Customer Reviews for JARMO CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

JARMO CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle

A break-action, multibarrel interchangeable rifle system that offers superior balance and fit. The ambidextrous buttstock is made for scope shooting, but the cheekpiece makes it feel like you are shooting your favorite shotgun. The premium 416 stainless steel Bergara Barrels™ are among the most accurate production barrels on the market. The muzzleloader features the new Quick-Release Breech Plug, a patent-pending system that removes easily with just your index finger and thumb. DuraSight® rail mount with Z2 Alloy™ base comes standard on the Apex. All you have to do is choose your rings, mount the scope and you’re ready to go. The neutral center-of-gravity trigger adjusts from 3 to 4.75 lbs. Comes with a technically advanced Quake® Claw® sling with accommodating No Slip™ design. CrushZone® Recoil Pad. E-Z OpenT™ breeching mechanism. 27" muzzleloader barrel length with a 1-in-28"-twist. .50-caliber. Interchangeable with 14 muzzleloading, centerfire and rimfire caliber Bergara Barrels. Six of the optional centerfire caliber barrels can be purchased using item no. 23-0178. Overall length: 42". Length-of-pull: 14.5". Weight: 8 lbs. Available: Black, Realtree APG™ .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Review 1 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: clarks summit, pa
Age: 46-55
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it Great Shooter

Date:January 13, 2012
First time hunting with Apex in Canada took a nice Deer in 2009 and a Bear in 2010. Looked at others Apex has great price,reviews,accurate and handles good using xxx 7 2x50 + Parker Bullet 275gn shoots 3" group at 100' , 7" Group at 200' " just a BETTER GUN".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.50 Cal Apex is Outstanding

Date:August 27, 2012
I purchased my Apex in the East Grand Forks store last fall and topped it with a Zeiss 3x9x50 and could not be happier with the results!! The highlights of this gun is the trigger, breech plug, and accuracy!! 105 grains of Blackhorn, Winchester 209 primers, Harvester sabots with Scorpion PT Gold 260 grain bullets produce 1/2" 3 shot groups at 100 yards consistently and an inch or just over at 150. No swabbing at all between shots and after shooting 15 or so times for the day, the breech plug turns out easily by hand. I took 8 does with this gun this past winter, 3 of which were over 150 yards. With this gun, I have all the confidence in the world to shoot 200 yards with a good rest. I've shot 4 or 5 different bullet/sabot combinations and all produced less than 2" 100 yard groups. However, once I quit shooting the CCI 209M primer(to ignite the Blackhorn), my groups tightened considerably and I've had no ignition problems with the Blackhorn and standard primers. The trigger on this gun is the best part, no play, very light and crisp pull. I used the Apex for all of our gun seasons this past winter since the accuracy is so much more reliable than with shotgun slugs and the occasional "flyers" that always seem to happen with them. I can't wait for the next calm morning that I'm off so I can test some more loads and pull the trigger.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pleasantly surprised

Date:June 12, 2012
Thought I was going to buy an encore but decided to save some money try the Apex. Very glad I did. Comparing it with a friends' Encore it shoots better groups. I have read complaints about the center fire barrels but have yet to try one myself. Well made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Dearborn Cnty, Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Why me!

Date:June 5, 2011
I just received my new CVA Apex 50 cal. ML that I had ordered 5 months ago. It looked great except for the sling swivels which had sharp ends on the pivot screws (I can see these little bayonets gouging my sleeveless arms in this 85 degree heat). I mounted my Nikon Omega 1.5x5 scope on the existing rail. The scope looked a little off center on the rail but I just prayed the rail holes were drilled straight. Anxious to shoot I bore sighted the scope and took it to the range. Using components that I had previously used with reasonable results in my TC Impact, Win. 209 primers, Triple 7 pellets (2x50gr) and Hornady SST 300 gr bullets/sabots, I fired a round at a 50 yd. 30"x30" target (missed the entire target). I moved the target in to 20 yds and fired another round. I was about 6 in low and right at 20 yd (so much for the bore sighting). I adjusted the scope crosshairs to the bullet holes and moved the target back out to 50 yd. I shot a group of 3 bullets, brushing the barrel and spit patching it between each shot. The group measured about 3". I next tried 3 Powerbelt 223 gr bullets with no better luck. I had a primer stick in the plug and had to remove it with pliers (never had this happen with the TC). Next I tried Hornady 250 gr SST's with no better performance (actually worse). Had another primer stick in the plug and had to remove with pliers. Not sure why this is happening on the Apex.. never happened on the TC. I'm going to try some loose powder and different primers on my next trip to the range. I have 5 different bullets/sabots to try. Hope I get some better groups. I will let you know. So far this CVA Apex is another "Mantle piece".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Athens, Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dump your TC Encore and get an Apex

Date:March 30, 2011
Great gun-receiver is not as refined as the Encore but it's a better muzzleloader for a lower price. Not nearly as load fussy as the Encore and the TC has priced it out most people budgets because of sponsorships of almost every hunting show on TV. Much better stock geometry than the lousy pistol grip of the Encore. Oh let's make it a 30 inch barrel so the whiners will stop complaining that the ramrod is too short. That's nonsense. Go out and buy an Apex today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Astoria, NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:January 5, 2011
Excellent craftsmanship all over. Stainless steel barrel & receiver make a huge difference. Almost maintenance free. Very robust and elegant design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant gun!

Date:December 5, 2010
This gun is very accurate. I used 150 grains of powder and 250 grain sabot and got less than 1 Inch group. Shot a deer at 160 yards with no problem. The ruberized grips are great even when they are covered in snow. Nice recoil pad, and recoil is less than my 12 gauge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Grand Rapids, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well crafted, but not perfect

Date:November 28, 2010
This is a well-crafted gun, no doubt. And should be a great competitor to the T/C Pro Hunter at a more reasonable muzzleloader price. Very comfortable carrying and shooting and the stainless should prove to be a great feature especially to withstand black powder. The easy breech plug removal is key to a clean barrel. I was able to shoot a one inch group (near clover leafed) at 50 yards with open sights with no cleaning between the 3 shots using 150 gr Tripple Se7en and 295 gr aerotip powerbelts. So far, its predicable.
Might be good to know before hand that this gun does not come with open sights, just a scope rail. Inconvienent for the states that don't allow scopes during our muzzleloader season. Find a set of DuraSights fiber optics sights for a CVA. The sight package I got did not say Apex, but it fit perfectly with the factory drilled and tapped holes.
Keep in mind Bergara Barrels, Quake Claw sling, DuraSight scope rail, and PowerBelt bullets are all owned by the same company that owns CVA (BPI). They may be good components put into this package, but they're probably rounded up because of a vested interest.
4/5 because of some negatives: It was tough to find this gun and extra barrels in stock--lots of marketing, but many shops could not get it; hammer is narrow, unlike a rifle hammer that has more substance, especailly nice when wearing gloves; no open sights included (see above); ram rod is short--any where from 1/4" to 3/4" sticking out of barrel depending on load, which makes for tought compaction and handling; ram rod comes out of mount 1"-2" after shooting, fouling up the brass rod end.
I can't wait for the rifle barrels to come back into stock and hopefully drop in price. I am trusting the .50 cal to the PA rifle season this year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE BEST

Date:November 17, 2010
I RESEARCHED AND PRICED THE APEX AND THE T/C ENDEAVOR PRO HUNTER. BOTH ARE GREAT INLINES. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH EITHER ONE. THE BEST WAY TO MAKE YOUR CHOICE IS TO HANDLE BOTH AND SEE WITCH ONE YOU LIKE BETTER. THEN THE MONEY FACTORS IN ALSO. BOTH ARE VERY ACCURATE AND GOOD LOOKING GUNS. I CHOSE THE APEX BECAUSE I LIKE THE FEEL AND THE $300. I SAVED FOR ACCESSORIES.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern, VT
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Perfect Choice

Date:November 9, 2010
The first time I picked up the Apex it felt so right! Then using it proved it beyond a doubt. It is a tack dirver. Sub MOA goups, with low felt recoil. First time I went to the range shot 17 times, and the the breech plug just finger turned out for cleaning. So easy and useable.
Next? Hmmmm which barrel to buy?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CVA Apex Blackpowder Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baytown, Tx
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Apex

Date:September 12, 2010
I received the Apex in early August and have been trying to work up a load for it and a friends muzzle loader (not a CVA gun) for a September, Kansas muzzle loader hunt. This is my first muzzle loader. Tried two different powders and one was better than the other. This gun shoots sweet. The kick pad is really great and the trigger is extremely smooth. It is adjustable, but I haven't changed it yet. This gun is very accurate, like shooting a center fire rifle. The QRBP (Quick Release Breech Plug) makes this gun easy to clean. The other gun requires a tool to remove the breech plug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.