Customer Reviews for PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol

PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol

With twin barrels packing a one-two wallop, this big-bore pistol was popular with Europeans exploring the vast jungles of India and Burma in the mid-1800s. On a typical excursion, explorers and soldiers were part of an elephant caravan. Riding on a howdah (the basket perched atop an elephant) may look safe in today’s world, but a century ago danger was imminent. Tigers could scale the side of a slow-moving elephant in the blink of an eye. To combat surprise attacks, the Howdah-style side-by-side pistol was created. Two cavernous 20-gauge smoothbore barrels can be loaded with buckshot, a single slug, or the devastating "buck and ball"-load common in big-bore muzzleloaders used on dangerous game. Squeeze one of the triggers, and you’ll appreciate the hand-conforming checkered walnut grip and the recoil-soaking end-cap counterweight. Its case-hardened lockplates are engraved with detailed wild animal scenes.  Optional shoulder stock also available. Barrel length: 11-1/4". Overall length: 17-3/4". Weight: 4-1/2 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Review 1 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

Excellent purchase.

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Delivery was right on time.
I haven't fired this piece yet. My first impressions are quite favorable. Its a handsome piece and appears to well made. The hammers consistently cock crisply. Trigger pull was uniform. I hope it shoots as well as it looks.
On the negative side - loading instructions could have included the size of the percussion cap, etc.
Overall, I'm quite happy with the product and am looking forward to sending a few balls downrange once the snow clears.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015

20 ga Howdah

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Excellent reproduction. Could not be more satisfied with this purchase. Waited 3 years for it to go on sale.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2013

Shooting the Howdah -- A great pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
After reading the Q/A's, I wanted to share my experience with my 20 ga Howdah purchased from Cabela's in 2010. A 0.600 lead ball plus .015 oiled .60-.69 cal patch and 50 grains of powder works great for me. I just started shooting lead shot and found that 19 gauge over powder wads lightly lubed on the edge and 19 gauge over shot card make a good gas seal combination. 20 ga wads, like the ones from Cabela's are too loose and 18 ga recommended in a previous review are way too large. Maybe the bore is slightly different for different years. My bore is .625.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2013

unique blackpowder experience

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
lots of fun-i've only shot it with balls, but i just recieved the wads and will be working up some loads for different shot sizes next. with the shoulder stock there is very little recoil. a fun firearm to shoot and just play with.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2013

howdah pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I like the appearance . mechanically , it looks ok . I have not shot it because this is all new to me .
I would appreciate some more detailed loading information though . I have spent much time on the web looking for help in that area . Instructions with it could be much more complete .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

20ga Howda Hunter is FUN!

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I doubt that I will ever hunt from a howda, but shooitng the Pedersoli Howda Hunter is just too much fun. Big grins from everyone. The round ball loads from 15 yards are pretty accurate considering you have only a shotgun style front bead. First time out I only had bird shot which did quite well with a modern 20ga plastic cup wad. 50 to 60 grains of FFg black powder is easy to shoot but seems to pack a good punch. Round ball went through a dense pine 2"x8" and well into a second plank. I will test swaged round balls and buck shot on the next trip out to the desert. A great purchase!! No malfunctions and the gun is very well made and finished. Thanks Cabella's for carrying Pedersoli firearms.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2011

Pedersoli Howdah Pistol....a defect or not ?

By
Location: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Shot my new Pedersoli Howdah Pistol today, but while cleaning it I notice two triangle gaps between the barrels at the breech hooks.
I was able to insert the length of a pipe cleaner into them.
I don't know if this is a defect or not, but it could be a rust problem if the water that will get in there from cleaning is not removed with a moisture displacer like WD-40.
Is this a defect in the gun, or are they all made that way?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2011

WOWSER!

By
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I got mine about a year ago for Christmas. Mine is the .54/.20 ga combo and it draws a crowd when i go to the range. Even being big and heavy, it is still a smart move to hang on when you touch off a load. I load a little hotter but I enjoy all the attention it creates.At this time i am seriously considering getting another in 20/20 gauge. Yeah, I like this hand cannon and recommend it highly for the workmanship and awe factor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2011

.20 Gauge Howda...lookout beast!

By
Location: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I received my .20 gauge Howdah about ten days ago... wow what a nice looking weapon. It is perfect except where the metal below the trigger guard was pressed into the stock-wood. It appears they were trying to fill-in this area with putty. But it is so beautiful...even that would not make me return it!
I was surprised by the lack of information given to the new owner about loading and firing it. Cabelas supplied a generic book about loads for various black-powder firearms. Pedersoli included information with the pistol but it was poorly referenced with a book written in Italian, English, French and German. They also included a CD that did not play on my computer.
All in all...a book written that explains this pistol "not something else", and how to load and fire it would be most welcome.
"It is a beautiful representation of a most glorious history."
Do not wait until Pedersoli decides to discontinue it...Buy one today!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2011

Howdah: "How da heck did you get that thing?"

By
Location: Out in the sticks of Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
It's not a target piece, and yes it's a smokepole... but whoever or whatever is on the recieving end of this thing has serious trouble. Built quite well, pretty to look at, and plenty of oomph behind it. I swapped out the #11 nipples with musket nipples (also available from Cabelas in the correct thread). Only complaint: Cabellas doesnt stock the shotgun wadding you'll need if you load it as I recommend: 10 Single 0 .32 caliber buckshot, in front of 65 grains of FFF. Yes, thats a safe load... 25 grains as recommended in manual is anemic. The barrels and action are the same as the Cabelas double barrel shotgun Pedersoli makes for them. DON'T hold it like a pistol, hold it like a pistol gripped shotgun. One hand on the butt and one hand supporting it underneath. The overpowder wads, and over shot cards you want are 18 gauge, not 20, as 20 was a little loose. Want those loads held TIGHT if you're going to get the holster (and why not? priced reasonable and really makes a statement) Oh yes, and recommended configuration is the one I went with: two 20 gauge barrels side by side. At the distances intended, wouldnt bother with a rifled .50 or .58 barrel. The .62 round balls work just fine at 30 feet or so. Anyway, very happy with my Howdah...very nice piece.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2010

Howdah Pistol

By
Location: Pittston, maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Just fired my Howdah 20 ga. What a ball. Dead on right out of the box. First 2 shots at 35 yards were slightly high but centered well. Did a nasty job on a gallon jug. .600 round ball w/ 25 gr 777 ffg. Very little kick due to Hefty barrel weight. Can't wait to try some birdshot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2010

.58 Cal.Howdah Pistol

By
Location: Slidell, Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
very pleased, Great looking gun--exellent fit and finish--35 grains of pistol powder, .58 cal ball, .005 patch, #10 cap---fine shooter!! Very well made!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2010

HOWDAH 20x20

By
Location: Wetumpka, AL
A Real hand Canon! Excellent finish. Barrels could be registered better but that may just me. For short range it's fine and makes a great Turkey gun with #5 shot and round balls for deer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2010

Gun is great. Hard to find components.

By
Location: Southern Maine
I bought the 20 ga. Very nice quality. Fit and finish is good. Wish Cabela's stocked the stuff to make it shoot, i.e. 20 ga over-powder and over-shot wads, 20 ga slugs, .615 round balls, and 60-69 cal lubed patches.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2010

Davide Pedersoli Howdah Pistol 20 Gauge

By
Location: Phoenix
Nice wood to metal finish and blueing is real nice. My plans are to use it in re enactment shooting. It has a sinister look of a sawed off double barrel shotgun. The engraving adds to the great look of this monster. It comes apart nicely for cleaning. I bought mine on sale and I am glad I did.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2010

20x20 Davide Pedersoli Howda Pistol

By
Location: MD
The finish is dull and uneven. There is a pin in the side plate that does not match the other pins and screws. This weapon does meet the standards of the rifles that are produced by Pedersoli that I have seen and shot. They are some of the most beautiful reproduction guns I have had the pleasure to hold. Other wise it is a good looking gun. Just be aware that I think it could be better given the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2010

.58 Rifled Howdah Pistol

By
Location: PA
Accuracy very good but impact points differ a few inches per barrel at 25yrds. Barrels differ on rifling depth and are over bored as usual for Pedersoli. Paper patching conicals solves this issue, patched balls are no problem. Recoil mild with 80g. 50yrd groups are tight per barrel and could reach farther once I get the butt stock. This is a hunting pistol with plenty of deer taking power & accuracy to at least 75yds with balls or conicals. Lock engraving could be deeper for the money but still awsome. Best accuracy with 380g Buffalo Ball-ets. Very pleased and look forward to hunting hogs and deer this yr. Rear sight is adjustable for windage in a unique way but not elivation. Change the front sight to a pin type and you will be very accurate at long distance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2009

howdah pistol

By
Location: garland texas
just recieved howdah pistol.58 cal. it really shocked me, it was alot better quality than I expected, a beautiful firearm even has a flip up rear sight,I think my wife is jealous I cant keep my hands off it,cant wait to shoot it ,a real hog leg!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2009

Howdah 20x20

By
Location: Kentucky Retiree
Got the first one and it was damaged...NOT shipper nor Cabela's fault.
Cabela IMMEDIATELY sent replacement and footed return shipping.
It came today. I cannot keep my hands off it......prolly sleep with it tonight.
Experienced BP shooter so I'll wait until Saturday to break her in.
Meanwhile? Show her off. Whoot!
L M...Ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2009

howda pistol

By
Location: oregon
Fit and finish is nice,but not exceptional.Barrels are heavy and thick,mine handles 75 gr.FFg blackpowder,and over an ounce of shot,but kick could put hammers in your face if you do not shoot it from ''hip''....With 50 gr. of FFg it will shoot a round ball accurately''deer sized target'',recoil not a problem ,to 60 yards -''for me'',maybee farther with practice..Very fun to shoot,looks cool and dangerous.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 23