Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns

HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns

Hornady’s successful line of LEVERevolution® ammo has been expanded to include these popular revolver/lever gun cartridges. The Flex Tip™ of the FTX bullet enhances bullet flight characteristics and opens up new application possibilities with supercharged performance for lever-action rifles chambered in .357 magnum, .44 magnum and .45 Long Colt with tubular magazines. Muzzle velocity is greatly enhanced, resulting in longer effective range, flatter trajectory and devastating terminal effect with reliable expansion. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 111 reviews
5 Stars
87
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
103 out of 111(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Review 41 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2011

.357 ammo

By
Location: Florence, Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
As always, the Hornday is VERY VERY accurate. I obtained a 2 inch group at 100 yards using my 1894 Marlin.
We had it out hunting today for the first time (my nephew used it). He hit both a doe, and the biggest buck I have ever seen in the field, and in BOTH cases, the deer did not go down within100 yards. They were both shots at 40 yards or less. We never did find either deer. I had my nephew shoot at a 6 inch target at 50 yards, and he was spot on. Perhaps he was nervous and flinched both shots at the deer, but then again, perhaps the .357 round did not operate as advertised regarding terminal damage etc. I am unsure and will have to try again next weekend. I give the ammo good marks for accuracy but as of this writing, I am unsure of its ability to expand and do enough damage to bring down deer. 3 stars for now. If we get another chance, and it does drop a deer, I will post again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2011

Poor Hunting Performance

By
Location: Howard County, MD
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
44 mag Marlin 1894 shot this ammo very accurately, but on game performance was poor. I have shot five deer with this ammo at ranges fron 25 to 75 yards. All deer ran a long distance ( on to adjacent private property) and three required additional shots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2011

do i blame it on ammo or scope?

By
Location: grygla, mn
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i highly doubt its the gun (44 magnum marlin 1894),..perhaps is the hornady lever revolution ammo which i was told at the range shoots like a turtle it is so slow..but at any rate...i dialed in the scope quick at 50 yards..i had 3 shots touching inside the tiny bullseye in just 5 shots....i was impressed! never had i done this that quick with a rifle. i was shooting from a caldwell lead sled and i have over 20 years of shooting experience and no flinching is involved because of the lead sled. at the 100 yard bench this thing was all over the place! i went back to the 50 yard bench and this thing is still dead on. i do not think i could shoot at a deer at 100 yards and call myself and ethical hunter. i usually spend at least $300 on a scope and am partial to leupolds but thought i would try the cabelas lever scope for this gun in 44 mag since its taylored to this gun and ammo....not sure who to blame but not 100% satisfied in performance at 100 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2010

ruger 44 mag carbine

By
Location: mORRISTOWN tn
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
have used this in my semi-auto RUGER 44 mag with great results cycles very well is this semi auto rifle no hangs and very accurate
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2010

Less than satisfied

By
Location: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have a model 94 trapper in .357. As it has a nasty habit of deforming the bullet while in the tube, I purchased the Leverevolution in an attempt to remedy this problem. Although it did indeed solve the bullet deformation problem, it will not cycle 100% through to chamber a round. It consistently missed feeding at least once in every 9 rounds every time I have tried it. Sometimes it hangs up in the tube, other times it sticks in the feed ramp. I have not had this problem with any other brand of ammo.
The overall length of the round is slightly longer than a 158 grain flat tip soft point but the case is visibly shorter. I don’t know if this is part of the problem but I cannot count on this round to reliably feed through my firearm. Not a good confidence builder for a defensive round.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2010

Wow!

By
Location: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I recently bought some of this ammunition to try in my .35Rem 336 Marlin to see what it was all about for a hunting trip. I must say it is all I will use for hunting from now on, despite the higher cost. It was by far more accurate than my other ammo brands well out over 100 yards with iron sights. So much so, at first I thought it might be a fluke and had my friend try, and he got the same results. It also felt more powerful out of the rifle, though I have no way to prove it. I was extremely impressed with my groupings out of my rifle. I recommend people try this in their lever gun to compare!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2010

357 MAG REVOLUTION

By
Location: TN
THE 357 MAGNUM 140 GRAIN LOAD SHOOTS JUST FINE IN MY TAURUS 651 SMALL FRAME SNUBNOSE REVOLVER. HITS ACCURATELY AT SELF DEFENSE RANGES, & I CAN HANDLE THE RECOIL IN THIS 25 OUNCE GUN VERY WELL AT AGE 64.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2010

Good Ammo

By
Location: Tempe, Arizona
I recently used this ammo in my Marlin 336 (.30-.30) out fo ra javelina Hunt. Lets just say that javelina didn't stand a chase at 100 yards. Know I just hopes it works on Texas Hogs
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2009

Leverevolution in .44 mag

By
Location: New Glarus, WI
The LEVERevolution was by far the best load I have shot out of my Super Redhawk yet(7.5 in. barrel w/ red dot scope). I have shot numerous loads and these shot the tightest groups.(holes very nearly touching at 50 yards) I have yet to use them on deer, but with any luck, I will know in about 3 weeks how they perform. Very pleased with these loads!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2009

44mag from Marlin Lever action

By
Location: Washington......the State
My 11yr old son took an Eastern Washington Mule deer down with the 44mag at just over a 150 yards. Unfourtunatly he hit him in the right hip area with the 1st shot but the bullet destroyed the hip bone. Kill shot was in the neck and it destroyed the neck bone/spine as well. Hip shot bullet did seperate and that was the only issue but did mushroom well. I thought accuracy was very good at 100yards with 4x scope and 18.5" barrel. Product worked as expected. Keeps me from having to buy him a .243 next year now that I know it works well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2009

.44 Mag LeveRevolution

By
Location: Spartanburg SC
I had a chance to shoot this for the first time yesterday at the range. I have an old 60's model Marlin 336 in .44 Mag with weaver see through mounts and weaver fixed 4x scope. Its a hand me down rifle I got when I was 14. I haven't shot it much but when Hornady came out with this ammo for it I thought I would give it a try. I sighted in at 50yds with semi wadcutters shooting from a bench by hand/no bench rest. Then switched over to the leverevolution after I got my zero. Point of impact didn't change much, with the wadcutters I had maybe a 5" group, the LeverRevolution tighted the group up a little and I had several two shot holes. The thing that really impressed me was when I pushed my target out to 100yds. First shot I naturally aimed a little high, thinking the bullet would drop a bit more at that range, and to my surprise the bullet was high. I fired again center of the target and it hit maybe an inch low. After that I fired the last 6 rds center of target and had about a 4" group. I was just amazed how flat the rounds fired out to 100 yards. I'm very happy with the rifle and the bullets. Haven't used these to hunt so I can't comment on how well it works on Deer or pigs. I'll have to try a benchrest next time I'm out to get a better Idea of accuracy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2009

.357 LEVERevolution

By
Location: Indiana
I was wanting something for an upcoming mountain lion handgun hunt.
This ammo groups well from my 6" S&W 686 out to 50 yds and seems to have great penetration. It is a little "hotter " to shoot than my standard 158 g ammo, but very reasonable. I have already recommended it to fellow hunters and will use it for deer this year too. (out to 50 yds). I have started carrying it in my personal protection hangun too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009

Hornady 45LC

By
Location: Temple, Georgia
one of the better rounds on the market. Hornady ammo is and has always been great in performance. I use it for all of my firearms where it is available. This round was purchased for the "Judge" which also shoots the .410 rounds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009

Hornady Ammo

By
Location: Pennsylvania
Very Satisfied
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009

I love these bullets

By
I shoot a ruger redhawk and they work great with this gun. I would defintely recommend them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2009

44 LC leverevolution

By
Location: PA & WV
This was well worth the wait (due to back order).
Shoots well, and is probably more accurate than I am.
Purchased it for my Ruger vaquero and Henry Big Boy to use on the hunt.
Worked well at the range, this fall will decide the field.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2009

357 Mag Ammo

By
Location: SWAMP LAND FLORIDA
I can't beat them for the price.They do the job for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2009

My Majestic Bucks or, History Repeats Itself!

By
Location: Milton, Florida (North-Central Santa Rosa County)
It's a little after 5:30 a.m., two weeks before the end of the 2008-09 Alabama deer season, during the height of the rut. I have just left my truck to walk about 100 yards to my shooting box. I have to cross over a shallow ditch and up a slight enbankment to the flat ground where the shooting box is located. I don't believe that I can be any quieter. When I get about 15 feet behind the rear door to the shooting box, I stop, and freeze. 39 yards in front of the shooting window, of the box, stands a truly Majestic, 10 or 12 point buck, his eyes are locked on me. It is barely light enough out to see him, but I do, so I very slowly lower my backpack to the ground and raise my .35 rem lever action to my shoulder and turn on the illuminated reticle of my scope, placing the center of the cross hairs on the base of his neck, and fire! In a micro-second, the buck is gone? That is the last time that I ever see him. It's also the last time that I will use that rifle and the Hornady Leverevolution ammo that I used that morning! Two hours later, using my rangefinder, I determined that from where I shot, the shot was right at between 49 to 54 yards, "a gimmee shot!" I decide to sight in on the center of a circular knot, on a large scrub oak, about six feet above ground level, and at the same distance, to check my rifle, and another Leverevolution cartridge. I fire, and the bullet hits about 3/4" above where I aimed. I have shot three deer, in the vicinity of where I shot at this one, at 95, 70, and 143 yards with my Remington 7mm-08, using 140 grain Winchester Supreme Ballistic Tips, and all three deer dropped on the spot! Ask me if I remember the last time that I shot my .35 rem at a buck, a giant, 300-pound plus Michigan whitetail, near Brethren, Michigan. I shot at him 3 times, hit him twice, and he still ran off, never to be seen by me again, and that was almost 54 years ago! Oh yes, he was a 12 or 14 pointer, and even more Majestic than his Alabama counterpart.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2009

Excellent Performance!

By
Location: Fredericksburg, OH
These bullets are super accurate! I have a Ruger GP100 6" pistol w/red dot scope, and I could shoot through my previous bullet hole at 120yd.! Not kidding. Oh, and w/out a vise, just resting on a piece of firewood. I had 6" of drop from 50 to 120yd. That's my only issue with them, but they are 140gr. after all. Can't wait to try it on live game!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009

Great

By
Fantastic for lever guns, good hitting power for most medium range game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 111