Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot

WINCHESTER Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot

Buckshot loaded to military specifications is now available to the civilian market. Each 12-gauge 2-3/4" shell has a nine- pellet load of buffered 00 buckshot produces a muzzle velocity of 1,325 fps. All cases are green with a black anodized head for low visibility. Five rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
63 out of 69(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Review 21 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Coeburn, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Patterns reasonabliy tight.

Date:June 4, 2009
At 15 yards this buckshot patterns exceptionally well through a Mossberg Maverick 88. I have been experimenting with different loads and this one seems to be better than average. I believe in the event I need to call upon this round I could rest my life on it.
Try a box and see what it can do for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WASHINGTON D.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OLIN/WINCHESTER 12GA 00BUCK SURPLUS AMMO

Date:September 18, 2009
This is the 12GA ammo that you've been looking for. I'm using it in a MAV 88 with a 20" barrel. These high base Military loads are dark camo green with chemically darkened brass. My intent for this ammo is close quarters defense. The pattern is a bit wider than your normal 00B's but that's an asset in a close quarters self defense scenario. I fired 2 boxes (pistol grip) and these rounds kick like a mule compared to non military. I was so impressed that I just bought another 50 rounds.. 'Just In Case'. The boxes I received had a 2008 date code... That's plenty fresh! I'm glad Olin had an overrun. Load up before they're gone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: knoxville tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

old shells

Date:September 19, 2009
shell casings brass showed signs of bad storage conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMMO

Date:December 4, 2009
Shot 5 rounds through my FN SLP and it worked great, very impressed. I will be buying allot more very soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mil-Grade Buckshot

Date:May 16, 2010
Shot some of this through my 28" Mossberg Maverick and hit a coyote at 80+ yards. Ran about 100 yards before it did him in. Shoots great, cycles great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Somwhere in PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love it

Date:August 21, 2010
Very good buckshot, kicks like a horse. Much, much better than Rio Buckshot, without the jams that occurs with Rio! Cycles very good in my Saiga12 and Mossberg! I must warn that when used in a 20rd semiauto drum, this stuff will have you walking backwards b/c of the recoil....but i like that!! At this price, I shall be buying more for upcoming Deer Season!!! Watch out Bambi.......
Thanks again Cabela's!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

00 Buck

Date:September 1, 2010
Excellent quality. Ballistically, it seems identical to the commercial Winchester ammo. I prefer 12 pellets of 00 buck, but the nine pellet load is easier on the shoulder. OD green hulls and brown boxes are cool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty good stuff.

Date:December 19, 2010
Kicks like a flippin mule and sounds like a magnum shell but the pattern is tight and cost is awesome! Would definitely recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible FTE problems in semi auto

Date:March 6, 2011
I used this in a semi auto last week, along with S&B, RIO, Federal, Estate and Hornady.
This is the ONLY one of the above that had failure to eject problems. Winchester's calling this mil spec has to be pure fraud as there's no way on Earth the military would tolerate the kind of problems I encountered at least every second or third round.
I've used it in a pump with no obvious problems, which is the only reason I didn't give it one star. I can get bargain brands, with identical ballistics, for half the price and won't pay a premium for Winchester hype ever again. For competitively priced 00 buck, the blue box Federal offered by Cabela's is the better value for quality in an identical load. Cabela's also has S&B in 00 buck for about half the price of this stuff. They're all 9 pellets at 1325 fps. S&B uses a roll crimp vs. Federal and Winchester's star crimp. The roll crimp makes them a tad longer, but they cycled just fine.
In short, the Winchester mil spec is poorly designed ammo, packed to look like a GI Joe happy meal. Don't waste your money on the pseudo military look. As a practical matter, green ammo is harder to find if you drop one and it all looks the same coming out the end of the barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Richmond, IN
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:March 7, 2011
Shot a coyote at 25 yds running through thick brush with a Benelli Nuper Nova. Had a pattern of a baseball. Dropped instantly. Wont use anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buckshot

Date:April 26, 2011
Have been using these shells for a long time. Cycle perfectly in my 870 pump. Amazing velocity. Nothing that I can find wrong with them, they are the only thing that I use in my bedside gun; I trust my life with these shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southeast Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester Military Grade 12 Gauge Rocks

Date:July 15, 2011
I used this ammo in my Benelli M1S90 Tactical without a hick up. I am using a Dead Coyote choke and have a very good pattern on the Louisiana P.O.S.T. Targets out to twenty five yards. All pellets are in the kill zone. I have not tested it past twenty five yards. I am very satisfied with this ammo and do not have any problems recommending it. For those of you that complain about the recoil, get Winchester Ranger reduced recoil. That will leave more for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mansfield, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

confidence

Date:August 17, 2011
I purchased some of this ammo today and went straight to my favorite range, Great Southwest Gun in Grand Prairie. Great power, accuracy, and grouping! It cycles smoothly in my Mossberg 500 special purpose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Burlington, NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Powerful Buckshot!

Date:January 9, 2012
I bought several boxes of these shells & plan to get more. Haven't hit that deer with them yet, but I fired a few through my new Mossberg 500 tactical, at targets. I thought I would be able to see where I hit them, but it completely destroyed the targets! Very powerful shells to say the least. I Love 'em. Highly recommended *****
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly

Date:February 4, 2012
Awesome ammo! I love shooting this stuff and would highly recommend it for a tactical weapon or just a bedside buddy. The pattern it puts on paper is outstanding.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammunition

Date:April 22, 2012
I have used this ammunition on multiple occasions and it never fails. It runs smoothly and is one of my favorite rounds to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, Powerful Buckshot

Date:June 14, 2012
I fired 1 box of this ammo out of my NEF Pardner Pump about two weeks ago. At 20 feet, it left a ragged hole about 2" wide in the center ring of my law-enforcement B-7 target. Every round fired to the same point of impact. This is full-power buckshot and I had the bruises on my shoulder for a week to prove it. Be prepared for bone-jarring recoil. The best way to shoot this stuff in a pump is to rack and fire it as quickly as possible. That way, you don't have time to think about the recoil. I would highly recommend this ammo for both hunting and home defense.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:September 6, 2012
I've shot this ammo and have had no problems with it. The 2 low rater's may need to look for something else for their rubber band guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome defense round

Date:October 9, 2012
Awesome power and good pattern out to 20 or25 yards, though the pattern does suggest that these are made more for defense and less so for hunting. Will work fine for hunting none the less. definitely a full power load as your shoulder will tell you. As to some people saying 9 is a bit low on the bb count, it's standard for 00 on the 2 3/4" shells. 12 is for the 3" size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Winchester® Military-Grade Buckshot
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just What the Doctor Ordered

Date:October 15, 2012
As usual, no disappointments here!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 69