Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HERTER'S Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

We scoured the world looking for the perfect combination of quality ammo at low prices – and found it! This great-shooting ammo is Russian-made by a firm with over 125 years of experience. Sure-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. Noncorrosive. 122-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(240 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 240 reviews
5 Stars
165
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
16
218 out of 240(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:February 17, 2015
At least 1-2 misfire per box, dont waste ur money, wolf is better cheap ammo, mfs is best cheap ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's 7.62 x 39 Ammo

Date:February 17, 2015
I used this ammo in a Chinese SKS rifle from the early 60's. Shoot's great and never had any failures or other feeding issues.
I purchased the ammo when Cabela's had it on sale. Great price and a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty good

Date:January 6, 2015
Ak chews through this ammo.. Not too bad for the price. Recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Real good ammo

Date:January 6, 2015
I have purchased this ammo every time it goes on sale and is always a good deal. Accurate for intended purposes. Runs great in my AK and SKS with no jams.
I thoroughly clean my guns after every use at the range and after I get home. Will be buying more.
Manufactured either in Russia or Ukraine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's

Date:January 6, 2015
Herter's 7.62x39 ammo. I recommend this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great food for my SKS

Date:January 6, 2015
My SKS loves this Herter's Ammo. It doesn't make a mess of my rifle, its accurate and never fails to feed nicely out of my 20 round detachable magazines. I've only used this ammo since owning this rifle and will never buy another. Cabela's has the best selection and deals on it too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62x39 Ammo

Date:December 31, 2014
Herters ammo works for me and is cost effective.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

There's always Herter's . . .

Date:December 30, 2014
A great low cost ammo just like Tula. This is great guilt free pleasure when I want to run rounds through my SKS. No real issues and I love my gun, so I clean it up when I'm done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:December 16, 2014
I have shot a lot of this ammo. Quite frankly I started buying because it was cheaper that other 7.62 x 39 ammo on the shelves. I like to shoot and with a semi-auto I can burn through a lot. So I went for the Herter's. I have never had a failure. it always works, feeds well, and the accuracy is the same as any other brand for this caliber. I have also shot Herter's Pistol ammo (40 cal and 9mm) and it has all worked flawlessly. If you like to shoot and want to help keep the cost down go for this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good practice ammo

Date:December 3, 2014
Good practice ammo. Good groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition

Date:November 26, 2014
Great Price! Have shot 100's of rounds without fail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unreliable

Date:November 25, 2014
Purchased 400 rounds of this, about half FMJ and half hollow point. Always one round and sometimes two don't fire out of every box of 20 out of my 1 yr old Mini 30. The rifle fires every other brand of ammo without any issues, just this Tul Ammo packaged in a Herters box. This ammo is unreliable, all I'm using it for now is to foul the barrel before shooting more legit ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap, reliable ammo

Date:October 8, 2014
I always buy some of this Herter's HP or FMJ ammo when I see it on sale. It shoots well, low cost, pretty accurate on paper. Have yet to shoot big game, varmints, or prairie dogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always a good time.

Date:September 30, 2014
Hard to beat the price of this ammo. Have shot hundreds of rounds (closer to 1000) with no failures. Just a good time for not a lot of loot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:September 23, 2014
Have been Purchasing for my older SKS. Smooth cycling, has never jammed, very reliable and extremely fun to shoot this ammo. Performs very, very well each and every time I shoot. Does not matter if it is for target shooting or hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo at great price

Date:September 17, 2014
I bought this for my AR I had doubts so I just took it out for a range session had great groups my AR ate all this steel case ammo with no miss fires, jam ups, or anything great ammo not to dirty as well high recommend this honestly this is gonna by my #1 ammo for my ar
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:September 16, 2014
I have never had any problems with Herter's ammo in my gun. It shoots well and is very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo for the price

Date:September 16, 2014
great for a day at the range if your gonna go through some ammo. my AK-47 eats it up with no problems. it is a little dirty but cant complain for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters 7.62 x 39

Date:September 16, 2014
Great ammo and price for shooting my SKS.
Only drawback is the bullet appears to be bimetallic and attracts a magnet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® 7.62x39 Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:September 16, 2014
This ammo is really good for the price. Runs better than tul or wolf for me. Maybe a little less dirty? But I didn't run enough to really say
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 240