Customer Reviews for AGUILA Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

AGUILA Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

Get .22-Magnum-like performance from a .22 LR. A muzzle velocity of 1,750 fps makes .22 Super Maximum the fastest .22 long-rifle rounds made. Safe in .22 LR guns in good condition. Reliably cycle in semiauto rifles and pistols. 30-gr. lead hollow-point bullets. Per 500 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.872 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
29 out of 39(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Review 1 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great round

Date:February 23, 2012
Just shot this ammo yesterday. It cycled really well in my 10 22, but I'm also using the volquartsen extractors. They were very accurate shot a 2 inch group of the bench at 100yds. I cant wait to try these out on some varmints
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great in my Semi-Auto

Date:June 4, 2013
This ammo cycles great through my Chiappa 1911-22. This model suffers from malfunctions with bulk ammo but after switching to this ammo, it functioned much more reliably. It was easy to forget I was firing 22lr as this packs a punch. Only a couple stovepipes after firing 200 rounds. I'll be buying more when I can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Packs a punch

Date:January 15, 2013
Flawlessly cycled both my Sig 22LR conversion and my M4 conversion. One can tell the difference in firing this round from other high velocity (1200 - 1400 fps) rounds from other vendors. Haven't been able to try this stuff out in the field yet but have bought more for the spring. Only problem is that about 1 out of 50 will jam in the Sig due to the thin brass bending when cycling, despite extra lube and cleaning of the slide. Accurate; 1.5 inch groups at 25 yds even with a 1 in 7 twist barrel in the M4 using iron sights. Shoots surprisingly flat. I had to re zero my sights for this round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deal with ammo box

Date:November 29, 2012
Best 22lr on the market out of my last 500 rds NO misfires or stovepipes that includes semi-auto rifles, bolt action rifles and semi auto pistols! speed is always as stated on the box sometimes better! Fast Shipping for the holiday shopping!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor accuracy

Date:October 13, 2012
I bought a brick of this stuff to use in a Kimber 22 conversion kit for my Colt 1911. It works fine in the handgun with enough power to cycle the slide.
However when I put it through my Ruger 10/22 rifle, it is wildly inaccurate. I wound up with 4 or 5 inch groups at 25 yards with this stuff. When I changed to standard velocity Remington stuff, my rifle shot a ragged hole at 25 yards. I would not recomend this stuff in your rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Self Defense

Date:October 2, 2012
Awesome ammo- great for self defense for what's about to come for home protection...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Probably OK for some...

Date:October 1, 2012
This ammo packs noticeable power over typical "bulk pack" type ammo. Surprisingly, however, this ammo didn't cycle my Walther P22 at all. I'll have to try it in my 10/22 because I've seen ballistics tests showing this is a great round. Also, I noticed a foul smell while shooting it. Oh well...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aguila 30-gr

Date:September 4, 2012
Fast with a little bigger bang, love them!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointing

Date:May 8, 2012
I've been looking for a couple different rounds to test in my savage mkII, and I was very disappointed. shot a 4inch group at 50 yards. the cheap bulk federal ammo will give me under 2" at 100 yards. Doesn't matter how powerful your round is if you can't hit anything. Will not be wasting my money on this stuff again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, hot ammo, but remember it's just .22lr!

Date:April 10, 2012
I've used this ammo in several firearms: a piece-of-junk Jennings J-22, a Ruger Mark IV with a bull barrel, and a Marlin 60 semi-auto rifle with the micro-grooved barrel. In all cases, the rounds fed well, with only a couple of malfunctions, usually bad extractions. I've never had a soft strike or misfire -- maybe I'm just lucky.
I got this ammo originally for the Jennings, a gun I got for free for doing some website maintenance for a local gunshop. My pay, essentially, was the cost of the background check and transfer fees; a Jennings is pretty much worthless, a chunk of zinc with a steel barrel pressed into it. Lower-powered rounds worked indifferently, sometimes failing to cycle the lousy action of the weapon. Someone suggested Stingers, but the extra oomph of a Stinger is paid for with a slightly longer case, which can cause very bad extraction problems when the chamber is of very close length tolerance. This weapon didn't have a deep enough chamber, and a Stinger case would constantly get stuck. But a Super-Max would feed perfectly. In addition, any other round hitting a paper target at a distance of 10-15 yards would leave a tiny, rather torn hole. The super-max would leave a cleanly PUNCHED hole that looked as if it had been made by a .38spl. The Mark IV fired it cleanly and with good groups, as good as I could make them at least. Finally, they fired from the Marlin 60 with blazing speed, and good accuracy to at least reasonable varmint or small game range. Beyond 50-60 yards, you'll want a heavier round, as the 30-grain starts to get a bit frisky and lose accuracy.
I've not noticed that it's particularly "gummy" or "dirty". I use Militec-1 on all of my weapons, and they clean up pretty easily as a result.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MA, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not happy at all

Date:March 22, 2012
I have been trying different ammo in my cz 452 bolt action. I was very disappointed with the aguila super max hyper velocity 30gr. The first round failed to fire and the forth round got stuck in the breach. I have tried about 20 different types of ammo, and this aguila was the first ammo to have either of these problems in my cz. Very unhappy, especially considering the price.
At 100m my 5 shot group was 4.84", while other ammo that day grouped about 2" or slightly better.
I will not buy this again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

this works!

Date:July 25, 2011
This ammo makes the auto slides really work. The Sig .22 conversion never has a slide malfunction, as it does with other less potent ammo.
The varmits / gophers etc. are dropped in their tracks. A bit pricey but it does works the best in all my automatics.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:May 28, 2011
Just came in from testing SuperMax in MY stock 10/22 on sandbags at 50 yards. While not the most accurate 22LR ammo, it edged out my Stingers for hyper velocity type rounds! SuperMax produced 2" rounded groups, while Stingers printed 2.5" groups with a few flyers. The Stingers averaged 1513 fps, while SuperMax clocked 1646fps! Not the 1750 advertised, but then again Stingers didn't make it to 1640 either! The different velocities really showed up on the targets. Stingers were dead on @ 50, while the Aguila printed 2" high. If the Aguila would have grouped closer to 1" I would give it 5 stars!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: aztec, nm
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

useless

Date:March 17, 2011
well i gave them a fair test 50 yds bench rest scoped mossburg bolt action brand new. the 50 yd group was about 8 inches spread. at 25 yds best group was 3 inches. gave the rest of them away. going back to my old standby Federals, they shoot better than all the 7 different brands i tried.................
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San antonio, Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr

Date:January 31, 2011
I am a former Marine that enjoys a good day at the range, I recently bought a MARLIN MODEL 981T BOLT-ACTION .22 with a 9X40 scope(1/4 MOA). I took it to the range this past weekend and I have to admit at 50 yards using the Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr I was able to put all 15 round is a group no larger then a quarter. I then move to the 100 yard range and it was a different outcome, whereas I could not get the same results as the 50 yard range I was able to put all rounds within a 10 inch group. I think the best distance for this ammo is 50 to 75 yards. Out of the 100 rounds I shot only 5 misfire, but I put them back in the rifle and they fired the second time. Overall it was a good purchase and the ammo box came in pretty handy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Odessa, Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SUPERMAX

Date:December 17, 2010
I shot 300 rounds through my GSG522 and it performed flawlessly. I sat in a trypod stand overlooking a pond and shot at turdles and had a "blast". These rounds get there fast. I compared them to Win. LRHP and there is no comparison when it comes to fast. They also group in the same area at 50 yards which is so convenient. I couldn't tell much difference in the cleanliness but I give all my guns a good cleaning after returning from the range. If you want "dirty" try Federal. I stopped useing it years ago. A friend told me the other day nothings changed, it's still dirty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1750 fps from a .22LR!!!

Date:March 24, 2010
This is the hottest .22LR ammo I have ever shot. Friend of mine was ready to get rid of his .22 pistol til I gave him a box of these. He decided to keep it. Loudest .22 ammo I have ever shot too. Very reliable fun shooting ammo. Put 5 of these in a 25 rd clip and I guarantee you will know when they come up in the clip. They will cycle any semi auto. They are definitely worth trying out!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Dallas, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheap, and fires cheap

Date:September 15, 2009
Very inexpensive, fires about 95% of the time. When it fired, acceptably accurate
Had several issues with my sons' Savage bolt action as well as my 1936 Mossberg. Stuck in the breech, unable to feed into the chamber, powder is very sticky and required signifcant cleanup after 150 rounds.
In a nutshell you get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum

Date:September 10, 2009
Tested in Kimber 22-cal. conversion unit. Relatively accurate and cycles reliably. Seems to be a very hot load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aguila .22 LR Super Maximum 30-gr. HP Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tarpley Texas, about an hour west of San Antonio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:September 3, 2009
I did not find it extremely accurate, but as good as the CCI, but better than standard Remington and other ammo. It is hot, but how hot I dont know. Did not find out how fast from my 10/22. But definately hotter than a standard .22 LR. I bought another 500 count, cause my local supplier keeps running out of quality .22 LR ammo. I have no complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 39