Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition

Supercharge the performance of your favorite hunting rifle! Hornady has developed an innovative powder blend to gain up to an additional 200 fps from every Superformance caliber. The result is flatter trajectory, reduced wind drift, superior accuracy and more energy delivered on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Hornady’s lead-free Gilding Metal Expanding (GMX®) bullets provide consistent accuracy and devastating performance. They expand up to 1.5 times their original diameter with near-perfect weight retention. They shoot cleaner with less fouling than pure copper bullets. Double-cannelures reduce bearing surface in the barrel and fouling. Aggressive boattail design produces the highest ballistic coefficient in their class. Superformance is a new breed of super-premium ammunition without the premium price. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.281 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
27 out of 32(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good knock down

Date:July 9, 2014
My wife and I recently used this ammo on our red stag hunt in New Zealand and it preformed flawlessly. It shot very well in the rifle and the only reason that my wife shot more than once was to prevent her stag from going into some God awful country. Highly recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gmx ammo

Date:June 3, 2014
accuracy is very good. I have an elk hunt planned for this fall and want to use gmx ammo. First time on the range my 308 rem 700 shot a 1 1/2 inch group a 100yds. Excellent!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hunting rifles scope ,ammo

Date:March 4, 2014
I'm very happy with all my purchase in Cabelas including my rifle , ammo ,scope , I never have problems with my purchase, Last month I did purchase 2boxes of ammo and I have them in 3 days thank you ,Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.270 winchester GMX ammo

Date:November 29, 2013
Excellent expansion, huge wound channel with the .270 Win GMX
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:October 29, 2013
I purchased the Hornady Superformance ammo for my recent elk hunting trip, put a few rounds through it at the range and it was dead on, unfortunately I was unable to try it out on an elk the first trip but I'm headed to WY in 2 weeks and this is the ammo that I'll be using.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hyper-accurate

Date:October 7, 2013
I got a box of this in .243 80g to see what the hub-bub was all about. Now I know.
Without a doubt the most accurate round ever put through my .243 Ruger American. Also the cleanest round ever put through it.
I haven't hunted with it yet, but the toughness of the bullet says to me made for hog hunting. And I plan to do just that with it soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady very amo

Date:July 23, 2013
I have a new rifle ,GMX AMO is all i will use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7mm08

Date:December 25, 2012
12 deer in past couple years all 1 shot kills from 75 to 250 yards. Farthest anything ran after shot was about 25 yards. Most dropped in tracks. Very accurate in Kimber bolt rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:December 18, 2012
i was recommended this ammunition when another company's failed to perform the way i wanted it to from a rep. It is very accurate, i was getting 1 inch groups at 200 yards in my 300 win. mag. only shot 1 deer with it it performed great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one more down

Date:September 28, 2012
9-4-12 off range Oryx once again 200 yds and the GMX did exactly what it did to 4 other big game animals dropped them hard, broke both shoulders and picked the most beautiful mushroom just under the hide. If your gun doesn't like this ammo get another gun, nuff said
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

"Killer" ammo

Date:September 15, 2012
I sighted in my 338 win mag rifle using less costly ammo (18 rounds) and then shot these to see where they would be in comparison. My initial sighting was 1.5 inches high and 3/4 inch right at 100 yards with a 10 MPH cross wind. These rounds brought me down 1/2 an inch (right where I want to be) and in about 1/4 inch and my group of three was covered by a nickle. Really good stuff!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wicked

Date:August 12, 2012
I have a Remington 700 30-06 and have tried all ammo out there, my gun likes 150 gn, I use to use SST light mag@3200 fps nasty ammo but I would loose alot of meat because the sst fragments and I got tired of chewing on lead and copper. The Superformance GMX has replaced the light mag, ok @ 200yds I hold a group the size of a golf ball, I've taken a red stag @355yds and broke both shoulders and found the bullet perfectly mushroomed and intact, took 2 cow elk @400yds and neither went more than 10 feet then fell over took a Oryx @200yds hit in shoulders and dropped dead Oryx are hard to take down they say. Get a good scope-shoot often and every 50 rounds or so use sweet no 7 to remove the copper in your rifling. This ammo is by far the best you can by, you can spend more but why. also float ur barrel and install a Timeny trigger and you too will have a tac driving meat getting rifle like me, using the GMX, love love love it thanx Hornady.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Noticeable Difference From Lead

Date:March 29, 2012
Out here on the central coast of California we are in the heart of Condor County. As a result we are required to use lead free ammo. I have not noticed any difference in effectiveness from lead ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This .308 round likes my Browning BLR

Date:November 4, 2011
First, I tested several different premium .308 hunting rounds in my Browning BLR, all in either 150 or 165 grain weights, a total of 8 different rounds were tested. This rifle has a relatively shorter barrel. At 100 yards, the Hornady Superperformance GMX 150 gr. was most accurate in that rifle. Then I took it to the field last week for my first hunt in the woods, with no "long shots" in play (I am a beginner). I was worried that the round might be too hot, however, after some research, I was reassured that the expansion is better at faster speeds (closer distances). I dropped a small buck, then a doe, both at around 80 yards. Both animals dropped immediately, DRT. The buck had mirror image entry and exit wounds, just behind the shoulder. The doe had a similar entry wound, the exit wound was a 1" hole, very deep, and I could easily see the surface of the lung, very clean. Until experience proves otherwise, this will be my go-to round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Calif. central coast
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.243 GMX WOW

Date:September 19, 2011
This is the best ( lead free ) bullet ive found so far..
I shoot a Vangaurd .243 and had huge success last week in Ca. ( Lead Free ) zone ..
Pilled up a blacktail @150 yds and a coyote @ 250 yds
This ammo shoots 1.5 in @ 200 yds for me..
Wow im ordering more today for future hunts.
Very impressed............
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WAJ Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GMX Rifle Ammunition is outstanding

Date:August 16, 2011
This is the best ammunition I have ever used. It is the most accurate and the expansion is devistatng on whatever it hits. I recently used a 165 grain 30-06 on a black bear hunt, and I double lunged the bear. The bear just dropped. It didn't even twitch. On the same hunt, a friend of mine used a 165 grain Remington 30-06 and shot his bear with a simular hit (double lung), it took 3 shots to fininsh the bear off, and it ran more than 50 yards. There is no better ammo anywhere than Hornady GMAX.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stick of Dynamite!

Date:February 13, 2011
My 7mm likes heavy grain bullets in the 170-180 grain variety but the hornady rep told me to try the 139 grain, so I did. The shot pretty good. Not the most accurate bullet bullet I have shot out of my 7mm but more that good enough to hunt with.......around an 1 1/2" or so. I live out of state these days and dont get to hunt on the family farm too much but I was able to do so this year. I shot a 6 point about 100 yards out and teh deer literally disappeared. He was running some does so I picked out a spot and when he stepped into I shot. I waited for about 10 minutes and decided to check things out and look for any sign. I got down to where he was at and he was down. I live in Ohio now and I have used 400+ grain slugs and big muzzleloader bullets that hit animals like a sledge hammer but I have never had an animal drop like this. It was like he was standing there and I blinked and he was gone. Just unbelievable. Upon dressing and skinning the animal the damage was major. Although it was not a big deer I felt it was overkill. After what I have witnessed I will be trying this bullet on other big game and will do so with confidence. This ammo isnt cheap but its worth every penny when you can help ensure a clean humane harvest.
wcb
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'm a fan

Date:December 3, 2010
I've used other brands in my .280 that my son shoots for whitetail with disappointing results at the range and in the field.
Not the case with this GMX, best groups I've ever shot at the range and this fall my son (13) shot a nice eight point. Broadside at 100 yards, double lunged and it dropped in it's tracks. When we field dressed the deer we found that the energy/velosity of the GMX literally lodged a fist size chunk of lung in the opposite ribcage.
Well done Hornady!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Antigo, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and Deadly

Date:November 29, 2010
I had used the Hornady SST's for years. I shoot a 270 Win, bolt action rifle. This season I drew an elk tag and was looking for a bullet with better penetration so I could continue using my 270. I purchased the GMX Superformance. I did need to make an adjustment on my rifle to get it dialed back in, it moved my gun both up and to the right several inches, but once dialed in I was touching bullets at 100 yards. I did not get a shot at an elk, but I was able to use the bullets on a mature whitetail buck. The shot was between 300-320 yards, and one bullet through the front shoulders dropped him in his tracks. There was a nice exit hole, complete pass through shattering two ribs, just missing the front shoulder bones. Took him through the heart and lungs. My SST's would've easily done the job too, but I am pretty sure I'd still have some portion of the bullet left in the body cavity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady GMX 270 Win - Accurate and devastating!

Date:November 15, 2010
Awesome cartridge! My Savage loves it and the round performs as advertised. Used it on opening day of Nebraska 2010 rifle season and dropped a whitetail buck where he stood. One shot, one kill. Turned his heart into jelly. Added bonus, I don't have to worry about feeding any lead to the family! I would definitely recommend this round for hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 32