Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver

This compact version of the 1851 Confederate Navy revolver is perfect for reenactments and fast-draw competition and is a fun gun to shoot. It delivers a .44-caliber punch and can be reloaded in seconds by swapping out an optional spare cylinder. An attractive firearm, it features a blued 4-7/8" octagonal barrel; plain blued cylinder; durable and eye-catching walnut grips; and a brass trigger guard. Barrel length: 4-7/8". Overall length: 11-1/4". Weight: 2 lbs. 7 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
46 out of 51(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Andalusia AL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7th purchase and very happy

Date:July 24, 2009
I have made 7 purchases in the last 2mos. and have not been disappointed as of this time. this last purchase was a 1851 navy 44 71/2" and the new 1851 navy with 51/2" Sheriff hex barrel. my collection to this point in the 1858 44 51/2" 1858 buffalo 12" a pair of Buffalo Bill 1851 engraved navy's with white grips, a pair of 1851 navy 44 plain janes and the new 1851 navy 51/2" sheriff, and I am proud to say that all work fine and finish is of top quality. I have been a black powder shooter on and off for 35yrs. and these pistols are better than most and as good as any. mostly the key to shoot these pistols is the cleaning after range or hunting time. You have to care for them and clean them throughly. oil them up and wait for your next adventure shooting. I shoot atleast 3 times a week and all mine even the brand neww two have had atleast 100 rds. through them my first 1858 new army 44 over 500 rds. and all function perfectly with a occaisional misfire but that happens with factory loads. Buy any one from the least expensive to the most expensive. take care of it load it with recommended load or less. I use 17 to 20 grains in the brass frame models and 25-30 in the steel frame models and lubed wads and #10 caps cci or remington. At 10 -25 yards you will be amazed at the accuracey of the guns. without adjustable sights alot is guess work but you won't be dissappointed. Good luck and good shooting. Capt.Vic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 navy

Date:September 2, 2009
Great revolver Finish was better than expected.I will be buying the one with the round barrel next!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Curry, Al.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BP Pistol

Date:September 2, 2009
Arrived timely and in new condition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 Colt 5 1/2 barrel

Date:September 25, 2009
The product came very quickly and is a great looking gun. I can't wait to get out and shoot it. Thanks Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Farmington, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shot It

Date:November 23, 2009
I added this to a recent purchase of an 1858 sheriff's model. So far, the 1851 has performed very well. I top off a .45 ACP (however many grains that is) with black powder, point of impact at 13 yards is 8" high. It shoots smoothly, however the loading lever handle is uncomfortably short, so I made a plastic extender handle to save my palm. I was very pleased with the shooting performance, and it was grouping tighter with each reload as the barrel broke in. I left off with 2" groups at 13 yards, not yet as good as my 1858, but getting there. The brass 1851 is not as easy to load or as strong as the 1858, I would have liked a steel version, but is an accurate replica of what it is, and the price on sale was too good to pass up. I had a jamb requiring dis-assembly when a spent cap hung up the cylinder (glad that I wasn't being pursued by hostiles Indians). It points better than the 1858, is funner to handle, and looks great. The first time removing the wedge was scary, I had to whack harder than I might have like to, you have to show it who's boss (as my father used to say about horses). All in all, I like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

44 Brass Sheriff Navy

Date:March 24, 2010
Mixed review here
It has some downsides
The handle is not fitted well, thankfully it's oversized rather than under so I will be able to sand it for a better fit.
The wedge is REALLY tight, normally not a complaint to me, but this was pretty excessive, it took a long time with a hammer and brass drift to get it out. After that it took a mallet to hammer down the loading lever to remove the barrel, still does after taking it apart 3-4 times.
Obviously that stuff will loosen up in time, as will the action which is pretty stiff.
Fit and finish was mixed, the innards are really nice, better looking actually than on my older Uberti. But the inside of the frame is pretty rough, the hole for the bolt screw (might be the trigger screw, I don't have the gun in front of me right now)cuts into the channel for the hand a bit leaving a cut into the screw hole from the side.
This is actually the second one I got, the first tended to overclock, moving the chamber past the hammer, both had that cut into the screw hole from the channel for the hand.
The screws are in really tight as well, be very careful taking them out the first time as the metal is fairly soft, use a well fitting screwdriver with care.
On the other hand, it points well, groups well, is nicely priced and usually on sale it seems. It feels good in the hand. I'm using 20 grains of FFFg a .454 roundball and prelubed wads. Might want to put some leather over the loading lever when pushing them in, that short bar and sharpish latch can tear up your hand. It uses number 10 caps and highly prefers the Remington brand, CCI don't seat well on mine and may take a 2nd hit from the hammer if not fully seated.
After all that I still really like this gun, it's mighty purdy, and shoots great, but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend unless I knew that person had decent mechanical skills and patience. I guess I would call it a slightly less than decent gun out of the box, that can be made into a really good gun with a touch of work.
I gave it a "fair" rating for it's out of the box condition, if you get the screws out without buggering them up it becomes an "average", with a bit more fitting and breaking in it becomes a "good"...frankly with that cut into the screw hole (doesn't seem to be structural or impair function, but it shouldn't be that way) I could never give it an "excellent"
Hope I didn't turn you off too much, I'm pretty critical and will be keeping this gun for a long time, I do like it a lot. I would buy it again, and might buy it a twin;)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: cambridge mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice lil gun

Date:May 11, 2010
this is a nice handlin lil pistol im very pleased with the way it shoots. its a lil hard to load cause of the short handled ramer but i think it points better than the 7.5 inchers. worth every penny!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent value for the money!

Date:June 5, 2010
I wasn't sure it would fit my 1851 "Sheriff" model purchased here at Cabela's. which is Pietta's version of the Griswold & Gunnison '51 Colt in brass. Pietta shortened the barrel to 5.5" and chambered it in .44 instead of .36.
The holster was slightly tight as it should be. After having the gun in the holster for a night or two, it fits very well and I'm very pleased with it. I did not use any water on the holster as I want the oil in the leather to last. I was impressed with the quality of leather used in the holster for the price, definitely a great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

number 11 caps

Date:February 7, 2011
I picked this gun out of the bargain cave.
It is all metal and wood.
It is very good looking with nice fitting parts.
The cylinder to barrel clearence is good and it locks up tight.
Using number 10 caps I had some misfires.
Using number 11 caps I have had no misfires.
Black powder FFF appears to be more consistant than pyrodex but I would not want to be shot at by either one.
The balance feels right and at 20 yards it fires a good group just a few inches high.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lake County, Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1st Gun Purchase, Not the Last

Date:February 27, 2011
Just received the gun this week. Looked good, was in great condition, moderate amount of oil in bag (needed cleaning). Just got back from the range, fired about 30 shots. Comparing this revolver to my 1858 CVA New Army just a few differences. #11 caps worked fine, about 22 grains of Pyrodex P, a wad between the powder and the ball, then topped the cylinder with bore butter. Probably a little overkill. Gun felt good in my hand, (lighter, shorter barrel). Shot consistent groups slightly high and to the left. Main difference was a bit harder to seat the ball, because the rammer is shorter than the 1858. (less leverage). Great gun for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a BLAST!

Date:May 5, 2011
I purchased this gun in store (Ft. Worth, awesome store!) and had to ask for the online price match and got it as it is on a better sale online than in the store.
I did not have any trouble removing the wedge pin and initial clean up was a snap. I tried #10 caps on it and they didn't fit, #11s fit perfectly. Firing was a joy, but it shoots high and to the left. At 10 yards it was 3" high and 3" to the left but grouped well. 25 grains of Triple Se7en FFFg with a Wonder Wad and .451 ball put nice big holes in the target! Trigger pull was light and predictable.
The loading lever is very short. I cut an 8" piece of 3/8" schedule 40 PVC to use as a cheater bar of sorts and it made loading very easy and didn't mar the metal.
The only problem I had was in clean up after shooting. The stain and finish on the grips started coming off on my hands as I was cleaning it leaving some reddish tinting on my hands. I am going to remove the grips and see if I can get all of it off and redo it with something more durable like boiled linseed oil or tung oil or something.
Overal I am very happy with this gun. It looks great and shoots good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

well pleased

Date:June 26, 2011
I had been looking a black powder revolvers for quite a while, and when these went on sale I ordered 2. Cabelas was very helpful, I had them shipped to the store(make an excuse to go) and when I got them out of the box I was very impressed. It was a nice suprise to have sequential serial numbers! I honestly never expected them to be so high quality and look so great! I took them home, disassembled and degreased and was ready to shoot. I have had no problems with any part or function at all. I have shot about 130 rounds between the 2 and am very pleased with their accuracy. I 've used .451 round balls and settled on 20 grains of 3f . They are about 8" high at 20 yards, dead on around 65 yards. I coundn't believe I was even on the paper at that distance. The loading levers are short(my brother has the 8' barrel which is more pleasant to load)but it is tolerable for the benefit of the short barrel. I have used #11 remington caps with success(maybe a little loose) tried #10 CCI (too small had to press them on) and will soon try the others till I'm happy. Have had 2 jams from shot caps falling between the frame and cylinder and have had a few fall in between my hand and the grip(a little uncomfortable), but I assume these are expected oocassionally. The brass has darkened up quite a bit as I handle them alot(practice drawing) and will probably polish them at some point. I might buy a pair of the 8'' 1851's next year as well I am so pleased. I just went to cabela's with my father and brother and they bought an 1858 remington and 1851 navy. They both shot great and were beautiful as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lancaster, Ca
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:July 1, 2011
Got this gun last year and have put about 200 rounds through. Points well and with 20 grains shoots about 6" high at 25 yards. Triple Seven makes cleanup a breeze. Some rough milling marks on side of hammer but to me not worth lowering its 5 star rating. I use #10 Remmington caps or #11 CCI. Worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Brandon, Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Finish Workmanship

Date:August 28, 2011
I recently received my "1851 Confederate Navy Short-Barreled" pistol made by Pietta and was disappointed with its cosmetics. Mechanically, it was fine: correctly timed and crisp action. However, I wonder if the pistol that I received wasn't used to train a new FAP factory worker- the brass frame had a blotchy discoloration, as if a chemical had dripped on it, the wooden grip was poorly fitted (thankfully, all of the fit problems with the grip were oversize instead of undersize), and the barrel-to-frame fit on the right side of the pistol was way off- some blued-over coarse grinding marks attested to a (failed) factory attempt to resolve this.
Now, all of this took me about five hours worth of work to correct (most of it spent on reshaping and refinishing the wooden grip), which is far less than what a kit version of this gun would have required,
And, since the pistol was on sale, I suppose that a case could be made that one "gets what they pay for". In the past, I have bought a Pietta-made 1858 Remington copy from Cabelas, and was impressed by its high level of finish; so maybe this latest gun's finish was just a fluke. If I were to receive another gun in this condition, however, I wouldn't hesitate to return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Heber, AZ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Heck of a Shootin Iron !

Date:September 13, 2011
This is my eighth revolver from Pietta . The workmanship is more than I expected from a bargain priced pistol. It loads quickly, has great balance and a crisp trigger pull. It comes to point with ease, and is very accurate. For someone who wants a lot of pistol for a little cash, this can't be beat !
Don't waste time thinking about this ....buy one...or two now !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thrilled!

Date:January 9, 2012
This was my first cap-&-ball firearm and I waited to write a review until I gained a little experience with it and others. I bought it in Sep 2011 and I like it more each day that I own it. The workmanship is excellent and it just has a great feel to it. Everything is very tight and precise. With the 5-1/2" barrel this pistol is perfectly balanced, at least for my hands. It comes out of the holster dead level and seems to hold itself on target. The only drawback I can find is that the wedge is extremely tight, so it takes quite awhile to swap out cylinders. Right now, I can reload just about as fast as I can do a cylinder swap, so having the spare cylinder isn't much of an advantage for me. I knew cleaning was going to be a bigger chore than on a cartridge revolver, so that hasn't been an issue. I've owned a half-dozen different brands and styles of cartridge revolver, and right now I actually prefer my Pietta Confederate to all of them for feel, accuracy, and overall enjoyment. Plus, I keep it on display in my office and it's a great conversation piece! I had planned to buy two more, but the price went up right after Christmas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Most Fun per $ You're Going To Find!

Date:March 4, 2012
-This firearm is not a faithful replica of anything.
-This firearm isn't really S&W or Ruger quality or durability.
-This firearm doesn't quite have the fit and finish of some, from much pricier makers.
All that being said, I've been having so much fun with this gun I can hardly stand it! It looks and handles great. Its a sweet little shooter with nice balance and a more than decent trigger pull. Its far more accurate than I ever would have expected. I grin from ear to ear as every shot goes into a 6" paper plate target stuck out at 25 yards. My wife shot it and the grin involuntarily flashed on her face too. I could even see my 13 year old daughter smiling as the smoke cleared from around her as she shot it.
At Cabala’s sale price you have a lot to gain and very little to lose. If you’re thinking about trying black powder for the first time or adding this piece to your stable, don't hesitate. You will be happy you bought it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:May 12, 2012
I'm having lots of fun with this revolver. It looks good shoots good and is great fun to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another 5 star product from Cabela's

Date:May 25, 2012
I purchased the 7 1/2 inch model three weeks ago. Liked it so much I decided to buy the 5 1/2 inch Sheriff model. The workmanship is great. Cabela's is the place to go for quality black powder guns. They shipped this gun to me in record time. Again, their shipping is FAST ! This model was on sale, so I saved $90.00. Which makes this a very good deal. I like Cabela's and each transaction is smooth with no problems. If you are thinking about a black powder gun purchase, you won't regret shopping at Cabela's...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I Think I Got A Bad One

Date:June 12, 2012
The revolver that I received has at least a half dozen bluing defects (scuffs, light scratches and a nick on the top of the barrel). I may be wrong, but it appears that this gun has undergone considerable handling. Is it possible that this was a demo model ??
There is also some porosity evident in the brass frame.
Well, I guess I have to live with this one. Perhaps my next Pietta will look brand new (as it should).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 51