Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition

Supercharge the performance of your favorite hunting rifle! Hornady has developed an innovative powder blend to gain up to an additional 200 fps from every Superformance caliber. The result is flatter trajectory, reduced wind drift, superior accuracy and more energy delivered on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Hornady’s lead-free Gilding Metal Expanding (GMX®) bullets provide consistent accuracy and devastating performance. They expand up to 1.5 times their original diameter with near-perfect weight retention. They shoot cleaner with less fouling than pure copper bullets. Double-cannelures reduce bearing surface in the barrel and fouling. Aggressive boattail design produces the highest ballistic coefficient in their class. Superformance is a new breed of super-premium ammunition without the premium price. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.388 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
41 out of 48(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2016

Great ammo

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I first bought a box of 165 gmx because nobody 150 gm gmx I finally found some 150 gmx. Went hunting in Michigan in 2014 right my father passed away hunted with him in 2011 the first time in 20 years was in the Army and was a school teacher left the school system in September of 2011. That year did not get a deer but went back the next few years and still no deer. In 2014 went up to the UP to hunt, using the 150gm sunrise was at 6:48 by 7:00 am had a buck on the ground. When I shot the deer it hit the bone then past into both lungs deer took about 10 steps and stopped fell over and never got up again. I hunt with a Remington 7600 .308 like the gun and like the gmx rounds. That was a great day not much time in the woods that day but did get to go around the state land a stop at every place we had hunted that year, ate at the same place and sat at the same table where we had eaten the last time we hunted together was a great time and it help me. The deer was just a bonus for that year. I will only use gmx rounds does not ruin meat small hole going and a small hole going out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

great penertration

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I'm a hand loader but I had scope problems and went through all my favorite projectiles and everyone was out of stock. I had to decide on my ammo for an elk hunt and choose gmx. 2 shots broad side at 320 yards both through and through. He took maybe 3 steps and fell over.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

High proformance

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have had excellent results using this ammunition, and have found that the GMX bullets retain a greater amount of total weight down range and after impact. I highly recommend this ammunition.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

Great ammo -

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Trying to find this ammunition was a big challenge, but Cabela's found some at another store and shipped it to me. Great service and excellent product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2015

Stunning Performance

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The knock down power of this shell is mind blowing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2015

Good lead free ammo

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
2 shots 2 hogs zero tracking. 7mm groups very well
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

308 150 grain GMX

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The hornady GMX bullet line stands up to their claims of weight retention and knock down power. 1 bullet brought down 2 wild hogs at 125 yards. Recovered the bullet from the second hog after passing through both front shoulders of the first hog and the bullet was completely intact and still weighed 150 grains. 1 shot and I'm sold.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2015

Hornady Superformance 55 gr GMX

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Excellent ammo fired from my R15, 1/9 18" barrel. Very accurate. No problems with feed or ejection.
Can't comment on the performance of the bullet on game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2014

Best factory load

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
The GMX bullet in 165gr in 30-06 makes this cartridge a pressed load which allows for more consistent groups. I zero for 200yds and consistently shoot three shot groups a half inch or less at that distance from the prone position. I was able to recover a bullet from a whitetail that was shot slightly quartering away where the far side shoulder caught the bullet. The bullet expanded out to 9/16 of an inch and was completely intact except for the ballistic tip. The wound channel that is left behind is devastating. Even black bear have not made it more then 40 yds from point of impact.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2014

Hornady 270 GMX

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very accurate bullet. I shot at 100, 200, 300 yards so far with my Tikka T3 270. I am going to use these for elk hunting. So far very accurate at longer ranges. I had a 3.5" group at 300 yards, I shot off a chair with a porch railing at 100. And a round hay bale for 200 and 300 yards. Plan to try 400 yards soon. Also may use on deer this fall rather than sight in with another load. SHoots flatter than the handloads for my 270 WSM.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2014

Supercharge your rifle!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Superformance ammunition uses a special blend of powders to extend the velocities of your favorite rifle caliber by up to 200fps. More velocity means your bullet reaches the target faster and with more delivered energy! Be aware that this also means a slight boost in perceived recoil as well.
The GMX bullets are a lead free design and perform extremely well in all categories; expansion, penetration and weight retention. I won't hunt big game with anything else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014

Quality

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Too pricey to use on paper. But, it's what you want in your chamber while you are in the woods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014

Best, not just by name

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This ammo excels in every category. It reigns in all. I highly doubt there is a cartridge in its class.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2014

Good knock down

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My wife and I recently used this ammo on our red stag hunt in New Zealand and it preformed flawlessly. It shot very well in the rifle and the only reason that my wife shot more than once was to prevent her stag from going into some God awful country. Highly recommend
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014

gmx ammo

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
accuracy is very good. I have an elk hunt planned for this fall and want to use gmx ammo. First time on the range my 308 rem 700 shot a 1 1/2 inch group a 100yds. Excellent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014

Hunting rifles scope ,ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I'm very happy with all my purchase in Cabelas including my rifle , ammo ,scope , I never have problems with my purchase, Last month I did purchase 2boxes of ammo and I have them in 3 days thank you ,Cabelas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2013

.270 winchester GMX ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Excellent expansion, huge wound channel with the .270 Win GMX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013

Great Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased the Hornady Superformance ammo for my recent elk hunting trip, put a few rounds through it at the range and it was dead on, unfortunately I was unable to try it out on an elk the first trip but I'm headed to WY in 2 weeks and this is the ammo that I'll be using.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013

Hyper-accurate

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I got a box of this in .243 80g to see what the hub-bub was all about. Now I know.
Without a doubt the most accurate round ever put through my .243 Ruger American. Also the cleanest round ever put through it.
I haven't hunted with it yet, but the toughness of the bullet says to me made for hog hunting. And I plan to do just that with it soon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® Superformance® GMX Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2013

Hornady very amo

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have a new rifle ,GMX AMO is all i will use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 49