Customer Reviews for RCBS RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press

RCBS RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press

The APS® priming system and reliable mechanical cam action make this Pro 2000 press a great way to get started in progressive reloading or add another option to your existing setup. APS is the safest, most convenient priming system around. A strip loader and empty strips are included in this kit. You get the Pro 2000 press with the ability to use five stations to help you crank out completed centerfire rounds faster than you can with a single-stage press setup. A case-activated powder measure stops accidental powder spills, and the Uniflow™ Powder Measure features a precise micrometer adjustment screw for consistent powder charges with each stroke. Quick-change die plates let you switch from one caliber to another quickly and easily, and you can change the primer size you’re working with in less than a minute. Other accessories include: a bullet tray, an empty brass bin and a loaded cartridge bin. Dies and shellholder not included.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Review 1 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Expensive door stop

Date:July 31, 2010
I bought the Pro 2000 after using the Rock Chucker for over 20 years. I wish I had kept my rock Chucker. After numerous correspondence and parts exchanges from RCBS, all I still have is an expensive door stop. I do not recommend this "progressive" press to any one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: TimSD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Missing parts

Date:March 7, 2010
I thought this reloader would be on of the best money could buy and save me money I guess not.It all started out I was missing parts rcbs is great about getting them to you but what a pain waiting for them.Then setting up is also bad!Instructions lead you all over steps now I have a problem with the powder dispenser crushing cases.I'd buy the rock crusher and other accesseries and be done with hassle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

RCBS Pro 2000

Date:February 14, 2008
I bought this press 4 weeks ago and had nothing but problems with it. It's not difficult to set-up but, the shell-plate holder would not allow me to index the shell plate. RCBS sent me another plate holder and it wouldn't work properly either. Calling them and talking to their support staff didn't solve the problem. Nobody could figure out why it would index. I'm sending the entire thing back and will get a Lee press today. The RCBS digital powder measure and dispensor are fantastic, though. I highly recommend the combo unit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

RCBS PRO, Not for a Beginner!

Date:March 24, 2010
I bought one of these because I thought it would be great for speeding up the sometimes tedious task of reloading. It can, but it is not for a beginner - setting it up requires some knowledge about reloading and some patience in getting each station working properly. It is nothing complicated, it just takes some time to make sure everything is set up right.
I had a real problem with the APS priming system. I assume it must work properly for most people, but I kept getting primmers seated sidewise and upside down. RCBS sent me parts to replace, but it didn't fix it, so I returned it.
Other than that, it seemed to work fine. One other note for those looking for accurate loads: Short cases (primarily pistol straight wall cases) may slosh powder out when the case shell is advanced to the next station. Make sure the press is solidly attached to a bench top that doesn't move or vibrate (I anchored mine to the wall in three places).
When it is working, it is fun to watch a finished bullet pop out with every pull of the handle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hickory NC
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth considering with some fore thought

Date:May 9, 2011
Most of the reviews here are good and accurate of the machine. Cabelas service and RCBS service were excellent in the two issues I had. That makes it worth looking into as service on this type of purchase is vital.
The one reviewer commented that the unit would not be for a beginner and that may well be true enough. However I would recommend that one download the manual for this product on the RCBS web site and read page six on the set up options. This unit may not be for some people regardless of skill level.
One can tumble the casings with the primer in the casing however when in the press the sizing and decapping are in one step and the priming and neck expansion in another step. One can not seat and crimp in two separate steps if one wants a "lock out die" for safety. There are choices one can make; however some thought must be given to these choices and how the reloader chooses to reload; or, perhaps a six station rotary press.
It is a good product but not for all re-loaders regardless of their skill level.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pro2000 5 years later

Date:December 23, 2008
The Pro2000 has a large open work area to easily see what you're doing. Massively constructed for long-term durability. Relatively easy to clean. Powder measure is acurate and reliable. The shell plates change easily and offer secure holding of the cartridge case. Cases can be removed at any step of assembly if there is a problem. The APS strip primer feeder system is very convenient, but, on rare occasion breaks down because of frail nylon parts, which is the system's only problem.
The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is because of the APS feeder system. (RCBS makes the system and CCI offers primers in feeder strips of 25 primers. They are plastic and securely hold the primers in place (kind of like a belt-fed machine gun) for insertion into the cartridge primer cup. There are two nylon parts that advance the APS primer strips into the press. In the first case the detents (very small pieces) would break. RCBS send me free replacements, never a question asked, promt and courteous.
Then they redesigned the APS feeder system and send me an entire NEW assembly unit, which, as a wild guess, must have cost a couple of hundred bucks. NO CHARGE!!! They just sent the thing to me and it worked like a charm. Then a nylon strip pusher in the new system broke. They sent me another strip pusher.
Its the nylon/plastic parts that appear to be a consumable. I see that they now offer a primer feeder tube, (which they offer as an option to the Pro2000). I'm going to try that to see if I can get away from the nylon parts that wear and break.
Other than that, overall this is an extremely will built press. AND RCBS has superb customer service. I would recommend buying it. Without exception, RCBS has the very best customer support of ANY company I've ever dealt with. Really, those people are fantastic!!!!
Sincerely, JohnC
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reloader

Date:October 31, 2012
The RCBS 2000 progressive press is easy to put together and simple to operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A worthwhile upgrade

Date:April 11, 2012
I upgraded from my old AmmoMaster auto-indexing progressive to the Pro 2000. I am very pleased with my decision. Set up was not very difficult using the enclosed product instructions, but I found that the online PDF from RCBS had clearer photographs. The way the powder measure is attached to the press instead of the die plate makes switching out die plates for different calibers much easier. The included APS primer loader and strips saved me time and money buying APS strips and a primer loader.
The spent primer system is also a major improvement over the older AmmoMaster that used a plastic tube.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Station set up for RCBS Pro 200

Date:December 7, 2011
If you are having problem setting up your Pro 2000, Cabelas sells a vidio, Precisioneered Hand Loading DVD, it will take you through all the sts to set up your Pro 2000, it worked for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane, Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the money

Date:May 16, 2011
I replaced my Rock Chucker Supreme With the PRO 2000 and am extremely happy. I wish I had done that sooner. Very easy to set up if you read the directions and and don't try assembling it before you understand what they say. Some of the steps are already done from the factory. Just take your time and don't rush, pay attention to detail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hays, KS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well built to last a lifetime

Date:February 6, 2011
I bought this to load mainly pistol ammo. Setup was pretty straigtforward and went well. Took a little while to get used to loading the primer strips, but once I got started, I loaded a bunch. I purchased shell plates for 9mm, 38 spec, and 45ACP.
Just loaded 2000 45's with no problems..no missed primers or rejects. All loads moved easily thru the loader without jams..crimps look perfect.
Loaded 500 38 specials and all went great. Took just a little time to switch shellplate and go to small primer seater. After I got the dillon dies adjusted, I loaded the 500 in no time. 9mm has been just as easy.
Well bult loader, just like all of RCBS's products. This machine is built to last a lifetime, but I really recommend it to the advanced reloader. Takes a little experience to get it set up perfectly, but once set everything stays put and runs like clockwork. I can see how it could be difficult for novice loaders if this is their first progressive. You should keep it clean and lubricated and don't let crud build up under the shellplates.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vallejo, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCBS Pro

Date:January 24, 2009
I know what happened to copnjax,
The index pawl was cinched down too tight to the index bar, and that didn't allow the plate to advance. It just went back and forth. The same thing happened with mine when I put it together.
I took it apart and found the problem.
I sent RCBS a note letting them know, and asked for a few replacement parts, which they sent with no questions asked.
This is my first progressive and I love it. Once I fixed the little problem, and lightened the detent ball spring, this thing hums!
RCBS simplifies the progressive process and build a superbly strong press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RCBS® Pro 2000 Auto Progressive Reloading Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wow, I like mine!

Date:February 10, 2008
this press is fast,easy to set up and use. It is not intended for those that are looking to load test shots. It is meant to crank out accurately loaded shells. I personally recommend a power check with any progressive loader and extra shell plates and Die plates. Between myself and my friend Rob we have loaded many thousands of shells. We have needed parts but a factory 100% free under lifetime warranty. I am 100% satisfied with the quality and funtcion of this press and the warranty is super!
Cheap - NO Good value - YES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.