Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Hornady's Critical Defense® handgun ammunition delivers superior performance when it matters most. A soft polymer insert prevents the hollow-point cavity from being clogged with fibers and other materials, which can inhibit reliable bullet expansion. Critical Defense also utilizes premium low-flash propellants to deliver maximum velocity and knock-down energy. For reliable and consistent performance, Critical Defense delivers every time, giving you the confidence in your handgun ammunition that you have come to expect from Hornady.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.869 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(236 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 reviews
5 Stars
215
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
232 out of 236(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Reliable Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I used it in my S&W Shield 40 cal. No mid-feeds, works great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Perfect Defense ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
My wife and I both carry this ammo in our carry firearms. Shoot perfect every time and is not dirty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Great Critical Defense Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
In personal defense ammo, you get what you pay for, and this 9mm Critical Defense ammo from Hornady is solid. I've not had any issues with misfires or failure to load in my M&P Shield. Confident it will do it's job if the time comes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2014

ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
best ammo I have found.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2014

Great

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
No problems. Cycled and fired great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014

They go bang

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
These aren't intended to be used for target practice. Too expensive for that. I did shoot some through my pistol to make sure it liked them. No issues what so ever.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014

Dependable ammo.

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is great ammo. It feeds reliably in all my autos.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

great size amd shape

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I havent had a chance to shoot anyone yet but I am sure they'll do nicely
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Hornady What can I Say

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have Shot this a few times out of my gun and have not had any problems (Range use only). Hornady makes great products and this is the only brands I trust for self-defense.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2014

Hornady FTX Critical Defense Ammunition

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I chose the Hornady Critical Defense .380 for my carry weapon for it's exceptional expansion in a small package. Stopping the threat is what defensive shooting is all about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2014

No problems here.

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I'm aware that many complain about FTF issues with this ammo. This ammo has yet to fail me. Runs cleans and I really like the fact that you get 25 rounds per box rather than the standard 20. When the price is right, I like to pick up a box or two.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2014

Good Defensive Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've only shot these in practice. They are accurate and group well. Had no jams, Fed perfectly in my Glock 19. Not harsh to shoot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2014

Hornady Critical Defense 9mm.

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Dollar for dollar this is the best ammo you can afford to stock up on. Reliable and accurate!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2014

Hornady critical defence

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
They're exactly what they mean. If you are being attacked and no other way out. These will do what they were meant to do.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2014

.38 +P Sweetness

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My wife's revolver loves this round. The recoil is very manageable and it is accurate, with her fixed sights, to 15 yards. I have always trusted the Hornady name/reputation. I hand load their excellent XTP projectiles for things that go bump in the night. Their cases are great for reloading!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2014

Great Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Using this ammo for my wife's CC. We had trouble with some ammo chambering. No problem with this Critical Defense.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2014

Hornady Critical Defense Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Excellent quality and price. I shoot 9mm and have never had a misfire or failure to load. The /25 pkg works well for me
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2014

One Shot Stopper

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
One Shot Stopper!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2014

flawless

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Works perfect in all my handguns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2014

Great ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is great ammo and you can never have too much ammo !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 236