Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition

Built on the proven Trophy Bonded Bear Claw® platform, this new addition to in Federal’s Vital-Shok® line increases performance even more. A neon, translucent polymer tip and flat-shooting boattail bullet deliver improved downrange accuracy. A bone-smashing solid-copper shank ensures reliable penetration. Exterior skiving on the nickel-plated bullet provides optimum expansion at any range. The nickel-plated case and bullet make for easier extraction and helps reduce fouling. 20 cartridges per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.627 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
70 out of 75(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal trophy Bullets

Date:December 6, 2012
I was used to the banded Bear Claw because of it know down power. This new bullet is even better. Flies true and hits hard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2 bullets and 2 deer

Date:December 5, 2012
I used it deer hunting and got 2 bucks on the first day. Each deer was taken down with one shot from the trophy rounds. I will use these rounds every time I hunt in the future
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice ammo from the local boys at Federal!

Date:December 5, 2012
I used this in my Sako A7 that seemed to be picky with other ammo and it fired and fed great! Sub MOA groups at 100 yards where other ammo failed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammo

Date:November 27, 2012
Ammo is great. Killed a nice buck with one shot. Nice tight group from bench. Bullet did its job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great round with good expansion and nice quality.

Date:November 25, 2012
I use a .03/06 Savage 110E. I was using a 165g round sighted in 1 in high at 100 yards.
This round worked very well on two white tail deer this year.
One was a nice 8pt buck around 180 to 200 pounds.
Expansion was good and the shock look like it was good. My shot was just to the right of the front shoulder at 150 yards. The shot took out the top of the heart and the lungs were rendered non functional. The round could not be recovered to see the true expansion. The deer did run for about 50 to 75 yards with a very good blood trail.
The doe was shot at about 75 yards above the shoulder. Both lungs were rendered non functional. Bullet was a pass tough and also was not received. This deer did not run at all from the shot.
Bottom line. Great round it will now be my round of choice for years to come.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:October 31, 2012
This is great ammo. I've been shooting this ammo for a while now and have used it during a recent elk hunt in Colorado. It shoots true and has reliable expansion every time. I've decided that 180 grain was a little heavy for elk and will likely switch to the 165 grain but overall I would recommend this ammo to any serious hunter, like me, and will continue to use it every year.
Good hunting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo

Date:October 29, 2012
Purchased a new rifle during the spring and this past weekend was the opening of gun season in North Louisiana. In the past I had used the Bear Claws with my .30-06 until Federal quit making them in that caliber. I recently found that the Trophy Bonded was made on the same platform and came in my new .308 caliber. I immediately bought 2 boxes. I put one of those bullets to good use on a doe about 80 yards. The results were just what I hoped for. I will use nothing else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 700 308

Date:October 17, 2012
Very accurate. Produced shot groups as good as Match King ammo. The recoil was less than I expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Packs a punch

Date:October 15, 2012
Did the job on a 6X6 elk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: irwinville,georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent ammo!

Date:February 25, 2012
i tried the bonded tip for the first time this past season.i felt good about the bullet because it is based off the old school bullet,the trophy bonded bearclaw.ishot a deer at 125yards,double lunged it.exit wound was beautiful,stuff sprayed 6-7feet out behind where the deer was standing,deer did'nt really run it kind of trotted like it was stunned.it only went about 25 yards.if it had gone further trailing would have been no problem,excellent blood trail,deer bled like a stuck hog.very pleased with this bullet.they will definitely be in the chamber of the old 30.06 this coming season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern, ME
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 RUM

Date:January 25, 2012
I brought this gun on a moose hunt in 2011. I called the moose in and one of the hunters shot the moose and it took off we tracked and found it (actually called it back) it was barely wounded I gave the hunter the 300 RUM loaded with federal fbt and the moose turned away from us. Being as far from the road as we were and knowing the moose was hit I told the hunter to take the shot. He aim just below the tail. When the smoke clear the moose laid dead. The shot was 100yds away.. bullet traveled all the way through the moose up into the lungs.... Never seen anything like it... Highly recomended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dayton, Wa.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent performance

Date:January 11, 2012
I bought these with mixed emotions this past year, thinking if nothing else, they'd be brass for reloading. After taking them on an elk hunt, I'm impressed. The bullets performed flawlessly on a bull we killed here. excellent expansion, Highly accurate, and priced right. All winners in my book.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not quite sure.

Date:December 31, 2011
I normally use Fusion, but decided to try TBT in my Weatherby .270.
Performs great at the range!
Shot a doe at 261 yards ... the bullet hit just a bit lower and toward the front of the deer than I wanted. The doe ran about 50 yards and fell down, but was still alive. She was laying with her chest and feet pointed toward me, and I took one more shot at the bottom of her chest.
Turns out that the first bullet hit the thick part of the bone just below the shoulder and blew apart. The shoulder muscle looked like it had been through a grinder, and several ribs were broken, but the bullet did not exit the animal. I'm not even sure if it penetrated the chest cavity - maybe a few fragments.
The second shot entered the bottom of the chest cavity, went through the heart (I found the hole) and exited the back of the animal, with a fairly small exit hole.
My conclusion: the bullet doesn't do as well when it hits thick bone. When it doesn't hit bone, I'm not sure it is expanding very much.
So... I'm not quite sure about this one. I'm going to try it again and see what happens when I make a better first shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trophy Bonded Tips...

Date:October 5, 2011
I just bought a box of these for my Elk hunt next month. I brought them along for my Mule Deer hunt. I ended up taking a buck at 350yrds with my 300WM and dropped him with one shot. This bullet took out both front shoulders and exited the lower neck. I was amazed how effective this bullet is. I cant wait to see how it performs with Elk...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

trophy bonded tip

Date:June 7, 2011
These are probably the best bullets i have bought. They are a bit pricey, but they are worth it in my opinion. My Ruger .30-06 loves them. i have but 2 bullets in the same hole at 100 yards, they have good penetration and leave a massive exit wound. Tho i have never had to trail a deer, im sure this ammuniton would leave a good blood trail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Performance

Date:March 19, 2011
I have taken four whitetails with the TBT, in 7mm Weatherby. On one buck, facing head-on, uphill, the bullet entered the center of the chest, and travelled full length of the body to a point over the left hip. Fell in his tracks and didn't move. On another, shot behind the right shoulder, the bullet exited the left side, with a hole the size of a baseball. The other two were also one-shot kills. Groups at the range are 1 inch. What more can you ask for?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bullet for a 300 WSM

Date:January 6, 2011
I shot two elk at 300+ yards. Bullet did what the box said it would. I found a bullet and it looked exactly like federal has advertised it will look like after it hitting something. The ballistics are great with trophy bonded bullets!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wonderful

Date:November 28, 2010
I used the 300WM 180gr on a mule deer buck in Idaho at 200 yards. Hit right behind the front leg exactly where I aimed. When I opened the chest cavity the heart literally poured out. Fantastic accuracy and amazing on game results. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Shot

Date:October 31, 2010
This the first time using this round, 308 Win 165 Gr. I used it on a mule deer buck at 175 yards. the buck went down with in ten yards/3 seconds. the entry wound was larger than the exit wound? defintly a clean kill , very accurate,and effictive round. cant wait to try on bull elk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Happy Valley, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Meat in the freezer

Date:May 17, 2010
Rifle: Model 700 in 7mm Rem. Mag.
Ammo: 160 grain TBT
I took a 6x6 bull elk from 234 yards with a perfect lung shot just behind the right shoulder. The bullet did not exit but stuck just under the hide on the left side. When shot the bull hunched but did not take another step falling about a minute after the shot. Lungs were obliterated. I recovered the bullet which expanded perfectly and did not disintegrate at all. No hard bone was hit.
I also took a 10 pt whitetail from 38 yards. The bullet traveled through the shoulder blade, the center of the heart and exited through the other side with little expansion. Exit wound barely larger than the entrance. Little internal organ damage. Deer ran 20 yards and collapsed.
5 stars because I got two trophies and meat in the freezer. How do you argue with that?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 75