Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Hornady's Critical Defense® handgun ammunition delivers superior performance when it matters most. A soft polymer insert prevents the hollow-point cavity from being clogged with fibers and other materials, which can inhibit reliable bullet expansion. Critical Defense also utilizes premium low-flash propellants to deliver maximum velocity and knock-down energy. For reliable and consistent performance, Critical Defense delivers every time, giving you the confidence in your handgun ammunition that you have come to expect from Hornady.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.886 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(229 Reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 229 reviews
5 Stars
211
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
226 out of 229(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

great size amd shape

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I havent had a chance to shoot anyone yet but I am sure they'll do nicely
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Hornady What can I Say

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have Shot this a few times out of my gun and have not had any problems (Range use only). Hornady makes great products and this is the only brands I trust for self-defense.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2014

Hornady FTX Critical Defense Ammunition

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I chose the Hornady Critical Defense .380 for my carry weapon for it's exceptional expansion in a small package. Stopping the threat is what defensive shooting is all about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2014

No problems here.

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I'm aware that many complain about FTF issues with this ammo. This ammo has yet to fail me. Runs cleans and I really like the fact that you get 25 rounds per box rather than the standard 20. When the price is right, I like to pick up a box or two.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2014

Good Defensive Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've only shot these in practice. They are accurate and group well. Had no jams, Fed perfectly in my Glock 19. Not harsh to shoot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2014

Hornady Critical Defense 9mm.

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Dollar for dollar this is the best ammo you can afford to stock up on. Reliable and accurate!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2014

Hornady critical defence

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
They're exactly what they mean. If you are being attacked and no other way out. These will do what they were meant to do.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2014

.38 +P Sweetness

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My wife's revolver loves this round. The recoil is very manageable and it is accurate, with her fixed sights, to 15 yards. I have always trusted the Hornady name/reputation. I hand load their excellent XTP projectiles for things that go bump in the night. Their cases are great for reloading!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2014

Great Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Using this ammo for my wife's CC. We had trouble with some ammo chambering. No problem with this Critical Defense.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2014

Hornady Critical Defense Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Excellent quality and price. I shoot 9mm and have never had a misfire or failure to load. The /25 pkg works well for me
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2014

One Shot Stopper

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
One Shot Stopper!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2014

flawless

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Works perfect in all my handguns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2014

Great ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is great ammo and you can never have too much ammo !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014

Great Personal Defense Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is great ammo, while checking some reloads through the cronograph, I shot a couple of sets of this ammo through the crono as well.
This ammo produces results just as advertised, velocity was spot on, with minimal deviation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014

Great Ammo ,good deal

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I saw the price and bought it. Great Ammo real good price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2014

Hornady Critical Defense 9mm

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I've run one box of the 115gr 9mm through my S&W Shield without any problems, seems to function great so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2014

Good Load

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
These Critical Defense 38 special rounds function flawlessly in my Colt 4" Diamonback, and my new Ruger LCRX. When your life might be on the line, these are the ones to turn to!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2014

Cofident Protection

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Hornady products are always excellent. Count on this to get the job done!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2014

Great ammo.

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Feeds well and great terminal performance out of our Ruger LCR. Couldn't ask for more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2014

AFFORDABLE HOMW DEFENSE AMMO

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I purchased this 9mm ammo because it was at a reasonable price for home defense ammo and was hollow point with a pedal star spread out pattern when it hits the target (larger hydrostatic shock). The only comcern I had was if it would cycle in my handgun without jamming due to the non-conical bullet tiip. I tried it at the range with my Taurus PT709 9mm and it loaded and ejected without any jams. Worked fine when ramping from the mag into the chamber.When it comes to serated hollow points you want to make certain that the cartridge will not jam on the chamber ramp when loading between cycling events and this ammo worked fine, no issues.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 229