Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.445 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(220 Reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 220 reviews
5 Stars
150
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
14
200 out of 220(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inadequate Chambering

Date:April 21, 2014
First box ever of this ammo jammed every round. Had to cycle the bolt manually to feed the rounds. One casing apparently was not the correct diameter and got jammed to where I couldn't extract the shell. I had to assemble a cleaning rod and ramrod the shell out with it. Very dissatisfied with the ~20 rounds I was able to put through my DPMS .233 Oracle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TERRIBLE

Date:April 19, 2014
This ammo is the wost ammo i have ever purchased. i bought it to fire out of my custom built AR15 chambered in 7.62 x 39 and out of 60 rounds all were failure to fire. i had to recharge the gun a second time to fire the round. This stuff should be recalled. I bought this from Cabela's based of the overall 4.5 out of 5, but i dont know how people are rating this. must be based of the cheap price. I am as angry as i am disappointed. i dont care how cheap it is there is nothing fun about shooting when you have to recharge the gun after ever pull of the trigger just to fire the next round. PLEASE PEOPLE, STOP BUYING THIS JUNK SO THEY TAKE OFF THE SHELF!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:April 15, 2014
Never any problems with Herter's Ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ak ammo

Date:April 8, 2014
very reliable. goes bang every time. very dirty ammo though. be sure to clean afterwards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo- not for mini-30

Date:April 8, 2014
This is excellent range ammo. My only issue was with my rifle. The primers are not too hard (most guys think that's the problem)- it's that they are set just a bit too deeply for my mini-30 to reliably detonate the primers. Had many rounds not fire in the mini-30 but we took the same rounds and they all fired fine in an SKS. Maybe one in five failed to fire in the mini-30.
So, great ammo in the right rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:April 1, 2014
I know some people complain about steel cased rounds,ETC,; but I can tell you: this brand have worked for me SUPER....even the 223 ones!!!! Just buy it, and forget about some people might say!!! These Russian steel cased rounds (Herter's, Wolf,ETC) work no different than Remington and whatever other more prestige brand!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:March 25, 2014
This Herter's ammo appears to be made for Cabela's by TulAmmo based on the stamp on the steel case so you can compare it to that. I fired plenty of rounds through a Zastava AK 47 with no issues whatsoever. I would not hesitate to buy more of this brand as long as the prices stay in line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:March 25, 2014
It went bang every time I pulled the trigger - what more could I ask? I'm not looking to get 1 in MOA out of this stuff, just plinking fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:March 25, 2014
Recently bought a bunch of this ammo for my Yogo AK and have no problems with feeding or no fires. Now the Yogo kicks like a mule! will be buying this ammo again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I have yet to find anything my AK-47 won't eat...

Date:March 25, 2014
Ammo works fine in my AK-47. Granted, it's an AK-47...it'll eat anything...so probably not a great measure of a product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST FMJ 7.62x39 for the AK-47 & SKS! AAA+++

Date:March 21, 2014
I have shot 1,500 - 2,000 rounds of this ammo FMJ and have not have had any problems! NO FTF,FTE, OR STUCK CASES out of my AK-47's and my SKS. The FMJ ammo is VERY ACCURATE Shooting it out of my Romanian AK-47s with the Chrome Lined Barrel. Shipping to store it Makes it awesome to order online and pick it up without having to pay shipping and go looking for it at other stores. I would recommend this to anyone. as long as you keep the ammo in the boxes and don't touch them they will not rust. i made a mistake of loading all my mags and afew weeks later i noticed alittle surface rust starting to show on the case. i felt bad having to go shoot them up lol. If you keep them in a ammo can with Silicon Packs and dont touch the cases they will not rust. i have some stored from about 3 years and opened afew boxes without touching the cases and see no rust at all! i go the extra step to Vacuum Seal them in the boxes and store in my ammo cans. I have only shot 1 brand of 7.62x39 ammo and its been Herter's Which is made by Tulammo. Great ammo and a great price! STOCK UP NOW! Cabelas is my #1 Place for ammo! Take my advice coming from a guy that Says AK-47's are Better Then AR-15's! :) Heres af quick pic to show how accurate the ammo is for hunting with iron sights. no need to have the fancy ammo that cost a arm and a leg.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters ammo

Date:March 18, 2014
I love this ammo. It has not failed to load yet. It is cheap for target practice. And i would not think twice to use it in any situation. GREAT AMMO....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rock and Roll with the AK-SKS-Mini 30

Date:March 18, 2014
Functions great, clean burning and low recoil .....fun..fun...fun and even more fun if you add a Slidefire stock to your weapon. Can't beat the price for the product you get and its non-corrosive too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62 X 39 hERTERS

Date:March 18, 2014
I'm anxious to shoot this ammo. I've heard some stuff about it fouling the barrel (copper) I love the price, but am interested to see if it causes any cleaning problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62x39 FMJ

Date:March 13, 2014
great ammo never had any trouble out of it no jams or misfires hard hitting the ammo all around performance was 5 stars I got this ammo from cabala's and I am planning on getting more Accurate Ammo thanks Cabala's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

herters

Date:March 12, 2014
It a good shell for target practice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NICE!

Date:March 11, 2014
as expected, just a little dirty.
I use it in my 16" yankee hill upper and it is surprisingly accurate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:March 5, 2014
Never ordered herters shells before. I had a gift card from Christmas so I said what the heck. I usually buy tula and wolf 7.62x39. I received my order super fast. This ammo is just repackaged tula shells. Didn't cost anymore than the tula box. Just a different package. Great ammo. Accurate in my norinco RPK. Will buy again at this price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bang for your buck

Date:March 4, 2014
good shooting accurate ammunition. shot well with no misfires. only negative point is that it leaves a lot of residue. But hey clean your gun and fire away
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:March 4, 2014
I purchased an ak47 8years ago and have been using this ammo since day 1. Never a failure to fire and very accurate. Don't see why anyone would buy expensive ammo when this so called cheap ammo does the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 220