Customer Reviews for Remington Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Remington Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo

Just like every rifle that's earned the legendary Remington name, the Genesis is deadly accurate right out of the box and completely reliable in the field. With just a push of your thumb, the TorchCam? action rotates from the breech for super-fast priming. Close it, and your 209 primer is encased in a weather-resistant vault. Plus, this action channels maximum primer fire for rapid, reliable ignition. The trigger assembly slides out for quick and easy cleaning and is completely sealed from the breech area. The ambidextrous hammer never comes in contact with the firing pin unless it's fully cocked. The 28" barrel generates maximum velocity from 150-grain charges. Sabot-stabilizing 1-in-28" twist provides optimum stability for sabots and other modern projectiles. Matte-blued barrel and Mossy Oak? Break-Up? stock. .50 caliber only. Weight: 7.8 lbs. Overall length: 43".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo
Review 1 for Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NE Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent gun

Date:December 8, 2008
I bought the Buckmaster model on sale and had the folks at Cabelas mount a scope and the gun shoots great, very accurate with little adjustments. I just bought a second one last week on sale. Regs in CO say you have to have an open sight but in neighboring NE scope is o.k. Now set up for both states for less then the price of one TC or Knight gun. Thanks Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: dave in northern mn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

genisis

Date:December 8, 2008
Bought this muzzleloader just before season.Had bought a CVA wolf and could not produce any pattern at the range.Found out the rifling was bad and CVA told me to send it back.Purchased the remington even though the barrel was produced in spain like the cva's.I have shot 15 rounds through it and it is starting to dial in with 270 grain powerbelt sabots and 100 grains powder. very front heavy gun and the ramrod is already losing alot of paint.I can live with those but the breech cam is nearly impossible to open even after the first shot.The primer mushrooms a bit on impact is starting to make grooves in the metal cam when you try to open it.Tried to get ahold of remington on the phone but nearly impossibe!Next muzzle loader will be american made!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Campbellsburg, In.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The name says it all, Remington.

Date:December 6, 2008
I purchased my genesis in the stainless model with the camo thumbhole stock, and I love it! My favorite part about it would have to be cleaning it. All it takes is one hex tool that comes with the gun, unscrew the breech plug, slide it out, and swab the barrel clean, thats it. I topped the gun with a Nikon Omega 3-9x40 silver scope, it made for a very accurate combo, and it looks good too! I really like the thumbhole stock, it's very comfortable, and it helps me hold the gun steady. Thanks Remington, great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent value!!

Date:December 5, 2008
Purchased this muzzleloader because of the cheap price. Did not expect much from it . Took it to the range and was on paper out of the box @ 75 yds. Shoots very good groups. The ram rod is weak but the gun is worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.50 cal stainless Genesis

Date:December 5, 2008
With Cabela's excellent prices, Remington's rebates, and other reasons I decided the Stainless model was too good to pass on. I was pleased with the fit and finish of the rifle. The cam action takes some getting used to, but worked perfect. I tested the rifle with a number of powders and projectiles. The Genesis handled them all perfect. I finally settled on a .458 300 grain Speer HP in a orange MMP sabot on top of 100 grains of Pyrodex P powder. Accuracy was exceptional, recoil moderate, down range energy outstanding, and clean up of the rifle is as advertised, very easy.. This is a great rifle for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid gun

Date:December 3, 2008
Purchased this gun last season& have been pretty happy with it. It is built very durable & that is what i like most about it. From the metal ramrod to the metal sling eyelet's& the thick walled barrel, I'm sure this gun will take any abuse that a hunting rifle normally get's while in the wood's! A tad bit more front heavy than what I like, but I think the little extra weight help's me to steady the gun for those un-supported shot's. Cleaning is not too bad either, the way that it break's down is very simple & only one hex wrench is needed for the whole job. The only real negative about it is the torch cam become's increasingly difficult to open while sighting in due to the powder residue. You will need to keep a small wire brush handy while at the range with this gun, or you'll be fighting to open the cam after about 5 or 6 shot's. Other than that, it's been good to me, have scored three deer with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Genesis Stainless

Date:November 29, 2008
Unbeatable value..... I recently purchased the a Remington Genesis for late season muzzleloader season in NY were 100 - 200 yard shots are pretty common. I was looking for an inline what would reach out and touch white tail under these conditions. I have read the reviews on the majority of todays guns the last several years and set my sights on a TC indevor or pro-hunter a couple years ago. Again this year I could not bring myself to spend the 500 to 1,000 dollars one of these guns would cost me so I started shopping round. I could not believe you could purchase a Remmington in-line for under 200 bucks so I started asking around. A good friend owns a gun shop so I asked him what he knew about the Genesis. He confirmed what I had read myself that it was a good gun but the blue barrels were having trouble with the blueing wearing off. A couple days later I found the Genesis camo stock, stainless barrel on this site on sale for under 200 bucks. Awesume deal. Being a current Remington owner I expected it to be dead on right out of the box. Not sure what grain sabot is supose to be dead on but I found the gun to shoot about 8 inches low using 250 grain sabots. Dozen shots later I had it dialed right in, sights were easy to adjust, I and would recomend this gun to anyone. Good quality gun, name brand camo patern, fiber optic sites, easy cleaning and loading. Best feature is the push button safety that you will not find on any other muzzleloader. With the safety on you can not cock the hammer, if cocked it will not fire, then of course you can leave the hammer un-cocked until your ready to shoot, this is also a safety position as the hammer will not hit the fireing pin unless the trigger is pulled. Gun came pre-drilled for a scope and equiped with sling mounts but no sling. Only draw-backs, ram rod is funky... The rod is short in the storage position. The end unscrews, you turn it over and screw it back on to gain 4-5 inches of rod, makes it a little hard to re-load in a hurry but it can be done if you dont mind a bruise on the palm of your hand. Barrel end of the sling attachment is to low and should be on the next ring on the ram rod holder. When on your shoulder the barrel sticks well above your head and catches on everything. Next chance I get I drill and tap the next ring and move this up. Even with these two minor draw backs you cant beat the quality of this gun for the price. Same twist and length barrel as every other gun on the market shoots just as good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington Genesis™ Rifle - Blued/Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon,O.R
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:November 28, 2008
GOOD GUN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.