Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns

HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns

Hornady’s successful line of LEVERevolution® ammo has been expanded to include these popular revolver/lever gun cartridges. The Flex Tip™ of the FTX bullet enhances bullet flight characteristics and opens up new application possibilities with supercharged performance for lever-action rifles chambered in .357 magnum, .44 magnum and .45 Long Colt with tubular magazines. Muzzle velocity is greatly enhanced, resulting in longer effective range, flatter trajectory and devastating terminal effect with reliable expansion. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
84
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
100 out of 108(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Review 41 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mORRISTOWN tn
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ruger 44 mag carbine

Date:December 11, 2010
have used this in my semi-auto RUGER 44 mag with great results cycles very well is this semi auto rifle no hangs and very accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Less than satisfied

Date:December 3, 2010
I have a model 94 trapper in .357. As it has a nasty habit of deforming the bullet while in the tube, I purchased the Leverevolution in an attempt to remedy this problem. Although it did indeed solve the bullet deformation problem, it will not cycle 100% through to chamber a round. It consistently missed feeding at least once in every 9 rounds every time I have tried it. Sometimes it hangs up in the tube, other times it sticks in the feed ramp. I have not had this problem with any other brand of ammo.
The overall length of the round is slightly longer than a 158 grain flat tip soft point but the case is visibly shorter. I don’t know if this is part of the problem but I cannot count on this round to reliably feed through my firearm. Not a good confidence builder for a defensive round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow!

Date:October 30, 2010
I recently bought some of this ammunition to try in my .35Rem 336 Marlin to see what it was all about for a hunting trip. I must say it is all I will use for hunting from now on, despite the higher cost. It was by far more accurate than my other ammo brands well out over 100 yards with iron sights. So much so, at first I thought it might be a fluke and had my friend try, and he got the same results. It also felt more powerful out of the rifle, though I have no way to prove it. I was extremely impressed with my groupings out of my rifle. I recommend people try this in their lever gun to compare!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

357 MAG REVOLUTION

Date:May 5, 2010
THE 357 MAGNUM 140 GRAIN LOAD SHOOTS JUST FINE IN MY TAURUS 651 SMALL FRAME SNUBNOSE REVOLVER. HITS ACCURATELY AT SELF DEFENSE RANGES, & I CAN HANDLE THE RECOIL IN THIS 25 OUNCE GUN VERY WELL AT AGE 64.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tempe, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:February 28, 2010
I recently used this ammo in my Marlin 336 (.30-.30) out fo ra javelina Hunt. Lets just say that javelina didn't stand a chase at 100 yards. Know I just hopes it works on Texas Hogs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Glarus, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leverevolution in .44 mag

Date:November 4, 2009
The LEVERevolution was by far the best load I have shot out of my Super Redhawk yet(7.5 in. barrel w/ red dot scope). I have shot numerous loads and these shot the tightest groups.(holes very nearly touching at 50 yards) I have yet to use them on deer, but with any luck, I will know in about 3 weeks how they perform. Very pleased with these loads!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Washington......the State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

44mag from Marlin Lever action

Date:October 26, 2009
My 11yr old son took an Eastern Washington Mule deer down with the 44mag at just over a 150 yards. Unfourtunatly he hit him in the right hip area with the 1st shot but the bullet destroyed the hip bone. Kill shot was in the neck and it destroyed the neck bone/spine as well. Hip shot bullet did seperate and that was the only issue but did mushroom well. I thought accuracy was very good at 100yards with 4x scope and 18.5" barrel. Product worked as expected. Keeps me from having to buy him a .243 next year now that I know it works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spartanburg SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 Mag LeveRevolution

Date:September 23, 2009
I had a chance to shoot this for the first time yesterday at the range. I have an old 60's model Marlin 336 in .44 Mag with weaver see through mounts and weaver fixed 4x scope. Its a hand me down rifle I got when I was 14. I haven't shot it much but when Hornady came out with this ammo for it I thought I would give it a try. I sighted in at 50yds with semi wadcutters shooting from a bench by hand/no bench rest. Then switched over to the leverevolution after I got my zero. Point of impact didn't change much, with the wadcutters I had maybe a 5" group, the LeverRevolution tighted the group up a little and I had several two shot holes. The thing that really impressed me was when I pushed my target out to 100yds. First shot I naturally aimed a little high, thinking the bullet would drop a bit more at that range, and to my surprise the bullet was high. I fired again center of the target and it hit maybe an inch low. After that I fired the last 6 rds center of target and had about a 4" group. I was just amazed how flat the rounds fired out to 100 yards. I'm very happy with the rifle and the bullets. Haven't used these to hunt so I can't comment on how well it works on Deer or pigs. I'll have to try a benchrest next time I'm out to get a better Idea of accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.357 LEVERevolution

Date:September 10, 2009
I was wanting something for an upcoming mountain lion handgun hunt.
This ammo groups well from my 6" S&W 686 out to 50 yds and seems to have great penetration. It is a little "hotter " to shoot than my standard 158 g ammo, but very reasonable. I have already recommended it to fellow hunters and will use it for deer this year too. (out to 50 yds). I have started carrying it in my personal protection hangun too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Temple, Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady 45LC

Date:September 9, 2009
one of the better rounds on the market. Hornady ammo is and has always been great in performance. I use it for all of my firearms where it is available. This round was purchased for the "Judge" which also shoots the .410 rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Ammo

Date:September 9, 2009
Very Satisfied
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love these bullets

Date:September 9, 2009
I shoot a ruger redhawk and they work great with this gun. I would defintely recommend them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA & WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

44 LC leverevolution

Date:September 5, 2009
This was well worth the wait (due to back order).
Shoots well, and is probably more accurate than I am.
Purchased it for my Ruger vaquero and Henry Big Boy to use on the hunt.
Worked well at the range, this fall will decide the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SWAMP LAND FLORIDA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

357 Mag Ammo

Date:August 18, 2009
I can't beat them for the price.They do the job for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Milton, Florida (North-Central Santa Rosa County)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

My Majestic Bucks or, History Repeats Itself!

Date:July 23, 2009
It's a little after 5:30 a.m., two weeks before the end of the 2008-09 Alabama deer season, during the height of the rut. I have just left my truck to walk about 100 yards to my shooting box. I have to cross over a shallow ditch and up a slight enbankment to the flat ground where the shooting box is located. I don't believe that I can be any quieter. When I get about 15 feet behind the rear door to the shooting box, I stop, and freeze. 39 yards in front of the shooting window, of the box, stands a truly Majestic, 10 or 12 point buck, his eyes are locked on me. It is barely light enough out to see him, but I do, so I very slowly lower my backpack to the ground and raise my .35 rem lever action to my shoulder and turn on the illuminated reticle of my scope, placing the center of the cross hairs on the base of his neck, and fire! In a micro-second, the buck is gone? That is the last time that I ever see him. It's also the last time that I will use that rifle and the Hornady Leverevolution ammo that I used that morning! Two hours later, using my rangefinder, I determined that from where I shot, the shot was right at between 49 to 54 yards, "a gimmee shot!" I decide to sight in on the center of a circular knot, on a large scrub oak, about six feet above ground level, and at the same distance, to check my rifle, and another Leverevolution cartridge. I fire, and the bullet hits about 3/4" above where I aimed. I have shot three deer, in the vicinity of where I shot at this one, at 95, 70, and 143 yards with my Remington 7mm-08, using 140 grain Winchester Supreme Ballistic Tips, and all three deer dropped on the spot! Ask me if I remember the last time that I shot my .35 rem at a buck, a giant, 300-pound plus Michigan whitetail, near Brethren, Michigan. I shot at him 3 times, hit him twice, and he still ran off, never to be seen by me again, and that was almost 54 years ago! Oh yes, he was a 12 or 14 pointer, and even more Majestic than his Alabama counterpart.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fredericksburg, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Performance!

Date:July 21, 2009
These bullets are super accurate! I have a Ruger GP100 6" pistol w/red dot scope, and I could shoot through my previous bullet hole at 120yd.! Not kidding. Oh, and w/out a vise, just resting on a piece of firewood. I had 6" of drop from 50 to 120yd. That's my only issue with them, but they are 140gr. after all. Can't wait to try it on live game!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:June 23, 2009
Fantastic for lever guns, good hitting power for most medium range game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Gu

Date:June 19, 2009
I have bought and used both .357 magnum, and 45-70 LEVERevolution ammo and it is just totally impressive. The accuracy, power and increase in distance of these loads pumped up the confidence in myself and in the guns that I use them in. I am fully confident that I can bring home any of the deer that reside here with the .357 mag loads in either my revolver or lever gun. And, I purchased the rifle scope recommended by Hornady for these loads for my 45-70, and will not hesitate to pull down on elk out to 300yds, (and maybe a bit more). Next order I place is going to be for the .44 magnum LEVERevolution ammo and see what that does to my hunting plans.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dependability

Date:June 18, 2009
Just finished 3 boxes through my new Henry Big Boy Deluxe, .44 mag., and this ammo fired perfectly every shot. The group at 50yds. stayed in 3 in. 100 yds. stayed in 5 in. I'm getting more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Peoria, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44mag leverevolution

Date:May 19, 2009
A very nice round maintains punch beyond 50yds. Burns clean, does not seem to tumble as bad.
Warning: read the label this round is not for auto pistols!!
A friend tried to use them in my DE .44 mag, they got hung in the magazine and would not chamber. The plastic tip makes the round too long.
So, for what they were intended they're great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 108