reviews
5 Stars
166
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
16
219 out of 241(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014

Good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This ammo is really good for the price. Runs better than tul or wolf for me. Maybe a little less dirty? But I didn't run enough to really say
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2014

It works!

By
It works, always buy more when on sale :)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014

Works in my AK.

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Goes bang and flies straight. I noticed its a little more dirtier than brass casings but I clean my rifle every time I go out and shoot so it doesn't bother me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014

Excellent hunting round!

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
These rounds with the 154 grain soft point bullets work very well on game like feral hogs. Makes a very effective round for deer as well. Accuracy is about 2-3" at 100 yards out of my Chinese SKS rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014

very good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have AK variants and my guns love Herter's ammo.
I have been shooting these ammo for many
months,and have experienced not a single
misfire or failure to feed.Herter's ammo has
performed flawlessly.I recommend Herter's ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014

Good Performing Steel Cased Ammo

Use for my SKS. Great ammo if you have a low budget!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014

Basic Target Shooting

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Good ammo for 50 yd. AK 47 target practice with my kids.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014

Bang for your buck

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Cant beat this ammo for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014

Bang for your buck

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have shot 180 flawless rounds of this particular ammo. I find it to be accurate and well priced.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014

Good Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Best price going for quality ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014

great ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Always goes bang and shots straight..excellent price! Steel cased,who cares.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2014

Great ammo...great price.

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Shoots great. Not overly dirty. Perfect day-at-the-range ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014

Herters 7.62x39

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This ammo is relabeled Tula and shoots just fine at a great price when on sale! I Would buy again with no problems. Thanks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014

Tula ?

By
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
There were no problems, it appears the same as Tula ammunition in a different box, but I don't know that for sure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014

For the price, you can't do any better

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I was skeptical about buying this for a mini 30 after reading online complaints, so I went to the range yesterday with 100 rounds to test this steel case ammo out myself. I have a 2013 mini 30 and had only 1 failure to fire out of 100 rounds. Also pulled off a 1.5-2inch group at 100 yards (with accustrut). My conclusion is that for a new series mini-30, the ammunition is cheap, relatively reliable, and sufficiently accurate. I recommend it, since there are no extractor issues for the mini 30 and it's the cheapest non-surplus 7.62x39 that you can buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2014

Shoots Great

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Good shooting ammo. Too bad its just Tula ammo repacked for more money. Very reliable
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014

Solid AK food

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Shot this through 5 different AKs, using standard and drum mags. No jams. No misfires. Went bang every time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014

7.62x39 Amno

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I used this to test fire /function a high dollar 7.32x39 custom AR for a client.
For the price , this is Excellant ammo and will work in any AK, SKS or rifle chambered 7.62x39.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2014

Great ammo for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Shot 120 rounds of this Herters. H.P. & F.M.J. all fed & fired fine. No F.T.F. no ejection trouble either. All with a 59 year old Soviet SKS.
But it is dirty, so you gotta clean when you get home. But we all do that anyway, right?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2014

Not for combat

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I fired my newly cleaned SKS "Paratrooper" (16" bbl) for the first time with 50 rounds of Herters 7.62x29. 50-yard plinking accuracy was acceptable. HOWEVER, among the 50 rounds there were 2 hang fires (1 second or less) and 1 REVERSED PRIMER (fail to fire). The range officer nearly had a fit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 241