Customer Reviews for WESTERN POWDERS Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder

WESTERN POWDERS Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder

Revolutionary Blackhorn 209 propellant is redefining the term accuracy in muzzleloaders. When used as directed, this high-performance powder consistently shoots with higher velocities and greater accuracy than other propellants. It's engineered to eliminate swabbing and cleaning between shots. When compared with volume equivalents, Blackhorn 209 is ballistically superior to other muzzleloading propellants. Blackhorn 209 has the industry's lowest standard deviations and a low pressure-to-velocity ratio for precise performance every time. Blackhorn 209 is recommended for high-performance muzzleloaders with 209 primer ignition systems where the primer is TOTALLY enclosed. Not for use with any special muzzleloading primers, #11, musket or high-powered rifle primers. This powder is not suitable for sidelock muzzleloaders. Unaffected by changes in humidity or temperature. Cleans with regular centerfire or shotgun solvents. Per 10-oz. bottle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 155 reviews
5 Stars
131
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
9
140 out of 155(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Review 21 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like everybody else has said, Fantastic!

Date:April 22, 2014
I have fired 25 shots in range visit with no swabbing and there was no change in accuracy. If this powder isn't the absolute best to use for hunting, I would like to see better. I'm shooting 110gr/vol Hornady 250gr SST @1956 fps. I maybe should go to a 300 gr but I think i'll be fine. You really should try this powder, it is another level.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent performance

Date:March 4, 2014
I love this powder. Extremely clean burning resulting in excellent accuracy. Has great terminal performance for hunting situations. No ignition problems regardless of conditions.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Using it since 2009

Date:January 21, 2014
I've been shooting muzzle loaders for over 40 years, black powder initially, then Pyrodex and tried some of the others such as Triple 7. I heard about Blackhorn 209 in 2009 and tried it in a then new TC Omega. I haven't shot anything else since. I live and hunt along the humid Texas coast and I have never had a problem with misfires or hangfires, even after leaving the same charge in the barrel over a 2 or 3 day period (I know - not good practice). I use Remington 209 STS primers. Fouling is minimal and clean up is with regular smokeless powder solvent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this stuff..

Date:December 22, 2013
I used T7 pellets for years. I switched to BH209 recently and it is awesome. It is cleaner and produces higher velocities, which leads to significantly improved accuracy. I can use Hoppes #9 to clean my bore and breach and not have to worry about polluting future powder charges. This stuff is so much easier to use than anything else..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Powder

Date:December 18, 2013
This is a very consistant powder after some ignition issues were resolved. My CVA Apex would not fire after one or 2 shots. Western Powders and CVA developed a new breach plug and made it available. I purchased one from CVA abd haven't had a problem since. My friend had the same problem with his Encore. We drilled the breach plug flash hole out to .030 resolving the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blackhorn powder

Date:December 17, 2013
I shoot a cva optima in a .45 cal with a 26 inch barrel. After pyrodex stopped making pellets for the .45 cal i had a hard time finding the right load. I decided to try this blackhorn powder with the 223 grain powerbelt platinum. This powder is good. I shot 8 shots to get sighted in and never swabbed the barrel once. I shot 110 grains of powder and found the accuracy was the best this gun has ever shot. 2.5 inch at 100 yrd. I also shot a doe on 12/14/13. The temp was 17 degrees and windy, no hang fires or problems with the powder not burning completely from what i could tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great powder.

Date:December 6, 2013
This is by far the best powder for modern in line muzzleloaders. Its powerful and accurate. Both deer I've taken with it, their legs went out from under them like they were cut off. DRT. Good stuff, and clean too. No field cleaning needed and no patching between shots. Perfect hunting powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best

Date:December 1, 2013
I have tried blackpowder, Pyrodex, Clean Shot, Triple Seven, Black MZ and now Blackhorn 209. The clear choice for me is Blackhorn 209. I think Triple Seven and Black MZ are the same thing. I had trouble with the "crud ring" on follow up shots with both. Absolutely no problem with Blackhorn shot after shot with no swabbing. With Barnes 250 grain T-EZ bullets I am getting 3/4 " groups at 100 yds. with both my TC Pro-Hunter and my son's TC Omega. Groups were much wider using Hornady 250 gr. EZ load sabots. 100 grain measure about tore the petals off the sabots and the bullets apparently wobbled in flight evidenced by the large holes in the target. Had perfectly round holes with the Barnes and the sabots had opened perfectly. I never would have guessed this level of accuracy with a muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worthless in damp weather!

Date:November 26, 2013
I think most the folks giving this stuff five stars have just used it at the range or in dry weather. If it's raining or the humidity is above 50% this stuff will not ignite.....period!! I put it through Encore, Omega and Triumph and had misfires/delay fire in all three. I would never rely on this stuff in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

unbelivable product!!!!!!

Date:November 12, 2013
Try this powder and you will never go back to pellets or black powder. I couldn't believe how clean this product is!!! You can shoot 15 /20 rounds without worrying about the next sabot from being seated. I have shot 2 nice does so far this year in NH and both does dropped in their tracks using 100 grains of buckhorn and the t/c 250 grain shockwave mag express. Cleanup is remarkable, just using hoppes 9 . Cannot say enough about this powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great powder

Date:November 12, 2013
In my opinion the best black powder substitute out there clean up is a breeze.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the cost for me

Date:November 5, 2013
Love the stuff in my Encore rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

extreme distance

Date:October 29, 2013
Buy it, shoot it, experience it. Its the best powder on earth. Wont rust or turn white or green. 150gr powder shooting 235 deadcenter qt bullet. Muzzel 2607fps, dropped a doe at 362 yd...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than advertised

Date:October 14, 2013
After pellets and diff sabots I can now shoot more than once without swabbing through my encore fx.i got 3 shots off all within a 1".The only thing I would like to see different is the can it would be nice to have a spout other than a 2" hole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This stuff ROCKS!!

Date:September 10, 2013
You won't go wrong with this powder. No more swabbing between shots. The first shot loads as easily as the last. I put 15 rounds through my Buckstalker inline, and I absolutely love this powder. I'll shoot real blackpowder in my Flintlock, but for my inline it's 209 all the way. I'm consistently putting 1" groups on the paper at 100 yards. Clean up is much easier too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blackhorn 209 powder

Date:August 31, 2013
Best powder than I ever used in my Thompson .50 cal. Encore Endeavor. I use power belts 295gr. with great success. Can load one after the other and no problem loading, even after 8 or 10 shots. What is great just clean with Montana cleaning slovent or Hoppe no.9 and good to go. NO MORE WATER CLEANUP.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great powder

Date:August 27, 2013
This is the best powder I have used.. Highly recommend it..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Black Powder Substitue

Date:August 20, 2013
This is absolutely the BEST black powder substitute available. It does not absorb water, it makes much less smoke such that in poor light you can see the shot's effect, it is not corrosive, clean burning, and it is extremely accurate. With 71 gr. weighed charges, 200 gr. Hornady pistol bullets and high pressure sabots my TC Triumph will shoot clover leafs at 100 yds. Based on telephone conversation with vendor, 70 gr. by weight = 100 gr. by volume.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loading 45/70 and 45/90

Date:June 18, 2013
This is the best replacement for black powder I have tried to date went out and bought 10 more, I load 47/70 and 45/90 with 405 gr cast bullets, and use a cardboard card on top of the powder, using the data from the web site for full case equivalent loads work great and accurate, 2" groups at 100 yards using iron sights. I will not go back to black powder. first shot is as accurate as the 50th and ez to clean up right at the bench with Hoppies#9, 3 or 4 patches and your clean. No brushing or scrubbing necessary. I use CCI large rifle magnum primers and never had a misfire shooting over 500 rounds. You must use a HOT primer a regular one will not work, I tried it in my colt black powder with regular #10 caps and they are unreliable so don't bother until someone makes a magnum type pistol cap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blackhorn 209

Date:April 23, 2013
I have used this powder for the past 2 years with excellent results in my TC 50 cal. Triumph shooting the Hornady SST 250 grain sabots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 155