Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.445 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(220 Reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 220 reviews
5 Stars
150
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
14
200 out of 220(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works!

Date:September 10, 2014
It works, always buy more when on sale :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works in my AK.

Date:September 9, 2014
Goes bang and flies straight. I noticed its a little more dirtier than brass casings but I clean my rifle every time I go out and shoot so it doesn't bother me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent hunting round!

Date:September 9, 2014
These rounds with the 154 grain soft point bullets work very well on game like feral hogs. Makes a very effective round for deer as well. Accuracy is about 2-3" at 100 yards out of my Chinese SKS rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good ammo

Date:September 7, 2014
I have AK variants and my guns love Herter's ammo.
I have been shooting these ammo for many
months,and have experienced not a single
misfire or failure to feed.Herter's ammo has
performed flawlessly.I recommend Herter's ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Performing Steel Cased Ammo

Date:September 2, 2014
Use for my SKS. Great ammo if you have a low budget!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Basic Target Shooting

Date:September 2, 2014
Good ammo for 50 yd. AK 47 target practice with my kids.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang for your buck

Date:August 26, 2014
Cant beat this ammo for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang for your buck

Date:August 26, 2014
I have shot 180 flawless rounds of this particular ammo. I find it to be accurate and well priced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:August 26, 2014
Best price going for quality ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:August 26, 2014
Always goes bang and shots straight..excellent price! Steel cased,who cares.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo...great price.

Date:August 11, 2014
Shoots great. Not overly dirty. Perfect day-at-the-range ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters 7.62x39

Date:August 5, 2014
This ammo is relabeled Tula and shoots just fine at a great price when on sale! I Would buy again with no problems. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tula ?

Date:July 22, 2014
There were no problems, it appears the same as Tula ammunition in a different box, but I don't know that for sure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

For the price, you can't do any better

Date:May 30, 2014
I was skeptical about buying this for a mini 30 after reading online complaints, so I went to the range yesterday with 100 rounds to test this steel case ammo out myself. I have a 2013 mini 30 and had only 1 failure to fire out of 100 rounds. Also pulled off a 1.5-2inch group at 100 yards (with accustrut). My conclusion is that for a new series mini-30, the ammunition is cheap, relatively reliable, and sufficiently accurate. I recommend it, since there are no extractor issues for the mini 30 and it's the cheapest non-surplus 7.62x39 that you can buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots Great

Date:May 25, 2014
Good shooting ammo. Too bad its just Tula ammo repacked for more money. Very reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid AK food

Date:May 13, 2014
Shot this through 5 different AKs, using standard and drum mags. No jams. No misfires. Went bang every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62x39 Amno

Date:May 13, 2014
I used this to test fire /function a high dollar 7.32x39 custom AR for a client.
For the price , this is Excellant ammo and will work in any AK, SKS or rifle chambered 7.62x39.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo for the price

Date:April 28, 2014
Shot 120 rounds of this Herters. H.P. & F.M.J. all fed & fired fine. No F.T.F. no ejection trouble either. All with a 59 year old Soviet SKS.
But it is dirty, so you gotta clean when you get home. But we all do that anyway, right?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for combat

Date:April 25, 2014
I fired my newly cleaned SKS "Paratrooper" (16" bbl) for the first time with 50 rounds of Herters 7.62x29. 50-yard plinking accuracy was acceptable. HOWEVER, among the 50 rounds there were 2 hang fires (1 second or less) and 1 REVERSED PRIMER (fail to fire). The range officer nearly had a fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the ammo is good, the service is better

Date:April 22, 2014
i have bought quite a bit of this ammo and i have never had a problem with it. i believe this is the same russian ammo that has been around for many years with many different names. not a problem, this is a common industry practice. but what is not the same and is always unique is the service given by cabela's. that is what keeps me coming back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 220