Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Hornady's Critical Defense® handgun ammunition delivers superior performance when it matters most. A soft polymer insert prevents the hollow-point cavity from being clogged with fibers and other materials, which can inhibit reliable bullet expansion. Critical Defense also utilizes premium low-flash propellants to deliver maximum velocity and knock-down energy. For reliable and consistent performance, Critical Defense delivers every time, giving you the confidence in your handgun ammunition that you have come to expect from Hornady.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(226 Reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 226 reviews
5 Stars
208
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
223 out of 226(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No problems here.

Date:December 2, 2014
I'm aware that many complain about FTF issues with this ammo. This ammo has yet to fail me. Runs cleans and I really like the fact that you get 25 rounds per box rather than the standard 20. When the price is right, I like to pick up a box or two.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Defensive Ammo

Date:November 30, 2014
I've only shot these in practice. They are accurate and group well. Had no jams, Fed perfectly in my Glock 19. Not harsh to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Critical Defense 9mm.

Date:November 26, 2014
Dollar for dollar this is the best ammo you can afford to stock up on. Reliable and accurate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady critical defence

Date:November 19, 2014
They're exactly what they mean. If you are being attacked and no other way out. These will do what they were meant to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.38 +P Sweetness

Date:November 8, 2014
My wife's revolver loves this round. The recoil is very manageable and it is accurate, with her fixed sights, to 15 yards. I have always trusted the Hornady name/reputation. I hand load their excellent XTP projectiles for things that go bump in the night. Their cases are great for reloading!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 4, 2014
Using this ammo for my wife's CC. We had trouble with some ammo chambering. No problem with this Critical Defense.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Critical Defense Ammo

Date:October 28, 2014
Excellent quality and price. I shoot 9mm and have never had a misfire or failure to load. The /25 pkg works well for me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Shot Stopper

Date:October 23, 2014
One Shot Stopper!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

flawless

Date:October 22, 2014
Works perfect in all my handguns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:October 21, 2014
This is great ammo and you can never have too much ammo !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Personal Defense Ammo

Date:October 14, 2014
This is great ammo, while checking some reloads through the cronograph, I shot a couple of sets of this ammo through the crono as well.
This ammo produces results just as advertised, velocity was spot on, with minimal deviation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo ,good deal

Date:October 14, 2014
I saw the price and bought it. Great Ammo real good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Critical Defense 9mm

Date:October 7, 2014
I've run one box of the 115gr 9mm through my S&W Shield without any problems, seems to function great so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Load

Date:October 1, 2014
These Critical Defense 38 special rounds function flawlessly in my Colt 4" Diamonback, and my new Ruger LCRX. When your life might be on the line, these are the ones to turn to!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cofident Protection

Date:September 30, 2014
Hornady products are always excellent. Count on this to get the job done!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo.

Date:September 25, 2014
Feeds well and great terminal performance out of our Ruger LCR. Couldn't ask for more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AFFORDABLE HOMW DEFENSE AMMO

Date:September 23, 2014
I purchased this 9mm ammo because it was at a reasonable price for home defense ammo and was hollow point with a pedal star spread out pattern when it hits the target (larger hydrostatic shock). The only comcern I had was if it would cycle in my handgun without jamming due to the non-conical bullet tiip. I tried it at the range with my Taurus PT709 9mm and it loaded and ejected without any jams. Worked fine when ramping from the mag into the chamber.When it comes to serated hollow points you want to make certain that the cartridge will not jam on the chamber ramp when loading between cycling events and this ammo worked fine, no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality speaks for itself

Date:September 23, 2014
For carry or home defense this is one of the best values. Stopping power; limited collateral damage and a good price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Critical Defense .38 Special Ammo

Date:September 23, 2014
I have not used the ammo for its intended purpose and hope not to have to do so. I have confidence in anything that Hornady makes. I have used their ammo and reloading components for several decades.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Defense Ammo

Date:September 16, 2014
High quality defense ammo without being excessively expensive. Very accurate and reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 226