Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition

Built on the proven Trophy Bonded Bear Claw® platform, this new addition to in Federal’s Vital-Shok® line increases performance even more. A neon, translucent polymer tip and flat-shooting boattail bullet deliver improved downrange accuracy. A bone-smashing solid-copper shank ensures reliable penetration. Exterior skiving on the nickel-plated bullet provides optimum expansion at any range. The nickel-plated case and bullet make for easier extraction and helps reduce fouling. 20 cartridges per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(137 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 137 reviews
5 Stars
113
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
127 out of 136(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014

Works on EVERYTHING

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I'm no professional hunter, but I have gotten around a fair amount, I've tested various bullets for myself, and I've asked and observed every hunter I've hunted with or met. To me, the real proving ground was Africa. We had 6 hunters in our group, all using different amo, and a variety of bullets within that ammo. Amongst the group, we took over 40 animals.
Some guys liked bullets that not only peel back and mushrrom, but actually come apart to some extent. They believe that the "shrapnel" effect helps. However, when they got a close-up shot (i.e., the bullet s moving fast)or shot something very tough (like a zebra), the bullets came apart and failed to penetrate. In both cases, the entry wound was large and there was poor penetration, resulting in ruined pelt and very slow death (and thus long tracking) of the animal.
Some guys used bullets that were practically monolithic solids, having almost no expansion, but very deep penetration. These had an opposite effect. Sure, they penetrated, but even at a fairly long distance, where the bullet was slowed down, the bullet passed throuh the animal without doing much damage. Unless they hit heavy bones on both sides (going in and coming out, like through both shoulders), the animal again would tend to go a long way before stopping. Even in one case he shot the animal through the heart, but the hole was small and the damage small, so the animal still went over 100 yards before stopping.
I, however, used Federal with the Trophy-bonded bullet. I had used this all over North America, taking everything from coyotes to caribou to Alaskan brown bear, all with great success. And the Professional Hunters all listed it as their first choice.
I came back with a nice array of trophies, from small (Impala) to large (8-year-old lion) to large and very tough (zebra). Some animals were shot fairly close (under 20 yards) and some were out at 300 yards. All went down almost immediately with one shot. In some cases, the bullet missed bone and hit nothing but soft tissue. In some cases it hit very large and tough bones. In some cases the bullet penetrated through and through, and in some cases stopped just inside the skin on the opposite side.
Regardless of what it hit, every bullet recovered had almost 100% weight retention, expanded to a large diameter, and looked like a marketing advertisement. The "petals" push out, but don't peel back, so from the side the bullet looks like the letter "T", with the top part being more than double the diameter of the original bullet. In other words, in actual practice it works exactly as advertised, with immediate expansion that caused heavy damage inside the animal, while the solid base provides deep penetration even through heavy bones, without deflecting from its course.
Bottom line: Federal's premium line is very consistent, and the trophy-bonded tip is the ultimate balance between penetration and expansion, doing both regardless of how fast the bullet is moving when it hits and regardless of what it hits inside the animal. It causes severe trauma and thus a quick and humane kill.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014

Great ammo

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I am shooting this Federal Trophy Bonded Tip 130 grain in a Sako A-7. It has a Zeiss Conquest scope with the Rapid Z Reticle. It is typically used for mule deer in the Snake River Unit, so longer range shots can be typical. The rifle shoots this ammo into one ragged hole at 100 yds. Accuracy at longer ranges is also excellent. I've killed four nice mule deer bucks since switching to this ammo, and bullet performance has thusfar been excellent. All bucks were killed with one round at ranges from 175 yds out to 380 yds. Confidence for sure !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2014

Great for African Plains Game

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I used the 180 Grain Trophy Bonded Tip Ammo in my .30-06 to take 6 African plans game species on a recent hunt. I had 3 complete pass throughs and we recovered 3 rounds. The recovered rounds were all found under the opposite side hide and all of them looked exactly like the picture perfect expansion and wight retention you see when a manufacture shoots into ballistic gelatin to show off their bullet performance. I could not be more pleased with this rounds performance. Not only does it shoot accurately in my Blaser R8 rifle, but it performs perfectly on everything from Kudu, Gemsbok and Blue Wildebeest all the way down to Springbok and Impala. I've also used the same round to take elk and mule deer with zero issues. Awesome stuff.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014

Trophy Bonded Rifle Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This kind of ammo for my 7mm and .06 are a very nice load. The 7mm really likes it and that makes me really, really like. thanks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014

Good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have used this ammo on elk and whitetail in a .300 win mag with excellent results
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2014

The Real Deal

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
You simply cannot fault this great offering from Federal!
When you can find it,,,,BUY IT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014

Works great on Elk and Mule Deer

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I shoot this bullet (165gr) from my 300WSM and have shot several elk and mule deer. Typically get a small hole on one side and a larger hole on the other. Always get through and through shots. Accuracy has been excellent. Goes right through bones, shoulder hide etc. Because of the prior comments about tips falling off in the box, I do check every box I buy and have never found any with missing tips.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2013

Federal Trophy Bonded Tip 180 gr.

By
30-06 BAR w/BOSS - Most accurate ammo found for this rife sighted-in at 100 yds. Easily 1-MOA. Excellent killing power on white tails.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2013

Excellent

By
My gun is a Winchester model 70 7mmwsm, gun shoots same hole groups at 100 yards with this ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2013

Federal ammo

By
Country: Armenia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Used the Federal Trophy Bonded Tip ammo in 30.06 Cal . last fall for elk. Tried 5 or 6 other well known ammo makers, but got the best groups on the range with this.. Brought down an elk at 125 yrds with 1 shot. Great choice on my part.. Used 150 gr
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2013

.300WSM federal Premium Trophy Bonded Tip 180 Grai

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Used on both deer and elk with immediate kills.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2013

High quality ammo

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I placed 3 rounds from my 300 rem umag threw a 1/2 in piece of plate steel at 100 yards. Impressive !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2013

Great Ammo

By
A great round of ammunition to hunt with. Very reliable
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2013

Hits the crosshairs

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I handload a lot of ammunition but I've recently got lazy... So I picked up a couple boxes of this ammo. I have zero problems with accuracy, in fact, my rifle will shoot half inch groups with this load... that's about the best my hand loads can do. I read about the bullet performance, the best I can make of it, don't shoot larger game then mule deer, and if you aim where you should... it'll drop
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013

great performance

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
these bullets have always performed and have exceeded my expectations
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2012

Federal trophy Bullets

By
I was used to the banded Bear Claw because of it know down power. This new bullet is even better. Flies true and hits hard.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

2 bullets and 2 deer

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I used it deer hunting and got 2 bucks on the first day. Each deer was taken down with one shot from the trophy rounds. I will use these rounds every time I hunt in the future
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

Very nice ammo from the local boys at Federal!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I used this in my Sako A7 that seemed to be picky with other ammo and it fired and fed great! Sub MOA groups at 100 yards where other ammo failed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2012

Ammo

By
Ammo is great. Killed a nice buck with one shot. Nice tight group from bench. Bullet did its job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2012

Great round with good expansion and nice quality.

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I use a .03/06 Savage 110E. I was using a 165g round sighted in 1 in high at 100 yards.
This round worked very well on two white tail deer this year.
One was a nice 8pt buck around 180 to 200 pounds.
Expansion was good and the shock look like it was good. My shot was just to the right of the front shoulder at 150 yards. The shot took out the top of the heart and the lungs were rendered non functional. The round could not be recovered to see the true expansion. The deer did run for about 50 to 75 yards with a very good blood trail.
The doe was shot at about 75 yards above the shoulder. Both lungs were rendered non functional. Bullet was a pass tough and also was not received. This deer did not run at all from the shot.
Bottom line. Great round it will now be my round of choice for years to come.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 91