Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns

HORNADY Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns

Hornady’s successful line of LEVERevolution® ammo has been expanded to include these popular revolver/lever gun cartridges. The Flex Tip™ of the FTX bullet enhances bullet flight characteristics and opens up new application possibilities with supercharged performance for lever-action rifles chambered in .357 magnum, .44 magnum and .45 Long Colt with tubular magazines. Muzzle velocity is greatly enhanced, resulting in longer effective range, flatter trajectory and devastating terminal effect with reliable expansion. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
87 out of 95(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Review 41 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SWAMP LAND FLORIDA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

357 Mag Ammo

Date:August 18, 2009
I can't beat them for the price.They do the job for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Milton, Florida (North-Central Santa Rosa County)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

My Majestic Bucks or, History Repeats Itself!

Date:July 23, 2009
It's a little after 5:30 a.m., two weeks before the end of the 2008-09 Alabama deer season, during the height of the rut. I have just left my truck to walk about 100 yards to my shooting box. I have to cross over a shallow ditch and up a slight enbankment to the flat ground where the shooting box is located. I don't believe that I can be any quieter. When I get about 15 feet behind the rear door to the shooting box, I stop, and freeze. 39 yards in front of the shooting window, of the box, stands a truly Majestic, 10 or 12 point buck, his eyes are locked on me. It is barely light enough out to see him, but I do, so I very slowly lower my backpack to the ground and raise my .35 rem lever action to my shoulder and turn on the illuminated reticle of my scope, placing the center of the cross hairs on the base of his neck, and fire! In a micro-second, the buck is gone? That is the last time that I ever see him. It's also the last time that I will use that rifle and the Hornady Leverevolution ammo that I used that morning! Two hours later, using my rangefinder, I determined that from where I shot, the shot was right at between 49 to 54 yards, "a gimmee shot!" I decide to sight in on the center of a circular knot, on a large scrub oak, about six feet above ground level, and at the same distance, to check my rifle, and another Leverevolution cartridge. I fire, and the bullet hits about 3/4" above where I aimed. I have shot three deer, in the vicinity of where I shot at this one, at 95, 70, and 143 yards with my Remington 7mm-08, using 140 grain Winchester Supreme Ballistic Tips, and all three deer dropped on the spot! Ask me if I remember the last time that I shot my .35 rem at a buck, a giant, 300-pound plus Michigan whitetail, near Brethren, Michigan. I shot at him 3 times, hit him twice, and he still ran off, never to be seen by me again, and that was almost 54 years ago! Oh yes, he was a 12 or 14 pointer, and even more Majestic than his Alabama counterpart.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fredericksburg, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Performance!

Date:July 21, 2009
These bullets are super accurate! I have a Ruger GP100 6" pistol w/red dot scope, and I could shoot through my previous bullet hole at 120yd.! Not kidding. Oh, and w/out a vise, just resting on a piece of firewood. I had 6" of drop from 50 to 120yd. That's my only issue with them, but they are 140gr. after all. Can't wait to try it on live game!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:June 23, 2009
Fantastic for lever guns, good hitting power for most medium range game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Gu

Date:June 19, 2009
I have bought and used both .357 magnum, and 45-70 LEVERevolution ammo and it is just totally impressive. The accuracy, power and increase in distance of these loads pumped up the confidence in myself and in the guns that I use them in. I am fully confident that I can bring home any of the deer that reside here with the .357 mag loads in either my revolver or lever gun. And, I purchased the rifle scope recommended by Hornady for these loads for my 45-70, and will not hesitate to pull down on elk out to 300yds, (and maybe a bit more). Next order I place is going to be for the .44 magnum LEVERevolution ammo and see what that does to my hunting plans.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dependability

Date:June 18, 2009
Just finished 3 boxes through my new Henry Big Boy Deluxe, .44 mag., and this ammo fired perfectly every shot. The group at 50yds. stayed in 3 in. 100 yds. stayed in 5 in. I'm getting more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Peoria, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44mag leverevolution

Date:May 19, 2009
A very nice round maintains punch beyond 50yds. Burns clean, does not seem to tumble as bad.
Warning: read the label this round is not for auto pistols!!
A friend tried to use them in my DE .44 mag, they got hung in the magazine and would not chamber. The plastic tip makes the round too long.
So, for what they were intended they're great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

leverevolution in .357

Date:May 18, 2009
Doesn't seem any more accurate at the range than regular HPs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rwb

Date:March 30, 2009
I recomend these products to any one great product and great pricing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina, Log cabin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Faster and more punch

Date:March 2, 2009
The 30/30 was the best. Compaired to Win 150gr the the muzzle vol. went up 100 FPS with a heaver bullet and gave me an increase in energy of 300 Ft Lbs and point of impact high. good 150-175 with a scope maybe 200.
44 mag. Pistol 5in bbl. slower than my max load even with a lighter bullet, more accurate but alot less energy like 300 ft lbs. Now a rifle in an old carbine auto short barrel an increase in speed 100 fps and 100 ft lbs with a lighter bullet and less recoil. Rifle is good pistol so so but I still got 1550 ft lbs at the muzzle more accurate and less recoil in the pistol, not to shabby.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern California High Desert
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEVERevolution

Date:February 23, 2009
Great ammo! Accurate and hits like a sledghammer at 150 yards out of my 7 1/2" Super Redhawk .44 Magnum. Definately will be hunting with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Norman, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

450 Ammo

Date:February 10, 2009
This stuff hits a ragged hole at 100 yds, out of my 450 XLR without much concentration. Can't wait to try it on a pig or a deer. This is now the dedicated ammo for that 450, bought a bunch of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ridgway, Colorado at 8,000 ft. Lots of Snow
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady LEVERevolution ammo

Date:February 9, 2009
Very Good Ammo. Shoots great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very accurate

Date:February 9, 2009
Used .45 colt loads in both my Winchester 94AE and Ruger Alaskan in very windy weather...was able to hit center at 50 yards with iron sights using my lever and felt almost no recoil with my pistol.
Well worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nelson, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEVERevolution

Date:February 9, 2009
LEVERevolution 444, 44 Remington Magnum, 45 Long Colt, 357 Magnum all Excellent Ammo. Accurate and Deadly. I think there great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

45 colt

Date:February 5, 2009
I was pleased with the performance on paper. I have not put them to use on game. If you keep the brass to re-load, be very careful. The brass is about a 1/16th of an inch shorter than regular 45 colt brass. This will affect the case capacity and the cartredge OAL.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ramona, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.45 LC - Good job!

Date:January 26, 2009
Another great product from Cabelas. I'm picky about shooting clean rounds through my SA .45. These appear to be clean-burning cartridges with consistent performance. I don't reload, and good quality fully jacketed factory loads are hard to find in .45 LC.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mobile, Al.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo for my weapons.

Date:January 8, 2009
I use in my Bushmaster .450, My Ruger 45LC, My Winchester 30-30, and my Smith & Wesson 29 44 mag. Great ammo that gives awesome power and makes a good weapon a great and much more flexible weapon by providing real knock-down power at greater distance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hondo,texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one shot one kill

Date:January 1, 2009
got a cabelas scope for christmas (lever revouloution,30-30)and a couple of boxes of lever evoloution ammo
after sighting in with standard ammo i shot two shots hole to hole with this ammo
went hunting the next day and light was very poor at 07:05 in the morning when a spike walked out.
the scope still gathered enough light to see my crooss hairs and i put the bullet right through his heart
he ran 50 yards and hit hard
entry hole was about the size of a shirt button, the exit wound was the size of a half dollar
i was very impressed with the performance of this ammo
thank goodness the components will be available for reloaders this year
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® LEVERevolution® for Revolvers and Lever Guns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEVERevolution® .45LC

Date:December 30, 2008
I purchased LEVERevolution® in .45LC specifically for handgun hunting in my revolver. At the range they were very accurate (3 inch groups hand held without support) out to 50yds. Recoil was what one would expect with these rounds, more than cowboy loads but less than magnum rounds. One shot kill on a 250lb. hog at 30yds."
"I also plan to hunt with these in my .45LC lever gun as well. Two inch groups at 50yds. using a sandbag as a rest. Thanks, Hornady and Cabellas for providing such a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 95