Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™

Improve the amazing Triumph? No small task, but pro hunter Michael Waddell did it. This top-of-the-line rifle boasts all the high-performance features of the original Triumph, and it's upgraded with the vibration-dampening FlexTech™ composite stock that integrates four recoil-absorbing arches and a SIMS™ recoil pad for premium shooting comfort. It also has the patented Power Rod™ with its pivoting T-handle grip for easier loading. The corrosion-resistant, Weather Shield™ fluted barrel provides dead-on-target accuracy with 150-grain magnum charges. The QLA® muzzle system offers fast-loading convenience. Toggle-lock break-open action provides tip-up barrel access. Hand-removable Speed Breech XT™ plug with gas compensation rings eliminate 95% of fouling and prevents seizing with locking lugs. Precision trigger factory set at 3 to 3-1/2 lbs. Lightweight alloy receiver. Reversible, ambidexterous hammer extension. Hammer-block safety. Truglo® fiber-optic sights. 209 primer ignition. Available: .50 caliber. Barrel length: 28". OAL: 42". Wt.: 6.5 lbs. Finish: Weather Shield/ Realtree AP™ .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
27 out of 30(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Review 1 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:August 5, 2014
This has been a great gun, easy to clean and maintain. My Thirteen year old son was able to site the gun in five shots. Now we shoot and wait for opening day!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic!!

Date:March 23, 2014
I'm a 20 year old girl, and my dad recently gave me this firearm to use during muzzleloader season. I absolutely love it!
Pros:
-It is much lighter than other muzzleloaders.
-The florescent sights are great and easy to align.
-I never feel any recoil when I shoot; the youth shotgun I use regularly kicks harder.
-I am honestly not sure about scopes for this gun because I just use the open sights; I read one person had to take the back sight off.
Cons:
-.....Everyone wants to use it. I let my brother-in-law use her one time, and he ended up getting one. I've never had any problems out of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic weapon!

Date:December 6, 2013
My first ML. Best factory trigger I ever had. Great fit and finish. Simple breech operation. I just dumped my third deer. It took me 6 shots to zero with a 2x7 scope. 80 grains of Buckhorn 209 pushing a 300 grain sabot. Zero@50 and 125. 3 inches low@150. 10 inches low@200. Insane killing power and light recoil.I was treated more then fair on my trade ins. Awesome buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Confidence is High

Date:November 14, 2013
I never have any doubts in the field when deer show themselves when I am using this rifle. I have hunted hunt deer for two years now with this rifle. Last year I shot a small buck at about 50 yards and dropped it in its tracks. This year I shot two deer; a 4 point at 35 yards and an 8 point at about 75 yards. The 4 point ran about 10 yards before dropping and the 8 point dropped in its tracks. The load used on all deer was two white hots with 50 Cal. T/C 250 gr. Shockwave bullets. This gun shots sub-one inch groups at 100 yards, every time! The only drawback is that you must clean between shots with this load. I can live with that for this level of accuracy. Cleaning is a breeze!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:January 6, 2013
This is a fantastic rifle! Shoots 1" groups at 100 yards with Blackhorn 209 and the T/C Shockwave 250gr bullets. I love how easy it is to clean as well. Highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Muzzleloader

Date:December 5, 2012
90 grains Blackhorn 209, Barnes TMZ 290, CCI Shot Gun primers, Nikon 3X9X40 Omega, Warne bases and rings, 12 point and 130# doe in the freezer. Shooting 2" groups out to120 yds 1" or less at 70, working on loads to hopefully bring that a little tighter. Maybe it's the eyes behind the scope?
Very happy, especially with the recoil, much easier on the shoulder which is 1 of the main reasons I bought the gun in the first place. A lillte barrel heavy with my quake claw but I can deal with that. Very pleased. If you are considering this muzzleloader I do not think you will be disappointed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Overall Good but Room for Improvement

Date:October 31, 2012
I purchased this rifle about two weeks before hunting season. The gun is very light, easy to handle, easy to clean, shoots great, and looks great. I really liked it but I could not believe the lack in quality of the stock. Three of the small rubber inlays on the sides of the rear of the stock fell out the second day of the season. These are thin strips of rubber and are not held in very well at all. I would definitely suggest going with the regular stock and not the bone colector stock. Also, it seemed like the matte finish scuffs up easier than other guns I have. The gun is accurate and has the kick of about a 12 ga. or a little less. All in all I like the gun but I definitely expected more quality for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good muzzleloader

Date:October 11, 2012
I bought this gun to bridge the gap between bow and rifle season for whitetail. It serves my needs well and is as good as any other muzzleloader I have shot.
The fit and finish is good except the the edges of the camo on the forend flaked off when touched. I had to remove the rear sight to get a 40mm scope mounted on medium rings - if they placed it back further this wouldn't have been required. It was nice that the set screws for the scope base mounting holes were a perfect fit for plugging the holes left by the rear sight. I was also pleased to find that TC also sells a set screw to plug the front sight mounting hole.
The Weathershield finish is thick and durable - no need to oil it. My boresnake did wear off the finish at the muzzle because I was pulling at an angle. Other than that it held up well to a hard twelve days of hunting, with handful of those in the rain.
The breech plug design is absolutely the best aspect if this gun. It makes cleaning extremely easy. It only required the removal tool one time after literally spending from sunup to sundown being rained on. It seals well and cleans easily. I put 300 rounds through the gun at the shooting range and did nothing more than run a boresnake down the barrel and wipe off the face of the breach with a towel between shots. Never a malfunction or hiccup.
Accuracy is acceptable for a hunting rifle. Several powders, charges, and bullets were tried and all shot about the same - 2-3 MOA off sand bags. Hitting a 10" plate at 200m was not much of a challenge, even if standing unsupported. Much to my surprise, the balance of this gun makes unsupported shooting quite easy.
My only real complaint about the gun is the thick and squishy recoil pad. It compresses a lot when firing hot loads so you will want a scope with a lot of eye relief. With 4" if eye relief I had to be cognisant of my head position to keep the scope from touching my glasses under recoil...nothing can make you develop a flinch quicker than that. I also found that the recoil pad was so thick, if bringing the gun up into shooting position quickly, the sticky rubber could catch on clothing and fold over sideways.
I most likely would buy this gun again and recommend it to friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not happy

Date:October 2, 2012
My experience with the TC Triumph Bone collector model was not a good one. I took it to the rifle range for the first time to sight in my newly mounted scope and shoot the gun. I shot the gun 4 times and the trigger pull was excellent but the trigger housing drops out to open the breech and was extremely difficult to close to the firing position each time I put a 209 primer in the pocket. On the 5th time the trigger housing simply broke off rendering the gun unusable. Needless to say I had to send the gun back and order another one. I hope I get the newly ordered gun in time to use it for the season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Muzzleloader

Date:September 19, 2012
This is a great muzzleloader. These are somethings that really impressed me:
1) The Breech Plug is extremely easy to remove and clean,
2) The fiber optic sights and truly impressive in low light conditions
3) This is a light gun. It is a dream to carry through thick brush
4) Loading is extremely easy. No need to "force" the sabot down the barrel
5) Cabela's had great shipping. Initially I was a little worried about shipping a gun to my house. But I can definitely say you can buy with confidence from Cabela's!
Overall I highly recommend this gun to new or seasoned muzzleloader hunters. I also recommend shooting with Blackhorn 209.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thanks to Cabelas customer service...

Date:September 12, 2012
The gun is a quality one& shoots well however the scope rings came stripped & defective. Cabelas has great customer service so allowed me to return it & got a new one. The new one arrived with broken fiberoptics! Cabelas did send replacements, but I think there should be better quality control.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: St. Peters, MO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Enough of the Bone Collector!

Date:January 10, 2012
I own a Triumph and it is a great Muzzleloader but if your looking for an inline go with the Pro Hunter. The trigger assembly is a pain to clean and there are other options available that provide the accuracy. The Bone Collector hunts tall fences and I am disappointed so many hunters jump on this bandwagon. After almost 40 years of chasing Whitetails I can speak from experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Covington, VA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the Money

Date:December 17, 2011
I bought this muzzleloader this past week when I found a crack in the barrel of my previous muzzleloader. I was hesitant about spending the amount for it, however, I wanted quality. It took me three shots to sight it in. Two shots were in the same hole. The rifle recoils straight back like a smokeless rifle and handles quickly. Cleaning is also a breeze. I am shooting 100grains of BH209 and Shockwave Easy Glide 250.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mountains of Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best durn muzzleloader. Period.

Date:March 21, 2011
Had a cva. This blows it away. So easy to load and clean. Firing is a joy - very little kick. Lightweight is a plus. Most importantly, extremely accurate: 5 shots - 3 holes - 1 inch spread. Definitely worth the extra money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: xenia,oh
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best gun ever

Date:January 16, 2011
this gun is the best gun i have ever seen. it has the breach plug that is amazing. it doesnt kick hard at all. it is the most accurate gun there is. i went out and shot it today and the hits were les than a centimeter apart and 1 bullet wen in the same hole as another bullet. i bought the bushnell doa250 scope and it is the best combo. it has 4 reticals and it says to sight it in at 100,150,200, and 250 yards but if your hunting deer or any big game you only need to sight it in at 50,100,150,200 yards because thats as far as you need to be shooting. there is no down side to this gun at all and i love it i highly recomend it and the bushnell doa250 scope because it is the best combo. thompson center is clearly makes the best muzzloaders. i had a cva before this and it doesnt shoot anywere near as goods as my triumph. my dad has the basic omega and it shoots perfect too. he just killed a doe at 150 yards away and it fell down and died 30 yards later. so this is the best gun EVER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice

Date:December 31, 2010
just got this rifle before season this year. very lightweight and easy to handle. extremly accurate. took a doe at 120 yds shoting through a woods and it pulled it off. love this gun and would get another one if i had to buy a new gun. perfect oh yeah and clean up is easy with the easy oout breach plug. just awesome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gainsboro, VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Muzzleloader

Date:December 3, 2010
After years of hearing my father brag about his old T/C muzzlerloader I finally said good bye to my old faithful (Winchester 209 Apex) and purchased the Bone Collector. I equipped this beast with a Leupold 3x9 Ultimate Slam and off to the range we went. 5 shots, 100 grs of powder, 300 gr Hornedy bullet and OMG! 3/4 " groups at 100 yards off the bench. So into the wood we went, on the first day of the season with high hopes of killing that monster buck. 30 minutes before dusk I dropped a 6 point whitetail buck, field dressed at 225 plus dead in his tracks at 140 yards with my new T/C Bone Collector. T/C, you now have my attention and will forever be a loyal hunter who uses your products. I love this gun and look forward to using it in the years to come!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South LA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Phenomenal

Date:November 8, 2010
This is my first muzzleloader and before shooting it, I was beginning to wonder where the extra money had gone over the black stock with blued barrel. Now i know and could not be happier with it. I put a 3x9x40 nikon omega on it and before going shoot learned the ballistics of my bullets and it took 2 shots to have it dead centered at 100 yards. First trip into the woods it took a buck at 85 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: vermont
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD, BUT COULD BE BETTER

Date:October 25, 2010
I really do like my bone collector, shoots straight, loads and cleans easily, has a ton of great features.BUT (you knew this was coming, so here it is), i hope tc is reading, and other request the same.... we all know 150 grains of pyrodex or 3 pellets ain't worth a nickel in this gun,(or any other muzzleloader i've ever shot) so could we please have a barrel option less than 28".Us die hards that beat the brush and hump it up over big mountains and trudge through nasty swamps don't need 28" barrels.22" or 24" would be great!! i'm sure 28" in a tree stand is fine but there are lots of us bone collectors that don't stay in trees or blinds all fall. Next , how about this gun in stainless steel? I'm not convinced weather shield is so great as i've had many stainless guns some muzzloaders that were a breeze to care for, i immediatly noticed alot of extra care was needed cleaning the bore after shooting, yes i use 777 and yes i treat the bore with TC s special bore butter.For you non believers why hasn'tthe prohunter got weathershield?And when you call Tc's tech department why do they tell you the prohunter 209 x 50 katahdin ( with an 18" barrel) is just as accurate as there longer barreled cousins?So how about it guys??? Can we please have an ultralight mountain version in stainless steel???? Ok i guess i've said enough, just wanted to let others know what could be better,(or for me atleast).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Little Rock, AR
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thompson/Center Triumph Bone Collector .50-Cal.

Date:October 15, 2010
This rifle is consistently accurate and much easier to load, clean and handle than traditional muzzleloaders. The recoil absorbing stock really makes a difference.
The T/C Shock Wave Super Glide Sabots soot very well from this gun. I haven’t been able to test effectiveness on game yet, but bullet will be on target when I do!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 30