Customer Reviews for Wolf Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Wolf Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ

Consistent loads with copper-jacketed bullets ensure tight-grouping accuracy at higher velocities, and Wolf’s pricing makes its ammo one of the most economical anywhere for high-volume shooters. This 55-grain full-metal-jacket ammo is perfect for target shooting or plinking. Available:500 rounds of 55-gr. FMJ and one dry-storage box 1,000 rounds of 55-gr. FMJ and two dry-storage boxes
Overall Customer Rating:
3.634 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
30 out of 41(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Review 1 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: The Republic of Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works just fine

Date:November 10, 2010
I've used one case of the HP version and am almost through my 2nd case of the FMJ, and have not had any failures of any type. The FMJ will produce five-shot groups of 1.5" at 100 yards through my AR carbine. Works just fine, but then again, I know how to maintain an AR. If you don't know what you are doing, then you will most likely have problems, as evidenced by many other reviews here. If you are proficient - try it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: nyc ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf .223 55gr

Date:May 18, 2010
Ive been using this ammo out of stevens 200 bolt never had a problem with accuracy and I like cleaning my firearms after each use anyway so I havent noticed it being any dirtier although it may defenitely be the case that it is. So for semi auto users I can see where they may have problems depending on the firearms especially ar's were they are known to be finicky......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Miami, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not bad at all

Date:August 3, 2009
Shot this in both my AR's and my Mini-14 and all shot fine. Not too dirty at all. I'd definitely buy some more of this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Walker, Mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shooting

Date:July 31, 2009
This ammo fired great. I purchased 1000 rounds and have fired 200 flawlessly. No jambs, no misfires. I have a Stag AR-15 in the 5.56 cal. I use H&K military mags. Shoot Safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wolf .223 55-gr FMJ poly coated ammo

Date:May 26, 2009
I have shot close to 1000 rounds through my AR-15 SP-1. Not a single miss fire or jam. Shooting off the bench at 100 yards I get an easy 1-2 inch group. Single shot or rapid (approx 4 shots per second) works like a charm. I have also discovered it is not all that dirty as I have read in some blogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very functional .223

Date:April 20, 2009
It's reliable, it cycles well in a semi auto reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It shoots

Date:April 10, 2009
Great for the price yet to have a jam.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

weapon control

Date:April 7, 2009
Excellent product...accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mr

Date:March 31, 2009
Very good purchase , it's great if you love shooting lots of ammo at a good price. no miss fires or problems jamming . very accurate for the price as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Miami, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo For Ruger Mini 14's

Date:March 30, 2009
If you have a Ruger Mini 14 it will eat up this ammo no problem. There are a few AR's out there that don't like the steel casings that much so you might want to buy a 100 rounds first for your AR before you buy a whole case
Happy Shooting...... :-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sw fl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

goes bang

Date:March 30, 2009
good stuff better than mc
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

feeds great

Date:March 18, 2009
works great in AR no jams misfires, accurate too
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NoVa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammunition!!

Date:March 17, 2009
Harder to find every day; Cabela's price is competitive and more importantly, in stock! Wolf 55 grain is very dependable through my RR Elite Comp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NORTH EAST OKLAHOMA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOLF BULK ROUNDS

Date:March 9, 2009
THESE ROUNDS ARE PERFECT FOR PLINKING OR LARGER VARMITS. I HAVE SHOT SEVERAL HUNDRED OF THESE WITH ONLY ONE MISFIRE . WE USE THEM IN A MINI 14 RANCH AND IN THIS RIFLE THEY ARE ACCURATE AND CONSISTANT. I WILL CONTINUE TO BUY THEM AS LONG AS FIREARMS ARE AVAILABLE IN THIS GREAT COUNTRY!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pearisburg, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots well

Date:February 16, 2009
I have read some people having difficulty with this ammunition feeding correctly from their magazines. I haven't had any trouble yet in a Ruger Mini 14.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Much better then old Wolf

Date:February 3, 2009
First off, this is not lacquer coated like the old stuff, but uses the new polymer coating. Using an Olympic Arms AR15, had no problems at all with magazine, feeding, ejecting, or anything else.
Accuracy was a rough 2 inch group on a slightly windy winter day at 100 yards, with an improvised rest. Muzzle flash was a bit more then normal, but cleaning was not as bad as I would have thought, but only fired 100 rounds.
I bought a lot of this because I have mini 14s as well, so figured if the AR didnt like it, would use in those, but no problems. Also, the new dry boxes are much nicer then the old ones, and are a nice feature. If you dont reload this is a great cost effective way to go.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf .223

Date:February 11, 2010
no missfires or feed problems not all that drity works good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AR Issues

Date:January 31, 2010
I've shot thousands of rounds of wolf ammo through my AR's over the years with no problems. However, some problems are common because of poor maintenance or other issues. Wolf ammo is good, especially when it's not convenient to pick up brass. It's not terribly accurate, but it's great blasting or practice ammo. A properly maintained AR should have no problems with this ammo. I use it to check guns for gas system problems. Wolf ammo is a bit underpowered, which is one of many reasons why it's cheaper than the "good stuff." Due to this, if you have any issues with your AR's gas system, you'll discover it with Wolf ammo. Higher quality, higher pressure ammo will hide underlying problems with your gun. Remember, AR parts and springs were developed with high pressure 5.56mm NATO ammo in mind.
Failure to extract is most likely a dirty chamber, and make no mistake Wolf ammo is dirty. This can cause problems, especially if the chamber isn't chrome lined, or if you have a weak extractor spring. Even AR's need routine spring replacement.
Failure to cycle can be many things. Many manufacturers fail to properly stake gas keys on their bolt carriers. Check to see that the key screws are tight. Even the slighest looseness will cause cycling problems. Also check your gas rings. They must not be lined up, and should be lubricated with a couple of drops of oil every 300 to 500 rounds. This can be done through the two holes in the side of the bolt. Gas rings can be easily replaced and do not last forever, even when properly lubricated. Finally, check the gas tube itself. If it's even slightly misaligned, the gas key will wear the side of the tube over time. This wear will cause gas leakage. Combined with the slightly underpowered Wolf ammo, this will cause problems. Also check for "H" designated heavy recoil buffers on carbines. These won't work well with light loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

800 rnds through a Bushmaster

Date:November 14, 2009
I've shot only Wolf 223 in my AR15 since I bought it a few months ago. (I bought a 1000 rnds at the same gunshow). Had two fail to extract in the first 100 rounds, but none since. Easy to clear, just kept a brass rod with me when at the range. My local gun nut tells me that is common with a new AR shooting cheap ammo, but it will go away once the gun is broke in, which it has.
Very important though, to keep it clean and lubed, and you shouldn't have any problems. Just ordered another 1000 rnds.
Note the bullets are not FMJ lead, but are steel clad bullets (copper over steel over lead). If you like to burn ammo, this is it, but not if you want high performance, highly accurate stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wolf Bulk .223 Remington Ammunition - 55-Gr. FMJ
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Two Rivers, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wolf ammo

Date:October 7, 2009
My mini-14 is not fussy when it comes to ammo but if i shoot this stuff to fast I'll get a round stuck in the hot chamber every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41