Customer Reviews for Wolf Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Wolf Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point

Consistent loads with copper-jacketed bullets ensure tight-grouping accuracy at higher velocities, and Wolf’s pricing makes its ammo one of the most economical anywhere for high-volume shooters. This 55-grain hollow-point ammunition is perfect for varmint hunting. Available:500 rounds of 55-gr. HP and one dry-storage box 1,000 rounds of 55-gr. HP and two dry-storage boxes
Overall Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
7
9 out of 16(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Review 1 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD AMMO

Date:March 16, 2009
WORK EXELENT IN MY A/K NEVER JAM'S GOOD STUFF
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Plano, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf .223 Remington's are good

Date:April 8, 2009
Very good ammo for the price. Individually boxed and shipped in nice Cabela's dry boxes. Heated canulas are a plus for full auto shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Logan, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't bother even thinking about buying

Date:April 22, 2009
Have used this ammo in my AR-15, nothing but trouble would not eject STUCK. Have used this ammo in my bolt action rifle could not clear even the bolt action!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf bulk ammo

Date:May 18, 2009
Shoots o.k. but pretty dirty compared to others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: western slope Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Be Carful

Date:May 25, 2009
Don't buy a lot of this ammo. Try a few first.
I shot 40 rounds through my Bolt .223 and the first one jammed and wouldn't come out. Then about 7 others did the same thing.
The cases expand a lot more after firing.
I also put 20 rounds through the action to see if they would stick. One did. Once fired the shells expand to much, I put one back in to see if it would extract, it didn't. My Remington shells don't when I put them back in. It is the Wolf ammo. I'm not sure if it is the coating or what?
Just don't buy a ton of them at first. They seem to work for some people.
They also leave a build up on the bolt of the red glue they use on the primers. Had to clean it off after 20 rounds.
I'm going to talk to a gun smith to see if I can still shoot them otherwise I will have to return them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IOWA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf bulk .223 remington ammo

Date:May 27, 2009
This is probly the best ammo you can get for the money you spend,to bad it was backorderd for so long,a sign of the times I guess, but as usual excellent service provided by Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Try one box first

Date:June 11, 2009
Don't buy a thousand rounds like I did of this stuff without trying it out. I was constantly having rounds get stuck and unable to eject them. Was a pain prairie dog hunting to have to stop and use a cleaning rod to push them out. I shoot a Howa 1500 sporter and have never had trouble with any other brands of ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houma, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollo

Date:June 16, 2009
Clean, no jams - worked well. Very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marietta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wof .223 Ammo

Date:July 14, 2009
Ammo preformed as expected. This is not the first Wolf ammo I've used and I've never had any problems with it althought I do not shoot a lot of ammo at one time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Weapons Trainer

Date:September 4, 2009
I purchased a couple Rock River AR-15's for my sons. We have enjoyed many weekends plinking in the desert. PMC has been our go-to ammo. To save money, I bought 1000 rounds of this ammo. The following weekend turned into a disaster. Between our three AR's (2- Rock River and my Colt) we couldn't shoot 3 in a row without a jam or stove pipe. This was horrible ammo and should be removed from the market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No good for the Bushmaster A2

Date:September 20, 2009
Constant jams and misfeeds. On a rare occasion a couple rounds will feed and fire okay. Buy a small box and try before buying a case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it's fine for bad ammo

Date:October 12, 2009
sticks in my AR. Use it mostly in CZ 527, +/- 1 in 100 will not fire. 2 1/2 minute accuracy. fine for banging steel at range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Terrible because of jamming

Date:December 1, 2009
I bought a small box of this to test out my new Kel Tec 223 with. Thank God I came here and read the reviews because I was worried there was something wrong with my gun since it jammed on about every 3rd round. Do not buy this ammo without testing a small box of it. I just bought some Black Hills 223s in bulk ... worth the extra money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Bang For Your Buck

Date:April 10, 2010
Great ammo! Put 100 rounds through my Blackthorne Products AR Carbine kit without a hiccup. My rifle fed smoothly and burped out empty steel! Think some of the other reviewers have to tight of chambers to be having all those problems. Decent accuracy; 6x scope at 50yds was getting 1 to 1.5 inch groups. Very tight groups then 1 or 2 fliers to widen the group. As soon as i can afford a 500 brick, im snagging it! My wifes .223 converted Saiga also loved it, but then it is an AK. 1 ragged 2 inch hole after 100 rounds with a Tru-Glo dot sight!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Hillsboro, Mo.
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

junk ammo

Date:June 24, 2010
Bought for yote hunting but after 130 yrds. ammo drops 6 inches every 30 yrds. groups average 1 to 1.5 inches at 100 yrds. Feeding problems out of small cap. mags. Overall just junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. Hollow Point
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gods Country
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't beat it.

Date:December 2, 2011
I recently attended a rifle school in which I shot 1,000 rounds of Wolf .223 in 2 days. Well, let me tell you I didn't have any malfunctions of any kind. The only thing I did notice was my Colt M4 was ejecting the spent casings a little far back behind me. Typically the shell casings are ejected straight out. I do have a heavy buffer on my weapon, so I'm sure that had an effect on no malfuctions. Oh, and I DID fire at least 4 magazines on full auto, still no malfunctions. I see people complaining about rounds stuck in the chamber. Well, I guess you have to be aware and not keep a round chambered on a hot rifle, or a cold one for that matter. As far as being dirty, I really don't notice it. Maybe its because I strip and clean my black rifle after every outing. As far as accuracy goes, with iron sights I was hitting 2-3 inch groups at 100 yards. Pretty darn good if you ask me. To sum it up, I guess I have to say that you really can't go wrong with this round as long as you set your rifle up to shoot it. By that I mean change the buffer and ejector spring, use quality mags (p-mags) and of course don't leave a round in the chamber on a hot rifle for more than 10 seconds. If you follow those simple rules, this is the best ammo for the money on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.