Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™

Improve the amazing Triumph? No small task, but pro hunter Michael Waddell did it. This top-of-the-line rifle boasts all the high-performance features of the original Triumph, and it's upgraded with the vibration-dampening FlexTech™ composite stock that integrates four recoil-absorbing arches and a SIMS™ recoil pad for premium shooting comfort. It also has the patented Power Rod™ with its pivoting T-handle grip for easier loading. The corrosion-resistant, Weather Shield™ fluted barrel provides dead-on-target accuracy with 150-grain magnum charges. The QLA® muzzle system offers fast-loading convenience. Toggle-lock break-open action provides tip-up barrel access. Hand-removable Speed Breech XT™ plug with gas compensation rings eliminate 95% of fouling and prevents seizing with locking lugs. Precision trigger factory set at 3 to 3-1/2 lbs. Lightweight alloy receiver. Reversible, ambidexterous hammer extension. Hammer-block safety. Truglo® fiber-optic sights. 209 primer ignition. Available: .50 caliber. Barrel length: 28". OAL: 42". Wt.: 6.5 lbs. Finish: Weather Shield/ Realtree AP™ .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
32 out of 36(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Review 1 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2015

My first BP

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Easy to sight in, load, clean and shoot. I have not hunted with it yet but really like the rifle. Only issue is the bore plug is hard to remove if you dont get it clean and greased well each time you use the rifle. That is probably more the user fault than the rifle but with a scope over the plug, it is awkward to remove if you have big fingers like mine!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2015

Broken Trigger Guard

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Same experience as a previous reviewer....
Took gun out of the box and to the range. On the sixth shot the trigger guard completely broke off. Gun is totally useless as that's what operates the break action.
Trigger guard made of a lightweight cast aluminum, approaching pot metal quality.
Gun back in box, shipped to Cabela's. Only positive note is Cabela's hassle free return.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2015

Nice gun

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very easy to shoot and carry. The open sights are great and easy to see in low light conditions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

Best Present Ever

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Best present ever is what my son said when he opened it and saw what it was. He could not wait to get powder and bullets to try it out. He can't wait till next hunting season to see how it works on deer. This gun turned out to be better than expected.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

good rifle

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
accurate, easy to clean
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2014

Great Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is the best shooting muzzle loader I own. Started off with a 4 1/2 inch group at 75 yds. After some playing around with powder and bullet weight. It now shoots a 2 inch group or better at 75 yds. Ended up with 100 grains of triple seven pellets.250 grain Hornaday SST sabots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014

Great Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This has been a great gun, easy to clean and maintain. My Thirteen year old son was able to site the gun in five shots. Now we shoot and wait for opening day!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014

Fantastic!!

By
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
I'm a 20 year old girl, and my dad recently gave me this firearm to use during muzzleloader season. I absolutely love it!
Pros:
-It is much lighter than other muzzleloaders.
-The florescent sights are great and easy to align.
-I never feel any recoil when I shoot; the youth shotgun I use regularly kicks harder.
-I am honestly not sure about scopes for this gun because I just use the open sights; I read one person had to take the back sight off.
Cons:
-.....Everyone wants to use it. I let my brother-in-law use her one time, and he ended up getting one. I've never had any problems out of it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2013

Fantastic weapon!

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My first ML. Best factory trigger I ever had. Great fit and finish. Simple breech operation. I just dumped my third deer. It took me 6 shots to zero with a 2x7 scope. 80 grains of Buckhorn 209 pushing a 300 grain sabot. Zero@50 and 125. 3 inches low@150. 10 inches low@200. Insane killing power and light recoil.I was treated more then fair on my trade ins. Awesome buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2013

Confidence is High

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I never have any doubts in the field when deer show themselves when I am using this rifle. I have hunted hunt deer for two years now with this rifle. Last year I shot a small buck at about 50 yards and dropped it in its tracks. This year I shot two deer; a 4 point at 35 yards and an 8 point at about 75 yards. The 4 point ran about 10 yards before dropping and the 8 point dropped in its tracks. The load used on all deer was two white hots with 50 Cal. T/C 250 gr. Shockwave bullets. This gun shots sub-one inch groups at 100 yards, every time! The only drawback is that you must clean between shots with this load. I can live with that for this level of accuracy. Cleaning is a breeze!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2013

Great Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is a fantastic rifle! Shoots 1" groups at 100 yards with Blackhorn 209 and the T/C Shockwave 250gr bullets. I love how easy it is to clean as well. Highly recommended!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

Very Good Muzzleloader

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
90 grains Blackhorn 209, Barnes TMZ 290, CCI Shot Gun primers, Nikon 3X9X40 Omega, Warne bases and rings, 12 point and 130# doe in the freezer. Shooting 2" groups out to120 yds 1" or less at 70, working on loads to hopefully bring that a little tighter. Maybe it's the eyes behind the scope?
Very happy, especially with the recoil, much easier on the shoulder which is 1 of the main reasons I bought the gun in the first place. A lillte barrel heavy with my quake claw but I can deal with that. Very pleased. If you are considering this muzzleloader I do not think you will be disappointed
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2012

Overall Good but Room for Improvement

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this rifle about two weeks before hunting season. The gun is very light, easy to handle, easy to clean, shoots great, and looks great. I really liked it but I could not believe the lack in quality of the stock. Three of the small rubber inlays on the sides of the rear of the stock fell out the second day of the season. These are thin strips of rubber and are not held in very well at all. I would definitely suggest going with the regular stock and not the bone colector stock. Also, it seemed like the matte finish scuffs up easier than other guns I have. The gun is accurate and has the kick of about a 12 ga. or a little less. All in all I like the gun but I definitely expected more quality for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2012

A good muzzleloader

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this gun to bridge the gap between bow and rifle season for whitetail. It serves my needs well and is as good as any other muzzleloader I have shot.
The fit and finish is good except the the edges of the camo on the forend flaked off when touched. I had to remove the rear sight to get a 40mm scope mounted on medium rings - if they placed it back further this wouldn't have been required. It was nice that the set screws for the scope base mounting holes were a perfect fit for plugging the holes left by the rear sight. I was also pleased to find that TC also sells a set screw to plug the front sight mounting hole.
The Weathershield finish is thick and durable - no need to oil it. My boresnake did wear off the finish at the muzzle because I was pulling at an angle. Other than that it held up well to a hard twelve days of hunting, with handful of those in the rain.
The breech plug design is absolutely the best aspect if this gun. It makes cleaning extremely easy. It only required the removal tool one time after literally spending from sunup to sundown being rained on. It seals well and cleans easily. I put 300 rounds through the gun at the shooting range and did nothing more than run a boresnake down the barrel and wipe off the face of the breach with a towel between shots. Never a malfunction or hiccup.
Accuracy is acceptable for a hunting rifle. Several powders, charges, and bullets were tried and all shot about the same - 2-3 MOA off sand bags. Hitting a 10" plate at 200m was not much of a challenge, even if standing unsupported. Much to my surprise, the balance of this gun makes unsupported shooting quite easy.
My only real complaint about the gun is the thick and squishy recoil pad. It compresses a lot when firing hot loads so you will want a scope with a lot of eye relief. With 4" if eye relief I had to be cognisant of my head position to keep the scope from touching my glasses under recoil...nothing can make you develop a flinch quicker than that. I also found that the recoil pad was so thick, if bringing the gun up into shooting position quickly, the sticky rubber could catch on clothing and fold over sideways.
I most likely would buy this gun again and recommend it to friends.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2012

Not happy

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
My experience with the TC Triumph Bone collector model was not a good one. I took it to the rifle range for the first time to sight in my newly mounted scope and shoot the gun. I shot the gun 4 times and the trigger pull was excellent but the trigger housing drops out to open the breech and was extremely difficult to close to the firing position each time I put a 209 primer in the pocket. On the 5th time the trigger housing simply broke off rendering the gun unusable. Needless to say I had to send the gun back and order another one. I hope I get the newly ordered gun in time to use it for the season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2012

Excellent Muzzleloader

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is a great muzzleloader. These are somethings that really impressed me:
1) The Breech Plug is extremely easy to remove and clean,
2) The fiber optic sights and truly impressive in low light conditions
3) This is a light gun. It is a dream to carry through thick brush
4) Loading is extremely easy. No need to "force" the sabot down the barrel
5) Cabela's had great shipping. Initially I was a little worried about shipping a gun to my house. But I can definitely say you can buy with confidence from Cabela's!
Overall I highly recommend this gun to new or seasoned muzzleloader hunters. I also recommend shooting with Blackhorn 209.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2012

Thanks to Cabelas customer service...

By
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The gun is a quality one& shoots well however the scope rings came stripped & defective. Cabelas has great customer service so allowed me to return it & got a new one. The new one arrived with broken fiberoptics! Cabelas did send replacements, but I think there should be better quality control.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2012

Enough of the Bone Collector!

By
Location: St. Peters, MO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I own a Triumph and it is a great Muzzleloader but if your looking for an inline go with the Pro Hunter. The trigger assembly is a pain to clean and there are other options available that provide the accuracy. The Bone Collector hunts tall fences and I am disappointed so many hunters jump on this bandwagon. After almost 40 years of chasing Whitetails I can speak from experience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2011

Worth the Money

By
Location: Covington, VA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this muzzleloader this past week when I found a crack in the barrel of my previous muzzleloader. I was hesitant about spending the amount for it, however, I wanted quality. It took me three shots to sight it in. Two shots were in the same hole. The rifle recoils straight back like a smokeless rifle and handles quickly. Cleaning is also a breeze. I am shooting 100grains of BH209 and Shockwave Easy Glide 250.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thompson/Center Triumph® Bone Collector™ Muzzleloader – Weather Shield™/Realtree AP™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2011

Best durn muzzleloader. Period.

By
Location: Mountains of Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Had a cva. This blows it away. So easy to load and clean. Firing is a joy - very little kick. Lightweight is a plus. Most importantly, extremely accurate: 5 shots - 3 holes - 1 inch spread. Definitely worth the extra money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 36