Customer Reviews for LYMAN Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition

LYMAN Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition

Lyman's 49th Edition Reloading Handbook is the latest version of its extremely popular rifle and pistol manual. The 49th Edition covers all popular new rifle calibers such as the .204 Ruger, 6.8 Rem SPC, .325 WSM, .338 Federal, .375 Ruger, .405 Winchester and the WSSM series. In addition, new pistol calibers such as the 5.7x28mm and .460 S&W are also included. A wide selection of powders are included covering Alliant, Accurate, Hodgdon, Ramshot, VihtaVuori and Winchester. Additionally, most popular bullet brands are also covered including Barnes, Hornady, Nosler, Sierra, Speer and Swift. As always, full coverage is also given to Lyman cast bullets throughout the handbook. This is the one handbook that should find a home on all reloading benches. 464 pages. Softcover.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
39 out of 43(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Review 1 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lots of good info

Date:October 14, 2008
I have read through most of this reloading guide, and I am pretty impressed with all the good information that is included. The reloading Data is all that one would need in their reloading products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bozeman, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman 49th Edition

Date:December 15, 2008
Great Book. Great Information. Lots of different Powders and bullets. Very Helpful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Must for the reloader

Date:December 15, 2008
I got my first Lyman handbook many years ago, it's even bigger and better now. Cabalas price including postage is less than one third of what I'd pay here in Australia
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Deep South
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman 49th Ed. Paperbound Reloading Handbook

Date:January 2, 2009
In my reloading library of over 30 different texts, I own 7 Lyman reloading manuals. They cover most of the different available types of reloading; shotgun, metallic, cast bullet. As usual, the 49th ed. is full of interesting information, useful reloading data and functional commentary.
Lyman manuals are not nearly as proprietary as those from powder distributors, bullet manufacturers or other self interested organizations. As a result, they have more data about many different powders, primers, brass and bullets than do any of the others. I usually consult the Lyman manuals first before going to the other sources.
The printing quality is not as good as earlier Lyman publications, but that is not a fault with Lyman, rather that is typical of the print industry as a whole. The information is great, the attention to ballistic detail evident, the interest in the subject area superior, the loads included cover most of the old favorites and the newest rounds, and, especially in the paperback edition, the cost quite low. It is a bargain. I highly recommend the 49th edition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Southern Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

49th edition

Date:February 5, 2009
I was disapointed. I thought that it would contain more loads. The one thing I do like is the amount of loads for lead bullets. I still believe that the Lee manual is the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hiwassee, Va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman 49th edition reloading handbook

Date:February 14, 2009
As with all Lyman reloading books I have this one is filled with information for the novice to the expert and all between. I just purchased a 7MM WSM and the other 2 Lyman books had no info on this cal. Very informative from start to finish on step by step on reloading. Newer powders and calibers listed in the 49th edition. Would recommend to any one needing info on newer calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like many others

Date:February 23, 2009
This is another manual full of good information - the frustrating thing is that you have to get so many to have the info you want - it's partially available in this one, partially available in Speer's and in Sierra's and in Barnes and at the powder companies, etc. Here's a new product idea - how about a DVD/CD with all the data from the manufacturers in one place? Not just manuals on CD, but a searchable database so you can select an available component in a specific caliber and see how you can load it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

lyman 49th edition

Date:March 9, 2009
Most info from earlier versions.
My interest in .224 yielded no data on bullets heavier than 60 grains.
Correspondance with lyman was unsatisfactorily.
I returned the book to Cabelas. Their service was EXCELLENT as usual.
I bought a Sierra 5th edition manual. Very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

lyman reloading handbook

Date:March 9, 2009
Excellent Book, everything you need to know about reloading is in there. This is a must have book
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Osceola, Ar.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Customer

Date:March 17, 2009
Very satisfied, wide range of info, seems little conservative on some loads compared to other books. Definitely recommend!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Massunfortunately
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great manual

Date:March 24, 2009
Very helpful and informative with a lot of very nice loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

49th addition ranks 49

Date:June 16, 2009
Not a great book. It's just okay. The Lee manual that comes free with the anniversary press is much better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Corpus Christi,Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman 49th Edition Relaoding Handbook

Date:July 15, 2009
Fairly up to date on new cartridges-only drawback-not many loads and bullets listed for each cartridge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handload information

Date:July 16, 2009
The Book contains all the info that I need for reloading.
I perfer the format of the earlier editions that had the spiral binding because they would lay flat as compared to the new glue binding.
I am impressed with the amount of additional information that is included in the new edition as compared to the older issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jefferson IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook

Date:July 28, 2009
I have several reloading books. Nobody beats the amount of information that Lyman puts in thier books. I put tens of thousands of rounds down range each year. I get 99% of the loads that I use for both hunting and plinking out of Lyman. With todays advances with so many powders and alloys they seem to be the leaders in adding to a already large variety of different bullets,powders, casings, primers, etc. I look forward to the new edition from lyman every year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Everything you need.

Date:August 21, 2009
Plain and simple. This has all the info you need for handloading for the beginner and a great reference for people like myself the avid handloader. Lyman is a must!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canyon, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reloading Manual

Date:April 2, 2011
The Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Manual is one of the best compiled reloading manuals out there. They include pieces of info that some of the others leave out. They provide good info on powders, large variety of bullets and even cover some of the newer cartridges on the market. Great manual whether you're starting out or have been at it for a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: FERGUS FALLS MINNESOTA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply the best

Date:January 20, 2012
This is the best reloading manual out there and believe me I have them all. A wider selection of bullets and powders, because they are not a bullet maker. Stick with this and you wont be sorry. And always a good price from Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Goood Ammo Great Price

Date:September 17, 2012
Shoots great for a great price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lyman 49th Edition Reloading Handbook – Softcover Edition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

inadequate

Date:October 2, 2012
It didn't include the caliber I wanted - 450 Bushmaster. As such, it is useless to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 43