Customer Reviews for WESTERN POWDERS Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder

WESTERN POWDERS Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder

Revolutionary Blackhorn 209 propellant is redefining the term accuracy in muzzleloaders. When used as directed, this high-performance powder consistently shoots with higher velocities and greater accuracy than other propellants. It's engineered to eliminate swabbing and cleaning between shots. When compared with volume equivalents, Blackhorn 209 is ballistically superior to other muzzleloading propellants. Blackhorn 209 has the industry's lowest standard deviations and a low pressure-to-velocity ratio for precise performance every time. Blackhorn 209 is recommended for high-performance muzzleloaders with 209 primer ignition systems where the primer is TOTALLY enclosed. Not for use with any special muzzleloading primers, #11, musket or high-powered rifle primers. This powder is not suitable for sidelock muzzleloaders. Unaffected by changes in humidity or temperature. Cleans with regular centerfire or shotgun solvents. Per 10-oz. bottle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(139 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 139 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
8
125 out of 139(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Review 21 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great powder

Date:August 27, 2013
This is the best powder I have used.. Highly recommend it..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Black Powder Substitue

Date:August 20, 2013
This is absolutely the BEST black powder substitute available. It does not absorb water, it makes much less smoke such that in poor light you can see the shot's effect, it is not corrosive, clean burning, and it is extremely accurate. With 71 gr. weighed charges, 200 gr. Hornady pistol bullets and high pressure sabots my TC Triumph will shoot clover leafs at 100 yds. Based on telephone conversation with vendor, 70 gr. by weight = 100 gr. by volume.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loading 45/70 and 45/90

Date:June 18, 2013
This is the best replacement for black powder I have tried to date went out and bought 10 more, I load 47/70 and 45/90 with 405 gr cast bullets, and use a cardboard card on top of the powder, using the data from the web site for full case equivalent loads work great and accurate, 2" groups at 100 yards using iron sights. I will not go back to black powder. first shot is as accurate as the 50th and ez to clean up right at the bench with Hoppies#9, 3 or 4 patches and your clean. No brushing or scrubbing necessary. I use CCI large rifle magnum primers and never had a misfire shooting over 500 rounds. You must use a HOT primer a regular one will not work, I tried it in my colt black powder with regular #10 caps and they are unreliable so don't bother until someone makes a magnum type pistol cap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blackhorn 209

Date:April 23, 2013
I have used this powder for the past 2 years with excellent results in my TC 50 cal. Triumph shooting the Hornady SST 250 grain sabots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why did I wait?!!!

Date:April 12, 2013
I bought this after reading several rave reviews. I am shooting this out of an extremely tightly bored T/C. I could only get 2 shots with 777 and Powerbelts before I had to swab, only one shot between swabs with shockwaves. I switched to Blackhorn and Barnes T-EZ's. WOW!!! Groups under 2" at 100 yds. But the best part was 12 shots downrange without swabbing one time and no loss of accuracy. Do yourself a favor and try it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cleanest burning and Consistent Powder

Date:April 4, 2013
Burns clean, CCI or Winchester Blue Box 209 primers and your CVA is a tack driver!! Make sure you use the Blackhorn optimized breach plug!! My CVA Accura V2 loves this powder! Clean clean clean. Not near the cloud of smoke as White hots or Triple7
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BH 209

Date:January 22, 2013
Just switched to this powder this year. I was shooting Pyrodex pellets. I will never go back! This stuff is sooo much cleaner and my groups are much tighter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lives up to the hype!

Date:January 20, 2013
Cleans up faster and with less hassle than any other blackpowder substitute I've used. I haven't had any ingition problems and use the Winchester 209 blue box primers. I push a Hornady 250 SST-ML HS/LD sabot with 110 grains (by volume) in my V2. I use the Blackhorn breech plug designed for this power. Accuracy is scary with bullets touching at 50 yards and about an inch at 100 yards. Pricey, yes. But I will pay the price for this level of performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

But It You Will Like It

Date:January 6, 2013
Very consistant groups with this powder. Am very pleased with all aspects of this product. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

blackhorn 209 powder

Date:December 12, 2012
after purchasing my new cva accura rifle i tried numerous combinations of powder/pellets. i could not find any combination that worked. i purchased the blackhorn 209 powder and then i purchased the blackhorn 209 breech plug. i use 250 grain thompson shockwave bullets and i am now putting five shots in the diamond at 100 yards-consistently. very impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Muzzleloader Powder on the Market

Date:December 11, 2012
I've been using BH 209 since it was introduced 3-4 years back.. Great product, extremely easy clean up that's far simpler than other Black Powder substitutes, very consistent results and great accuracy. Consistently produces 3/4 inch MOA 3 shot groups at 100 yds, using 110 gr.(by volume) Nothing else on Market comes close. Have killed several whitetails, an aoudad and fallow buck in last 3 years at ranges up to 175 yds. All one shot kills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Powder on the Market Today

Date:December 10, 2012
I have been muzzle-loading for over 30 years and Blackhorn 209 powder is the best I have ever used. It is cleaner, easy to clean up and provides improved accuracy. You can't ask for more in a powder. I wish I would have had it 30 years ago!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It really works

Date:November 27, 2012
A good friend recommended that I give it a try, after using it he is still a good friend. It worked exceptionally well in my Encore and I did not have to wipe between shots. 10 shot group all on target and in the same vicinity as the center of the target. I did not even have to change scope adjustment over the other powder that I had been using. Did I mention that I did not have to clean between shots and clean up after the range was simple and with simple conventional products, Hoppe's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent powder

Date:November 27, 2012
This works very well and I have had no problems with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Combination

Date:November 26, 2012
I use 100 grains of this powder with the Traditions Vortek Ultralight/Leupold Scope combo, 250grain Barnes Spitfire T-EZ sabot, and CCI 209M primer. The powder is excellent, uniform size, and packs in the barrel consistently every time. It always fully burns, and leaves a slippery residue in the barrel that makes it easy to repeatedly load round after round without having to clean between shots.
You will need T/C T17 cleaning product, or the recommended Montana Blackhorn 209 cleaning product to clean your barrel. I've been using the T17 products with no issues. Using this Blackhorn powder makes cleaning extremely easy, shooting is much more clean than any type of black powder, and the accuracy the powder produces in your shots is amazing.
I have hunted with this powder in weather ranging from 30 to 65 degrees with no misfires, no hangfires, and no problems at all. I also used it in damp and dry weather for hunting with no firing issues. I left the load in my barrel for 2 full days to see if it would still fire and it did on the first try....you could never count on that type of dependability with regular black powder or even some pelletized substitutes.
Great product, expensive, but worth the money if you're just shooting at the range a few times a year and hunting the rest of the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Powder

Date:November 26, 2012
I made the switch to BlackHorn 209 powder last year for my in-line muzzleloader. This powder works great for me. Virtually no fouling, consistant loading, and accuracy I've seen with no other powder. Clean-up is easy with modern centerfire cleaning solvents and methods. Don't use water for clean-up of this powder, it makes a gummy mess. It does not have the tendancy to absorbe moisture as does other powders I've tried. The only problem I've encountered is it has a tendancy to hang up in my powder measure due to its shape and size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best powder out there

Date:November 19, 2012
best powder i have ever used for accuracy won't use anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

try this powder 1st

Date:November 17, 2012
try this powder 1st and you probably wont need to look at any other powders..... it cleans up easy, i swab the barrel after 5 shots, just because...last year in a Nebraska deer hunt, it was in my barrel for 5 days with the barrel end taped up, and fired perfectly the last night of my hunt.... try with a few different primers and you`ll be set to go hunting..... I found the Federal 209A shotgun primers were the most accurate in my T/C Pro Hunter FX 50cal.... behind 120grains of the Blackhorn 209.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Performer!

Date:October 25, 2012
Consistant groups shot after shot on the range. Used on a recent elk hunt in Colorado. My beginning load was finally used on a 5 by 5 on day 6, it performed perfectly.
Less smoke than other powders I have used in the past.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Blackhorn 209 Muzzleloading Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Blackhorn & Accura V1

Date:October 20, 2012
I tried this in my CVA Accura V1 using CCI 209 mag primmers. My breech plug was clean, soaked in for an hour and then used a drill bit too clean out the flash hole. It worked good the first year. This year I started getting hangfires.
It is clean, easy to load after repeat shots, easy to clean, but unreliable in my MZ. For the newer model CVA rifles they make a special breech plug for this powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 139