Customer Reviews for SILVER STATE ARMORY SSA® Rifle Ammunition

SILVER STATE ARMORY SSA® Rifle Ammunition

American-made quality and sole-source manufacturing ensure top-shelf performance from every round, at a price that’s affordable for superior value. Silver State Armory leads the industry with its high-performance 6.8mm SPC ammo, and it also specializes in 5.56mm and 7.62x51mm rounds. SSA builds its ammo completely in-house to enforce the highest standards – going so far as to make all their own brass cartridges – to ensure field-proven accuracy, reliability and consistency. 20 rounds per box. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.064 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
22 out of 31(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

6.8 spc ammo

Date:October 14, 2014
Shot this thru a Stag Arms 16" upper in 6.8spc. 115grain loads produced 1" groups at 100yards, functioned great and now I have reloadable brass!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one hole groups

Date:October 7, 2014
This ammunition consistently produces five round, one hole groups at 100 yards that I can not put my index finger through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SSA 6.8 Tactical rounds

Date:August 19, 2014
My 6.8 rilfe really likes SSA ammo. Have good groupings and have no problems. The tactical rounds were cheaper than the other 6.8 in the store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate in 308

Date:August 14, 2014
I get 1 inch groups from my ar 10 in the 150 AB 308.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great American Made Ammo

Date:July 22, 2014
I have used this ammo for target shooting and plinking and and have had no malfunctions and accuracy is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best For Me

Date:July 9, 2014
My AR 10 loves this ammo. After a good year of experimenting with different ammo this brand in 168 gr .308 was the best grouping ammo. And it is consistant. I have bought this ammo at different times and it always groups the same. half inch to one inch groups at 100 yards from a 16 inch barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wouldn't group from this rifle

Date:July 9, 2014
Shot thru a new Tikka T3 .308. I picked up several boxes to start off with this new rifle. II could not get even half-decent groups, and the other 3 ammo types did fine. I have taken this ammo to the line with the T3 on 3 separate trips. Obviously, it may simply be that my rifle doesn't get along with this ammo or bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SSA .308 168 grain BTHP

Date:May 10, 2014
When I bought my .308 I used multiple brands and grain weights to see what my rifle liked. After testing the SSA 168 Grain BTHP rounds rose to the top. At bench rest at 300 yards, with bipods down I can get 2 inch groups on a regular occasion. Sub MOA off the shelf is very appealing.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bullet Detached with FTF

Date:April 25, 2014
While clearing a failure to fire, the bullet detached and was left stuck in my chamber.
I have used all kinds of ammunition in my rifle without failure to fires and have never had a bullet detach from a casing.
I don't recommend using this ammunition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheap, but unimpressive

Date:April 22, 2014
I figure that you could use it for practice ammo, but the quality control is lacking for use in a competition or a important hunt. The tips of the ammo were a bit uneven.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo!

Date:March 25, 2014
This is great ammunition. Make Sure that you have a Minimum of 1:8 twist but preferably a 1:7 twist barrel for these rounds since they are actually longer than 77 grain SMK's. Barnes makes a great bullet and they are powerful enough to deer hunt with as well (white tail). If you got the right gun you should get some of these! Especially if you want to hunt with them. The wound channel is impressive and so is the bullet weight retention.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Improved MOA

Date:July 9, 2013
Shot 77gr in my Rock River (1:9 twist). Reduced MOA by 1/4.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Found this ammo not accurate.

Date:October 7, 2012
Have not tried the 6.5 or the 5.56 but I know the .308 ssa did not shoot well in my rifle. I shoot a 3.0in.. group @ 200 yrds. with another ammo, but usng the ssa, @ 200yrds, it scattered the group all over the paper, 8 to 10 inches. Will not use this ammo anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tight Groups

Date:October 2, 2012
This ammo loves my gun esp. with 77gr .223 in my 1:9 twist barrel!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5.56 77gr OTM

Date:April 16, 2012
I have a STAG Arms 6HL with a 1:8 Twist bull barrel. this ammo ran through it without any fte's or ftf's. Shot groups were very tight at 100yards. I tried 62gr but the 1:8 tossed them around. I base my reloads on this configuration. Very happy with SSA 5.56.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy it

Date:April 9, 2012
This is first time I had a problem with Ammo I purchased here.
My AR never and I mean never Jams.
This stuff would not eject and after clearing 4 different jams I stopped shooting and switched over to 5.56 Green Penetrators. Back to no problems
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best factory match ammo I have tested

Date:January 22, 2012
I found SSA 77 grain OTM to be the tightest grouping ammo out of a match service rifle upper ever. The fact that the sierra 77 grain bullets have a cannelure is even better because it reduces the possibility of bullet set-back.
2" Groups at 200 yards are no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orange County
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Quality, High Price

Date:January 26, 2011
This ammunition is expensive, but works exceptionally well. I have shot my tightest groups with the 77 gr HP load in my DI SOG Armory AR-15, and my modified Ruger SR-556 (a high quality piston gun can be just as accurate as DI). As a Marine, and former marksmanship instructor, I can appreciate high quality ammo.
The 6.8 SPC 115 gr OTM rounds have also worked well in my limited experience, and I'm looking forward to using their SPEC II high pressure rounds. I would use this ammo with my life on the line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very dirty ammo

Date:November 3, 2010
Bought 3 boxes to fire through Barrett REC-7 in 6.8 SPC. Out of those 3 boxes only had 1 jam. The only problem is that is it DIRTY! Had to perform COMPLETE cleaning after 3 boxes! Otherwise, it drove tacks at 200 yards. 1/4'-1/2' groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Class Ammo

Date:September 27, 2010
We went shooting on Friday. I managed to shoot my first 1/2" group with the 115gr OTM loads. No jamming during feeding, clean ejecting. Great ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 31