Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition

Built on the proven Trophy Bonded Bear Claw® platform, this new addition to in Federal’s Vital-Shok® line increases performance even more. A neon, translucent polymer tip and flat-shooting boattail bullet deliver improved downrange accuracy. A bone-smashing solid-copper shank ensures reliable penetration. Exterior skiving on the nickel-plated bullet provides optimum expansion at any range. The nickel-plated case and bullet make for easier extraction and helps reduce fouling. 20 cartridges per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
65 out of 69(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Review 21 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo

Date:October 29, 2012
Purchased a new rifle during the spring and this past weekend was the opening of gun season in North Louisiana. In the past I had used the Bear Claws with my .30-06 until Federal quit making them in that caliber. I recently found that the Trophy Bonded was made on the same platform and came in my new .308 caliber. I immediately bought 2 boxes. I put one of those bullets to good use on a doe about 80 yards. The results were just what I hoped for. I will use nothing else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 700 308

Date:October 17, 2012
Very accurate. Produced shot groups as good as Match King ammo. The recoil was less than I expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Packs a punch

Date:October 15, 2012
Did the job on a 6X6 elk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: irwinville,georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent ammo!

Date:February 25, 2012
i tried the bonded tip for the first time this past season.i felt good about the bullet because it is based off the old school bullet,the trophy bonded bearclaw.ishot a deer at 125yards,double lunged it.exit wound was beautiful,stuff sprayed 6-7feet out behind where the deer was standing,deer did'nt really run it kind of trotted like it was stunned.it only went about 25 yards.if it had gone further trailing would have been no problem,excellent blood trail,deer bled like a stuck hog.very pleased with this bullet.they will definitely be in the chamber of the old 30.06 this coming season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern, ME
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 RUM

Date:January 25, 2012
I brought this gun on a moose hunt in 2011. I called the moose in and one of the hunters shot the moose and it took off we tracked and found it (actually called it back) it was barely wounded I gave the hunter the 300 RUM loaded with federal fbt and the moose turned away from us. Being as far from the road as we were and knowing the moose was hit I told the hunter to take the shot. He aim just below the tail. When the smoke clear the moose laid dead. The shot was 100yds away.. bullet traveled all the way through the moose up into the lungs.... Never seen anything like it... Highly recomended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dayton, Wa.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent performance

Date:January 11, 2012
I bought these with mixed emotions this past year, thinking if nothing else, they'd be brass for reloading. After taking them on an elk hunt, I'm impressed. The bullets performed flawlessly on a bull we killed here. excellent expansion, Highly accurate, and priced right. All winners in my book.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not quite sure.

Date:December 31, 2011
I normally use Fusion, but decided to try TBT in my Weatherby .270.
Performs great at the range!
Shot a doe at 261 yards ... the bullet hit just a bit lower and toward the front of the deer than I wanted. The doe ran about 50 yards and fell down, but was still alive. She was laying with her chest and feet pointed toward me, and I took one more shot at the bottom of her chest.
Turns out that the first bullet hit the thick part of the bone just below the shoulder and blew apart. The shoulder muscle looked like it had been through a grinder, and several ribs were broken, but the bullet did not exit the animal. I'm not even sure if it penetrated the chest cavity - maybe a few fragments.
The second shot entered the bottom of the chest cavity, went through the heart (I found the hole) and exited the back of the animal, with a fairly small exit hole.
My conclusion: the bullet doesn't do as well when it hits thick bone. When it doesn't hit bone, I'm not sure it is expanding very much.
So... I'm not quite sure about this one. I'm going to try it again and see what happens when I make a better first shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trophy Bonded Tips...

Date:October 5, 2011
I just bought a box of these for my Elk hunt next month. I brought them along for my Mule Deer hunt. I ended up taking a buck at 350yrds with my 300WM and dropped him with one shot. This bullet took out both front shoulders and exited the lower neck. I was amazed how effective this bullet is. I cant wait to see how it performs with Elk...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

trophy bonded tip

Date:June 7, 2011
These are probably the best bullets i have bought. They are a bit pricey, but they are worth it in my opinion. My Ruger .30-06 loves them. i have but 2 bullets in the same hole at 100 yards, they have good penetration and leave a massive exit wound. Tho i have never had to trail a deer, im sure this ammuniton would leave a good blood trail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Performance

Date:March 19, 2011
I have taken four whitetails with the TBT, in 7mm Weatherby. On one buck, facing head-on, uphill, the bullet entered the center of the chest, and travelled full length of the body to a point over the left hip. Fell in his tracks and didn't move. On another, shot behind the right shoulder, the bullet exited the left side, with a hole the size of a baseball. The other two were also one-shot kills. Groups at the range are 1 inch. What more can you ask for?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bullet for a 300 WSM

Date:January 6, 2011
I shot two elk at 300+ yards. Bullet did what the box said it would. I found a bullet and it looked exactly like federal has advertised it will look like after it hitting something. The ballistics are great with trophy bonded bullets!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wonderful

Date:November 28, 2010
I used the 300WM 180gr on a mule deer buck in Idaho at 200 yards. Hit right behind the front leg exactly where I aimed. When I opened the chest cavity the heart literally poured out. Fantastic accuracy and amazing on game results. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Shot

Date:October 31, 2010
This the first time using this round, 308 Win 165 Gr. I used it on a mule deer buck at 175 yards. the buck went down with in ten yards/3 seconds. the entry wound was larger than the exit wound? defintly a clean kill , very accurate,and effictive round. cant wait to try on bull elk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Happy Valley, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Meat in the freezer

Date:May 17, 2010
Rifle: Model 700 in 7mm Rem. Mag.
Ammo: 160 grain TBT
I took a 6x6 bull elk from 234 yards with a perfect lung shot just behind the right shoulder. The bullet did not exit but stuck just under the hide on the left side. When shot the bull hunched but did not take another step falling about a minute after the shot. Lungs were obliterated. I recovered the bullet which expanded perfectly and did not disintegrate at all. No hard bone was hit.
I also took a 10 pt whitetail from 38 yards. The bullet traveled through the shoulder blade, the center of the heart and exited through the other side with little expansion. Exit wound barely larger than the entrance. Little internal organ damage. Deer ran 20 yards and collapsed.
5 stars because I got two trophies and meat in the freezer. How do you argue with that?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent accuracy!

Date:February 26, 2010
I bought a box of the 165 gr. Federal Trophy bonded tipped ammo on whim for my new Tikka 30/06 ( they looked pretty cool and I
have been very happy with Federal premium ammo in the past).
Upon shooting this along side other ammo I found my gun loved
this bullet but the Premium partitions and Fusion also shot well.
When Deer season came around I bought another box and shot
a decent buck, not a trophy but it weighed in at 190lbs. I had
the same experience other reviewer had with this bullet. I hit the
deer right in the shoulder where I aimed and the the deer ran off.
I was confident in my shot but when I got to where he was standing there was little to no blood. After circling the area I finally
found a little more blood and the deer about 70yds from where it was shot. When I looked over the deer it had a quarter sized entrance hole but did not exit. That said I hunt in some pretty thick
stuff so I can't rule out a deflection and it did do a number on the lungs but like the other guys said I would go with a different bullet for thin skinned animals. If I were hunting Elk or moose I would not hesitate using this load. 5 stars for accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Breaking of the trophy bonded tip

Date:January 20, 2010
For years I have used the Federal Trophy Bonded Bear Claw bullet with great success in my Remington 300 Rem. Ultra Mag. I had high hopes for the new Trophy Bonded Tip bullet, but to my dismay on a number of occassion this past season the tip completely sheared off from the bullet. In addition, I did end harvesting a bear, deer and antelope this past season using this ammunition, but on each of the animals the bullet never exited and/or created a wound large enough to leave a blood trail. Very disappointed and hope that Federal comes back out with the Trophy Bonded Bear Claw Bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Huntsville, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Field Tested and Proven!

Date:December 31, 2009
I purchased this ammo (6 boxes) in 180 gr for my 30-06 for a Western Wy Elk hunt in 2009. In the past, my choice round for whitetail has been the Federal Premium 165 gr NBT which has always dropped them in their tracks. Based on the ballistics, this ammo was a first choice. Grouping was excellent with 3 rounds on a quarter at 100yards through a Remington model 700. The ammo performed in the field and took down a 850+ lb elk with a 5x5 rack. Post review showed the animal had a 3 x 4 inch exit wound. Some notes for the users:
1. This round is for thick skinned game. Upon return, I re-zeroed my gun for white tail hunting with the 165 gr NBT. The ammo is not made for thin skinned, whitetail size game and will not open as designed on a reliable level.
2. Three shots of this ammo and its time for a long cool off. My barrel got very hot and equivalent temps of 6 rounds of the 165 gr NBT.
3. I cleaned the barrel after each target session and fired a clearance round for the next session. The ammo did seem to lose accuracy over more than 10 rounds and no cleaning. It may be due to the temps created by the increased velocity, I'm not sure. To be safe, I'd recommend cleaning after each shooting session. This required a longer sight in period with multiple trips to the range.
4. The round will again be a first choice for thick skin, heavy game (not whitetails) as it has been proven in the field.
Hope this helps...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: NE Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Little Disappointed

Date:December 11, 2009
I have used these bullets in a 30-'06 180gr for the last two years. I have harvested two large Kansas Whitetails with them. Both shots came at a distance of around 100 yards. Both deer were hit right behind the shoulder and both times the bullet failed to exit the animal. Maybe I am being picky, but I read about other people using the same bullet and getting great penetration, not so for me. I love the case, the ballistics are great, but I think I will be switching to the triple shock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pensacola
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Trophy bonded tip v. trophy bonded bear claw

Date:December 10, 2009
These new polymer tipped bullets do not expand reliably unless hit bone. I recommend that you buy any of the old trophy bonded bear claw rounds that you can find. Work much better. Lost too many animals to tipped ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal Premium® Trophy Bonded Tip Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Detroit Lakes, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-06 Black Bear

Date:December 10, 2009
I decided to try the TBT for Black Bear this year. I used 180 gr bullets shooting from my old faithfull Remington 760 pumper. I was amazed at the penatration of my shot at 35 yds on a 288lb boar. I took the shot head on while the bear was looking at me. The bullet went in 7" below his chin through the spine rentered the spine about 10" back to follow the spine another foot until it poped back up to come to a rest just below the hide another foot behind the shoulder blades. If you don't think that is some awsome penatration than you go ahead and shoot any other bullet you like but I will stick with these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 69