Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black

CVA took the popular Kodiak and added a few extras to create a durable, versatile and accurate muzzleloader that offers smokepole shooters an exceptional value. It has a 29" barrel, with a 1-in-28" twist rate; fluted to reduce weight and enhance cooling. DuraBright? fiber-optic sights deliver a clear sight picture in low-light conditions. A ventilated CrushZone? recoil pad protects your shoulder with stout loads. Includes a Cabela's Powderhorn 3x10x40 Ballistic Scope with rings, a silent, no-slip Claw sling and a premium-quality, nylon-armored rifle case with extra-large accessory pocket. It has a black ambidextrous stock with a blued barrel. .50 caliber only. Length of pull: 14.375". Overall length: 43". Weight: 7.5 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
8 out of 13(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Review 1 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoot like a centerfire rifle

Date:December 17, 2009
After zeroing in, my Kodiak Pro is shooting 1-1.5 at 100 yards. It has never misfired'; I use Winchester 209 primers, and 295 grain power belt bullets, pushed with 100 grs. Buckhorn powder. I cannot say enough about this powder. You can shoot 10 plus shots and each subsequent shot is as easy to load as the first. I talked a friend in purchasing the Kodiak Pro and he is one happy hunter. This was his first blackpowder. This rifle is as much fun to shoot as any of my many centerfire rifles, and there is hardly any recoil. GET IT, YOU WILL LOVE IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful In Line

Date:January 4, 2010
I bought mine the first of December, right before the Muzzel Loader season in Missouri. I bore sighted it, took it to the range and sighted it in 2" high at 100 yards. The rifle performed outstanding, fired every time I pulled the trigger and was easy to clean. I have two TC Hawkins, one 50 and one 45. Good rifles, but nowhere near thr Kodiak. It's more fun than any of my high powers. Two shots fired during muzzel loader season and two deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW!

Date:December 21, 2009
I purchased this rifle to have before the start of black powder season this year. I have previously used a traditional rifle. I bore sighted the scope and then sighted the rifle in at 50 yds. I was in the bull in five shots. I don't understand the poor ratings due to mis-fires. My rifle shot the first time and has fired on the first shot every time. It is light and the scope is excellent for the price. The trigger is a little hard to cock with gloves on with the scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy!

Date:December 5, 2009
I recently bought the CVA Kodiak Pro Magnum and it is everything I thought it would be! It fires every time and puts it in the black. Also the scope is a great deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Slatington,Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA#1

Date:November 28, 2009
I do not understand the negative reviews? I own CVA's Stag Horn, Firebolt Ultra Mag, Wolf, Kodiak , Kodiak Pro, and a Winchester Apex, same as Kodiak Pro pretty much. But I never had a problem with misfires, They all shoot same hole at 50 yards, and less than a inch at 100 yards. If you wanted a differant Brand than buy it, but CVA's are the #1 selling Muzzleloader in the USA, sorry but that is the FACT ! Thank you Cabelas for providing great Muzzleloaders at a great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:November 11, 2009
I have had this muzzleloader about a year now. It was a great rifle out of box, it had a very tight pattern at 100 yards. Highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun for the money!

Date:September 20, 2009
Great gun for the money! Holds a nice pattern at 75 and 100 yards with 95 grains of tripple 7 and 295 grain power belts. I would recommend this combo to anyone wanting get into muzzleloading. The only bad things I have to say about this gun would be its a little on the heavy side and more difficult to clean than a break action gun. I also own a cva wolf I would recommend the wolf over kodiak because it's lighter, easier to clean, and easier to opperate than the kodiak.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Kodiak Pro

Date:September 10, 2009
The CVA Kodiak is a great rifle, used it outside of my state and performed excelent. Only complain, I have big hands and fat fingers, found the hammer small and hard to pull when using a scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Taxachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Disapointed in the product, not in Cabelas

Date:December 3, 2009
I purchased this as my first black powder rifle with the intention of extending my deer season here in MA. I got a good deal on the package and it arrived quickly. I took it to the range a few days after getting it to sight in the Cabellas scope on it. After couple of shots I realized that EVERY time you shoot you have to fire twice to get the primer to ignite!!! I did of course try a different brand of primer to be sure and had the same results. The scope also seems to be "iffy" at best. Firstoff you would think that a mounted scope would at least be bore sighted, but this one started off about 18" low and right. I would get my shots within a couple inches of the bullseye and the next couple would be off 5 or 6 inches (using a shooting bench and gun rest)
I contacted Cabelas about the issue with the primers and they were MORE than helpful, they immediately shipped out a replacement and offered a gift certificate. Unfortunately after reading the other reviews (something I should have done before buying) and calling CVA directly it appears that this is a known issue with this model (maybe others) and they offered to fix it after I pay to ship it to them. Too bad for me that they cannot fix it and get it back to me before my primtive firearm season starts, So they (CVA) suggested that I back the breach plug out about 1/4 turn to alleviate the problem for the duration of hunting until I an get it back to them to fix.
This is obviously an ongoing problem with at least this model, so I ask WHY ARE YOU STILL SELLING THEM?
Again I will say that ultimately this is an issue with the quality of the CVA product and I have absolutely no problems with Cabelas customer support, thay are the best!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Another misfire review

Date:December 17, 2009
The next day after bringing the gun home I started reading the reviews. After reading many people having issues with the pin not setting off the primer I grabbed my gun to see if it would do the same thing. Sure enough it took two shots EVERY time to ignite the triple seven primer. I called CVA and they have never heard of this but if I spend the money to have it shipped in they would fix it. I told him that I shouldn't have to send in a new gun to have it fixed. I did a little adjusting and I got it to get a little better but still wouldn't fire on the first time. I took it back to the store and will look for a better one latter. Don't waste you time with this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

the bear tooth magnum is junk

Date:November 23, 2009
i bought a BEAR TOOTH MAGNUM 50.cal CVA makes it an oddly its not on cabela's site AT ALL. . . . so CVA product is fine for me. my opion is still bein heard. i bought the gun few yrs back an have had the hardest time sightin it in scope is JUNK that came with it pine ridge couldnt hit the broad side of a barn if i tryed an my buddy shoots a TC an his shoots like a shotgun . . . .shoot mine once an u think ur shootin a cannon. . . .even my other buddy shoots a wolf an either guns have NO kick like mine does. . . . .very dissapointed with it. . . .maybe if i put a scope on it with standards for cannon i may have better luck. . . . maybe a shock pad for the stock. . . . my sholder STILL bruised. . . . this gun fights me every shot. . . .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Misfires

Date:November 18, 2009
While sighting in this gun, right out of the box I experienced a misfire about every other shot. The primer would not pop. It would only dent it. I could pull the hammer back and pull the trigger a second time and it would usually fire on the second try. I tried different brands of 209 primers with the same results.
This combo deal does have two things going for it, the CVA case and the Scope.
I am done with this gun, I don't need any more variables reducing my chances of success in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CVA Kodiak Pro .50 Cal. Muzzleloader Combo - Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!

Date:November 9, 2009
bought this muzzle loader two weeks before season and when testing primers to make sure it popped it took twice to fire. Didnt think much of it till i had a doe twenty yards and shot and heard nothin but click an doe ran off. dont recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.