Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50

HORNADY Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50

A great choice for the quality-conscious rifleman on a budget, this reliable Hornady ammunition is Berdan-primed in steel cases. Loaded for a 2350-fps. muzzle velocity, 123-gr. SST bullets have a ballistic coefficient of .275 and deliver rapid, controlled expansion that’s perfect for short- to medium-range hunting. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Review 1 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

How could you NOT love this?

Date:January 10, 2014
I have read review afer review and most people are comparing to cheaper surplus ammo, and bashing due to steel case. It seems everyone is putting in the same range, but it is FAR from that.
Yeah I guess for just sitting and bump firing from the hip you cant get the full aspect of what Hornady has done. The massave expansion on soft tissue of deer and coyotes by far surpass HP or SP ammo. Just depends on what you are looking for in a round.
From a bolt action 7.62 used solely for hunting you can cause massive damage 75-100 yards on most any animal you would like. I can say I have used and harvested deer with the surplus ammo only to find it failed on impact, and that was ONLY if you find what you shot. Small in and small out with little to NO blood trail.
If you are looking for a hunting round this is by far the best for the buck. Ohh and not to mention the fact of how many times I have been torn up during a hunt only to realize **OHH MAN I EJECTED THE SHELL** and it still lays silently on the ground. Steel doesnt sound that bad to me when it does the same job!!
Way to go Hornady!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:December 27, 2013
I gave it 4 stars only because of the steel case. Had it been brass, as others have said, it would have gotten 5 stars.
This ammo has been consistent and very accurate in my own Yugo SKS, in a friend's Norinco SKS and in another friend's Saiga AK variant. Three different guns, same results.
Due to the quality of other Hornady ammo I tried this, and once again was not disappointed. You won't be either.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

They could have brass cases considering the price.

Date:December 20, 2013
I received a box of these as a gift. They shoot pretty well,but for the price they could be loaded using brass cases so that people can reload them as opposed to the cheap steel cases. If they were brass cased I would give them a higher rating. I would not spend my hard money on them. Go with the zombiemax instead. Its the same bullet but with brass cases,not to mention they can be picked up for less money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Devastating

Date:November 20, 2012
This stuff is great hunting ammunition. A chest shot on a big whitetail deer at 50 yards broke her heart and then two ribs on the way out. The bullet left a 2"x3" exit wound. I wish it the availability was more consistent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Use Caution in Saiga-based Weapons

Date:November 19, 2012
I purchased a box of this ammunition to use in the event that I wanted to use my standard Saiga as a backup deer gun. Having fired the weapon with probably 1/2 a dozen brands of import product and old surplus with very consistent groupings from brand to brand, I expected these to only perform better. It was very erratic in terms of accuracy. I have since found the same to be the case with the Hornady 'Zombie Max' product as well. Maybe they are using a .308 slug and the Saiga has a .311 barrel - I just don't know? That said, I cannot fairly endorse the product based on my experience - which is disappointing based on the fact that I have had great luck with Hornady in other applications.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no malfunctions

Date:March 4, 2012
I shot about 200 rounds in mini 30 no jams misfires etc. Ammo groups good. Mini 30 are ammo fussy so hornandy is the answer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lewiston, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best ammo for the Mini 30

Date:February 18, 2012
Bought this ammo to try for deer hunting with my Mini 30 and couldn't be happier. No FTF and was very clean and consistent. Took 2 deer with it this year and was very pleased with the results. I will say though that both deer were taken at less than 100 yards, but where I hunt thats perfect as I raerly get a shot of more that that. I would highly reccomend this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo, lousy packaging, decent performance

Date:October 11, 2011
I wanted to share my experience with this ammo for those who may be considering purchasing it. I bought 3 boxes to use for sighting in my new rifle/scope - expecting it to perform better than the bargain rounds that I shoot for fun. Impression:
Packaging is poor. All three boxes contained loose rounds that did not stay in their styrofoam container during shipping. Probably 80% of the bullets were bouncing around in the container, resulting in banged up tips. It looked like a combination of oversized holes in the styrofoam, and the box being too large for the rounds (allowing them too much headroom to fall out).
The rounds themselves were fine, and seem to be well made. I saw no quality issues. They performed well, with no misfires or accuracy concerns. I do want to mention that I punched these assuming that they would give me better performance than the bargain basement rounds I buy for plinking at the range. I had hoped for a tighter and more consistent groups when using my scope. Good or bad - they showed no better performance than the cheap ammo I buy in bulk. I shot almost identical groups at 100 yds with all of the ammo I tried.
Good ammo - but nothing spectacular as far as performance in concerned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best 7.62 x39 Ever Made

Date:March 17, 2011
I own a AK-47 and the rifle is superb and reliable but one thing i found that wasn't so reliable was the cheap ammo i use for target shooting, i needed and high reliable low cost round to use for home defense, just in case. after looking at dozens of different rounds i found one brand that took my AK reliability to a whole new level and that is this Hornady V-max ammo. in short if you want a great round for the right price to shoot in caliber 7.62x39 Hornady is hands down the best choice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: volcano
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best ammo for mini

Date:January 18, 2011
This ammo works very good in my mini 30, never jams and it's pretty accurate. this is the ammo loaded in my "just in case" mag right now thats how much faith i have in it. cant wait to shoot some coyotes with it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Platte, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady 7.62 x 39

Date:April 28, 2010
These are the best x 39 rounds on the market. They are the cleanest of them too. i have shot over 200 rounds out of my mini 30 and have had 0 misfires, 0 jams, 0 ejection problems. Love the company and love the rounds! Plus helping the state economy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady V-Max 7.62x39

Date:January 20, 2010
Didn't think it was going to be worth the money. All my rifles have some type of jamming with the 7.62x39mm on the market. But this stuff I never had a jam, miss-feed and the grouping was tighter in my AK-47, Mini-30 & SKS. This is the Best 7.62x39 ammo on the market today!!!! I have shot over 500 rnds of this ammo now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® 7.62 x 39 123-gr. SST Rifle Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady 7.62x39

Date:October 18, 2009
I bought 100 rounds for my AK-47. I have had no misfires or jams and good grouping's . So far great ammo. I will be purchasing more!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.