Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Hornady's Critical Defense® handgun ammunition delivers superior performance when it matters most. A soft polymer insert prevents the hollow-point cavity from being clogged with fibers and other materials, which can inhibit reliable bullet expansion. Critical Defense also utilizes premium low-flash propellants to deliver maximum velocity and knock-down energy. For reliable and consistent performance, Critical Defense delivers every time, giving you the confidence in your handgun ammunition that you have come to expect from Hornady.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.877 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 162 reviews
5 Stars
149
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
160 out of 162(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product.

Date:December 14, 2013
Good ammo for target practice. I keep my two 9mm's loaded with this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady CD .380 Auto - THE BEST!!

Date:November 12, 2013
Chambers & ejects beyond expectations and very consistent on the target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DO NOT BUY THIS AMMO

Date:October 30, 2013
That will leave more for me. It's HORNADY, it cycles and performs excellent in my Kimber Ultra Raptor II daily carry, and my Colt Government at the range. It's the only ammo I trust to carry for self defense. I buy all I can.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Critical Defense 115 gr. 9mm

Date:October 29, 2013
This was the most accurate of the four different defense loads I tried in my Glock 17 gen 4. It's had excellent reviews since it came to market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:October 15, 2013
I have honady ammo of all calibers this is great ammo. I use mostly handgun ammo 45acp 38spl an 40s&w.ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Critical Defense

Date:September 29, 2013
Hornady Critical Defense is the only ammo I am 100% comfortable carrying for personal defense. It shoots straight and clean. The recoil is more manageable than other rounds too. Another great characteristic is the low-flash powder--it really makes a difference in low-light shooting. I find that I shoot more consistent with Hornady Critical Defense than any other round. I have never had any misfires or malfunctions with any of my firearms shooting any Hornady round. I trust my family's safety to Hornady.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Critical Defense

Date:September 10, 2013
They look great. Haven't had a CHANCE to use them yet, no bad guys around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Critical Protection

Date:August 13, 2013
Some of the best self defense ammo going.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

impressive ammo

Date:July 23, 2013
Outstanding results from my 380 auto LCP. Bullet mushrooms nicely when fired into gallon jugs of water. No issues!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo

Date:July 16, 2013
Obviously we don't shoot this for fun/recreation, this is for bad guys only, I keep these in all my handguns and back up mags. When you gotta rely on stopping power without hesitation, get a few boxes for emergency use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

handgun ammo

Date:July 16, 2013
Hornady critical defensive ammo worked will in my walther ppk, fired 100 rounds not one hiccup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

just the Best

Date:July 16, 2013
You have to try this ammo is just the best. I take a few boxes to the range and I'm set for the fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best Self-Defense Ammo Ever

Date:July 9, 2013
I wouldn't use any other ammo in my carry or a home defense weapon! I have never had a fail to fire, or any hang ups with these round! I've have shot several boxes practicing, and testing both their accuracy and dependability....won't use any other product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Deal

Date:July 9, 2013
Fair price,fast delivery. Thank You
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST HOME DEFENSE AMMO AVAILABLE

Date:July 1, 2013
I buy Critical Defense for my S&W 9c and Critical Duty for my S&W40 and these will definitely do exactly what Hornady says. I have both ready when we are at home. I have tried others but these outdistance the competition by far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Self Defense Ammo

Date:June 30, 2013
This Ammo is the best for self defense. Not only does it perform extremely well, if you are in the unfortunate situation that you have to use the ammo the name of the ammo looks great in court.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Date:June 25, 2013
I bought the Hornady Critical Defense rounds for my Taurus .380, they do exactly what they are intended to do, and cycle flawlessly.
I haven't had any jams or misfired rounds, I will be buying more of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Date:June 25, 2013
Fast delivery and solid product for carry or home defense.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

personal defense ammo

Date:June 18, 2013
hope I only have to use at the range! very accurate, well made ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LOVE HORNADY

Date:June 11, 2013
Grew up around Hornady Products being from Nebraska. Always reliable, I trust my life with thier products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 162