Customer Reviews for Traditions Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Traditions Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle

The feature-rich Buckstalker offers the best value in a modern break-open muzzleloader. The powerful 209 ignition coupled with a 150-gr. magnum charge capability give the Buckstalker a consistent reliable ignition, while simultaneously providing high velocity at ranges up to 200 yards. The 24", 1-in-28"-twist barrel, coupled with the LT-1 alloy frame, make the Buckstalker compact, lightweight, and easy to maneuver. It comes standard with durable, solid-aluminum ramrod to ensure a perfectly packed load. The Projectile Alignment System ensures that every projectile is properly aligned. The dual safety system provides peace of mind. Truglo® fiber-optic sights provide an enhanced sight picture in low light.Overall length: 40".Weight: 7-1/2 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Review 1 for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Starters Hunting Smokepole

Date:September 18, 2009
I just bought this muzzleloader last weekend, and have gone to the range twice. I must say I was impressed! This is my first muzzleloader I've owned although I have shot a few different ones, and it shoots fantastic. It was pretty accurate at 200 yards with just open sights! I plan on getting a scope and using it this December in muzzleloader season. It is a great first-time smokepole hunter's rifle and it is an awsome gun for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gainesville, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:November 6, 2009
This is my first muzzleloader, and I am very pleased. I don't have a scope for it yet, just the fiber-optic sites that come with the gun (they are excellent). The gun came out of the box....not exactly dead-on, but close enough. At 150 yards with no scope I am getting 4-5 inch groups using 2 pellets of triple 7 and a 250grain Cabelas sabot.
Great value for the money. Gun is constructed well, easy to clean....no complaints at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central ala
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

first muzzleloader

Date:November 10, 2009
was looking for cheap m/l just to get an extra week of early deer season. this one had the features I wanted and cabelas has great customer service. other reviewers said bullet selection was the main factor for accuracy in your particular rifle, so I tried 4 different types. starter kit came with 250 gr t/c shockwaves, also ordered t/c 300 gr jhp, 300 gr hornady jhp, and 300 gr hornady L-N-L with SST-ML bullet. both jhp gave me 6-8" groups at 100 yds, not great, t/c shockwaves gave me 4" at 100yds, barely acceptible, but with the L-N-L SST-ML gave me 1.25", almost as good as my old 270 featherweight. all of these were with 2-50gr pellets of pyrodex with remmington 209 muzzleloader primer. I mounted an old tasco world class 3x9x44 scope on it, the 2x7x32 that came with it was not clear enough for my old eyes. b/p season starts nov 16 and rifle season the 21st. I plan to spend the entire week at our camp looking for a big one!
ps, the sst's were only 1" high at 50yds and 6" low with 2.5" groups at 150 yds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: bugtussle, kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A++ RIFLE

Date:December 17, 2009
WOW!! I CAN'T BELEIVE THE QUALITY IN THIS GUN FOR THE PRICE. FIT AND FINISH ARE THE BEST, QUALITY THROUGH OUT. I WAS ONCE A CVA FAN BUT NOT ANYMORE, TRADITIONS BUCKSTALKER IS BETTER QUALITY THAN MY OPTIMA WAS AT LESS MONEY. AND CABELA'S SERVICE IS TOP NOTCH, I ORDERED ON MONDAY AND RECEIVED ON THURS. NOW THATS SERVICE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy = Buckstalker

Date:December 30, 2009
I recently bought a Buckstalker for my 11 year old son. It fits him much better than my Encore or Disc Extreme and is lighter than both. It doesn't have an extremely short length of pull like a youth model would have, but the lighter weight and slightly shorter LOP makes it work for him. Don't be fooled though, it fits me just fine as a 5'10" adult.
We took it to the range today and all I can say is it is a shooter. Using 100 gr 777 and 250 gr T/C Shockwaves I would say it is a solid 1 MOA or better performer. We didn't shoot it a ton and only used that combination, but it definitely works beyond my expectations. I would not hesitate to buy another one for friend/family. Recoil was not bad given is it lighter weight than my other muzzleloaders.
The only complaint is the ramrod. I always use a range rod for cleaning, so it isn't a big deal for me. I think with a good T-handle it could work as a field loading rod. It is a very nice piece of the equipment for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: waverly,ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome!

Date:January 16, 2010
I have hunted for over 40 years ,and have many muzzle loaders . this one shoots great, i'm not much of a target shooter ,but this gun makes it easy. put a scope on it (1.5-4.5) sighted it in at 25 yds. to start, then shoot 100 yds.and it was good for me (about 3in groups). then i shot 150 yds. and it was 3ins. low! I was inpressed. for me as a hunter that was good enough. shot 100 grains of pyrodex and 295 grain power belts. I'm ready to take it hunting! but now i have to wait till next year. cabela's was great also! i recieved the gun in 2 days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southern Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5 stars for the price

Date:January 18, 2010
I recieved my new rifle in good condition in 3 business days from the day ordered. I read the owners manual (which is full of basic cautions and little specific info) and disassembled the rifle as far as instructed for a first cleaning. It is recommended to familiarize yourself and remove manufacturing oils. Also, for new Black powder shooters, very important to grease the threads on the breech plug. I didn't grease the nipples on my first BP revolver and broke two wrenches trying to remove them after shooting it the first time. Oil will not work, it has to be heavy grease. Back to the rifle, I bought 295 gr aero tip powerbelts and loaded them on 75 gr. of fffg American Pioneer Powder. The PAS system allowed very easy loading of the bullets with only the guns ramrod and very little force. The A.P. powder shot very clean, and allowed the two following loads to go down the barrel easily as well without swabbing. Out of the box sight setting was dead on with the 75 gr load at 25 yds. I may try increasing the load up to 90 gr for more speed, but honestly I think I struck gold on my first try with this rifle. After shooting, everything came apart easily. The bore was very clean (I love A.P. powder just a bit) and the breech plug was the only part that took some time to clean because of the small diameter and lots of fouling from the primers. I have a little experience with shooting muzzle loaders and this gun was so easy to shoot that I almost felt like I was cheating tradition. If you are looking for a light, simple, accurate hunting rifle, I would easily recommend this gun. I don't expect to do more than 50-100 yd shots with it but feel it would be capable with some ammo/powder tinkering. Also, the break action was very tight and quiet. Definite keeper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dagmar, Mt
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wonderfull

Date:October 5, 2010
This is a very good rifle, I just bought it last week and so far i am very impressed with it. I am planning on taking it hunting this year. And it handles big charges right nicely and it packs quit a punch. I full recommend this gun. :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Traditions Buckstalker Blued/Black .50-Caliber Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Muzzleloader

Date:November 10, 2010
When looking to get into muzzleloading I had alot of things to consider. I have back problems so I wanted something light, easy to handle, .50 cal., and simple. I am extremely happy with my Traditions Buckstalker. With a 100 gr. load of 777 pellets and the 250 gr. Hornady SST-ML saboted bullet it only took 6 shots to get it sighted in. The final two shots were touching, 3" high @ 100 yards. Thank you Traditions and Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.