Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Hornady's Critical Defense® handgun ammunition delivers superior performance when it matters most. A soft polymer insert prevents the hollow-point cavity from being clogged with fibers and other materials, which can inhibit reliable bullet expansion. Critical Defense also utilizes premium low-flash propellants to deliver maximum velocity and knock-down energy. For reliable and consistent performance, Critical Defense delivers every time, giving you the confidence in your handgun ammunition that you have come to expect from Hornady.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.887 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(204 Reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 204 reviews
5 Stars
188
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
202 out of 204(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best sejf defense round

Date:September 2, 2014
BEST ROND FOR HOME DEFENSE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang-bang

Date:September 2, 2014
I was looking for some ammo that would function in my Taurus .380 and bought a box of Critical Defense. It works just fine and has no issues functioning. I bought some cheap ball ammo previously just to shoot then switched to a hollow point with a 100% failure to feed rate. Not a good thing! The Critical Defense with the polymer tip doesn't present a problem. There other benefits Hornady explains in their literature...check it out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Defense Ammo

Date:August 26, 2014
I carry Critical Defense in my small carry guns and Critical Duty in my full-size gun when working. After watching two, in-person, gel shoots in which this ammo was fired through various barricades I was sold.
The defeat of the barrier and then proper penetration and expansion was superior to other brands that I've carried. This ammo also feeds through all my pocket and sub-compact pistols with no problem. All of these factors are critical when you consider the round in your gun may save your life or that of your family.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Round

Date:August 26, 2014
Bought this based on magazine reviews. Found it to be reliable, excellent expansion in my tests, works great in my LCR, have it in my SD9 nightstand gun. I think it is the best self-defense round available. Will buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:August 19, 2014
great defense hope i never have to use it very good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clean Ammo

Date:August 5, 2014
It's got plenty of kick to it good for firing in close quarters small Recoil after firing the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent self-defense handgun ammo

Date:July 9, 2014
Hornady Critical Defense is particularly good for piercing heavy winter clothing in my northern climate. I purchase it to load both my revolver and semi-automatic handguns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMMO

Date:July 9, 2014
Very pleased with this ammo and will buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD

Date:July 3, 2014
ALL HORNADY AMMO IS GOOD.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy shooting

Date:July 1, 2014
Have the 9mm 115 gr for my wife's ruger lc9. This defense ammo out of this particular firearm is not only very manageable but accurate. One of the easiest defense loads to shoot and very affordable. Some calibers its too light weight like the 185 gr 45acp which tends to underpenetrate, the 9mm 115 doesn't suffer this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First line defense ammo

Date:June 10, 2014
I trust this ammo from great reviews as well as my own use with it . No feeding problems and tight groups every time. This is the only ammo I use in my guns when I'm loaded for self defense. I use the .380 and will now also use this in my 9mm as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My carry ammo

Date:June 10, 2014
Shoots well and very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady quality

Date:June 3, 2014
Glock 42 in 380 likes it. I like the differnt color brass, with a quick press check you know what's chambered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finally found some!

Date:May 27, 2014
We both recently purchased 380's and haven't been able to shoot them. We are very pleased with our purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best self defense rounds for the money

Date:May 20, 2014
I like this brand but most don't realize that other companies sell 20 rounds for more $$$ than Hornady charges for 25 rounds! These fire great too
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Critical Defense 9MM Ammo

Date:May 20, 2014
Shot one magazine in my new S&W Shield for function.
Ammo feed 100% and was accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good cartridges

Date:May 20, 2014
They shoot well and feed reliably, I have never had a jam or failure to feed. They are a very consistent cartridge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like it a lot, but....

Date:May 15, 2014
I have no complains about this one. Worked flawlessly in PX4 and very accurate but I would suggest to give Fiocchi Extrema XPT a try. It is loaded with Hordany bullets and is cheaper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Load

Date:May 13, 2014
Great load and feeds well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Always exceptional ammo

Date:May 13, 2014
I purchased .45 caliber critical defense ammo. It is the most reliable and accurate defense ammo on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 204