Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns

HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns

Hornady’s successful line of LEVERevolution® ammo has been expanded to include these popular revolver/lever gun cartridges. The Flex Tip™ of the FTX bullet enhances bullet flight characteristics and opens up new application possibilities with supercharged performance for lever-action rifles chambered in .357 magnum, .44 magnum and .45 Long Colt with tubular magazines. Muzzle velocity is greatly enhanced, resulting in longer effective range, flatter trajectory and devastating terminal effect with reliable expansion. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
84 out of 92(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Review 61 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spartanburg SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 Mag LeveRevolution

Date:September 23, 2009
I had a chance to shoot this for the first time yesterday at the range. I have an old 60's model Marlin 336 in .44 Mag with weaver see through mounts and weaver fixed 4x scope. Its a hand me down rifle I got when I was 14. I haven't shot it much but when Hornady came out with this ammo for it I thought I would give it a try. I sighted in at 50yds with semi wadcutters shooting from a bench by hand/no bench rest. Then switched over to the leverevolution after I got my zero. Point of impact didn't change much, with the wadcutters I had maybe a 5" group, the LeverRevolution tighted the group up a little and I had several two shot holes. The thing that really impressed me was when I pushed my target out to 100yds. First shot I naturally aimed a little high, thinking the bullet would drop a bit more at that range, and to my surprise the bullet was high. I fired again center of the target and it hit maybe an inch low. After that I fired the last 6 rds center of target and had about a 4" group. I was just amazed how flat the rounds fired out to 100 yards. I'm very happy with the rifle and the bullets. Haven't used these to hunt so I can't comment on how well it works on Deer or pigs. I'll have to try a benchrest next time I'm out to get a better Idea of accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Washington......the State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

44mag from Marlin Lever action

Date:October 26, 2009
My 11yr old son took an Eastern Washington Mule deer down with the 44mag at just over a 150 yards. Unfourtunatly he hit him in the right hip area with the 1st shot but the bullet destroyed the hip bone. Kill shot was in the neck and it destroyed the neck bone/spine as well. Hip shot bullet did seperate and that was the only issue but did mushroom well. I thought accuracy was very good at 100yards with 4x scope and 18.5" barrel. Product worked as expected. Keeps me from having to buy him a .243 next year now that I know it works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Glarus, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leverevolution in .44 mag

Date:November 4, 2009
The LEVERevolution was by far the best load I have shot out of my Super Redhawk yet(7.5 in. barrel w/ red dot scope). I have shot numerous loads and these shot the tightest groups.(holes very nearly touching at 50 yards) I have yet to use them on deer, but with any luck, I will know in about 3 weeks how they perform. Very pleased with these loads!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tempe, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:February 28, 2010
I recently used this ammo in my Marlin 336 (.30-.30) out fo ra javelina Hunt. Lets just say that javelina didn't stand a chase at 100 yards. Know I just hopes it works on Texas Hogs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

357 MAG REVOLUTION

Date:May 5, 2010
THE 357 MAGNUM 140 GRAIN LOAD SHOOTS JUST FINE IN MY TAURUS 651 SMALL FRAME SNUBNOSE REVOLVER. HITS ACCURATELY AT SELF DEFENSE RANGES, & I CAN HANDLE THE RECOIL IN THIS 25 OUNCE GUN VERY WELL AT AGE 64.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow!

Date:October 30, 2010
I recently bought some of this ammunition to try in my .35Rem 336 Marlin to see what it was all about for a hunting trip. I must say it is all I will use for hunting from now on, despite the higher cost. It was by far more accurate than my other ammo brands well out over 100 yards with iron sights. So much so, at first I thought it might be a fluke and had my friend try, and he got the same results. It also felt more powerful out of the rifle, though I have no way to prove it. I was extremely impressed with my groupings out of my rifle. I recommend people try this in their lever gun to compare!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Less than satisfied

Date:December 3, 2010
I have a model 94 trapper in .357. As it has a nasty habit of deforming the bullet while in the tube, I purchased the Leverevolution in an attempt to remedy this problem. Although it did indeed solve the bullet deformation problem, it will not cycle 100% through to chamber a round. It consistently missed feeding at least once in every 9 rounds every time I have tried it. Sometimes it hangs up in the tube, other times it sticks in the feed ramp. I have not had this problem with any other brand of ammo.
The overall length of the round is slightly longer than a 158 grain flat tip soft point but the case is visibly shorter. I don’t know if this is part of the problem but I cannot count on this round to reliably feed through my firearm. Not a good confidence builder for a defensive round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mORRISTOWN tn
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ruger 44 mag carbine

Date:December 11, 2010
have used this in my semi-auto RUGER 44 mag with great results cycles very well is this semi auto rifle no hangs and very accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: grygla, mn
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

do i blame it on ammo or scope?

Date:October 11, 2011
i highly doubt its the gun (44 magnum marlin 1894),..perhaps is the hornady lever revolution ammo which i was told at the range shoots like a turtle it is so slow..but at any rate...i dialed in the scope quick at 50 yards..i had 3 shots touching inside the tiny bullseye in just 5 shots....i was impressed! never had i done this that quick with a rifle. i was shooting from a caldwell lead sled and i have over 20 years of shooting experience and no flinching is involved because of the lead sled. at the 100 yard bench this thing was all over the place! i went back to the 50 yard bench and this thing is still dead on. i do not think i could shoot at a deer at 100 yards and call myself and ethical hunter. i usually spend at least $300 on a scope and am partial to leupolds but thought i would try the cabelas lever scope for this gun in 44 mag since its taylored to this gun and ammo....not sure who to blame but not 100% satisfied in performance at 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Howard County, MD
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Hunting Performance

Date:November 6, 2011
44 mag Marlin 1894 shot this ammo very accurately, but on game performance was poor. I have shot five deer with this ammo at ranges fron 25 to 75 yards. All deer ran a long distance ( on to adjacent private property) and three required additional shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Florence, Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.357 ammo

Date:November 13, 2011
As always, the Hornday is VERY VERY accurate. I obtained a 2 inch group at 100 yards using my 1894 Marlin.
We had it out hunting today for the first time (my nephew used it). He hit both a doe, and the biggest buck I have ever seen in the field, and in BOTH cases, the deer did not go down within100 yards. They were both shots at 40 yards or less. We never did find either deer. I had my nephew shoot at a 6 inch target at 50 yards, and he was spot on. Perhaps he was nervous and flinched both shots at the deer, but then again, perhaps the .357 round did not operate as advertised regarding terminal damage etc. I am unsure and will have to try again next weekend. I give the ammo good marks for accuracy but as of this writing, I am unsure of its ability to expand and do enough damage to bring down deer. 3 stars for now. If we get another chance, and it does drop a deer, I will post again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gladwin, MI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:December 4, 2011
Sighted in Ruger Super Blackhawk @ 100 yards. Hung target on metal fence post. Bullseye dead center of post. Could hear each shot hit post. After 10 shots, post fell over. Was amazed at accuracy. Have shot 2 deer now. First was doe at 84 yards that ran only 30 yards. Second was 7pt at 30 yards that only ran 20 yards. Will continue to use this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: indiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mixed feelings

Date:December 6, 2011
I purchased these shells for my Ruger 10-44 on opening day i killed a doe and she went down in less than 3 yards from where i shot her.The next weekend i was fully confident on shooting a nice 7 point buck at 100 yards.Miss.I left the feild with complete disapointment until i got in my truck and was driving home and my buck was limping across the road. I drove back into the feild,got out and shot agin and he went down,got back up and ran.never found him.everyone knows and hates that feeling. the gun shot fine on paper but im not as confident as i used to be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME!

Date:December 8, 2011
So far this season i've used this ammo in my 30-30 and hav had great success! dropped a doe and a 5 pointer, which was shot in the neck, breaking the spine clean in half. Also shot a doe at 200 yards, she only ran 15 yards and fell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good choice for hunting.

Date:February 9, 2012
I use this as a deer hunting round in my S&W 6" .357 Magnum revolver. Lots of energy due to high velocity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lake Luzerne, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lots of recoil

Date:March 3, 2012
I was using this in a revolver just to see the accuracy. Well I was not expecting the recoil this load gave me in my 44 Magnum. Now I see why it would be better in a rifle. Probably much better accuracy as well. Clean burning powder though. Just could not hit the broadside of a barn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:September 11, 2012
Hornady just makes great ammo...what more is there to say. True to the descriptions of fps, and clean on the bore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:October 15, 2012
Just shot this ammo through my Henry Big Boy 44. What an awesome and fun round. Havent put it through my chrono yet but got a slug to go through a 4x4 at 25 yards!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer stopper

Date:November 19, 2012
This ammo is accurate and shoots clean. My 12 year old son killed a good muley doe with a 35 yard quartering away shot out of a TC Encore with a ,44 mag. rifle barrel. She took 3 steps and piled up. The bullet took some lung out the exit hole. I can't give it 5 stars because it was a really close shot and I expected the exit hole to be a little bigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady® LEVERevolution

Date:November 19, 2012
this ammo shoots great out of my ruger redhawk with a 7 1/2 barrel tried several other ammo combinations and hands down this works the best
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 92