Customer Reviews for CCI Blazer Handgun Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CCI Blazer Handgun Ammunition

Reliable, clean-shooting ammunition for your handguns at prices lower than many other brands. This Blazer ammo uses specially treated aircraft-grade aluminum cases, material that costs less than conventional brass. Dependable CCI primers ensure consistent ignition. Proven Speer bullets deliver reliable feeding, excellent accuracy and hard-hitting terminal performance. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
10 out of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Review 1 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for Target Practice

Date:November 10, 2011
I use these for target practice and general shooting. I would not and do not use these as my preferred load for self defense. But they are a cheaper alternative when I'm just playing at the shooting range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: N.C.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

.45 LC

Date:June 18, 2011
Says 900+ FPS in a 5" barrel ..... getting a 722 FPS average in a 8 " barrel, shoot clean but didn't like the power .Got 940 fps average in the same gun with the federal HPSWC and they are 225 gr as compared with the 200 gr Blazer.These are PRICEY rounds tho fire in the low 700s sorry I wish I had a better report, but I tell it like it is the chrony dont lie if ya do the math the federals are the same price and a better SD round
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lansing, KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not my first choice...

Date:May 25, 2011
This is one round that is available in 9mm Makarov and it is one that i really do not like in that caliber. I had multiple jams, plus it kicks very hard where as other ammo i have used never jam, fire reliably, are much more accurate and never any jams or FTF with much softer recoil. This is the only brand i have had problems with in that gun. I also used this ammo in .40 cal and had a couple FTFs. With ammo like Winchester or Remington out there for FMJ I don't think i would ever go back to this ammo unless it was the only thing available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad Ammo

Date:January 21, 2011
This ammo consistantly jammed. The next to the last round misfired and blewout the primer. The side of the pistol was cracked and the magazine came out the bottom. The firearm was less than a month old and the week before I shot 400 rounds of brass ammo with NO issues. Waiting on a new firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hollyweird, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty darn good target ammo

Date:December 30, 2010
This ammo is remarkably clean shooting. It is as accurate as Winchester and Remington in my Kimber. No failures of any kind. For the price you'd be hard pressed to find better plinking ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Goes Bang Every Time!!!

Date:December 25, 2010
Good ammo for the price, as long as you don't reload.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boiling Springs, PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works 4.0 in .380

Date:August 25, 2010
I shot this in two different .380 pistols, along with 8 other types of ammo in a "shoot off" at the range. Five of the nine types of ammo had problems in my finicky Walther PK380, but 8 of 9 types worked perfectly in my Bersa Thunder. This ammunition was one of the four "winners", working perfectly in both pistols.
I hesitated before buying Blazer, because 20 years ago, when I started shooting with a 9mm, they had a bad reputation. Also I had doubts about the aluminum cases. I must say, I'm impressed. This ammo is clean and dependable. It's also relatively inexpensive in .380--definitely a plus.
However, as always, before you buy a large amount, check out a box to see if it works with your gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Moscow, Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo--Low Price

Date:June 30, 2010
Since 1995, I have shot thousands and thousands of rounds of Blazer 9mm and 45 ACP without any issues with my Sig 226, 220, X5, H&K 9mm 45 acp, and my other pistols. For practice I have not found a better round. The few issues that I have had over the years were the fault of the magazine not the ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pierre, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CCI Blazer .40 caliber ammunition

Date:May 24, 2010
Shot 100 rounds through my Glock 27 for the first time this weekend, mostly rapid fire at close combat distances. It worked great and was very clean. I won't hesitate to buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clean burning & reliable

Date:May 15, 2010
Bought 2,000 rounds of .40S&W with a friend & fired about 500 through a Glock 22 & Glock 23. Not a single issue with either guns. Inspected barrel & slide after 250 rounds per gun & was clean. For comparative purposes, my previous favorite range ammo was PMC Bronze (which is great, but runs dirtier than Blazer). This ammo has now become my favorite range ammo -- as I do not need to save my brass for reloading. Will buy again when I need to re-stock my supply.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Meridian, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Cheap Ammo

Date:May 8, 2010
I have shot a couple thousand rounds of this ammo over the past few years in .357, .40, and .45 without a single FTF or FTE. I keep my guns clean and in perfect working order so they pretty much digest anything I feed them without much complaint. Blazer is surprising clean shooting as well vs. a lot of the other lower priced ammo. The hardest thing lately has been finding them in stock for the .45 in particular. Great ammo for target practice. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LaGrange, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blazer 45 ACT FMJ

Date:March 16, 2010
I am a relative new user but have shot this round in my HD45 and it has been clean and without any FTF or FTE problems. I don't think you can beat it for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Frequent FTF

Date:March 7, 2010
Unacceptable number of FTF on 1st, 2nd, and even third strikes (5 out of 50). Shooting a PK380 that has not had one FTF with any other brand of ammo. The Blazer is reasonably clean and accurate, but there is no excuse for poor primers in a CCI product. Will only buy again as a last resort.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Blazer Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Parker, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievably Clean Burning Ammo

Date:February 19, 2010
My Dad and I go shooting 50 -100 rounds a week, he has a Kimber and I have a Colt, both are 45's. We like to shoot indoors and we don't reload, at least not yet so reluctantly we gave this Blazer ammo a try because nothing else was available. I have to tell you that this is the absolute cleanest ammo I've ever shot. My gun is polished Stainless and shows gsr big time but with this stuff there was hardly anything to clean and it shot nice tight groups with no feeding problems after 200 rounds. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.