Customer Reviews for PINEY MOUNTAIN Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PINEY MOUNTAIN Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50

Put a fun new twist on plinking and target shooting with tracer ammunition. This non corrosive, high-velocity .22 Long Rifle ammunition produces a bright tracer trail of approximately 150 yards. Since the trail is visible day or night, it provides a clear view of the bullet’s trajectory, flight path and impact point. It also makes great practice ammo as it allows you to track the exact path of the bullet, helping you to understand its dynamics. This quality ammunition will not damage your firearm. This ammunition will function in all firearms, but the tracer will not ignite consistently in all handguns; it is designed primarily for rifles. Per 50. Made in USA. Available: Standard-velocity Red Tracer – Functions best in firearms with short barrels and in some handguns. Muzzle velocity is 1,040 fps. Red tracer is visible up to 150 yards. High-velocity Green Tracer  – Made exclusively for rifles, it produces a green tracer that’s visible for up to 150 yards. Muzzle velocity of 1,235 fps produces a flatter trajectory than standard-velocity rounds. High-velocity Red Tracer – Made exclusively for rifles, it produces a red tracer you can see for up to 150 yards. Muzzle velocity is 1,235 fps and results in flatter trajectory than standard-velocity ammunition.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
21 out of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Review 1 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the price

Date:October 24, 2013
Purchased the red tracers, you can see them perfect in the day time. A lot of fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Lights are out...

Date:August 22, 2013
I've read for some these rounds won't cycle their semi-automatic rifle, perhaps this is true for some, but I think they could still be useful. The cost of many .22 LR rounds is between 4-12 cents; however these weigh in at almost 44 cents per round. Considering the possible cycling issue for some, they could still load a single round first in each magazine and when they hit the end of their magazine they will have a tracer round flying down range to let them know that it's time for their next magazine. Reinforcement for those with last round hold-opens, or just a flamin' signal for those without.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disapointed

Date:April 23, 2013
I bought 3 box's of the green tracer and have only shot it in the dark overcast day light conditions.
I could only see about 1/2 of the rounds fired and then just barely make them out. I have not shot them in total darkness yet but they were very dim in the daylight , if you could see them at all. Maybe it is the green color that I picked out . I am not sure all of them were even lighting the tracing compound up. I have had much better in red but it was another brand.
I will not buy again or recommend them to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fun ammo

Date:January 8, 2013
LITTLE EXPENSIVE BUT FUN TO SHOOT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ok

Date:December 27, 2012
Tracer bullet good for single shots one at a time does not cycle through semi automatics very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Overall good ammo

Date:October 2, 2012
Just had a few issues with jamming, don't know if it was my rifle or the ammunition, but overall they worked very well and are fun to shoot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Caseville, Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun! Fun! Fun!

Date:January 12, 2012
Excellent product. We have had a lot of fun shooting these. My father-in-law is a pretty "serious" shooter, and I have never seen him smile so much while shooting. We have had no problems in either a bolt action Marlin, or S&W M&P 15/22. No FTF, FTE. They have all left a beautiful streak down range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff

Date:January 16, 2011
Shoots and performs great out of a S&W MP15. No jams and a very reliable trace. My only complaint is the price. They are priced as if they are novelty items when really they are just standard rounds painted with a component to trace. I think that they are waaaay overpriced for the materials involved. Never the less - - they are fun to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Concordia, KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.22 tracer amo

Date:September 8, 2010
This stuff is awesome! I have had this stuff sitting around for about a year and shot it labor day weekend. It still lit up every round! It traced out 150-200 yards and worked great day or night. I'm going to order some more today!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RuralRN

Date:June 20, 2010
Accuracy 3/5
fun:5/5
value:4/5
Quality:3/5
-great for sighing in a new scope or long range where you can't see your impact.
*make sure you have a non-flammable backstop
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: franklin, wv
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:June 10, 2010
a pretty good product, i didnt have any problams shooting this stuff through my semi auto, or my revolver. ill have to mention that wile maybe 1 in 8 didnt leave a trail, they all did fire.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Taft, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

.22 Tracer

Date:May 26, 2010
I recently purchased two boxes of this ammo. When I took it to the outdoor range, it wouldn't feed into my Marlin Model 60. It would stovepipe. I used it in my really old .22 single shot, & it worked about 75% of the time. If you have a semi-automatic, I don't recommend this. However, a boltaction will work well with it. Sometimes you don't get the tracer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Thayne, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.22 Long Rifle Tracer ammunition

Date:June 23, 2009
It works great. The rounds stay lit much longer than I expected. While it can't be compared to, say, a .50 caliber tracer, it is definitely a crowd pleaser.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Central Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.22 Long Rifle Tracer Ammunition

Date:June 22, 2009
This is a decent product, but had a lot of feed issues (Ruger 10/22), and some duds. Works well in a revolver however, and is bright and easily seen in daylight.
I fired this in both stock magazines and in high-capacity magazines, all with pretty much the same result...
Would easily recommend for use in a revolver or single-feed bolt action!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome, but pricey (therefore 4 out of 5 stars)

Date:June 15, 2009
These tracer rounds are great fun to shoot, especially in the late evening. They leave huge streaks of neon pink across the ballistic path of the bullet. My only problem with them is that they are so expensive, that's why I had to cut the rating down to 4 stars out of 5.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brockport, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

they work

Date:May 4, 2009
easy to see in the day time, they burn well over 100 yards, which is more than enough. The only thing more I could want is a little more power. These guys are definitely subsonic... but accurate they are..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

22.tracer ammo

Date:May 4, 2009
this was a first for me and it was cool, a must try at least once.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rhode Island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tracer ammo

Date:May 4, 2009
I found using tracer ammo useful and as an aid to sight in my rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

22 Tracer

Date:May 4, 2009
These were so much fun I had to order more. Kids can't get enough shooting them ... expensive but well worth it. These tracers are a great learning tool, you can see exactly where the bullet goes after each shot. Great to learn how to compensate for drop over distance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Piney Mountain .22 LR Tracer Ammunition - Per 50
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Training aid

Date:May 4, 2009
I used these to demonstrate trajectory to the 4H Shooting Sports kids I coach. It appears to be a solid lead, low velocity projectile that shows a bright red spot that lasts for a little over 100 yards. It can be seen when viewed at least 10 feet to either side of the shooter as the bullet goes downrange. It is visible in bright daylight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23