Customer Reviews for Speer HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Speer HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20

Grand Slam? ammunition, manufactured by HSM for North American game, has been the choice of many hunters since 1975. Over the years, continuing research and testing have evolved this cartridge into one that meets today's tough standards. The success of Grand Slam starts in the jacket. The critical shank section is up to 45% thicker than standard game bullets. This section stops rollback at the point needed to retain weight. Ahead of the shank, the jacket is carefully matched to the tip. Near the tip, internal flutes ensure expansion over a wide range of launch velocities. The extended jacket protects the lead tip from recoil damage in magazines of hard-kickin' rifles. The core is made of proprietary ternary alloy (that means three metals) poured into the jackets molten at 900? F to eliminate oxides that cause core slippage. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Review 1 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sheridan, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent performance

Date:November 13, 2009
At 250+ yards, a shot entering a trotting wounded elk at the left hip traveled through the animal lengthwise and exited out the right upperleg.......immediate fold-up. What more can you ask for? Don't worry that the rounds are not run to the upper velocity limits....it is not needed with this combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

150 Gr .270

Date:November 8, 2009
I have taken a decent size caribou at 200 Yards and 2 smaller sized Blacktail deer at ranges under 30 yards with this bullet. I have not recovered any bullets, all shots were lung hits with the caribou breaking oposite side shoulder bone before full exit. I normally reload all amunition for .243 .270 .30-06 and .338 but these factory rounds shot very well out of my Winchester mod 70 .270. I shot kills and no tracking all animals dropped in their tracks wound channels were quite impresive on skinning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HSM Grand Slam Rifle Ammunition

Date:October 28, 2009
I used this in 180 grain on 10/17 to take a large cow elk from 140 yards. When the bullet hit, the elk turned and walked away. Later I found it under a tree about 25 yds away. The bullet had broken through a rib bone and shattered in pieces spraying the lungs with shrapenal. It did kill the elk, but I was surprised thr bullet broke apart. Last year I took an elk with Federal Powershot and it mushroomed but did not hit a bone. It walked about 15 feet and fell over. Could be due to the velocity of my 300 WSM. I still recommend Grand Slams but maybe for my gun I need to use a different bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo

Date:October 13, 2009
This ammo shot very well, grouped well at 200 yards and had a devastating result on the 700 lb bull i shot at 90 yards. Animal dropped immediately with impact. Only problem is that my 700 will not eject this ammo, have to turn gun to side after shot to get casing out of breech area. Would be 5 star if ejection was good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great store bought ammo

Date:September 21, 2009
Always liked Speer's Grand Slam bullets for the way they performed on bigger game animals as I worked as a guide in Wyoming.
I took my new Thompson Icon out to the range and shot these cartridges last weekend and they performed flawlessly. After initial sight in, the bullets were consistently shooting 1/2 inch groups at 100 yards...nobody can argue this type of performance.
I will be using this .243 on a Wyoming antelope hunt in Wyoming in a week. Good to know that my equipment is ready to go and will perform beyond my expectations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: northeast texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

speer grand slam ammo

Date:March 2, 2009
i bought the ammo for the grand slam bullets. i have reloaded and used the grand slam before. these came in the yellow box like before,but the were brass cased pmc not the nickle plated cases i am used to buying from spear. they seam to function the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Princeton, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grand Slam

Date:March 2, 2009
These bullets are the best bullets on the market for the price. They retain their weight while creating great wound channels. I shot deer with these at all ranges from 35 yards to over 200, at all angles. The penetration and performance was incredible. I have had friends do some weight retention tests in sand and the GS retained more weight than any other bullet when fired from the same caliber with the same load. They are simply the best midsize to large nondangerous game bullet on the market today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: dixon ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:January 20, 2009
very nice product have used grand slam bullets for years on elk and muellys and they have allways worked well and makes kleen kills and that is very inportant on big game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

NOPE!!!!

Date:January 15, 2009
I shot this stuff through my Mdl 700 in 300WSM. It wont eject, had to tilt the rifle up so it would fall out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: south mississippi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grand Slam Rifle Ammunition

Date:December 3, 2008
fast shipping, good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:December 3, 2008
There is really nothing more to say............This product is awesome. Extremely tight groups with the Ruger M77 30-06. I had to reload this ammo by hand for quite a while becasue they didn't make it factory loaded but it is an awesome bullet extreme retention and impressive damage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Penrose, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Speer Ammunition

Date:December 3, 2008
Great for the prices. Will purchase again!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:November 9, 2008
I recently hunted deer in Ontario and shot a nice buck at 80 yards with the speer grand slam 300WSM 165 grain. Excellent penetration and the deer fell 40 yards from where I shot it. Also good accuracy with my Model 70.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Penrose, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Real good ammo

Date:October 22, 2008
I will buy again it gits it done!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

243 Grand Slam

Date:October 15, 2008
Bought thisa to use in a Sako 243 that will shoot almost any load into sub 1" groups at 100 yards. The best I could get out of this ammo was 2 1/2" at 100 yards. Very inconsistent report and POOR accuracy. Will not buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Toronto, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grand Slams, 300 win mag

Date:October 1, 2008
Have used a variety of ammo/bullets over the years and will say these bullets are excellent. There is a trend to using lighter bullets, that are tougher than those with some lead in them. These bullets act differently than the "old fashioned" bullets after having entered the game animal. I am not saying that these new bullets are not any good. I am using them now and the verdict is not out yet, although from what I have seen, they too, are impressive. Remember when we switched from lead to steel for waterfowl hunting, and the difference we all found in hitting energy. However, no holes barred , for a reliable, hard hitting bullet, Grand Slams or Trophy Bonded bear Claws are very, very hard to beat. Have a good hunt!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N. GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.243 Grand Slam Ammunition

Date:September 23, 2008
Excellent bullet. As accurate as any other 100 grain load I've tried. Great shock power and excellent penetration. Massive internal damage to vital organs. My two daughters, ages 11 and 14 years old, use these in .243, they've killed six deer with them and all were one shot kills from 25 to 200 yards. Most fell in their tracks. The two that ran a short distance into heavy brush were easy to recover due to the good blood trail left behind. All six of the bullets exited, so I can't tell you how much weight was retained, but obviously it was enough. Overall, it's the best bullet I've found for deer in this caliber. I highly recommend them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Speer Grand Slam

Date:September 11, 2008
My Browning 300wsm loves this stuff. I'm shooting the 165gr. bullet. One ragged hole at 100yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HSM Grand Slam® Rifle Ammunition - Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WELCOME BACK

Date:July 14, 2008
O-M-G If this is the same Speer Ammo as it used to be I am beyond excited my Ruger 270 shoots dime size groups at 200 yards with this stuff right out of the box. The best ammo out there. I took a deer in Alabama at 347 yards one shoot no steps right where it was standing. The wound channel OMG total devastation. Enough said don't buy it so I have more to buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.