Customer Reviews for SILVER STATE ARMORY SSA® Rifle Ammunition

SILVER STATE ARMORY SSA® Rifle Ammunition

American-made quality and sole-source manufacturing ensure top-shelf performance from every round, at a price that’s affordable for superior value. Silver State Armory leads the industry with its high-performance 6.8mm SPC ammo, and it also specializes in 5.56mm and 7.62x51mm rounds. SSA builds its ammo completely in-house to enforce the highest standards – going so far as to make all their own brass cartridges – to ensure field-proven accuracy, reliability and consistency. 20 rounds per box. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
31 out of 41(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

outstanding

Date:March 31, 2015
SSA shoots outstanding just as good as black hills just think its made by Nosler at a 100 yard it is spot on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality 5.56 Ammo

Date:March 24, 2015
The 77 grain hollow point projectile likes a 1:7 barrel twist rate best. From an AR with this twist rate the ammo is consistently very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product

Date:March 3, 2015
Shoots great hits hard , you won't go wrong with this ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SSA Rifle Ammo

Date:February 24, 2015
I have used this in the past with good success. It has functioned reliably and produced decent accuracy for factory ammo. I would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Accurate. With Chambering Issues.

Date:January 25, 2015
I have used the SSA Match .308 ammunition (both 168 grain and 175 grain) in a bolt-action and a semi-auto rifle.
The ammunition is as accurate as any other match ammunition that I've put through my rifles. However, I can't recommend the .308 ammunition because it will not work correctly in every firearm. You MUST know your chamber dimensions - refer to the SAAMI website for cartridge drawings!
My two rifles - a Tikka T3 Lite Stainless and an FNAR heavy barrel - both have minimum-dimension chambers. They do not function well with ammunition that is longer than about 1.618 inch from the case head to the shoulder datum line.
In my FNAR, the bolt would not completely close on SSA rounds after the chamber barely warmed up. Sometimes, this meant a misfire, and sometimes, the bolt closed enough to allow firing out of battery.
In my Tikka, I had to put considerable force into closing the bolt for every round that I chambered. One round was so tight that I accidentally hit the trigger, causing an accidental discharge before the bolt was fully closed!
I used my dial caliper and headspace measuring attachments and found that every SSA round measures at or above 1.620 inch. When I hand load for my guns, I resize cases to 1.618 inch, as that allows flawless feeding. Clearly, this is not a good matchup between firearm and ammunition.
Moral to the story: know your gun's chamber. This ammunition is better suited to guns with chambers cut to longer than minimum SAAMI dimension.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:January 13, 2015
The 308 is very high value ammo. It's relatively cheap and acceptably accurate. I get 1/2MOA groups out of a custom bolt rifle. The 5.56 is not so accurate. 1.5-2MOA out of an AR that shoots under 1MOA with other ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best ammo for the price

Date:December 9, 2014
I shot this side by side with Federal Gold Metal Match 168/175, Nolser match 168/175 and Honady 168/178 amax and for the price, you can't beat the accuracy. This is my new go to factory precision round for my Remington 700 AAC-SD .308!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Round

Date:November 18, 2014
I shoot a Ruger Gun Site Scout .308. This round did the job that I've only seen on hunting shows. My 8 pt. buck sat on it's butt and tip over in his tracks. I was amazed at 130 yds. I recommend these .308 WIN 150GR Nosler Accubond to all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308 165 Gr. AccuBond SSA

Date:November 8, 2014
Put about 5 boxes of SSA .308 165 AB thru my AR10. No problems with misfires or anything. My rifle just ate it up. As far as accuracy, and by no means am I a expert marksman... The rounds were consistent. 1inch or less at most times. I would recommend these rounds to anyone looking for pretty decent ammo in their .308. I have been feeding my rifle all types of different .308 ammo and grains and bullet types. For me and my rifle I have gotten the best groupings with Gorilla Ammunition .308 Sierra MatchKing 175gr. But these SSA .308 rounds are a beaut as well and I'm a huge fan of the Nosler Accubond bullet!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Use of SSA Rifle Ammo

Date:November 5, 2014
After sighting in a Remington 673 Guide Rifle ( 308 - 22" barrel) with some basic inexpensive loads, I tried four different vendor's ammo in the rifle at 100 yards. It was a cool day ( low 50's) with a 10-20 mph headwind so not the most ideal conditions. Bullets were all 150 gr ballistic tip and generated around 2800-2850 fps. I shot a 3 round group from each different type of ammo.
All groups were "1" MOA or less with the SSA generating a 3/4" group. Two other products did slightly better, however SSA's price point being much less.
I cannot comment on the stopping / killing ability of the round as we have not yet shot a deer with the ammo.
Accuracy - sub MOA ( 5 ) stars
Cost ( 5 ) stars
Quality ( 5 ) stars
Recoil ( 4 ) stars - it seemed a bit more
I have enough ammo to last me several years based on my testing, however I would recommend and purchase Silver State Armory ammo again.
The 308 caliber comes in 150, 165, & 175 grain bullets so one has options based on the type of game being hunted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

6.8 spc ammo

Date:October 14, 2014
Shot this thru a Stag Arms 16" upper in 6.8spc. 115grain loads produced 1" groups at 100yards, functioned great and now I have reloadable brass!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one hole groups

Date:October 7, 2014
This ammunition consistently produces five round, one hole groups at 100 yards that I can not put my index finger through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SSA 6.8 Tactical rounds

Date:August 19, 2014
My 6.8 rilfe really likes SSA ammo. Have good groupings and have no problems. The tactical rounds were cheaper than the other 6.8 in the store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate in 308

Date:August 14, 2014
I get 1 inch groups from my ar 10 in the 150 AB 308.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great American Made Ammo

Date:July 22, 2014
I have used this ammo for target shooting and plinking and and have had no malfunctions and accuracy is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best For Me

Date:July 9, 2014
My AR 10 loves this ammo. After a good year of experimenting with different ammo this brand in 168 gr .308 was the best grouping ammo. And it is consistant. I have bought this ammo at different times and it always groups the same. half inch to one inch groups at 100 yards from a 16 inch barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wouldn't group from this rifle

Date:July 9, 2014
Shot thru a new Tikka T3 .308. I picked up several boxes to start off with this new rifle. II could not get even half-decent groups, and the other 3 ammo types did fine. I have taken this ammo to the line with the T3 on 3 separate trips. Obviously, it may simply be that my rifle doesn't get along with this ammo or bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SSA .308 168 grain BTHP

Date:May 10, 2014
When I bought my .308 I used multiple brands and grain weights to see what my rifle liked. After testing the SSA 168 Grain BTHP rounds rose to the top. At bench rest at 300 yards, with bipods down I can get 2 inch groups on a regular occasion. Sub MOA off the shelf is very appealing.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bullet Detached with FTF

Date:April 25, 2014
While clearing a failure to fire, the bullet detached and was left stuck in my chamber.
I have used all kinds of ammunition in my rifle without failure to fires and have never had a bullet detach from a casing.
I don't recommend using this ammunition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheap, but unimpressive

Date:April 22, 2014
I figure that you could use it for practice ammo, but the quality control is lacking for use in a competition or a important hunt. The tips of the ammo were a bit uneven.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41