Customer Reviews for Wolf Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Wolf Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point

Consistent loads with copper-jacketed bullets ensure tight-grouping accuracy at higher velocities, and Wolf’s pricing makes its ammo one of the most economical anywhere for high-volume shooters. This 55-grain hollow-point ammunition is perfect for varmint hunting. Available:500 rounds of 55-gr. HP and one dry-storage box 1,000 rounds of 55-gr. HP and two dry-storage boxes
Overall Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
7
9 out of 16(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Review 1 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2009

GOOD AMMO

By
WORK EXELENT IN MY A/K NEVER JAM'S GOOD STUFF
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2009

Wolf .223 Remington's are good

By
Location: Plano, Texas
Very good ammo for the price. Individually boxed and shipped in nice Cabela's dry boxes. Heated canulas are a plus for full auto shooters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2009

Don't bother even thinking about buying

By
Location: Logan, UT
Have used this ammo in my AR-15, nothing but trouble would not eject STUCK. Have used this ammo in my bolt action rifle could not clear even the bolt action!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2009

Wolf bulk ammo

By
Shoots o.k. but pretty dirty compared to others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2009

Be Carful

By
Location: western slope Colorado
Don't buy a lot of this ammo. Try a few first.
I shot 40 rounds through my Bolt .223 and the first one jammed and wouldn't come out. Then about 7 others did the same thing.
The cases expand a lot more after firing.
I also put 20 rounds through the action to see if they would stick. One did. Once fired the shells expand to much, I put one back in to see if it would extract, it didn't. My Remington shells don't when I put them back in. It is the Wolf ammo. I'm not sure if it is the coating or what?
Just don't buy a ton of them at first. They seem to work for some people.
They also leave a build up on the bolt of the red glue they use on the primers. Had to clean it off after 20 rounds.
I'm going to talk to a gun smith to see if I can still shoot them otherwise I will have to return them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2009

wolf bulk .223 remington ammo

By
Location: IOWA
This is probly the best ammo you can get for the money you spend,to bad it was backorderd for so long,a sign of the times I guess, but as usual excellent service provided by Cabelas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2009

Try one box first

By
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Don't buy a thousand rounds like I did of this stuff without trying it out. I was constantly having rounds get stuck and unable to eject them. Was a pain prairie dog hunting to have to stop and use a cleaning rod to push them out. I shoot a Howa 1500 sporter and have never had trouble with any other brands of ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollo

By
Location: Houma, LA
Clean, no jams - worked well. Very satisfied.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Wof .223 Ammo

By
Location: Marietta, GA
Ammo preformed as expected. This is not the first Wolf ammo I've used and I've never had any problems with it althought I do not shoot a lot of ammo at one time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2009

Weapons Trainer

By
I purchased a couple Rock River AR-15's for my sons. We have enjoyed many weekends plinking in the desert. PMC has been our go-to ammo. To save money, I bought 1000 rounds of this ammo. The following weekend turned into a disaster. Between our three AR's (2- Rock River and my Colt) we couldn't shoot 3 in a row without a jam or stove pipe. This was horrible ammo and should be removed from the market.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2009

No good for the Bushmaster A2

By
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Constant jams and misfeeds. On a rare occasion a couple rounds will feed and fire okay. Buy a small box and try before buying a case.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2009

it's fine for bad ammo

By
sticks in my AR. Use it mostly in CZ 527, +/- 1 in 100 will not fire. 2 1/2 minute accuracy. fine for banging steel at range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2009

Terrible because of jamming

By
Location: California
I bought a small box of this to test out my new Kel Tec 223 with. Thank God I came here and read the reviews because I was worried there was something wrong with my gun since it jammed on about every 3rd round. Do not buy this ammo without testing a small box of it. I just bought some Black Hills 223s in bulk ... worth the extra money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2010

Good Bang For Your Buck

By
Great ammo! Put 100 rounds through my Blackthorne Products AR Carbine kit without a hiccup. My rifle fed smoothly and burped out empty steel! Think some of the other reviewers have to tight of chambers to be having all those problems. Decent accuracy; 6x scope at 50yds was getting 1 to 1.5 inch groups. Very tight groups then 1 or 2 fliers to widen the group. As soon as i can afford a 500 brick, im snagging it! My wifes .223 converted Saiga also loved it, but then it is an AK. 1 ragged 2 inch hole after 100 rounds with a Tru-Glo dot sight!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2010

junk ammo

By
Location: Hillsboro, Mo.
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bought for yote hunting but after 130 yrds. ammo drops 6 inches every 30 yrds. groups average 1 to 1.5 inches at 100 yrds. Feeding problems out of small cap. mags. Overall just junk
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2011

Can't beat it.

By
Location: Gods Country
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I recently attended a rifle school in which I shot 1,000 rounds of Wolf .223 in 2 days. Well, let me tell you I didn't have any malfunctions of any kind. The only thing I did notice was my Colt M4 was ejecting the spent casings a little far back behind me. Typically the shell casings are ejected straight out. I do have a heavy buffer on my weapon, so I'm sure that had an effect on no malfuctions. Oh, and I DID fire at least 4 magazines on full auto, still no malfunctions. I see people complaining about rounds stuck in the chamber. Well, I guess you have to be aware and not keep a round chambered on a hot rifle, or a cold one for that matter. As far as being dirty, I really don't notice it. Maybe its because I strip and clean my black rifle after every outing. As far as accuracy goes, with iron sights I was hitting 2-3 inch groups at 100 yards. Pretty darn good if you ask me. To sum it up, I guess I have to say that you really can't go wrong with this round as long as you set your rifle up to shoot it. By that I mean change the buffer and ejector spring, use quality mags (p-mags) and of course don't leave a round in the chamber on a hot rifle for more than 10 seconds. If you follow those simple rules, this is the best ammo for the money on the market.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.