Customer Reviews for RIO Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case

RIO Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case

Rio Royal BlueSteel is loaded with perfectly spherical steel shot for use where regulations call for lead-free shotshells. It's ballistically engineered to retain energy down range and generates less pressure, a more consistent pattern and better efficiency than competing brands. 25 shells per box, 10 boxes per case.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Review 1 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great price and good results

Date:September 17, 2014
These pattern well from my SBEII, knocked birds straight out of the air and on sale were CHEAP. Cant beat them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Waterfowl shells

Date:December 13, 2013
I finally moved up from a pump to a Xtrema 2 for waterfowl. Went through every shell you could imagine and was not really hitting birds the way I did with the pump. Finally came across these. I got the 3.5" Super mag No3 shot. They pattern amazingly and are very clean on my gun. Wont use anything else now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Killed lots of ducks and geese with these

Date:December 12, 2013
I bought a case of 3 and 1/2" BB's late in the season last year and they worked great, shot most of them up on snow geese in the spring. I've shot about a 2/3's of a case so far this year with great results, last week I downed a huge Canada and shot a triple of mallards so I'm sticking with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ducks

Date:December 10, 2013
got a case of 2 and 3 shot. kill ducks pattern good. Main thing i like is they aren't as dirty as experts and federals
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very impressed

Date:November 19, 2013
I purchased two cases of the 3" #2's. The price was very cheap, shipping was very fast, and the Rio shells exceeded my expectations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good product

Date:October 8, 2013
This is my first experience with Rio Bluesteel shotgun shell's. Very satisfied with performance, she'll cycles good through both Remington 1100 and 11-87 shotguns. Good full pattern out 40 plus yards and very little to no powder residue in gun after two box's.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best shell for the price

Date:December 31, 2012
I heard about these shells from a friend who I hunt with often. He had bought a case and liked them very well so I bought a case also. I shoot a benelli super black eagle 2 and my friend does to our group shoots 750 to 1000 ducks a year and now most of us are shooting these shells they are undoubtedly the best shell for the money that i have ever shot we all shoot automatic shotguns and get along great some benellis some berretas I would highly recommend these for anyone wanting a good shell at a good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stacks them

Date:November 20, 2012
Bought 4 boxes at the end of last year and was very satisfied. When I first bought them I patterned the shell to see what would happen. At 30 steps it was knocking plastic barrels lover! The pattern was very consistent which gave me quicker limits and more dead ducks(not cripples). Just wished I would have bought them a lot sooner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shells

Date:November 13, 2012
Just as good as higher priced shells, when I pull the trigger they go boom, I shot a ton of teal with the 3 inch #3s. They work great on widgeons and mallards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Royal BlueSteel

Date:November 5, 2012
I have used these shells for the past two seasons, and by far, they are excellent. They compare with all top quality brands, I have shot them all, and you will be pleased with the price. I use a SBE and a M2 for all my waterfowl shooting, and have yet to have a failure. I have cases of other shells, but I always grab box of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value & performance

Date:October 31, 2012
Shot five boxes of 3.5 inch #2s recently in Saskatchewan at ducks and geese. Everyone cycled perfectly in my Stoeger M3500 and knocked down birds as well or better than anything I have used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shells

Date:October 16, 2012
Rio Royal BlueSteel Shotgun Shells are the best, and for the price you can't pass up.
I'm ready for the Zombies.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Royal blue

Date:October 15, 2012
Well worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:December 11, 2012
Was hesitant to purchase this shell because I had never heard of Royal or Blue Steel. Salesman told me it was a good product no complaints. Works seamlessly in the 11-87 on a two day goose hunt. Next hunt, a one day goose hunt gave my 11-87 to my 13 year old boy, he had no issues. I used it a model 12 12 gauge had difficultly ejecting. Could be a problem with ejectors on the gun, most likely. I would say a good value for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rio BlueSteel™ Shotgun Shells – Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Only buy one box

Date:December 1, 2012
I just got home from patterning my Benelli Nova with Carlson's Full and Mod chokes. I patterned Rio Blue Steel, Federal Speedshok, Kent Fasteel, and Fed Black Cloud. All shells were 3 1/2 inch BB loads. There are good reviews for the Rio Blue Steel, but in my gun they were absolutely terrible. I was patterning at 40 yards. Blue Steel delivered very thin patterns with both Full and Mod chokes. With the Mod choke however, there was a nickel sized hole in my target where the wad had penetrated the target and the cardboard box I had it taped to. It punched clean through, which leads me to believe that the shot is remaining in the wad way too long. This may be why I was getting such sparse shot patterns. My suggestion to anyone considering this ammo is to buy one box and pattern. If you are pleased it could be a great buy. I bought 2 boxes, which I can not return and am stuck with shells that I would never want to shoot at geese for fear of wounding birds and not bringing them down. Hope this review helps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.