Customer Reviews for SILVER STATE ARMORY SSA® Rifle Ammunition

SILVER STATE ARMORY SSA® Rifle Ammunition

American-made quality and sole-source manufacturing ensure top-shelf performance from every round, at a price that’s affordable for superior value. Silver State Armory leads the industry with its high-performance 6.8mm SPC ammo, and it also specializes in 5.56mm and 7.62x51mm rounds. SSA builds its ammo completely in-house to enforce the highest standards – going so far as to make all their own brass cartridges – to ensure field-proven accuracy, reliability and consistency. 20 rounds per box. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.048 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
15 out of 21(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo!

Date:March 25, 2014
This is great ammunition. Make Sure that you have a Minimum of 1:8 twist but preferably a 1:7 twist barrel for these rounds since they are actually longer than 77 grain SMK's. Barnes makes a great bullet and they are powerful enough to deer hunt with as well (white tail). If you got the right gun you should get some of these! Especially if you want to hunt with them. The wound channel is impressive and so is the bullet weight retention.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Improved MOA

Date:July 9, 2013
Shot 77gr in my Rock River (1:9 twist). Reduced MOA by 1/4.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Found this ammo not accurate.

Date:October 7, 2012
Have not tried the 6.5 or the 5.56 but I know the .308 ssa did not shoot well in my rifle. I shoot a 3.0in.. group @ 200 yrds. with another ammo, but usng the ssa, @ 200yrds, it scattered the group all over the paper, 8 to 10 inches. Will not use this ammo anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tight Groups

Date:October 2, 2012
This ammo loves my gun esp. with 77gr .223 in my 1:9 twist barrel!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5.56 77gr OTM

Date:April 16, 2012
I have a STAG Arms 6HL with a 1:8 Twist bull barrel. this ammo ran through it without any fte's or ftf's. Shot groups were very tight at 100yards. I tried 62gr but the 1:8 tossed them around. I base my reloads on this configuration. Very happy with SSA 5.56.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy it

Date:April 9, 2012
This is first time I had a problem with Ammo I purchased here.
My AR never and I mean never Jams.
This stuff would not eject and after clearing 4 different jams I stopped shooting and switched over to 5.56 Green Penetrators. Back to no problems
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best factory match ammo I have tested

Date:January 22, 2012
I found SSA 77 grain OTM to be the tightest grouping ammo out of a match service rifle upper ever. The fact that the sierra 77 grain bullets have a cannelure is even better because it reduces the possibility of bullet set-back.
2" Groups at 200 yards are no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orange County
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Quality, High Price

Date:January 26, 2011
This ammunition is expensive, but works exceptionally well. I have shot my tightest groups with the 77 gr HP load in my DI SOG Armory AR-15, and my modified Ruger SR-556 (a high quality piston gun can be just as accurate as DI). As a Marine, and former marksmanship instructor, I can appreciate high quality ammo.
The 6.8 SPC 115 gr OTM rounds have also worked well in my limited experience, and I'm looking forward to using their SPEC II high pressure rounds. I would use this ammo with my life on the line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very dirty ammo

Date:November 3, 2010
Bought 3 boxes to fire through Barrett REC-7 in 6.8 SPC. Out of those 3 boxes only had 1 jam. The only problem is that is it DIRTY! Had to perform COMPLETE cleaning after 3 boxes! Otherwise, it drove tacks at 200 yards. 1/4'-1/2' groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Class Ammo

Date:September 27, 2010
We went shooting on Friday. I managed to shoot my first 1/2" group with the 115gr OTM loads. No jamming during feeding, clean ejecting. Great ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

5 boxes, 3 jams

Date:July 14, 2010
I've used this ammo on 2 separate occassions. First time around I shot 80 rounds and had one jam. Second time I shot 100 rounds and had 3 jams. I have heard of this stuff causing issues for a lot of people and now I am one of those people. Other brands have never caused any problem. I won't be using SSA anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waltham, MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very dependable and accurate

Date:May 19, 2010
Heard about Silver State 6.8 Remington SPC ammunition in a magazine article, thought I would give it a try at the range. Very happy with the 115gr OTM. Performed extremely well in my Stag M4 Carbine, no misfires, very accurate. Would like to try the tactical loads next time to see how they compare. I would recommend this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:May 8, 2010
I have not had any problems with primer seating. I think those other reviewers are probably not using properly configured rifles, Spec 2 Chamber, 1:10 twist as recommended by Silver State. Anyway, I have had nothing but great success with both 223 and 6.8 chambering. Tight shot groups all around, 1/2 inch on the 6.8 115gr OTMs. Hard to beat that. Consistent, reliable performance. I would highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR PRIMERS

Date:March 24, 2010
I bought 200 rounds of 6.8 SPC 90gr Speer TNT.
The ammo is accurate when it fires.
I took my 6.8 M4 to the local gunsmith who is a hand loader, and he said the primers are not seated enough. He seated a box of twenty for me and they all fired just fine.
I measured them and they are .004-.006" shy of my Hornadays. They sit just about flush with the case and after he seated them they were close to .01" deep.
This makes for a really bad day at a 3-Gun event.
Buy Hornady!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ogden, Ut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:December 24, 2009
This ammo is awesome. I've been firing it out of my DPMS AR-15 16". Had no misfires or fte. I shot 110gr accubonds and it grouped at .75 moa at 100 yards. Great accuracy. Use this rifle for self-defense. Thanks SSA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy

Date:December 2, 2009
Like one of the other reviewers I had used SSA 6.8 ammo with no problems.But all good things come to an end.I have been having primers pop out of the cases when firing and jamming my AR Performance 6.8.You CAN NOT clear this type of malfunction easily.BUYER BEWARE !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Gardendale Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy the 6.8

Date:November 6, 2009
I have used this ammo in my 6.8 SPC for the past 2 years and until the last order had been very happy with it. The last I order will not fire reliabiling. Their web site claims the problem is the primer, but I do not want ammo which will fire some of the time. I have tried different lower and the problem remain. I have had not problems with other 6.8 ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: In da wilderness, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The right stuff

Date:October 6, 2009
Shot both 115gr OTM and 90gr speer TNT out of my new AR, accuracy was great. Multiple groupings (three shot patterns) that the holes were touching each at 100 yards. Will continue to buy SSA ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Great state of Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent but expensive

Date:August 25, 2009
I have been shooting the 110 gr. Pro Hunter and could not be happier. Groups with my RRA upper are around 1.5 inches for me, an average shot, at 100 yards. This year I have killed 4 hogs medium sized. That said the stuff is not cheap. Might try a for a doe this season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:July 29, 2009
I purchased a BM M4 6.8 and was not able to get ammo at the gunshop where I purchased the weapon. I called several stores and finally found some other factory ammo. After shooting it at the range I was not impressed with the 2.5 to 3 inch result. A friend at the range told me about SSA ammo and said he had good results with it. I purchased some 100 gr. Abond and some 110 gr. as well. They make great ammo and the accuracy from the BM M4 is now under 1.5 from a bench and 2 of my 5 shot groups were under 1 moa. I plan on using it this year for deer hunting in the woods while I stalk hunt. My 7 year old son also loves to shoot this combination as well since it has a collapable stock. I am now ordering some of the 85 gr. TSX ammo they put out since I am a big fan of those also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 21