Customer Reviews for HEVI-SHOT Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box

HEVI-SHOT Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box

Put the odds in your favor every time the shot is called. Pattern-Density Technology™ consistently packs more pellets than steel loads into a 40-yd. pattern for fowl-folding results. Tests showed an average of 138 No. 2 Hevi-Metal pellets patterned in a 30" circle at 40 yds., compared to 111 No. 2 steel pellets at the same distance. The effectiveness of these hard-hitting loads doesn’t stop with superior pattern density. The sharp-edged pellets have deeper penetration than similar-size steel shot. 25 shells per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.202 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 84 reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
9
70 out of 84(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Review 1 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Git r done
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad

Date:August 19, 2009
these are not bad shells i bought the 3" #2 3 1/2" #3 and BB shot the shells pattern well outta my mossberg 535 but the pellets arent all round the majority of them are deformed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Really not that good.

Date:August 20, 2009
The range in pellet sizes worried me. I cut one open to do a pellet count for #2 3" and found the steel pellets to be consistant but the other tungston pellets were sized anywhere form 6-8 to 3-4. I thought it patterened horrible...MOD choke at 40 yrds was ~53%. Not what was advertised. Terror choke .675 resulted in a better pattern 83% @40yrds. But I get the same results with other good steel loads that cost much less. Worth a try but will not buy anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Syracuse, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pattern

Date:August 30, 2009
These shells were the best of 5 shells I patterned out of my Moss 835. better then black cloud. I like these because they have the same technology as black cloud with the misformed cutting shot. These will be my shells for the season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Conroe tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

These go Hard....

Date:September 14, 2009
Just got done shooting some of these last weekend during opening weekend of teal season in Texas (3.5" #3), and these were devastating. Over decoys birds crumpled DOW (dead on water) and actually made two shots over 50 yards that astonished my brother by knocking them down dead (had no cripples at all), towards the end of the hunt my bro said he was getting some, so I gave him 3 shells to test drive he went 3 for 3 and before that he was about 1 for 10 with Rem Sportsman. After that he said he have some by next weekend. We had our full limit by 8:45 thanks to the hevi-metal....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: marion, Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

now these are sea duck loads

Date:November 28, 2009
i went on a sea duck hunting charter and these loads killed every eider i shot. even though only two escape. i used the 3inch #2 shot. great loads and i drop some shells in saltwater but they still shot without misfiring. Hevi metal is similar to the technology of the black cloud but i shot the black cloud and these are better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hevi Metal

Date:December 16, 2009
Hunters with pattern master be aware!!! I bought this hevi metal think it was going to shoot better than kents since it was new and yeah. So today i went and patterned it with Pattern Master Long range Full choke and my SBEII and at 45 yrds when i usually get 15+ pellets in a 12 in circle i got 8...........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pittsburgh pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worked for me!

Date:December 23, 2009
Hevi-steel has worked well in my Beretta Extrema 2 with Cabelas modified extended tube. Brought down ducks and geese out to 60 yards with 31/2 inch BB which is the furthest I will shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

SBE II use

Date:January 5, 2010
While waterfowl hunting we utilized three boxes of 12 ga, 3", BB, through two SBE II and one Berreta Extrema 2. Every gun malfunctioned with the shells. We then changed to other ammunition and had no issues. I would have to say its the shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Joshua, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Bad... But not great!

Date:January 14, 2010
This is a decent shell. Personally, when I shoot it, I get a lot of cripples. For the price i'm gonna stick with Black Cloud!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ok

Date:February 23, 2010
I tried the 3 inch BB on tundra swans and when I finnaly knocked one down only 2 BBs hit him in the neck. My buddy used the same in 3 1 /2 inch and killed his with one shot.They Were All About 20 -30 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Claremore, OK
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Shells

Date:May 29, 2010
Been hunting with Hevi Metal since it came out last year. I've tried different shot sizes, my favorite is 3 1/2" No 3 shot, shooting a Benelli SBE2 with modified choke. This stuff will kill both Ducks and Large Canada's stone cold dead out to 60 yards. With 20 years of duck hunting experience, this is the best shell and best load I've ever used. I highly recommend it to other hunters and recommend using the No 3 shot because the pattern is incredibly dense and nothing gets away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Junction City,Oregon
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

heavy steal

Date:July 25, 2010
i shot 3 inch BB last season and every honker i shot went down with one shot this stuff is powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: In da wilderness, MN
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Can I please get some round shot PLEASE?!

Date:August 20, 2010
Bought a box of 3" 1 1/4 3 shot. Cut one open to take a look at the insides and was compleatly shocked. First off there are about 5 different sized shot in there. The #3 sized shot looks good, round and uniform. The rest (looks like 4, 6 and 7 1/2 shot) are misformed, dented, have big pimples hanging off the sides of them. For the price I paid I am VERY disappointed. I'm almost scared to shoot these (almost) but I can't afford to throw that kind of money away and not shoot anything. All I can say is I won't be buying these again any time soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Whitewater ,KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dead duck every shot

Date:October 25, 2010
These loads take down ducks like theirs no tomorrow, 3in #2 shot 6 shots 6 ducks, great pattern, knocked the big old mallards outa the sky effortlessly, with all dead on impact, no work for the dog that day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: minn
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Never buy this junk

Date:October 31, 2010
Recently purchased this product. But after cutting a few shells open I was very displeased. Several different shot sizes ranging from bb to 8 shot. The powder was in clumps and buffering differed in each one. The first shell contained seeds of some kind and the others contained plastic balls. If you are a responsible water fowler you owe it to the birds to buy a better product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Leavenworth, Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most Lethal Shotshell for ducks

Date:November 1, 2010
I've tried all the high-end "better than lead" shells over the past four seasons. Most of the time I use a SBE II with an IC or Mod choke for ducks. Hevi-metal 3" #3 or #2 are as good as it gets. I duck hunt over 20 days per season in all conditions, I've never had a misfire. I get very tight consistent patterns with my Briley tubes. Anything inside 40 yds is usually stone dead/immobile before the dog gets there. Don't let the pellet shapes worry you, they work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:December 20, 2010
shooting a SBEII with a 24 inch barrel and full choke carlson
tried all brands for a good patter at 40 yards. all where equal at 25 but at 40, the hevi did the best. kent close second and then winchester. hypersonic did horrible at 40 and kick like a mule. for the money, i will buy hevi from now on. they just work. they kill the ducks not wound them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Nampa, ID
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

BAD!!

Date:January 12, 2011
After hearing all of the buzz about hevi metal i bought a box of 3in 1 shot for goose hunting. i did hit a bird about 60 yards out there with my remmington 870 express. But after cutting one of the shells open i was not to happy. There was multiple diffrent shot sizes ranging from 1 shot to 6 shot, the one shot looked good but all of the rest had dimples or more than one bb fused together. I do not plan on buying another box any time soon. I will stick with Winchester Expert steel for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tallahassee,FL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

better than steel

Date:January 15, 2011
I have used steel shot until this year when I tried hevi metal. I thought the hevi metal was more lethal than steel, it leaves the gun really dirty, however, its a good alternative to steel and cheaper than the tungsten. good for the money comparably
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hevi-Metal™ Shotgun Shells – Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Flat out kills birds

Date:January 24, 2011
For starters you should know that that these shells contain steel and tungsten shot. The steel shot will be the size that the shell is marked with(#2 shells will have #2 steel shot). The tungsten shot however will be smaller sizes that (in #2's) will vary from #3 shot size to #6 shot size.
If you read up on these shells as you probably should before buying any new type of shells, the irregular tungsten shot shape, as well as the varying tungsten shot sizes, and even the seeds would be explained. The tungsten shot has sharp edges on them while the steel shot is round like normal. This basically creates a shrapnel effect with the tungsten which does huge amounts of damage to the birds. Don't let the different shapes make you worry about how the shot shoots, having shot these shells religiously your just gonna have to trust me that it works...really well . As is commonly known heavier metals(tungsten) have greater impact on the target than steel. For lead it's estimated that a number 4 lead has the same impact as number 2 steel. Tungsten is heavier than lead. SO the smaller varying tungsten shot is designed to give you a denser patter without sacrificing impact on the bird. And finally the (flax)seeds is what they use as a sort of shot cap(to be more eco friendly), to get a good crimp.
These shells kill, with fewer crips. They do massive amounts of damage and pattern like a dream in my 870. Don't think twice about buying these.
Keep in mind that every single gun patterns different shells differently. So make sure you pattern with these first. For my 870 w/ mod choke, they pattern extremely well at 40 yards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 84