Customer Reviews for TRADITIONS Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

TRADITIONS Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit

Build a replica antique Trapper muzzleloader pistol with this easy to assemble kit. It’s a great family project or present idea. Learn fascinating techniques our ancestors used to build these primitive single-shot firearms that they used to defend themselves against predators and enemies. The finished pistol shoots a .50-caliber patch and ball through a 9-3/4" octagon barrel. Adjustable rear sight for putting your aim on target. Double-set triggers can be pulled and fired cocked or uncocked. Hardwood stock.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Review 1 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice Pistol

Date:May 27, 2013
This is my second Traditions kit I put together after learning allot when I did my Kentucky Rifle kit a few years ago. First off, I have learned that these kits were not designed to fit perfectly. That's the nature of these kits, otherwise you should just buy the gun already completed. Traditions provides you with the parts, etc, you have to take the time to sand, file, carefully remove wood as needed, etc. to get the parts to fit together. That's what makes these kits fun. I take my time on these as winter projects doing a little bit at a time and eventually I will have a beautiful complete replica pistol in a month or so. The major work is sanding and wood removal on the stock to ensure proper fit of the side lock, brass trigger guard and the barrel. I spent allot of time cold bluing the barrel, then polishing with a very fine steel wool, and then bluing again until I got the perfect finish. I use a quality stain and polyurethane and brasso for the brass parts. Beautiful gun! There will always be a few slight imperfections here and there that I notice, but as I do more and more of these kits, the end results get better and better. Only reason why I give it a four is because as stated in other reviews some of the screws are soft and easily stripped. I e-mailed Traditions and they replaced them in a couple of weeks or so. I took it out to the range for some recreational plinking using Pyrodex and lead ball and patch and it fires just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Southern Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

trapper review

Date:February 2, 2012
Bought this kit after christmas, put a lot of time in finishing the pistol kit, sanding,blueing,staining,true oil, after first shooting session I noticed the stock cracking around two of the four factory installed screws. warranty does not cover stock after firing, I would not recommend this kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Piece of Junk

Date:April 4, 2011
From the start nothing fit, screw holes didn't line up, barrel set to far forward, triggers didn;t work right. I called Traditions and spoke with a Rep. he wanted me to mail it to them so their people could look at it. He tried to tell me that I must have done something wrong, and didn't offer to pay shipping to get it to them. Also came with no instructions I had to down load them from the internet. Got it put togeather shoots well looks terrible. I will never buy another Traditions kit ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Looks Nice Shoots Good

Date:April 10, 2010
I did not rate this 5 stars for a number of reasons.
1. Screws made out of soft metal. I stripped the treads on one of the lock bolts the first time I attempted indatlling the lock. I had to order a replacement.
2. Triggerguard needs to be bent and shortened a bit to fit into motice in stock. The mortice needs to be enlarged a bit as well.
3. No instruction as to where the pam rod retaining spring goes. I didn't use it and have had no problems.
The kit requires final enletting and quite a bit of filing/sanding. I reshaped the lock molding because there is too much wood left around the lock. I polished the barrel and then I blued it with optho blue. I made it look old and worn. I also applied the blue to the brass to make it look old and to give it a patina. Looks nice. If you want to age it even more, use a candle and blacken it up around the lock and areas where it would get dirty, then apply the stain and finish. I used Laurel Mountain Lancaster Maple stain to give it a reddish look. I finished the wood with True Oil. Looks very nice. Shoots accurately.
Parts are cheap, but gun is worth the money you pay for it. Be patient, think through what you are going to do and you will be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rindge, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Trapper Pistol Kit

Date:March 15, 2010
I received this easy to assemble kit as a gift. I received what is called a #5 kit, the most difficult. This kit was a horror show from the beginning to end. If I had not had the experience and the tools I could not have compleated the task. My patience run very thin when the screw heads had no slots in them, the sear was bent, the channel for the ram rod was too small and needed to be redrilled and finally the steel showed such dark streaks in the barrel it tooks days of bluing to remove as much as I could.
No one should ever have to go through what I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Traditions Trapper Pistol

Date:February 15, 2010
Although I have built multiple rifle kits, this was the first pistol kit that I have worked on.
Overall, I was disappointed with the kit for multiple reasons.
The trigger guard did not fit at all. It had to be re-fabricated in addition to required modifications to the inletting in the stock to get it to even fit adequately.
The front sight, rear sight, and barrel lug required significant modification before they even came close to fitting.
The trigger mechanism did function, however required attention from a gunsmith to achieve an acceptable trigger pull.
I had to continually modify the stock for every piece that was attached.
I realize that this is not considered a "high dollar" kit, however, the lack of quality far exceeded the savings over other kits that I have seen.
Once the pistol is finished, it does very well and is an attractive mantle piece...if viewed from a distance.
Accuracy is surprisingly good, and shot groups are tighter than expected.
If you have a choice, spend the extra funds for a completed pistol. It will save you a significant amount of time and frustration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: DFW, TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the trapper pistol kit

Date:January 25, 2010
i have wanted to build one of these kits for some time now, and finaly got done. it was alot of fun buildin the gun but i would have liked to have more detail in the directions. i had some issues with the lock workin right with the trigger, but after turnin some screws i finaly got it to work right. i did not have to cut out that much of the wood but the parts that i did i found it easier to use a drimel tool insted of a chisel or whatever else the directions said to use. i have not had the chace to fire the gun yet but am lookin forward to the day.
over all a great ond day project to do when the weather is not all that great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pistol Kit

Date:January 11, 2010
Overall, I am very pleased with the final product. However, I had some issues with the assembly. The trigger guard did not fit in the pre-drilled slot so I had to grind it down with a grinder wheel and also use a dremel tool to file down the wood to make it fit. Also the three pieces that fit into the barrel which include the sights were very difficult to fit into place. I had to file the slots down to where I could finally beat the pieces into the barrel with a small hammer which left some dings on the barrel that I had to grind down. I am almost certain that Traditions gave me parts for another rifle. After a lot of work, sanding, and grinding, I was able to put it all together and it really looks great. I am very happy with my pistol, I just wish some parts would have fit a little easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Blythe, Calif
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than imagined

Date:April 21, 2009
My son and i are both building traditions kits.....we are having a great time...the woodworking is a little more difficult than i thought it would be...but not unreasonable and has actually now made the project more personal.....i'll be building more as time permits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Traditions™ Trapper Pistol

Date:February 27, 2009
This was my first blackpowder kit purchase. I first read all the reviews for this product and thought I'd try it. It went together very easy and needed little sanding. The only trouble I had was with one screw that was too long and interfered with the hammer on the lock. I fixed this by adding a washer under the brass plate washer. Total assembly time was two hours. The finishing for the stock and blueing the barrel took three days between coats of stain and poly. I would highly recomend this kit to anyone, the finished product looks great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grate gun

Date:December 21, 2008
this is a fun 1 gun to do,it was fast and ez if you have truble the peaple at traditions only a call a way to help,the 1- 5 shots were in the 10 ring at 30 yards.and to clean jest remove the barrel and put in hot water and dish soup let set 20 mint.and run clean water in then dry and oil it like any other gun.im going to do the hole set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice project

Date:December 15, 2008
Over all I like the pistol. It has a draw back the instructions, they don't give enough details for fitting the trigger guard and trigger assembly. It has a good sight picture and shoots well and looks nice, about 12 hours start to finish, nice winter project
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Traditions™ Trapper .50 Caliber Pistol Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The big one

Date:November 25, 2008
This is an amazing kit! I found it under the christmas tree in 2007 and i had it built it two days! The kit had its difficulties, but it was my very first try. After some filing and wood cutting and wood staining, it went to gether perfectly. It is a guaranteed bulls-eye within 50 feet and you can hit your targets successfully at 100 feet. It has low kick, great accuracy, and a weighty heft. If a sixteen year old can build it so can anyone! It is a reliable handgun and a little hard to clean, but its worth it! I used oiled cotton patches, .49 roundballs and Jim Shockeys Gold FFF powder and it worked fine! It wont disapoint you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.