Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Hornady's Critical Defense® handgun ammunition delivers superior performance when it matters most. A soft polymer insert prevents the hollow-point cavity from being clogged with fibers and other materials, which can inhibit reliable bullet expansion. Critical Defense also utilizes premium low-flash propellants to deliver maximum velocity and knock-down energy. For reliable and consistent performance, Critical Defense delivers every time, giving you the confidence in your handgun ammunition that you have come to expect from Hornady.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.88 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 191 reviews
5 Stars
175
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
189 out of 191(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finally found some!

Date:May 27, 2014
We both recently purchased 380's and haven't been able to shoot them. We are very pleased with our purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best self defense rounds for the money

Date:May 20, 2014
I like this brand but most don't realize that other companies sell 20 rounds for more $$$ than Hornady charges for 25 rounds! These fire great too
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Critical Defense 9MM Ammo

Date:May 20, 2014
Shot one magazine in my new S&W Shield for function.
Ammo feed 100% and was accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good cartridges

Date:May 20, 2014
They shoot well and feed reliably, I have never had a jam or failure to feed. They are a very consistent cartridge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like it a lot, but....

Date:May 15, 2014
I have no complains about this one. Worked flawlessly in PX4 and very accurate but I would suggest to give Fiocchi Extrema XPT a try. It is loaded with Hordany bullets and is cheaper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Load

Date:May 13, 2014
Great load and feeds well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always exceptional ammo

Date:May 13, 2014
I purchased .45 caliber critical defense ammo. It is the most reliable and accurate defense ammo on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reliable ammo

Date:May 6, 2014
I run Hornady Critical Defense through all my personal defense guns. I have done my own testing with it. Very reliable expansion thru all sorts of media.
You can also find it at good price at Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Critical Defense Handgun Ammo

Date:May 6, 2014
Works great in my PPX 9mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

critical defense ammo

Date:May 6, 2014
I wouldn't have any other for my home defense weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Self Defense Ammuntion

Date:May 6, 2014
This is not range ammo, but it is very good for self defense.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Defence

Date:May 1, 2014
Good self protection ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9mm home defense

Date:April 23, 2014
115 grain is smooth to shoot, not much recoil, and easy to keep on target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality ammo

Date:April 1, 2014
Shot a few yesterday and the rest went into my bedside revolver. I feel confident in this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammunition!

Date:March 29, 2014
Shooting this in all my handguns of various calibers with no problems. Great ammo to depend on in all types of situations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the Job

Date:March 25, 2014
Test firing this bullet into melons really makes a mess of them. If I would need to use it for what it is intended for, I know it will do the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Crital Defense Ammo Review

Date:March 25, 2014
Recently I attended a pre-concealed handgun permit class taught by a man who is ex-FBI/ex-state trooper. The instructor spent a lot of time explaining what happens from the police perspective and the legal perspective, if a permit holder ever has the occasion to use his weapon. One of the things that happens is the police often check the ballistics of the weapon. In one case he told us about, a man went to jail because he claimed to have been the single shooter of a violent burgler, who had broken into the man's auto repair shop. However, there was so much variation in the ballistics of the ammunition he had fired, that the police came to the conclusion multiple weapons and therefore multiple gunmen were involved. He spent three years behind bars before the truth of his assertion was proven.
The ONLY ammunition this instructor would use personnaly or recommend to his classes is Hornady Critical Defense or Critical duty ammunition. The quality control of this ammunition is superior and will not give false ballistic test results. Up until this time I only carried Hydroshocks. Hope I never have to use it, but after that class I purchased Hornady Critical Defense ammo in every pistol caliber I own-including .22 mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:March 11, 2014
needed a good self defense ammo at a great price. Cabela's is the place to go, they don't take advantage of their customers for a profit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Date:March 4, 2014
Wanted some Hornady CD for my .380 and Cabela's had the best price, and had it in stock. Fast delivery and no issues!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best grouping

Date:January 8, 2014
bought in 40 cal. these group the best of the ammo that I have shot with a new pistol, will be buying more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 191