Customer Reviews for PEDERSOLI Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PEDERSOLI Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70

If you’ve dreamed of owning a Sharps rifle and experiencing its legendary performance but let price stop you, that barrier has been removed. Renowned gunmaker Davide Pedersoli introduces the 1874 Sharps Hunter falling-block rifle, a version that delivers the reliability and accuracy you expect from an affordable rifle with fewer decorative frills. The pistol-grip stock is outfitted with a shotgun-style buttplate. This gun uses a double set trigger for precise accuracy. The blued, octagonal 30" barrel has a 1-in 18" rate of twist. It is chambered for the potent and popular .45-70 cartidge. The rear sight is adjustable for windage and elevation, and the rifle comes pre-drilled to accept an optional Creedmore-style sight (sold separately) should you choose to add one. Caliber: .45-70. Length of barrel: 30". Rifling twist rate: 1 in 18". Overall length: 46-3/4". Approximate weight: 10-1/2 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Review 1 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sharps 1874 Hunter A Great Rifle

Date:December 5, 2009
This is a great rifle it has a very good finish all the fits are good and clean. It shoots as good as can be expected for the sights that come with it, if I was to make a gun this good and at this price I would not put a set of $3.00 sights on it. That is the only reason I did not give it a 5 star rating. That and the
price of a good set of creedmoors are way to high. But thats not Cabelas fault they just sell the gun and sights they dont
price them. Cabelas are great to deal with and I give them
5 stars. But all said the gun is a great !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for Bison

Date:August 27, 2012
I took a bison with one last winter. What else can I say?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Plymouth Mi.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle!

Date:June 22, 2011
I bought one of these rifles last summer and am very impressed with the overall quality and how accurate it shoots even with a duffer like me behind the sights! I should warm you that if you love shooting you'll probably end up like me and take up reloading which cuts ammo costs by 2/3rds and is quite simple for the 45-70.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern ohio viet nam vet
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Too Much Fun

Date:February 1, 2011
62 year old VN vet and I own 60 guns of all types. Just added this gun to my collection and just love it. It is built very well and shoots the same. I am casting my own bullets, and living 120 years ago, just shooting at milk bottles and such. Will be doing bear in CanadA with it if I can get it in a tree, pretty heavy. If you have been thinking of it,DO IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Market, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a deal, what a deal!

Date:February 25, 2010
I spent the better part of 2009 reading, researching and reviewing all the makers and models of the 1874 Sharps. I felt it necessary to do the due diligence before making a purchase. Now, I must admit to falling in love with the Sharps after watching Quigley when I was a bit younger. Being that I am actually going to be working with the gun - hunting that is – I was drawn towards to 30’ barrel with less frills than that of the one that Quigley himself used. I also appreciate the shotgun stock with the pistol grip. In my opinion, from all the time an energy that I put in, you cannot find a better deal for a better gun that this one. True, CSharps and Shiloh Sharps are the benchmark for the 1874 Sharps, but make no mistake, Pedersoli is right there. Their attention to quality and craftsmanship is of no doubt. I truly love this gun and was thrilled with it from the first shot. I shot open sights at 150 yards with a 1.5” spread. You cannot beat that! I cannot wait till next season to take a deer down with this gun.
All I can say is, you will NOT go wrong with this gun. You will NOT sacrifice quality nor accuracy. You will love this gun the day you get it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Middle GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter

Date:January 11, 2010
My initial impression was positive. Workmanship is excellent and materials are first class. Fit and finish are to the highest standards. Everything operates smoothly and positively. My first trip to the range was with the factory sights and I only fired 7 shots at 100 meters. The group was centered and one adjustment for elevation put the shots in the middle of the target.
Today I went back to the range with a rear Goodwin Style Creedmoor sight on the rifle. It was easy getting on target and making corrections. One group of 3 shots at 150 meters was 1 1/2 inches with 2 in the X-ring and 1 in the 10 ring. The double set triggers worked perfectly. I shot 45 cartridges today and couldn't be happier with the results.
IMO, a better made, more accurate 1874 Sharps will not be found for the money. Mine is definitely a keeper!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Antonio, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First white-tail

Date:January 11, 2010
I decided to buy this rifle for the same reason as a previous reviewer did; this is a great rifle at half the cost of other manufactures. I bought this rifle in November and finally got to hunt with it in January. I had only shot the rifle three seperate times at the range and was able to shot a doe at 165 yards with the open sites. This rifle is very accurate and the fit and finish were excelent. The only thing to watch out for is it's weight. It got a little heavy after two days of stalking deer. I highly recomend a sling. I used Cabela's blackpowder slip-on sling with much success. Thank you Cabela's for offering this affordable and well made rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tarpon Springs,FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

True Rifle

Date:January 7, 2010
I really was impressed with the accuracy of my rifle, once I got it to the range. At first I used the original sights that it came with to sight it in before investing in Creedmore sights. It shoots true and accurate with no mechanical problems and it's maximum accurate range is 200 yards. I have used a variety of cowboy-action cartridges and some light load Hornady Leverevolution shells with absolutly no problems. It's my first Sharps rifle and the heavy barrel was kinda a chore to hold up steadily,but it's well worth the sore arm. The heavy barrel helps with the accuracy and lessens the threat of shooter shoulder. I like my rifle alot and plan to use it for competition shooting and hunt'n. Named it after my sweetheart for good luck and have had nothing, but luck with it ever since!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: El Paso Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SUPER Rifle by Pedersoli

Date:December 20, 2009
First - Cabela"s told me I would Get my Sharps on the 21st of Dec, I got in on the 17th THANK YOU Cabela's.
Second - the Pederosoli 1874 Sharps Hunter is a Super nice Rifle, Fit is Very Good all workmanship is of great quality, the Stock is of a good grade looking very nice. I would say for the price (plus $100.00 off on Sale) It is an unmatched buy, I could not of asked for more.
I have went to the range with it the last two days and love it. Not much recoil, mostly a push, sights work well, although I will order a set of Creedmore for it, and it shoots better than I do. I was hitting the 100yd and 200yd Pig and Ram, for a 62 yr old and bad eyes thats saying a lot. I would recommend this Sharps to anyone looking for a Fantastic Rifle and a Great price. I would of liked the "Quigley" but my check book did not have enough Zeros.
As for the 45 - 70 it is a great Round hard hitting fun to shoot, componets for re-loading are easy to get and cost effective and it can take most all game in the world.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island, NY.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Quality and Value

Date:May 13, 2009
It's no secret that anyone with the money can order and "wait" for a custom Sharps rifle to be built (Shiloh, Axtell, C-Sharps), however, without sacrificing fit, finish and more importantly quality, you can have this Pedersoli now. I've read up on all of the Sharps rifles and I finally decided that in the end...ordering an expensive rifle was just another way of showing off. Pedersoli has a earned their reputation for quality. This Pedersoli is a wonderful rifle. The fit and finish of the stock was impressive, the action is amazingly smooth and the construction is rock solid. The barrel has a durable parkerized finish. The rifle handled flawlessly with factory and reloaded ammo. The factory sights can take you easily out to 100 to 200 yards. It's also important to remember that buying an expensive rifle does not automatically mean you'll shoot well with it. Out of the box I experienced great results with this rifle. With practice and finding the optimal reload configuration I have no doubt that this rifle will be amazing. The rifle is also drilled + tapped for the tang sight of your choosing. It makes me smile to know that evertime I hit the target, I saved $2000-$3000 in the overall process. (I'd like to see a car insurance company do that..) I'm extremely pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter Rifle ™ .45-70
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pedersoli 1874 Sharps Hunter .45-70 Rifle

Date:February 4, 2009
Bought this rifle two weeks ago, Fit and finish is top notch.Took it the range last sat.WOW! Got used to the set triggers at 100 yards then moved over to 200 and shot 2 1/2 inch groups dead center with Buffalo bore 405 grain loads West Texas hog hunting here I come !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.