Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

Hornady’s Critical Defense® handgun ammunition delivers superior performance when it matters most. A soft polymer insert prevents the hollow-point cavity from being clogged with fibers and other materials which can inhibit reliable bullet expansion. Critical Defense also utilizes premium, clean-burning, low-flash propellants to deliver maximum velocity and knock-down energy while reducing felt recoil in light handguns. Feeds reliably in semiautomatic handguns. Critical Defense delivers every time, giving you the confidence you have come to expect from Hornady.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.855 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 138 reviews
5 Stars
125
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
136 out of 138(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:April 30, 2013
Fast Shipping.Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Handgun Ammo

Date:April 23, 2013
The Hornady Critical Defense Handgun Ammo represents the top of the line for this company. The problem was availability from the company for immediate delivery. I waited a couple months for the company to catch up on the production.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unknown end results, hope never to know…

Date:April 23, 2013
Purchase of Critical Defense was made as a precaution before the “run on ammunition.” 10 rounds have been fired into a paper target to “feel the pistol’s reaction to the load while I shot.” The recoil was perhaps milder than the FMJ 9mm that I fire for target practice. Feels odd to write about a round that I hope never to fire again. It was not purchased to strike paper…. Still, from the 10 fired, the fire and smoke out of the barrel was not remembered, the recoil was lighter than the FMJ same weight; thus, I was back on target quickly. From the videos that I have seen and the Instructors to whom I have spoken, the Critical Defense round will do that for which it was purchased…if the need arises. I hope to die of old age an pass the ammo to my son.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady .22magnum

Date:April 23, 2013
Excellent ammunition. I shoot ..22 magnum, on average, 200 rounds per month out of a S&W 351C revolver. I find this Hornady ammunition flawless. I buy it whenever it becomes available now. Highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

357 sig best ammo for the money

Date:April 9, 2013
all ammo is hard to get. the price was right for this high quality ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Value

Date:March 5, 2013
Hornady shoots very clean and accurate a great carry or home defense load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Home defense

Date:February 19, 2013
Can't go wrong with this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:February 5, 2013
wish I could buy more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10mm - good stuff

Date:February 5, 2013
A little slow for 10 mm, but expansion was great with this bullet. My daily carry ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:January 29, 2013
I have Critical Defense ammunition for both my 9mm and .45 ACP pistols. Good stuff.
Reviews indicate that the newer Critical Duty has even better ballistics. It has been available in 9mm for a while, and was recently made available in .40 and .45 ACP.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

low muzzle flash

Date:January 22, 2013
Compared the Hornady, winchester PDX1, and federal hydroshock. Hornady had very little muzzle flash. Also seemed to shot better in my pistol. I used a Sig P290 9mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good quality

Date:January 22, 2013
Good consistant accuracy. All bullets appear seeded correctly and are exacting in lenghth. The 9mm out of a mouse gun shot 1.5" groups at 25 feet and the 45acp was a little out of a compact and less than 1" out of full size 1911.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammunition

Date:January 15, 2013
The ammunition that I bought for my different weapons, both for home defense and practice are good rounds and dependable for shooting. They have not jammed or caused any serious fouling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good but critical duty is better

Date:January 15, 2013
The critical duty bullet is a better bullet but is only offered in a few calibers. If it is not offered in the caliber you want, critical defense is the best you can get.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

solid ammo

Date:January 15, 2013
good stuff. Hope i dont need to use it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Self Defense Ammunition

Date:December 27, 2012
I purchased Hornady Critical Defense Ammo for all of my Hand Guns. It has great ratings and the box I have fired really fed and fired well in my Pistol at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Its your life, so don't go for cheap ammo.

Date:December 27, 2012
They need to offer boxes of 50. They can keep their price structure, just cut down on the trash generated when you practice with the same rounds you carry. I see some for LE but not for every day Joe's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smooth Shots

Date:December 12, 2012
In my wife's Taurus TCP it shot like a dream, very accurate and after 50 of a competitor's brand she felt this round was much more comfortable to fire and since it's what's in her gun when she carries I'm glad she's not afraid to pull the trigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Purchase

Date:December 12, 2012
I have only shot 6 rds., but kept a tight group. Very please with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hornady critical defense

Date:December 11, 2012
Great product would recommend to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 138