Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 232 reviews
5 Stars
160
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
15
211 out of 232(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:December 16, 2014
I have shot a lot of this ammo. Quite frankly I started buying because it was cheaper that other 7.62 x 39 ammo on the shelves. I like to shoot and with a semi-auto I can burn through a lot. So I went for the Herter's. I have never had a failure. it always works, feeds well, and the accuracy is the same as any other brand for this caliber. I have also shot Herter's Pistol ammo (40 cal and 9mm) and it has all worked flawlessly. If you like to shoot and want to help keep the cost down go for this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good practice ammo

Date:December 3, 2014
Good practice ammo. Good groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

Date:November 26, 2014
Great Price! Have shot 100's of rounds without fail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unreliable

Date:November 25, 2014
Purchased 400 rounds of this, about half FMJ and half hollow point. Always one round and sometimes two don't fire out of every box of 20 out of my 1 yr old Mini 30. The rifle fires every other brand of ammo without any issues, just this Tul Ammo packaged in a Herters box. This ammo is unreliable, all I'm using it for now is to foul the barrel before shooting more legit ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap, reliable ammo

Date:October 8, 2014
I always buy some of this Herter's HP or FMJ ammo when I see it on sale. It shoots well, low cost, pretty accurate on paper. Have yet to shoot big game, varmints, or prairie dogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always a good time.

Date:September 30, 2014
Hard to beat the price of this ammo. Have shot hundreds of rounds (closer to 1000) with no failures. Just a good time for not a lot of loot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:September 23, 2014
Have been Purchasing for my older SKS. Smooth cycling, has never jammed, very reliable and extremely fun to shoot this ammo. Performs very, very well each and every time I shoot. Does not matter if it is for target shooting or hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo at great price

Date:September 17, 2014
I bought this for my AR I had doubts so I just took it out for a range session had great groups my AR ate all this steel case ammo with no miss fires, jam ups, or anything great ammo not to dirty as well high recommend this honestly this is gonna by my #1 ammo for my ar
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:September 16, 2014
I have never had any problems with Herter's ammo in my gun. It shoots well and is very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo for the price

Date:September 16, 2014
great for a day at the range if your gonna go through some ammo. my AK-47 eats it up with no problems. it is a little dirty but cant complain for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters 7.62 x 39

Date:September 16, 2014
Great ammo and price for shooting my SKS.
Only drawback is the bullet appears to be bimetallic and attracts a magnet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:September 16, 2014
This ammo is really good for the price. Runs better than tul or wolf for me. Maybe a little less dirty? But I didn't run enough to really say
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works!

Date:September 10, 2014
It works, always buy more when on sale :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works in my AK.

Date:September 9, 2014
Goes bang and flies straight. I noticed its a little more dirtier than brass casings but I clean my rifle every time I go out and shoot so it doesn't bother me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent hunting round!

Date:September 9, 2014
These rounds with the 154 grain soft point bullets work very well on game like feral hogs. Makes a very effective round for deer as well. Accuracy is about 2-3" at 100 yards out of my Chinese SKS rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good ammo

Date:September 7, 2014
I have AK variants and my guns love Herter's ammo.
I have been shooting these ammo for many
months,and have experienced not a single
misfire or failure to feed.Herter's ammo has
performed flawlessly.I recommend Herter's ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Performing Steel Cased Ammo

Date:September 2, 2014
Use for my SKS. Great ammo if you have a low budget!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Basic Target Shooting

Date:September 2, 2014
Good ammo for 50 yd. AK 47 target practice with my kids.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang for your buck

Date:August 26, 2014
Cant beat this ammo for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang for your buck

Date:August 26, 2014
I have shot 180 flawless rounds of this particular ammo. I find it to be accurate and well priced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 232