Customer Reviews for BROWNING Browning® X-Bolt Rifles

BROWNING Browning® X-Bolt Rifles

Browning’s X-Bolt Hunter is available in wide-range of calibers to meet most any hunter’s needs. The free-floating barrel and glass-bedded receiver provide the foundation for its legendary accuracy. Add to that Browning’s Adjustable Feather Trigger®, and you have a hunting rifle you can count on for years of reliable service in the field. The satin-finish walnut stock is outfitted with factory-installed sling swivel studs. Also includes a detachable rotary magazine, and a top-tang safety with a bolt unlock button.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Review 1 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW!!

Date:August 14, 2014
As a former Army Infantry Designated Marksman, I am pickey about my rifles. If they don't shoot they are gone. This was my first Browning and it was a 270 Win. Threw some "starter loads" together and worked up to maximum. They all shot amazing, the top two shot GREAT! .5 MOA @100 yds. No break in (this range trip was just to get to know the rifle a little) and I came home with my load. No recoil, stock was comfortable and it just shoots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing

Date:February 28, 2014
Out of all my rifles the most accurate out of the box. Extremely well balanced, feels lighter than it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must have Rifle

Date:August 24, 2013
I bought a Browning x bolt in the .300 win mag and love the gun. The recoil wasn't bad and I had 1/2" groupings at 100yds. Cabela's mounted a Nikon Buckmaster 3x9 scope and had it sighted in at 100yds in 3 shoots. I was shooting at 300yds within 6 shoots and all I can say is WOW!!! If you can add this gun to your collection do it now! This gun is a tact driver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:July 1, 2013
Most accurate gun I've ever owned. I first bought a .243, and loved it so much I bought a 7mm. I went out and shot a bunch of what I had labeled "junk loads" that were well over 15 years old and very inaccurate with my Savage. Shot groups were amazing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding quality!!!

Date:February 25, 2013
Amazing accuracy and craftsmanship, best riffle I have ever owned :-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:January 2, 2013
I bought the X-Bolt Hunter Stainless in .280 Rem about a year ago. It shoots most brands of factory ammo consistently and finding a handload that it likes was really easy. The rifle is easy to carry and handle, but recoil is very manageable: the recoil pad is very effective, and the stock is well designed, good-looking, and comfortable with deep and well-done checkering. The adjustable trigger has a very clean break and no creep. The action is smooth while being strong enough to handle round after round of max load hand loads and the short angle bolt-throw makes cycling the action quick and easy. The rotary magazine is genius and I like how it sits flush with the bottom of the stock. The magazine release is perfect: hidden where it won't accidently be pushed, but positioned where, once the mag is released, it falls perfectly into the hand. Overall, it's a great rifle that I'm looking forward to using for a long, long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Rifle I've Shot

Date:December 30, 2012
I received the .270 Win hunter 3 years ago for Christmas. I put a Nikon ProStaff 3-9x40 scope on it and right away I was putting it in the bull at 80 yds. This gun by far has the best and most advanced features of any rifle I've ever seen or shot. The bolt is able to be operated while the safety is on which I personally love, the safety switch is quiet which is great for the obvious reasons, but the feature I love the most is the recoil pad. I've shot my cousin's A-Bolt .270 win, and the recoil you feel on my x-bolt is about 30% as much as the A-Bolt. I literally cannot describe how great that pad is. I can shoot as many times in a row as I want without feeling a thing. The ONLY minor downside is that this is the loudest .270 win out there, at least that I've heard, but nothing a cheap pair of earplugs can't fix!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Rifle Yet

Date:August 21, 2012
Got rid of my synthetic Savage and wanted a wood stock rifle so I got the X-Bolt. Couldn't be happier! This rifle just feels right in my hands. The recoil pad is awesome but by far the best feature of this rifle is the trigger. No slack in the trigger and its adjustable out of the box. This rifle shoots better than I can. I would't think twice about putting this rifle up against another twice its price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Looking forward to using it

Date:March 9, 2012
just purchased x-bolt hunter in . 270 Winchester a few weeks ago. hoping to do a little shooting this weekend and go whitetail hunting next fall. Cabelas also has great customer service. Browning really made this gun right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

favorite rifle I have owned

Date:November 6, 2011
Am able to shoot through same hole at 2 yards, feels great. Love the clip instead of spring load, also like the safety on top of hand grip for quick disengaging. Got rid of my Remington 700 BDL for this and am very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Awesome Rifle

Date:October 23, 2011
I actually just bought two of these rifles, an x-bolt hunter and the medallion. The medallion is chambered in 300 win mag and the hunter in 338 win mag. The accuracy is great and the recoil was next to nothing. I have had surgery on my shoulder and have always had issues shooting high power rifles. This rifle did not even bruise my shoulder, let alone make it sore. It was the most enjoyable experience I have ever had shooting a high power rifle. Amazing gun!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A FINE Weapon

Date:October 11, 2011
I have the x-bolt in hunter stainless 30-06. Everything about this gun is right. The inflex recoil pad is a joy. Sturdy detachable magazine, smooth action, accurate as you can get. Got sub MOA groups @ 120yds with cheap ammo. Wood stock is beautiful. Gun is mated to a Nikon Buckmaster scope, love it. I've shot other rifle brands, some I liked, some I didn't. But in the future, it's gonna be hard to convince myself to buy anything other than an x bolt. If this gun fits your budget, GET IT! If you have to squeeze money from somewhere else to reach it, I think it's worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Left Handed Shooters *READ THIS*

Date:August 26, 2011
All and all, by far Brownings best yet. Left handed shooters be advised. DON'T MOUNT A SCOPE WITH A PARALEX ADJUSTMENT NOB. I mounted a Nikon Monarch 4.5 - 14 X 42. I've noticed scopes with this adjustment on it, get in the way for cases being expelled from the chamber. I uses Leupolds std. base and med. rings. Expelling a case, it hits this adjustment nob and fall right back into the chamber. I'm gonna try a high set of rings next.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Couldn't ask for a better rifle!

Date:June 16, 2010
This was my first rifle I bought. I had originally planed on a different model, but the a Browning X-Bolt .300 Win Mag caught my eye. Right out of the box I was hitting dead center on my target 100 yards out with the 26" barrel, which was surprising for someone who hasn't shot a whole lot. The recoil pad eliminates any and all discomfort, allowing me to shoot all day without the slightest bit of soreness. The oak stock is beautiful with absolutely no defects in the wood, or blemishes in the satin finish. As someone who is used to shooting revolvers in single action I could not of asked for a better trigger. With a 3.5 pound pull and less then a millimeter of travel distance the trigger engages exactly when I want it too. The bolt moves smoothly, and the safety features are great. So far I have put 40 rounds through it, with another 40 to go in the next few days. This will be a lifetime rifle for me, and hopefully will soon bring down my first elk this fall. Highly recommended to new and experienced hunters and shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SLC, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredible accuracy .300 win mag

Date:May 7, 2010
I have the composite stalker in .300 win and boy was I impressed! This rifle is incredible. Trigger is great, action is very smooth, duracoat finish is very comfortable, and the accuracy of this rifle is amazing. My rifle is shooting .5 inch 3 shot groups at 100yds. With factory hornady 180 grain sst bullets on the first trip to the range. This is my first browning rifle, I have always been a remington 700 guy but I have never had a 700 shoot .5 inch groups without making custom loads. This browning is a shooter and its very light weight. All I can say is what a gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

X-Bolt Hunter .30-06

Date:March 31, 2010
I purchased an X-Bolt Hunter for hunting the pigs and deer here in Germany. This rifle is great from the word go. It has a natural feel in the hands, and the mounting of a scope is a snap when you have the X-Lock rings (Browning's own scope rings). The detachable box magazine is nice and the only drawback that I can think of is that the magazine's capacity is only 4 rounds. That being said, a 4+1 capacity makes for not needing to reload as often, and allows a good second or third shot. The lines are clean, and many of my German hunting friends have remarked that it should have cost me more than it did! (FYI, German made rifles routinely cost 2-3000 Euro!) Would recommend this venerable hunting rifle in a heart beat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Browning® X-Bolt Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SW North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle!!!

Date:December 30, 2009
I have used the Browning X-Bolt in 270 WSM now for two seasons and have nothing negative to say about it. Accuracy is outstanding, well under one inch at 100 yards and recoil is light for this caliber. The gun is very light weight which is important to me as I often hunt deep into the ND Badlands and don't get burdened by a heavy rifle. I have an A-Bolt which I have hunted for years with, and if you are thinking about adding an X-Bolt to the arsenal, they feel and point the same, except the X-Bolt is lighter. The trigger is crisp without creep and easily adjusted. It's about time someone came out with a trigger like this!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.