Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 210 reviews
5 Stars
143
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
14
190 out of 210(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST FMJ 7.62x39 for the AK-47 & SKS! AAA+++

Date:March 21, 2014
I have shot 1,500 - 2,000 rounds of this ammo FMJ and have not have had any problems! NO FTF,FTE, OR STUCK CASES out of my AK-47's and my SKS. The FMJ ammo is VERY ACCURATE Shooting it out of my Romanian AK-47s with the Chrome Lined Barrel. Shipping to store it Makes it awesome to order online and pick it up without having to pay shipping and go looking for it at other stores. I would recommend this to anyone. as long as you keep the ammo in the boxes and don't touch them they will not rust. i made a mistake of loading all my mags and afew weeks later i noticed alittle surface rust starting to show on the case. i felt bad having to go shoot them up lol. If you keep them in a ammo can with Silicon Packs and dont touch the cases they will not rust. i have some stored from about 3 years and opened afew boxes without touching the cases and see no rust at all! i go the extra step to Vacuum Seal them in the boxes and store in my ammo cans. I have only shot 1 brand of 7.62x39 ammo and its been Herter's Which is made by Tulammo. Great ammo and a great price! STOCK UP NOW! Cabelas is my #1 Place for ammo! Take my advice coming from a guy that Says AK-47's are Better Then AR-15's! :) Heres af quick pic to show how accurate the ammo is for hunting with iron sights. no need to have the fancy ammo that cost a arm and a leg.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters ammo

Date:March 18, 2014
I love this ammo. It has not failed to load yet. It is cheap for target practice. And i would not think twice to use it in any situation. GREAT AMMO....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rock and Roll with the AK-SKS-Mini 30

Date:March 18, 2014
Functions great, clean burning and low recoil .....fun..fun...fun and even more fun if you add a Slidefire stock to your weapon. Can't beat the price for the product you get and its non-corrosive too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62 X 39 hERTERS

Date:March 18, 2014
I'm anxious to shoot this ammo. I've heard some stuff about it fouling the barrel (copper) I love the price, but am interested to see if it causes any cleaning problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62x39 FMJ

Date:March 13, 2014
great ammo never had any trouble out of it no jams or misfires hard hitting the ammo all around performance was 5 stars I got this ammo from cabala's and I am planning on getting more Accurate Ammo thanks Cabala's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

herters

Date:March 12, 2014
It a good shell for target practice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NICE!

Date:March 11, 2014
as expected, just a little dirty.
I use it in my 16" yankee hill upper and it is surprisingly accurate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:March 5, 2014
Never ordered herters shells before. I had a gift card from Christmas so I said what the heck. I usually buy tula and wolf 7.62x39. I received my order super fast. This ammo is just repackaged tula shells. Didn't cost anymore than the tula box. Just a different package. Great ammo. Accurate in my norinco RPK. Will buy again at this price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bang for your buck

Date:March 4, 2014
good shooting accurate ammunition. shot well with no misfires. only negative point is that it leaves a lot of residue. But hey clean your gun and fire away
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:March 4, 2014
I purchased an ak47 8years ago and have been using this ammo since day 1. Never a failure to fire and very accurate. Don't see why anyone would buy expensive ammo when this so called cheap ammo does the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap and reliable

Date:March 4, 2014
I have shot hundreds of these through my yugo sks with no ftf/fte. They are dirty but reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots Great!!!

Date:March 4, 2014
performs flawless in my AK and my SKS!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good for cheap shooting

Date:March 4, 2014
Shoots great depending on the box. I've had a couple boxes where tje bullets got stuck in the barrel due to not enough powder. But other than that "keep calm and AK on"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works in Mini 30

Date:February 28, 2014
This is excellent plinking ammo. Very affordable (cheaper than 9mm pistol ammo), and it works.
I've put about 1,500 rounds through my Ruger Mini-30. No FTFeed or FTE. Rare FTFire, but this is endemic to this model rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable

Date:January 18, 2014
I have run several hundred rounds of this through my Saiga AK. Does just what it is supposed to do. No duds, no feed or extract issues.
But I should also mention that I have run a couple thousand rounds of about 8 different brands of Russian ammo through it with only 2 misfeeds, so it seems to like whatever I put in it.
I buy some whenever I am in Cabelas, at this price it makes for some fun and economical range time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST FMJ AMMO FOR YOUR AK-47 OR SKS!

Date:January 12, 2014
I have shot thousands of rounds of this stuff which is made by Tulammo. I love the FMJ ammo and it even works best with my slidefire stock! i have had some trouble tho with the hollow points with misfires and jams but none of that with the FMJ. i will buy this stuff everytime it is on sale! shoots accurate. just dont touch the steel cases unless your gonna shoot it or it will rust. i noticed when i loaded them into my mags for storage the cases started to rust. just dont touch the cases and store them in a ammo can with silicon packs and they will be good for along time!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable Russian Ammo

Date:January 8, 2014
I bought a box for my 1966 Chinese Type 56 SKS. I had no problems with feeding or extraction and these rounds completely blew apart the stump that I was using as a target. They also seemed to be cleaner than other Russian ammo that I have shot. I will buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheap is as cheap does

Date:January 2, 2014
I had bought a thousand rounds of herters ammo a year ago and I constantly find myself clearing duds from my mini 30, in one magazine I'll get every other round that won't fire the first time, I'll have to double charge the handle strike twice or more or clear all together.
out of a hundred rounds I'll have close to 10 or 15 duds this ammo can ruin a day of shooting making it frustrating,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Damaged our rifle

Date:December 30, 2013
Purchased this for my boyfriend as a Christmas gift. After firing approximately 25 rounds, one of the bullets broke during firing, leaving the empty casing jammed in the barrel of our AK47. Had to take it to a gunsmith just to have it removed. Also had to have the receiver worked on because it bent when the bullet broke. Casing was extremely thin and looked as if it had been recycled.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters

Date:December 18, 2013
Good cartridges, great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 210