Customer Reviews for WESTERN POWDERS Ramshot Smokeless Powder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

WESTERN POWDERS Ramshot Smokeless Powder

Ramshot powders feature excellent lot-to-lot consistency and will meet or exceed the requirements of all shooting enthusiasts, from serious competitors to casual shooters. Available: Silhouette is a double-based, modified (flattened), spherical pistol powder that performs well in medium-sized handgun cases. Silhouette’s low flash signature, high velocity and clean burning properties make it a perfect choice for indoor ranges and law-enforcement applications. Ideal for 9mm, .38 Super, .357 Sig and 10mm/.40 S&W. Per 1-lb. bottle. Big Game rifle powder is ideally suited to the .270 and .30-06 cartridge classes. It also performs well in short-action cartridges, especially .22-250, 6mm and 7mm-08 loads. Per 1-lb. bottle. X-Terminator is a double-based, spherical rifle powder for the high-volume .223 varmint hunter. A clean-burning powder, X-Terminator will not bridge going into the small diameter necks of the .22 centerfire calibers and produces excellent velocities. Ideal for .222, .223 and .22 Benchrest. Per 1-lb. bottle. Hunter is the perfect spherical rifle powder for medium-caliber rifles. Hunter meters great, is clean burning and produces outstanding velocities in traditional medium-caliber cartridges and short-magnum cartridges. Performs consistently throughout a wide range of temperatures. Ideal for .270 and Winchester short-magnum calibers. Per 1-lb. bottle. TAC is a versatile rifle powder that performs well in a number of different calibers. TAC attains some of the industry’s highest velocities for 80-grain .223-caliber bullets while maintaining SAAMI pressure guidelines. TAC is a double-based powder with exceptionally consistent metering and charge weights. Ideal for .223 and .308. Per 1-lb. bottle.  True Blue is a double-based, spherical pistol powder that performs extremely well in most handgun cases. Load range is from .380 Auto. to .454 Casull weights. The powder’s physical size contributes to excellent metering properties and consistency of charge weights when run through a progressive loader. High-bulk density contributes to a fuller case capacity and more consistent loads. Ideal for 9mm, .38 Special, .357 Mag, and .45 ACP. Per 1-lb. bottle. Zip is a double-based, modified flattened spherical pistol powder that performs extremely well in small to medium-sized handgun cases. Clean, fast-burning and consistent with a wide range of cartridges, this powder is a great choice for target and competitive shooters. Zip’s versatility and ability to perform at low charge weights also makes this powder the choice of high-volume, cost-conscious reloaders. Ideal for 9mm, .38 Special, .40 S&W, and .45 ACP.  Per 1-lb. bottle.   
Overall Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Review 1 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:March 12, 2013
With my normal H335 not being available, I decided to try Ramshot TAC. It is very similar to H335, but burns well without magnum primers. It takes a little more TAC to achieve the same velocities in .223 loads, but it meters well through the powder measure, it took me only two tries to find an accurate load, which is comparable to my favorite H335 load. In short, an outstanding substitute for H335. Try it - you'll like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Powder

Date:March 12, 2013
Awesome powder I loaded 43.1 gr under a
Sierra 180 gr spitzer to form a 308 round
and got a - MOA at 100 YD I also loaded some 5.56 and got the same results using it under 70 Gr Sierra
WOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best BANG for the buck

Date:January 29, 2013
Been using TAC for my plinking and target loads in my 223 and 308 was very consistent results ,meters great ,I can't wait to try some true blue .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good powder

Date:December 27, 2012
burns really clean in my AR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:December 6, 2012
I would recommend this powder...works great in AR15's with the right bullet weight. and their website has all the load data even for plated bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ramshot TAC

Date:November 8, 2012
I used this to reload a batch of 55gr .223. Using the cheapest buttets I could find. The accuracy was phenominal. It shot groups around 1/4 MOA. And not a single flier. The best I had previously done with the same rifle and Factory Loads were more than double the spread. My handloads are usually more accurate, but this is really consistant stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great powder

Date:June 11, 2012
I've tried all powders in my 300wsm and 270win but none compare to the consistant velocities and accurracy of ramshot hunter when using barnes ttsx ,hornady sst or nosler partition bullets. the only powder that gives velocities given in loading manuels - in my rifles - with 24inch barrels. flows like water and burns clean. this stuff is outstanding.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TAC Powder

Date:February 21, 2012
I am not sure how powders can be different or affect accuracy, all I can tell you is that I tried 15 rounds of .223, 75 grain with Varget, BLC-2 and TAC. The conditions were fairly windy, a crosswind from left to right at about 10 miles an hour and I was shooting at 200 yards. The rounds with TAC powder shot consistently tighter groups. This is the first time I tried this powder and plan on investigating this further but my initial test results are what I have stated. With this crosswind, I was still shooting consistently 1.25 inch groups with TAC, the other powders were not nearly as tight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Satisfied

Date:October 2, 2011
Recently purchases some Ramshot Hunter and Magnum for use in my .25-06. Hunter performed very well and produced accurate groups with 100 grain Sierra Game King and Pro Hunters and also the 100 grain Swift Scirocco II's. I utilized Magnum in loads for my Sierra 117 Pro Hunters and it out performed Reloader 22 and IMR 4350 in my Tikka T3. In addition, Ramshot powder is by far the easiest powder to work with, measures very consistently and easily in my basic RCBS powder dispenser.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Powder - Don't Buy Anything Else

Date:December 29, 2010
I have been using Ramshot Tac and Big Game in a half dozen various calibers for the last year.
In comparison to Hodgdon, IMR, Winchester, Alliant, Norma, and Vihtavouri, Ramshot is superior: it burns cleaner, throws consistent charges in a Lyman 1200 DPS III, shoots smaller groups, it's cheaper, and its made in America. Extreme temperature ranges do not seem to have an effect either.
I would use Ramshot exclusively except I have about 50 pounds of other manufacturers powder that I bought before I discovered Ramshot. Once that's gone, its Ramshot from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really good powder line

Date:March 13, 2010
I've been using Ramshot's Enforcer powder in my 44 Rem Mag reloads for several years, exclusively. I usually shoot 210 gr JHP with it. Accuracy is better than with any other powder at the higher velocity ranges...better groups than either W296 or H110. The Ramshot Hunter is great in my 30-06 using my custom made 190 gr JSP bonded bullets...excellent groups, better than average velocity, and super-clean burning. I wish Cabela's stocked the Enforcer powder, too! I'm about to run out of it again. Also, I'd like to try Ramshot's Magnum powder in my 25-06 and 7mm Rem Mag (with the heavier bullets), too. Ramshot makes a better product at a price that is usually 15% below that of other manufacturers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WESTERN WASHINGTON STATE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ramshot Powders

Date:December 27, 2009
I have been using Ram Shot Powders for over 4 yrs. now and will not use any other as I find that the consistant loading qualities are par none. I load all the different powders and load seven (7) different calibers. I have through trial and error have found Ram Shot out performs all other powders. If you are getting into reloading or already are into it try Ram shot you won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OREGON
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

splatmaster

Date:April 24, 2009
I have been using Ramshot X-Terminator for the past 3 years
for Varmit shooting using 2 different rifles in 223 caliber.
1 rifle has 24 inch barrel and conagraphed velocity of 3447 fps.
the other rifle has a 26 inch barrel and conagraphed velocity of 3557 fps.
both rifles are bolt action.
I find that Ram Shot X terminator powder measures smooth thru progressive powder measure with high consitance. I load and shoot over 4000 rounds per summer.
My 100 yard group is 5 rounds one hole. Testing with conagraph i have not found a verance of no more than 35 fps when conagraphing. 5 round average. and test 5 rounds each rifle after loading 500 rounds at a time.
X-Terminator powder aslo burns clean and i have no problem with fouling and cleaning my rifles.
I would recommend this product to anyone who wants cosistancy and accurcy.
I have used over 30 lbs of this powder and will continue
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ramshot TAC & X-Terminator

Date:March 28, 2009
Great powder, meters easily and consistently, but most impressive is the accuracy. I routinely obtain sub-MOA accuracy with a variety of loads with 52gr and 55gr bullets. I have also had good success with Ramshot X-Terminator. Varmints don’t stand a chance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ramshot Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ramshot Hunter

Date:December 15, 2008
This is the finest powder I have ever used in the .30-06 Springfield with 180 grain bullets. Like all Ball type powders it measures very uniformly and has a very high loading density. The VERY BIG plus is it is Very Clean Burning. Cleaner in fact then any other Ball type powder I have used and Most Extruded Type powders. Try some I really Think You'll Like it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.