Customer Reviews for SILVER STATE ARMORY SSA® Rifle Ammunition

SILVER STATE ARMORY SSA® Rifle Ammunition

American-made quality and sole-source manufacturing ensure top-shelf performance from every round, at a price that’s affordable for superior value. Silver State Armory leads the industry with its high-performance 6.8mm SPC ammo, and it also specializes in 5.56mm and 7.62x51mm rounds. SSA builds its ammo completely in-house to enforce the highest standards – going so far as to make all their own brass cartridges – to ensure field-proven accuracy, reliability and consistency. 20 rounds per box. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.17 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
36 out of 47(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2015

Old Stock SSA

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bought this because Cabelas was out of Winchester 64 gr .223 Remington. Had two FTF. Strong, multiple primer strikes. Called Nosler (who SSA is owned by now) and the representative sent me a box of the new stuff in exchange for the 2nd box of the old SSA that I still had. Apparently, there are still boxes of the old stock SSA before Nosler bought them out sitting on retail selves which have primer problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2015

Not Bad

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
25-50 yard good to 100 yard is bad.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2015

Great Performance

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Since purchasing a Savage 10 .308 with Vortex Viper scope, I've been experimenting with different ammunition and bullet weights. At 100 yards, I was able to put three rounds down at 1 inch MOA using SSA match 168 gr. Iv'e tried about 7 different types so far and this is easily the best performance to date.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2015

Accurate Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Went there to pick up ammo to test as a base against my reloads. Bought the 175gr 308 HPBT and shot a .4" 4 shot group at 100 yards. Was absolutely speechless. Cycled and ejected flawlessly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2015

Great ammo!!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good groups out of my .223 bull bbl ar-15. No bad shots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015

More accurate bang for your buck

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
In this world of high prices, attempting to find ammunition at a reasonable price is difficult. I found this ammunition at a very reasonable price. It is match grade for my caliber rifle and pretty darn accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015

outstanding

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
SSA shoots outstanding just as good as black hills just think its made by Nosler at a 100 yard it is spot on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2015

Quality 5.56 Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The 77 grain hollow point projectile likes a 1:7 barrel twist rate best. From an AR with this twist rate the ammo is consistently very accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2015

good product

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Shoots great hits hard , you won't go wrong with this ammo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015

SSA Rifle Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have used this in the past with good success. It has functioned reliably and produced decent accuracy for factory ammo. I would recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2015

Accurate. With Chambering Issues.

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have used the SSA Match .308 ammunition (both 168 grain and 175 grain) in a bolt-action and a semi-auto rifle.
The ammunition is as accurate as any other match ammunition that I've put through my rifles. However, I can't recommend the .308 ammunition because it will not work correctly in every firearm. You MUST know your chamber dimensions - refer to the SAAMI website for cartridge drawings!
My two rifles - a Tikka T3 Lite Stainless and an FNAR heavy barrel - both have minimum-dimension chambers. They do not function well with ammunition that is longer than about 1.618 inch from the case head to the shoulder datum line.
In my FNAR, the bolt would not completely close on SSA rounds after the chamber barely warmed up. Sometimes, this meant a misfire, and sometimes, the bolt closed enough to allow firing out of battery.
In my Tikka, I had to put considerable force into closing the bolt for every round that I chambered. One round was so tight that I accidentally hit the trigger, causing an accidental discharge before the bolt was fully closed!
I used my dial caliper and headspace measuring attachments and found that every SSA round measures at or above 1.620 inch. When I hand load for my guns, I resize cases to 1.618 inch, as that allows flawless feeding. Clearly, this is not a good matchup between firearm and ammunition.
Moral to the story: know your gun's chamber. This ammunition is better suited to guns with chambers cut to longer than minimum SAAMI dimension.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
The 308 is very high value ammo. It's relatively cheap and acceptably accurate. I get 1/2MOA groups out of a custom bolt rifle. The 5.56 is not so accurate. 1.5-2MOA out of an AR that shoots under 1MOA with other ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Best ammo for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I shot this side by side with Federal Gold Metal Match 168/175, Nolser match 168/175 and Honady 168/178 amax and for the price, you can't beat the accuracy. This is my new go to factory precision round for my Remington 700 AAC-SD .308!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014

Excellent Round

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I shoot a Ruger Gun Site Scout .308. This round did the job that I've only seen on hunting shows. My 8 pt. buck sat on it's butt and tip over in his tracks. I was amazed at 130 yds. I recommend these .308 WIN 150GR Nosler Accubond to all.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2014

.308 165 Gr. AccuBond SSA

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Put about 5 boxes of SSA .308 165 AB thru my AR10. No problems with misfires or anything. My rifle just ate it up. As far as accuracy, and by no means am I a expert marksman... The rounds were consistent. 1inch or less at most times. I would recommend these rounds to anyone looking for pretty decent ammo in their .308. I have been feeding my rifle all types of different .308 ammo and grains and bullet types. For me and my rifle I have gotten the best groupings with Gorilla Ammunition .308 Sierra MatchKing 175gr. But these SSA .308 rounds are a beaut as well and I'm a huge fan of the Nosler Accubond bullet!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2014

First Use of SSA Rifle Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
After sighting in a Remington 673 Guide Rifle ( 308 - 22" barrel) with some basic inexpensive loads, I tried four different vendor's ammo in the rifle at 100 yards. It was a cool day ( low 50's) with a 10-20 mph headwind so not the most ideal conditions. Bullets were all 150 gr ballistic tip and generated around 2800-2850 fps. I shot a 3 round group from each different type of ammo.
All groups were "1" MOA or less with the SSA generating a 3/4" group. Two other products did slightly better, however SSA's price point being much less.
I cannot comment on the stopping / killing ability of the round as we have not yet shot a deer with the ammo.
Accuracy - sub MOA ( 5 ) stars
Cost ( 5 ) stars
Quality ( 5 ) stars
Recoil ( 4 ) stars - it seemed a bit more
I have enough ammo to last me several years based on my testing, however I would recommend and purchase Silver State Armory ammo again.
The 308 caliber comes in 150, 165, & 175 grain bullets so one has options based on the type of game being hunted.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014

6.8 spc ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Shot this thru a Stag Arms 16" upper in 6.8spc. 115grain loads produced 1" groups at 100yards, functioned great and now I have reloadable brass!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2014

one hole groups

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This ammunition consistently produces five round, one hole groups at 100 yards that I can not put my index finger through.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2014

SSA 6.8 Tactical rounds

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My 6.8 rilfe really likes SSA ammo. Have good groupings and have no problems. The tactical rounds were cheaper than the other 6.8 in the store.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SSA® Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2014

accurate in 308

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I get 1 inch groups from my ar 10 in the 150 AB 308.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 47