Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Hornady's Critical Defense® handgun ammunition delivers superior performance when it matters most. A soft polymer insert prevents the hollow-point cavity from being clogged with fibers and other materials, which can inhibit reliable bullet expansion. Critical Defense also utilizes premium low-flash propellants to deliver maximum velocity and knock-down energy. For reliable and consistent performance, Critical Defense delivers every time, giving you the confidence in your handgun ammunition that you have come to expect from Hornady.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(177 Reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 177 reviews
5 Stars
161
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
175 out of 177(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammunition!

Date:March 29, 2014
Shooting this in all my handguns of various calibers with no problems. Great ammo to depend on in all types of situations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the Job

Date:March 25, 2014
Test firing this bullet into melons really makes a mess of them. If I would need to use it for what it is intended for, I know it will do the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Crital Defense Ammo Review

Date:March 25, 2014
Recently I attended a pre-concealed handgun permit class taught by a man who is ex-FBI/ex-state trooper. The instructor spent a lot of time explaining what happens from the police perspective and the legal perspective, if a permit holder ever has the occasion to use his weapon. One of the things that happens is the police often check the ballistics of the weapon. In one case he told us about, a man went to jail because he claimed to have been the single shooter of a violent burgler, who had broken into the man's auto repair shop. However, there was so much variation in the ballistics of the ammunition he had fired, that the police came to the conclusion multiple weapons and therefore multiple gunmen were involved. He spent three years behind bars before the truth of his assertion was proven.
The ONLY ammunition this instructor would use personnaly or recommend to his classes is Hornady Critical Defense or Critical duty ammunition. The quality control of this ammunition is superior and will not give false ballistic test results. Up until this time I only carried Hydroshocks. Hope I never have to use it, but after that class I purchased Hornady Critical Defense ammo in every pistol caliber I own-including .22 mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:March 11, 2014
needed a good self defense ammo at a great price. Cabela's is the place to go, they don't take advantage of their customers for a profit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Date:March 4, 2014
Wanted some Hornady CD for my .380 and Cabela's had the best price, and had it in stock. Fast delivery and no issues!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best grouping

Date:January 8, 2014
bought in 40 cal. these group the best of the ammo that I have shot with a new pistol, will be buying more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.380 Hornady Critical Defense

Date:January 7, 2014
The .380 Hornady C.D. is not my everyday target shooting ammo. I use FMJ for that due to expense. It's obviously special occasion ammo and I keep it in my mags for HD and CC. That said, after test firing 25 rounds at the range in my Sig P238, it cycled perfectly and was consistent with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just being prepared

Date:January 7, 2014
If I ever use these bullets I'll be sure to publish the police report.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HORNADY AMMO.

Date:January 6, 2014
115 GR AMMO IS THE BEST TO USE IN A 9MM RUGGER I DONT KNOW ABOUT OUTHER HAND GUNS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Personal defense ammo

Date:January 2, 2014
One of the best ammunition's you can buy for personal defense. If you have a malfunction, it's your gun and not the ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good buy

Date:December 31, 2013
Well to srart out, this is my first writen review so bear with me. Luckily I haven't had to use it for critical defense yet, but I have taken it to the firing range. The bullets shoot very well, I was able to even shoot accurately out to 75 yrds (still within a 6 inch group). The powder and cartridge leave the gun with very little residue, making cleaning even easier then usual. All in all a very good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Critical Defense

Date:December 31, 2013
Ordered two boxes of Critical Defense ammunition for Christmas. Hornady make quality products, the new critical defense is suppose to feed better in semi-automatic pistols.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality product

Date:December 24, 2013
This is a quality product but what else would you expect from Hornady. The best endorsement I can give this product is I send my daughter to Texas for her new career and this is the ammo I sent with her. I have the most confidence that this would be the best self protection bullets available to keep her safe. I say a prayer each night because we haven't had to find out how good they are yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff

Date:December 24, 2013
Shoots great and accurate. Only shot paper and it puts holes through it right where they are supposed to be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase for hard to find item.

Date:December 24, 2013
Good shell for wife to shoot with low recoil.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product.

Date:December 14, 2013
Good ammo for target practice. I keep my two 9mm's loaded with this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady CD .380 Auto - THE BEST!!

Date:November 12, 2013
Chambers & ejects beyond expectations and very consistent on the target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DO NOT BUY THIS AMMO

Date:October 30, 2013
That will leave more for me. It's HORNADY, it cycles and performs excellent in my Kimber Ultra Raptor II daily carry, and my Colt Government at the range. It's the only ammo I trust to carry for self defense. I buy all I can.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Critical Defense 115 gr. 9mm

Date:October 29, 2013
This was the most accurate of the four different defense loads I tried in my Glock 17 gen 4. It's had excellent reviews since it came to market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:October 15, 2013
I have honady ammo of all calibers this is great ammo. I use mostly handgun ammo 45acp 38spl an 40s&w.ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 177