Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

HORNADY Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Hornady's Critical Defense® handgun ammunition delivers superior performance when it matters most. A soft polymer insert prevents the hollow-point cavity from being clogged with fibers and other materials, which can inhibit reliable bullet expansion. Critical Defense also utilizes premium low-flash propellants to deliver maximum velocity and knock-down energy. For reliable and consistent performance, Critical Defense delivers every time, giving you the confidence in your handgun ammunition that you have come to expect from Hornady.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.878 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(214 Reviews) 214
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 214 reviews
5 Stars
196
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
211 out of 214(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Critical Defense 9mm

Date:October 7, 2014
I've run one box of the 115gr 9mm through my S&W Shield without any problems, seems to function great so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Load

Date:October 1, 2014
These Critical Defense 38 special rounds function flawlessly in my Colt 4" Diamonback, and my new Ruger LCRX. When your life might be on the line, these are the ones to turn to!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cofident Protection

Date:September 30, 2014
Hornady products are always excellent. Count on this to get the job done!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo.

Date:September 25, 2014
Feeds well and great terminal performance out of our Ruger LCR. Couldn't ask for more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AFFORDABLE HOMW DEFENSE AMMO

Date:September 23, 2014
I purchased this 9mm ammo because it was at a reasonable price for home defense ammo and was hollow point with a pedal star spread out pattern when it hits the target (larger hydrostatic shock). The only comcern I had was if it would cycle in my handgun without jamming due to the non-conical bullet tiip. I tried it at the range with my Taurus PT709 9mm and it loaded and ejected without any jams. Worked fine when ramping from the mag into the chamber.When it comes to serated hollow points you want to make certain that the cartridge will not jam on the chamber ramp when loading between cycling events and this ammo worked fine, no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality speaks for itself

Date:September 23, 2014
For carry or home defense this is one of the best values. Stopping power; limited collateral damage and a good price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Critical Defense .38 Special Ammo

Date:September 23, 2014
I have not used the ammo for its intended purpose and hope not to have to do so. I have confidence in anything that Hornady makes. I have used their ammo and reloading components for several decades.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Defense Ammo

Date:September 16, 2014
High quality defense ammo without being excessively expensive. Very accurate and reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must have...

Date:September 16, 2014
Great product at a very good price. Use these in both my Glocks, 9mm and .40 and never experienced any difficulties. A must have for your home defense program.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best EDC .380 Ammo

Date:September 6, 2014
If you have a .380 then this is the best to use for Every Day Carry Ammo, Accurate, smooth cycling and great penetration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best sejf defense round

Date:September 2, 2014
BEST ROND FOR HOME DEFENSE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang-bang

Date:September 2, 2014
I was looking for some ammo that would function in my Taurus .380 and bought a box of Critical Defense. It works just fine and has no issues functioning. I bought some cheap ball ammo previously just to shoot then switched to a hollow point with a 100% failure to feed rate. Not a good thing! The Critical Defense with the polymer tip doesn't present a problem. There other benefits Hornady explains in their literature...check it out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Defense Ammo

Date:August 26, 2014
I carry Critical Defense in my small carry guns and Critical Duty in my full-size gun when working. After watching two, in-person, gel shoots in which this ammo was fired through various barricades I was sold.
The defeat of the barrier and then proper penetration and expansion was superior to other brands that I've carried. This ammo also feeds through all my pocket and sub-compact pistols with no problem. All of these factors are critical when you consider the round in your gun may save your life or that of your family.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Round

Date:August 26, 2014
Bought this based on magazine reviews. Found it to be reliable, excellent expansion in my tests, works great in my LCR, have it in my SD9 nightstand gun. I think it is the best self-defense round available. Will buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:August 19, 2014
great defense hope i never have to use it very good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clean Ammo

Date:August 5, 2014
It's got plenty of kick to it good for firing in close quarters small Recoil after firing the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent self-defense handgun ammo

Date:July 9, 2014
Hornady Critical Defense is particularly good for piercing heavy winter clothing in my northern climate. I purchase it to load both my revolver and semi-automatic handguns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMMO

Date:July 9, 2014
Very pleased with this ammo and will buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD

Date:July 3, 2014
ALL HORNADY AMMO IS GOOD.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy shooting

Date:July 1, 2014
Have the 9mm 115 gr for my wife's ruger lc9. This defense ammo out of this particular firearm is not only very manageable but accurate. One of the easiest defense loads to shoot and very affordable. Some calibers its too light weight like the 185 gr 45acp which tends to underpenetrate, the 9mm 115 doesn't suffer this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 214