Customer Reviews for CVA CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black

This new breed of break-action muzzleloader is easier to cap, easier to clean and lighter in weight than other break-actions, plus it's outfitted with a premium stainless steel Bergara Barrel?. Bergara Barrels are among the most accurate production barrels in the world, helping the Accura earn its name. The fluted barrel with a Bullet Guiding Muzzle? provides the right combination of maneuverability and efficient powder burning with 1-in-28" twist rifling. The Accura is built off a totally new frame to reduce moving parts and give it a streamlined appearance. The breeching lever is built into the trigger guard, making this one of the easiest-opening break-actions around. The entire gun can be disassembled by removing just one screw. Its ambidextrous, ergonomic stock has a higher comb to ensure proper eye alignment when using a scope. A CrushZone? recoil pad minimizes felt recoil. The cocking spur gives you a greater surface area for cocking and minimizes thumb pressure. Drilled and tapped for a scope mount. Aluminum extendable loading rod included. Comes with all-metal DuraSight? fiber-optic sights and a Quake? Claw? contour sling. Lifetime warranty. Style: Stainless Barrel/Black Stock. Barrel length: 27". Weight: 7.3 lbs. Available: .50 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Review 1 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Accura blued/black

Date:August 24, 2010
The most accurate gun straight out of the box I've ever owned. Got it in, opened it cleaned the barrel inside and out (lots of factory grease). Slammed 100gr of pyrodex, and a 300gr powerbelt platinum, capped with CCI 209 inline primers. Took the center of a 1 1/4" diamond shaped bullseye, at 25 yards open sights no rest, only left the tips of the corners, second shot took out the first, just slighty to the upper left, basically just made the hole a little bigger. the powerbelt platinums are awesome, left a hole bigger than my thumb in a metal target, You can load these back to back for about 7-9 shots without having to clean the barrel. magnum charges really kick in this thing with the 300g powerbelts. I won't buy sabot bullets ever again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Accura

Date:August 23, 2010
I had a old inline blackpowder rifle i've had since the mid 90's. I upgraded to this new CVA Accura. It shots great I use 100 grains of Blackhorn 209 powder and 250 grain Barnes bullet. It's easy to use and easy to clean. Shooting a good tight group at 100 yards. Cant wait to try it out on a deer this season. Im telling you buy this rifle you will glad you did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wichita, KS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accura is Accurate

Date:August 11, 2010
My first shot with this gun I used 90 grains pyro rs select, 250grain barnes spitfire and with sights at 50 yards I was 2 inches high and about 1 inch left. My second shot touched the first shot. I adjusted the sights and shot two more shots touching each other 1 inch high and half inch to the right. Re-adjusted the sights and ended up a half inch high and dead centered with 2 shots touching side by side. At 75 yards I had a hard time seeing center of target but still put 2 shots side by side but not as close to center as I wanted. Can't wait to put a scope on this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva accura stain/black

Date:June 18, 2010
very nice deal. fast shipping.nice looking and fit is very well. have not shot yet but from other reviews i believe its going to be a shooter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Willow Springs, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Muzzy for a Great price

Date:February 2, 2010
Almost bought a T/C Triumph but after comparing I just couldn't bring myself to spending the extra money. Shoots tight patterns over a 100 yards and is great with the Cabela Powder Horn scope. Make sure you use the recommended Power Belt Bullets as it is a tight bore for some of the Sabots and they can be hard to load. I love the break over action, it makes it much easier to clean and load the primer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brewster, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Getting the Accura to Shoot

Date:January 24, 2010
Got this gun for Christmas and I love it. It is well made, rugged, has a good trigger, points well and is accurate (once you work things out).
Trandplanted my 2.5-7 power Pine Ridge scope from my previous Muzzleloader.
Finally got the gun to shoot well with 3 pellets of 777 (150 gr) and T/C Shock Wave 250 gr Super Glide Sabots. Worst 3 shot group with this load was 2" at 100 yds, and several pairs while sighting in were fractions of an inch.
However, I had some troubles at first, so here is some free advice:
1) Make sure you install the enclosed bullet seater. Although the jag on the end of the ramrod looks OK, the hole is threaded and will stick to some pointed bullets.
2) The bore on my gun is very tight, and I mangled 2 ball starters. Lube the sabots with a little gun oil and it will make life a lot easier. The barrel is very tight at the muzzle, and again near the end, making it difficult to properly seat bullets when using less than the 150 gr charge.
3) Clean the barrel after each shot.
Once you get it to shoot right, it is a joy. Recoil is mild even with magnum loads (about like a 270). This gun is unbelievable quality for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Round Rock TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accura accuracy

Date:December 30, 2009
Bought this gun just after christmas on sale. What a delight. The fit and finish are absolutely superb. Well balanced and handles like a dream. Had the chance to shoot and sight in with a 3x9 scope today. WOW WOW. 100 yards shot one hole once it got dialed in with right bullet and powder. Hornady sstlow drag sabots with pyrodex select loose powder. Seems to not like 777 to much however. But WOW. This is one great gun,you will not find a better rifle at any price, that includes anything T/C can make. Next I will buy is a CVA APEX, has to be every bit as good and with centerfire versatility.Buy it while its on sale you CANNOT GO Wrong or do Better. Take it from a guy that has shot black powder to 20 years and owns 8 black powder rifles. It's the best I have found.AGAIN WOW. MY HATS OFF TO BPI ,CVA, AND CABELAS FOR THE BEST SERVICE AS ALWAYS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Accura

Date:December 14, 2009
This muzzleloader looks great,shoulders perfectly,and the trigger perfect.It shoots very tight groups (1 inch at 100 yards) and out of all the muzzleloaders to choose from I picked this one becasue of the great reviews and im glad I did.If your looking to get a new muzzleloader this one is the one to get.Id reccomend this over any of the other muzzleloaders on the market today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value - Accurate out of the Box

Date:December 7, 2009
New to smokesticks - bought this to try for my first muzzleloading season. Straight out of the box I shot 6 Powerbelts in the 10 ring at 50 yards with no adjustments to the factory iron sights! 1 inch groups on both sets of 3. Hope my hunt goes as well & easy as sighting in this gun. Easy to clean, load, remove breach plug. I looked at T/C Omega & Triumph(Bone Collector & Plain). Bought this for the value of features for the price. I like the speed breach on the T/C & the ram rod that has a "T" handle built in - but just wasn't sure I wanted to spend the bucks on my first smokestick. Overall I am very happy & would rec. this gun to anyone. Matched up with 245gr Powerbelts & 100grs of triple seven pellets & 209 primer - winning/killing combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan woods.on the edge of a bean field
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my new baby....50 cal baby

Date:December 3, 2009
just got my stainless /black accura mounted a scope on weaver bases.laser bore sight put first shot 4 inches low right.tuned it in ith 8 shots of xtp sabots .i then cleaned ti well and switched to tc shockwave 250 grains.my 4 shot group was a 3 shot cloverleaf and the 4th was 1 inch straight high.my group was right where i wanted it,2 inches high at 100 yards..as a side note felt recoil was less than in my cva .45 cal with a lighter bulet and same powder load..i can hardley wait till opener this friday
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Crete, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cva accura

Date:December 1, 2009
I bought this rifle and cabelas powder horn scope for my ten year old son to hunt deer.We took it out tonight to our shooting range. I was impressed by the two inch groups I could shoot with 100g of triple seven and 250g bullet at 100 yards. My son had the same groups right off the bat and the gun fits him well. I had a hard time getting him to hang it up before dark. This is a very well made rifle and priced right. This gun shoots every bit as well if not better than my Knight disc extreme.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Compare to other brands, and then buy this gun -

Date:November 28, 2009
My buddies shoot TC. To some all others are stinky doo. To my buddies and others, open your eyes and give this gun a look.
Out of the box, I was 3 inches low, and 1 inch to the left.
After just a few shots, dead on at 100 yrds. All decent guns can so this. I was surprised to find that different projectiles, all worked well. Some better than others, but 3-4 inch groups with open sights, with everything I threw at it, that's not too bad. I wish I could test with a real bench, and a scope. I would bet the farm on being able to get 2 inch groups.
Not only did it shoot well, it just feels good. And it even looks really good, and I would never buy a gun because it looks good. It must shoot, and this thing does that and more.
The fiber obtic sights are first rate. They will do very good in all consistent light conditions. Sure, if you are shooting down a tube at a range, where the gun is in a darkend tube, and the target is in sunlight, the front sight may not look like it is working. But get some light (back out a little from the tube) and everything is OK,
So if your looking for a new ML, and you are not sure about some other brand as compared to CVA accura, don't worry, this is an outstanding gun.
Don't take my word for it, the gun is still listed as a what's new and exciting and for 2009, even though the gun has been out for a while.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accura

Date:August 20, 2009
All I can say is WOW! Nice job. Barrel performs as advertised and with multiple loads. White Hots (2 or 3 pellets) were awesome in this gun with Horndy SST 250 grains. I am VERY skeptical about equipment and this gun passes my qualifications. Dont care for the quake sling, but that may be preference. You can spend a whole lot more money on a ML, but why. Thi rifle fits the bill, even at long range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accura 209

Date:March 31, 2009
I did a lot of research and handled a lot of competitors guns before making my decison and the fit and finish and accuacy garuntee helped make my decison. Others who were close in price seemed to be very poorly made and others who were more expensive were offering the Accuras barrel as an exspensive upgrade. It was a no-brainer to choose the CVA!
Very accurate and well made gun and I would definately recommend an Accura to my mother!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NE Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Balanced for Satisfaction

Date:March 16, 2009
Have found cleaning easy. First muzzleloader. Shopped and read a lot of websites ratings/reviews. Have already found success siting in with open sites at 100 yds. Using Hornady pellets and 223 powerbelt........SWEET!!
Feel confident one shot is all I'll need next season!! Thank you Cabela and CVA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia mountains
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:January 5, 2009
I bought this rifle right before our late muzzleloading deer season came in. I mounted a high quality scope on high quality rings and bases and had it sighted in two shots at 100 yards. I shot a three shot group and it was the size of a half dollar with two shots touching. I use two 777 pellets and a 240 grain Cabela's Dead Center Sabot and it is just plain accurate. The Crush Zone Recoil pad makes it extremely comfortable to shoot with very little felt recoil. It is light so it is very nice to carry to my stand and out. Easy to take apart and clean. It has a very light and crisp trigger with no creep. The hammer cocks almost silently. It is very easy to prime. It came with a high quality sling that is very comfortable to wear over my shoulder. I just love it to death. I harvested a nice fat doe with it on the last day of our late ML season with it. Would recomend it to anybody in the market for a new muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Penokee, Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than good!

Date:December 30, 2008
All I can say is the workmanship, is as good as many firearms I have that are 5 times the cost of this CVA Accura..
The trigger pull is the best rifle I own.. Silkey smooth
Still getting some ammo into the rifle but can say it now is hitting 2" groups at 100 yards easy useing 285g mini balls 100g pyrodex..
One item I found,, is the holes in the barrel for the scope mount are larger than a normal CVA rifle.. So question the mount supplyer and make sure they have the right screws for this rifle..
I got a Durasight quick detach mount system and the screws with the kit were too small.. Emailed DuraSight and in 8 days they sent me the right screws.. Free of charge..
Thanks DuraSight...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sheridan missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice gun

Date:December 30, 2008
nice gun shoots real good only problem ive had is somtimes pellets wont go all the way down the barrel after the first shot powder works better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hudson Valley, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Accura .50Cal

Date:December 30, 2008
Awesome out of the box 1 1/4 lb triggger. 1 1/2 inch groups at 100 yds 100 gr of triple seven 245 gr & 295 gr Powerbelts. I would suggest this product to anyone looking for an Outstanding Muzzleloader!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CVA® Accura™ 209 Rifle – Stainless/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fredonia New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Accura 209 Stainless/Black 50 Cal.

Date:December 27, 2008
WOW! Received this for Christmas from My Wife, Thank's Honey! and I must say I am IMPRESSED! I have other CVA Muzzleloaders and they have never let me down so when I held this one for the first time and gave it the once over it looked like a Winner for sure. The Black-Silver Swirled Stock and Forearm really set off the Stainless Factory Fluted Bergara Barrel. The Break Open Release on the Trigger Gard was very easy to use, pull back, open then close. I took it out today for the first time and shot it, I used 150 Gr of Pyrodox Pellets (3) a Magnum Load and teamed it up with the TC Mag Express Sabots in 240 Gr. I then put on a new Leupold Ultimate Slam Muzzleloading Scope 3-9 Power, Matt Finish with the new SABR Recticle and shot 1 1/2" groups at 150 yds!!!! This Muzzleloader is Definately a WINNER! A-lot of gun for your money for sure, and if you have'nt tried this new scope, get one, it works like they say it will. After shooting clean up was a breeze. Compare this Muzzleloader to any of the other new ones. It's Features and extras BLOW all the others away! The Begara Barrel really adds to CVA's new ACCURA, it's as accurate as they say and try and find one of these barrels on the other brands. You cant beat this one for the Price and all the extras, it's very well made and I LOVE IT! I cant wait untill next Deer Season, LOOK OUT DEER! Thank You CVA and Bergara!!!!! and You Too Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23