Customer Reviews for Wolf Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Wolf Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point

Starting with premium materials and using the most modern production techniques, Wolf crafts Russia's highest-quality ammunition. Now it's available at an amazingly low price. Polyformance?-coated steel cases for reliability. Noncorrosive. Available: 500 rounds ? 1 Dry Box 1,000 rounds ? 2 Dry Boxes
Overall Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Review 1 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2009

Wolf 7.62x39 154 gr soft point

By
Location: Wisconsin
Just purchased 500 rounds of this ammo for using in my 1994 Colt Sporter 7.62x39. C magazines fed with no problem. No rifle jams or misfires. More felt recoil than 123gr or 125gr. I have taken nice white tails with the smaller grain bullets but want to have a little more smack down power for this year's deer season. Shot exceptionally small group when sighting in. Good cartridge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2009

Wolf Ammo

By
Quick delivery and a good price. Dropped six tail with this round so far plus excellent for shooting/relaxing at the range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2009

Bang For Your Buck

By
Location: Marshes of Delaware
Its been extremly hard to find any ak ammo and specially in bulk. I have bever used soft tips in my ak before and I was impressed by the quality and the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2009

Best ammo on the market

By
Location: Iowa (corn-fed venison country!!)
Of all the 7.62X39mm ammo I've tried (and I've tried just about everything there is) Wolf 154gr.SP is the absolute BEST. It gives your 7.62X39 rifle the equivalent knock-down power and performance of .308 (I qualified at a Garand Match using this ammo, and "wowed the crowd")!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Reliable Shooting

By
Location: Southern Indiana
I have purchased quite a bit of this ammo over the years, and have found it to be very reliable and smooth cycling, in both my AK and SKS. Plenty of knockdown power for hunting, and good, consistent performance. Definitely worth having around.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Does the job.

By
Location: Posey County, IN
Ammo worked great. Accurate, clean, and no missfires. Used in a Chinese SKS. Will buy more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2009

Wolf 7.62 X 39 154gr Soft Points

By
Location: Buffal, Iowa
The 154 gr. bullet does have punch. Recoil is a slight amount higher than their other rounds. Accuracy in a 15 1/2 " barrel AK at 100 yds. open sites is about 12" to 14" groups versus 4-5" with FMJ.
Fired in two short rifles.
SKS and RPK rifles did shoot much better groups. These two rifles had 8" to 10" groups versus 3" to 4" groups at 100 yds. with FMJ.
Use longer barrel rifles for hunting and use for shots of 100 to 125 yds. max. These will kill anything you want at the shorter ranges in N.A.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

Fit for purpose.

By
Location: Houston, TX
Those of us who shoot the 154 grain 7.62x39mm have know for a long time that the original 122/123 grain loads did not perform well on small game and varmints out past 200 yards when shot from accurate rifles. In both of my mini Mausers and my AR15 with 7.62x39 upper, this load far out-performs the lighter bullet loads to bring down more one-shot kills at longer ranges. And for whitetail in heavy cover at shorter ranges, the deer can't tell the difference between this load and a 150 grain .30-30 WCF load.
In the AR, the polymer case coating does not foul the chamber the way laquer coatings do, so there is no problem with prolonged rapid-fire shooting at the range, either.
I've recommended this load to several friends who all agree about the improved hunting performance and reduced chamber fouling. We've all standardized on the 154 grain Wolf for our bolt action rifles and AR-based guns, using the lighter 122/123 grain loads for "blastin' ammo" in our less accurate AKs and SKSs.
Give it a try - you'll like it too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

wolf ammo

By
Location: ca
wolf is good ammo and this was at a good price
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr.

By
Location: Sidney Center, NY
Good for medium and large game hunting round.
I use it for coyote, whitetail, black bear never let me down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

Good AMMO

By
Location: Texas
Good AMMO at a GOOD PRICE. My rifles like it a lot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009

ammo

By
Location: killer from kali
This ammo is as good as the rest out there. The 154 bullet shot more accuratey out of my sks.My groups shrank by half.The ak did about the same but less flyers.I love wolk ammo.I hope not too many people use it to keep the price down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009

Wolf 7.62x39 154gr ammo

By
Good ammo. Functions very well in both an AK-47 and a Chinese SKS. No misfires during the first 200 rounds fired. Burns slightly dirty compared to some other manufacturers' ammo though. This is MUCH more accurate than 123gr ammo from Wolf and other. It is probably due to the added weight of the projectile.
It came with a great dry box but that is little consolation when the ammo was placed on back-order for six weeks and then another month back-order was added to that!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2009

semi autos and this caliber

By
Great ammo. I have a bolt action carbine.Out of the box it comes with true mauser bolt system and single set trigger.Try one and you will never go back to the cheap rifles again.Cycling is not an issue and accuracy smokes any auto.Also comes with milled in scope rail but the iron sights are excellent!spend the extra money and you have not just a lifetime rifle but a generational one!You are goning to have to guess the company name as it is not allowed to post brand names her,just call your local shop.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2009

My AK loves this ammo

By
Location: Saint Louis, MO
I've shot a few hundred rounds through my Romanian SAR-1 AK and have had no problems.
Friend of mine used this on his Yugo SKS, no problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2009

dont like the polymer

By
Turned my sks into a single shot with tapco removable 20 rounders, all lacquered cases work great in it, (golden tiger, barnaul, hot shot, old wolf) so i attribute it to the polymer coating, rifle gets cleaned after every outing so it is nothing to do with being dirty. in the first 100 or so rounds i had 2 primer only fires, the casings had powder in them just didn't light but the primer did, had to bang the bullet out of the barrel. going to send the rest back to wolf hopefully there guarantee is actually worth something.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009

Excellent Ammo

By
Location: arizona
This is some of the best ammo I have ever used. Well over 1,000 rounds through my AK-47; No jamming, no fouling, burns clean and leaves very little residue. I would highly recommend this to everyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2009

Hunt Big Game with your AK or Mini 30

By
Location: North West Colorado
This ammo is good for big game to 150 yards or perhaps a bit more. Reliable ignition, good bullet performance. I took a very large cow elk at 100 yards. Broke off shoulder, no tracking, down immediatly. If you want to hunt with your 7.62 x 39 you will like this ammunition. Plenty accurate and powerful if you keep your shots to a reasonable range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wolf Bulk 7.62 39 Ammunition–154-gr. Soft Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2009

Dirty Ammo

By
Location: Charlotte, NC
This ammo shoots well for plinking. I haven't had a jam with it, but that's probably because it is so dirty and leaves so much black, powery residue that I have to clean my weapon twice as often. If you don't mind having to stop half-way thru your range time to clean your weapon then buy it. If not - stay away. It brings to mind the saying "you get what you pay for".
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.