Customer Reviews for PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol

PEDERSOLI Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol

With twin barrels packing a one-two wallop, this big-bore pistol was popular with Europeans exploring the vast jungles of India and Burma in the mid-1800s. On a typical excursion, explorers and soldiers were part of an elephant caravan. Riding on a howdah (the basket perched atop an elephant) may look safe in today’s world, but a century ago danger was imminent. Tigers could scale the side of a slow-moving elephant in the blink of an eye. To combat surprise attacks, the Howdah-style side-by-side pistol was created. Two cavernous 20-gauge smoothbore barrels can be loaded with buckshot, a single slug, or the devastating "buck and ball"-load common in big-bore muzzleloaders used on dangerous game. Squeeze one of the triggers, and you’ll appreciate the hand-conforming checkered walnut grip and the recoil-soaking end-cap counterweight. Its case-hardened lockplates are engraved with detailed wild animal scenes.  Optional shoulder stock also available. Barrel length: 11-1/4". Overall length: 17-3/4". Weight: 4-1/2 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Review 1 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shooting the Howdah -- A great pistol

Date:July 15, 2013
After reading the Q/A's, I wanted to share my experience with my 20 ga Howdah purchased from Cabela's in 2010. A 0.600 lead ball plus .015 oiled .60-.69 cal patch and 50 grains of powder works great for me. I just started shooting lead shot and found that 19 gauge over powder wads lightly lubed on the edge and 19 gauge over shot card make a good gas seal combination. 20 ga wads, like the ones from Cabela's are too loose and 18 ga recommended in a previous review are way too large. Maybe the bore is slightly different for different years. My bore is .625.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

unique blackpowder experience

Date:March 5, 2013
lots of fun-i've only shot it with balls, but i just recieved the wads and will be working up some loads for different shot sizes next. with the shoulder stock there is very little recoil. a fun firearm to shoot and just play with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

howdah pistol

Date:March 5, 2013
I like the appearance . mechanically , it looks ok . I have not shot it because this is all new to me .
I would appreciate some more detailed loading information though . I have spent much time on the web looking for help in that area . Instructions with it could be much more complete .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

20ga Howda Hunter is FUN!

Date:January 22, 2013
I doubt that I will ever hunt from a howda, but shooitng the Pedersoli Howda Hunter is just too much fun. Big grins from everyone. The round ball loads from 15 yards are pretty accurate considering you have only a shotgun style front bead. First time out I only had bird shot which did quite well with a modern 20ga plastic cup wad. 50 to 60 grains of FFg black powder is easy to shoot but seems to pack a good punch. Round ball went through a dense pine 2"x8" and well into a second plank. I will test swaged round balls and buck shot on the next trip out to the desert. A great purchase!! No malfunctions and the gun is very well made and finished. Thanks Cabella's for carrying Pedersoli firearms.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pedersoli Howdah Pistol....a defect or not ?

Date:October 19, 2011
Shot my new Pedersoli Howdah Pistol today, but while cleaning it I notice two triangle gaps between the barrels at the breech hooks.
I was able to insert the length of a pipe cleaner into them.
I don't know if this is a defect or not, but it could be a rust problem if the water that will get in there from cleaning is not removed with a moisture displacer like WD-40.
Is this a defect in the gun, or are they all made that way?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOWSER!

Date:June 2, 2011
I got mine about a year ago for Christmas. Mine is the .54/.20 ga combo and it draws a crowd when i go to the range. Even being big and heavy, it is still a smart move to hang on when you touch off a load. I load a little hotter but I enjoy all the attention it creates.At this time i am seriously considering getting another in 20/20 gauge. Yeah, I like this hand cannon and recommend it highly for the workmanship and awe factor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.20 Gauge Howda...lookout beast!

Date:January 26, 2011
I received my .20 gauge Howdah about ten days ago... wow what a nice looking weapon. It is perfect except where the metal below the trigger guard was pressed into the stock-wood. It appears they were trying to fill-in this area with putty. But it is so beautiful...even that would not make me return it!
I was surprised by the lack of information given to the new owner about loading and firing it. Cabelas supplied a generic book about loads for various black-powder firearms. Pedersoli included information with the pistol but it was poorly referenced with a book written in Italian, English, French and German. They also included a CD that did not play on my computer.
All in all...a book written that explains this pistol "not something else", and how to load and fire it would be most welcome.
"It is a beautiful representation of a most glorious history."
Do not wait until Pedersoli decides to discontinue it...Buy one today!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Out in the sticks of Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Howdah: "How da heck did you get that thing?"

Date:January 10, 2011
It's not a target piece, and yes it's a smokepole... but whoever or whatever is on the recieving end of this thing has serious trouble. Built quite well, pretty to look at, and plenty of oomph behind it. I swapped out the #11 nipples with musket nipples (also available from Cabelas in the correct thread). Only complaint: Cabellas doesnt stock the shotgun wadding you'll need if you load it as I recommend: 10 Single 0 .32 caliber buckshot, in front of 65 grains of FFF. Yes, thats a safe load... 25 grains as recommended in manual is anemic. The barrels and action are the same as the Cabelas double barrel shotgun Pedersoli makes for them. DON'T hold it like a pistol, hold it like a pistol gripped shotgun. One hand on the butt and one hand supporting it underneath. The overpowder wads, and over shot cards you want are 18 gauge, not 20, as 20 was a little loose. Want those loads held TIGHT if you're going to get the holster (and why not? priced reasonable and really makes a statement) Oh yes, and recommended configuration is the one I went with: two 20 gauge barrels side by side. At the distances intended, wouldnt bother with a rifled .50 or .58 barrel. The .62 round balls work just fine at 30 feet or so. Anyway, very happy with my Howdah...very nice piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pittston, maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Howdah Pistol

Date:November 30, 2010
Just fired my Howdah 20 ga. What a ball. Dead on right out of the box. First 2 shots at 35 yards were slightly high but centered well. Did a nasty job on a gallon jug. .600 round ball w/ 25 gr 777 ffg. Very little kick due to Hefty barrel weight. Can't wait to try some birdshot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Slidell, Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.58 Cal.Howdah Pistol

Date:October 18, 2010
very pleased, Great looking gun--exellent fit and finish--35 grains of pistol powder, .58 cal ball, .005 patch, #10 cap---fine shooter!! Very well made!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HOWDAH 20x20

Date:April 19, 2010
A Real hand Canon! Excellent finish. Barrels could be registered better but that may just me. For short range it's fine and makes a great Turkey gun with #5 shot and round balls for deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gun is great. Hard to find components.

Date:March 3, 2010
I bought the 20 ga. Very nice quality. Fit and finish is good. Wish Cabela's stocked the stuff to make it shoot, i.e. 20 ga over-powder and over-shot wads, 20 ga slugs, .615 round balls, and 60-69 cal lubed patches.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Phoenix
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Davide Pedersoli Howdah Pistol 20 Gauge

Date:February 28, 2010
Nice wood to metal finish and blueing is real nice. My plans are to use it in re enactment shooting. It has a sinister look of a sawed off double barrel shotgun. The engraving adds to the great look of this monster. It comes apart nicely for cleaning. I bought mine on sale and I am glad I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

20x20 Davide Pedersoli Howda Pistol

Date:February 19, 2010
The finish is dull and uneven. There is a pin in the side plate that does not match the other pins and screws. This weapon does meet the standards of the rifles that are produced by Pedersoli that I have seen and shot. They are some of the most beautiful reproduction guns I have had the pleasure to hold. Other wise it is a good looking gun. Just be aware that I think it could be better given the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.58 Rifled Howdah Pistol

Date:January 17, 2010
Accuracy very good but impact points differ a few inches per barrel at 25yrds. Barrels differ on rifling depth and are over bored as usual for Pedersoli. Paper patching conicals solves this issue, patched balls are no problem. Recoil mild with 80g. 50yrd groups are tight per barrel and could reach farther once I get the butt stock. This is a hunting pistol with plenty of deer taking power & accuracy to at least 75yds with balls or conicals. Lock engraving could be deeper for the money but still awsome. Best accuracy with 380g Buffalo Ball-ets. Very pleased and look forward to hunting hogs and deer this yr. Rear sight is adjustable for windage in a unique way but not elivation. Change the front sight to a pin type and you will be very accurate at long distance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: garland texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

howdah pistol

Date:September 14, 2009
just recieved howdah pistol.58 cal. it really shocked me, it was alot better quality than I expected, a beautiful firearm even has a flip up rear sight,I think my wife is jealous I cant keep my hands off it,cant wait to shoot it ,a real hog leg!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky Retiree
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Howdah 20x20

Date:July 29, 2009
Got the first one and it was damaged...NOT shipper nor Cabela's fault.
Cabela IMMEDIATELY sent replacement and footed return shipping.
It came today. I cannot keep my hands off it......prolly sleep with it tonight.
Experienced BP shooter so I'll wait until Saturday to break her in.
Meanwhile? Show her off. Whoot!
L M...Ky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

howda pistol

Date:June 3, 2009
Fit and finish is nice,but not exceptional.Barrels are heavy and thick,mine handles 75 gr.FFg blackpowder,and over an ounce of shot,but kick could put hammers in your face if you do not shoot it from ''hip''....With 50 gr. of FFg it will shoot a round ball accurately''deer sized target'',recoil not a problem ,to 60 yards -''for me'',maybee farther with practice..Very fun to shoot,looks cool and dangerous.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Turlock, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nicely finished firearm

Date:December 11, 2008
This is a very well made weapon. Shots well and it does put a smile on my mug. Anything in the 10 yard range is yours. Haven't tried it out much further than that yet. Well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pedersoli Howdah Hunter 20-Ga. Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Howdah pistol

Date:November 19, 2008
A well made large firearm, a manly man's gun. Mine has great wood to metal fit, good blueing on the metal and very nice engraving. A great deal for the price. A blast to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 21