Customer Reviews for ISSC Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

ISSC Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.

Loaded with 60-gr. bullets (the heaviest available for the .22 rimfire) Sniper Subsonic (SSS) ammo’s subsonic speed means it shoots a lot quieter than standard ammo. Ideal for indoor ranges and discreet outdoor applications, it’s also good for teaching noise-sensitive beginners. Packs plenty of punch for small game.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.594 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
21 out of 32(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Review 1 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

too loud

Date:October 15, 2012
subsonic - maybe by definition but not by sound. Just as loud as standard rounds. I will stick with Remington subsonics. When they leave the suppressor u only hear the mechanics of the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Impressed at all

Date:October 13, 2012
The round for me is not quite accurate enough
The major problem I have with it though is that about every 50 rounds I shoot, about 4-5 of them literally blow holes in the side of the brass and almost screwed up one of my rifles, note this has happened on 4 different rifle with three different people that I know so its not just me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Acurate - enough

Date:June 11, 2012
I've used subsonic rounds quite a lot to kill small varmints. These are by far the best. I'm using an old Glenfield with a 1:10 twist, so I'm probably getting some tumble.
Cons:
They're dirty. You'll need to clean your rifle a little more frequently.
They do not yield a truly tight pattern at 50 yds.
Pros:
Surprisingly quite. Really quite.
I can get a pattern about the size of a 50 cent piece at 50 yds. However, you will get an occasional outlier. Even so, the overall pattern is less than 2 inches. Since most varmints are bigger than 2 inches - I'm good to go!
They are lethal on small animals, even racoons.
Overall, you will not win a competition with these, but they are more than adequate.
I would recommend these to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cycles like a charm

Date:May 9, 2012
Just thought I'd share that the SSS is the only round that I have cycled with a nearly flawless record. I shot hundreds of Aguila high velocity, Winchester wildcats, CCI stingers, Federal, etc. in a Walther P22 military.
It is definitely a dirty round with the 60gr fill, but I have always cleaned well within a couple of hours. Even while shooting with other rounds (750-1000 rounds in a few hours) I didn't notice cycling or accuracy issues.
From now on, I'll be purchasing the SSS unless I need a real bullet... then I'll get the $CCI stinger.
*Federal and winchester had a 1:8 and 1:12 average cycle failure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cheshire, OR.
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet!!!

Date:December 28, 2011
Did what they say. They are not so much quiet to you as quiet to people a 100 yards off. The best thing about them is the knock down power. These did something I didn't think a 22 LR could do. I shot a coon at 15 yards in the chest. It looked like Tiger Woods hit him with a sand wedge. It flipped in the air and rolled backward about 10 feet to a stop. Sweet! Samething out of my single six 8 in. barrel. Would have given a 5 star but yes they do smell and are a little dirty. Just run a patch or snake through it when you get home. Takes 30 sec. For longer ranges you do need a fast twist rifling, but in my 10/22 I hits 4 in. spinners at 75 yards everytime. and the 1.5 in. about 75%. 100 yards about 6 to 8 in. This is fine because most subsonic rounds don't have one shot kill power much past 75 yards. Although these do if your gun shots them strait that far. I buy them by the brick. Happy hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

needs fast twist

Date:November 9, 2011
Check the twist of your firearm before purchasing!
Ammo is quiet and accurate in the correct barrel. The long 60gr bullet however will not stabilize in most factory spec rifles and many pistols. With slow twist barrels expect the bullet to begin tumbling at just a few yards from the muzzle.
Try CCI CB shorts for a super quiet, accurate subsonic load in barrels with a slow twist. These loads work great for small game and pests up to about 40 yards. Out of a rifle barrel the rounds don't make much more noise than an air rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I may have to stock up on this.

Date:August 23, 2011
First, Cabelas should have a disclaimer in the description for this ammo that it will most likely not cycle a semi-auto, and will not be as quiet as intended in a pistol. Apparently some gun owners either don't know enough about their own guns, or don't know enough about the ammo they put into their guns to realize SSS isn't a good choice for them.
I took my M1969 Romanian Training rifle (bolt action .22lr) and Taurus 94 out in the woods yesterday. I purchased the SSS intending to use it out of the rifle, but thought I'd give it a try out of the revolver. It performed as I expected out of the Taurus, a little quieter than normal .22lr, but still pretty loud. In the M1969, it was better than I expected. It's quieter than my high powered .22 air rife. My buddy couldn't believe I had just shot a rifle. I can't say too much about accuracy of the SSS though, as I was firing from standing with iron sites at whatever cans and spent shot gun shells people had left littering the area. But I hit what I was aiming at, so it seemed pretty good to me. As I intend this for small game, I'm pretty confident.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not SubSonic but still a Great Unique Round

Date:February 1, 2011
First this is not a subsonic round but this is one of the best rounds I have ever found for a 22 pistol. It is hard hitting and very accurate. I have a Ruger Mark III hunter that functions flawlessly with this round and is dead on accurate. I can see how some might give this a bad review but this is a special round and may not be suited for all. Just try it and see if you like it. After all it is a 22. It's not like the ammo cost a lot for trial and error.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No good!

Date:November 23, 2010
Don't waste your money! They are just as loud as a 22lr and are very smokey with a nasty smell. They leave a mess in your chamber and must clean after a few shots. I used my 10/22, which won't cycle and s&w 22lr revolver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Kansas City
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not recommended

Date:July 6, 2010
Many suppressor manufacturers specifically NO NOT RECOMMEND that you use this round. It may not stabilize in shorter barrels and may damage the suppressor, the gun or both. Several manufacturers have stated that use of this particular round will void the warranty. Beware.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walther P22

Date:May 6, 2010
Shoots great in my P22. But I don't think its that quiet. If you want quiet use aguila colibri its not silent but it's the quietest I have used. With the aguila colibri you will have to cycle the P22 manually but for me no big deal I use it to shoot snakes while fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not bad

Date:May 2, 2010
This round dosn't work in my 10/22, but works great in the old single shot bolt action .22
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Grand Island, NE (Cabela's Employee)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fouling in Rifles

Date:April 8, 2010
This ammunition causes fouling in Semi-Automatic Rifles, however functions as expected in pistols, with slightly louder crack than expected, my .22LR will have to be taken to a gunsmith to remove fouled empty shell casing from the chamber the round went off as expected, however the casing is now firmly lodged in the chamber.
Works for .22LR chambered semi-auto pistols, don't try it with semi-auto rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad Ammo

Date:April 7, 2010
I just installed a CMMG conversion in my AR-15 with a Gemtech suppressor. I shot several hundred rounds through it and didn't have any problem. Good ammo the only reason for the 4 stars is the dirty issue, but I love guns so cleaning them is also enjoyable on a rainy day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nothing else like it

Date:February 18, 2010
OK, this isn't the cleanest burning ammo. In fact, it's some of the dirtiest I ever shot. However, that probably has to do with the fact that the tiny .22 short case develops 120 foot pounds of energy with a 60 grain bullet. That 's the same as standard high velocity .22 LR ammo. From a subsonic round, no less. No other .22 LR bullet can possibly have the ballistic coefficient that the SSS bullet does. It is in a class of its own. However, it will be a problematic round for those who have no inclination or desire to attend to its peculuiar whims. If you shoot it from a semi-auto, your cleaning schedule will be very often and you need to keep your gun well lubed with the slickest lube you can find and freely functioning. If you do not, then the gun will short stroke and fail to eject the case properly. The powder residue from the SSS puts brakes on the functioning of a semi-auto, so be forewarned. I shoot from a fairly stock Ruger 10/22. I don't go in for all the 10/22 gonzo upgrades, as it is what it is as well. You can wrap some lead solder around the end of a 10/22 barrel and secure it with duct tape, and it will perform like a bull barrel. Weight at the muzzle makes the most difference, a pure and simple fact. Likewise, if you want to hit harder and deeper, then the subsonic round with the highest energy at the target will trump all other rounds. This is that round. Again, in a class of its own. If you want what it delivers, then learn to live with it. You begin your hunt with a well cleaned and lubed semi-auto and understand you have only a few magazines to shoot before sluggish action produces frequent jams. Otherwise, you buy a bolt action rifle, which is really the best choice in a gun for SSS ammo. As far as accuracy, I get 1" groups at 50 yards, which is very good considering my rifle has only a 16" twist rate which is far too low to stabilize the SSS round effectively. However, the yaw that a slow twist rate produces is deadly on the target it hits. Subsonic ammo does not expand effectively, so yaw can be an acceptable substitute as long as the accuracy degradation is not excessive for your purposes. IF YOU WANT NAIL DRIVING ACCURACY, then a fast twist rate barrel must be used with this round. I prefer the slight yaw and terminal devastation that regular twist rate provides, as I am hunting oriented rather than target oriented. I will never be without this round in my .22 LR ammo stash, unless something better comes along. Nobody else seems to be interested in making 60-grain .22 LR ammo. Buy an AO scope with a target reticle such as mil-dot or Christmas tree and learn how to use it to get the most out of a round such as this. If you grew up with airguns like I did, then this round will be second nature to you, but a lot harder hitting downrange.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stateside
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AGUILLA FOR SPECIAL PURPOSE

Date:December 11, 2009
FIRST AND FOREMOST This is not for your regular rifle twist this is special purpose ammo designed for a special twist rate rifle a 1:9 twist or faster(1:8, 1:7) also your barrel cannot be longer than 18" as this adds velocity, also you have to know what your tempreature and altitude are as well as barometric pressure so you can be sure it will not go super-sonic. This product works exactly how it should I have used this in a 10/22 and it works fine. For you who are having it go sideways it is because your rifle was not designed to shoot 60gr bullets so the bullet cannot stabalize because you have a very slow twist barrel. This product does not get the credit and respect it deserves. It was meant for special purpose...This was never intended to be shot out of a "off the shelf" .22lr. I would not shoot this out of a gun that did not have the correct twist rate you could have many problems...I have well over 30,000 rounds of this and have never even had a malfunction and hit exactly where I aim...FOR THOSE OF YOU NOT KNOWING WHY IT DOES NOT WORK SUPERBERBLY IN YOUR FIREARM STOP and do not shoot it anymore... It is the most well designed cartridge the short case capacity and the nature of the Beast (a large bullet) makes this a killer cartridge for one purpose...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ruger 10-22

Date:September 14, 2009
The sixty grain bullet is good for knockdown power at very close range (point blank). At 60’ the rounds were not penetrating a tree stump too well. Only about the depth of the bullet itself. The round is noisy, smelly, and dirty. And will not cycle the 10-22.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

22LR ammo

Date:September 10, 2009
Great ammo. very quite. Take my young sons out to shoot and they don't have to wear earplugs. Little pricey but great ammo if you have specific needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Moundridge, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Far from quite or silent

Date:July 25, 2009
I am really disapointed in this ammo. I bought this ammo because I was told that it would not go supersonic and crack like my long rifle amo does. Well they were wrong or my rifle is simply too well built. Regardless this ammo is still to loud to be used on birds in my back yard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aguila .22 LR Sniper Subsonic 60-gr. Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box – Per 500.
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Subsonic but still loud

Date:July 24, 2009
My first experience with subsonic ammo. It was a little quiter than reg ammo but not like an air rifle as some web sites suggest. It is excellent for us .. we hunt rabbits at `30 - 40 meters. My rifle bore is clean with good lands & grooves .. With the rifle in a bench vise , firing at a target at 40 meters .. the hits are in a one inch circle .. However .. The rounds tumble. All rounds hit the target sideways... Weird!! But still effective... Also this ammo is dirty. You should clean the bore whenever you are done for the day..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 32