Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets

BARNES Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets

The Tipped TSX features a 100% copper body with rings cut into the shank. A polymer tip boosts BC, improves long-range ballistics and provides even faster expansions. Exceptional accuracy and penetration.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 110 reviews
5 Stars
97
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
105 out of 110(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Review 21 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome accuarcy

Date:April 8, 2013
I am using the 130gr 270 ttsx's and have shot half inch groups at 100yds and close to 1 inch at 200yds. I have not had an opportunity to take an animal with these yet, reason for 4 instead of 5 stars. I'll update my post after I've used them on game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullets

Date:March 19, 2013
These are by far the best hunting round I have ever used. They are very accurate and have awesome knockdown power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Performance and Accuracy

Date:March 12, 2013
I was forced to switch to a non-lead bullet several years ago due to the California Condor lead exclusion zone and have never looked back. I have switched all my rifles, shotgun slugs and muzzle loader rounds to the Barnes and couldn't be happier. Absolutley best accuracy in all my guns as well as terrific performance on the deer and hogs I have shot with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes TSX bullets

Date:March 5, 2013
Excellent consistency o0f expansion characteristics. I use these exclusively for large and dangerous game [NA and Africa] in big bore rifles. They just perform with predictable accurracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Medicine for Large 4 Legged Critters

Date:February 26, 2013
Used this bullet for elk hunting in Colorado, stellar performance in 300 RUM and 300 Win Mag. My shot was a bit under 200 yards, but it was a bit back and high from "ideal" and the big 5x5 went down in a big heap after going only 30 yards! Shot exited after taking out the tops of both lungs; could not ask for better performance!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets

Date:February 19, 2013
These bullets loaded into 300 AAC Blackout. Exceptional Accuracy . I loaded these for Hog hunting. Now just need to shoot them into a Porker. There will be no issue with the accuracy if I just point the gun in the right direction. I am impressed with the way the bullet opens up. I think this bullet would make an excellent White tail load also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Bullets

Date:February 12, 2013
The Barnes TSX are great for hunting. They also group very well in my .270, .300 Weatherby and .375 Kimber. I suggest that the reloader experiment with OAL and work up loads that are less than the maximum listed in the Barnes manual. These bullets offer excellent penetration and create a large wound channel. Overall, they are my first choice for a hunting bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullet

Date:February 5, 2013
Great bullet. Highly recommend for 375 H&H pushing about 2800 fps. Groups were awesome at 100 yds at a little more than half an inch. Only kill so far was a big south Texas doe at 170 yds, blew through her so easy she never even felt it. Double lung shot with about a half dollar size exit. Would not recommend ever shooting a whitetail any place solid. You will lose meat. Now if I could just find me a 300 lb boar hog to try them on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes TTSX Bullet

Date:February 5, 2013
I have used Barnes 120 gr TTSX in my 7M-08 the last two years with excelent results. They are accurate and deadly on deer and hogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bullets

Date:February 5, 2013
These are the best bullets for any game. Never had a deer take another step after taking a hit. 100% weight retention, I've retreived a bullet. Also very accurrate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cant say enough

Date:February 5, 2013
as always every bullet will shoot differant in every gun but thease work extreamly well in my 300 wby i have taken moose brown bear stag caribue elk ect from 20 yds to 320 yds flys rignt and stays together and holds it weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No arguments from 2 deer this season

Date:January 30, 2013
In my Armalite AR10T these shoot almost as well as factory match kings, about 0.6MOA. I shot the first deer at 230 yards through the lungs and it collapsed after about 40 yards. The second one I shot at less than 40 yards through both shoulders and it collapsed on the spot. I agree with one of the other reviewers that the exit wounds aren't huge but the deer are not going far and they seem to be pretty mangled up. I like having a bullet that works well both near and far cause sometimes Mr. Bambi doesn't like to cooperate!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Tipped Triple-Shocks

Date:January 22, 2013
Great bullets. Worth the cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bullets yet

Date:January 15, 2013
I have been reloading for over 20 years and have tried far too many different bullets and powders in test loads. In 2011 I worked up the most accurate loads for long range (an elk hunting trip). I never got to use them on an elk but this past whitetail season I took two deer with two shots, one at 524 yards and one at 502 yards. I will never again experiment with other bullets and powder. Be warned, not all rifles will shoot well with all bullets and seating depth is critical with all copper bullets. Test and then test some more as well as shoot a lot at long range to be sure of your ability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tipped Barnes TSX

Date:December 6, 2012
I have used Barnes bullets on game from deer to elephant. I have NEVER had a bullet failure even in the biggest magnum rounds. The bullets that I have recovered have always been 100% weight retension with the text book X mushroom. I have made many one shot kills with these bullets even on 3 different cape buffalo. I like using the tipped TSX (as long as you have enough room in the magazine for the longer over all loaded lenght than a regulat tsx) to gain the better balistic coefficent for longer range ballistics. I have hunting rifles that routingly shoot sub 1/2 MOA groups using these bullets.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308" 130TTSX

Date:December 5, 2012
Great accuracy from my 30/06's with H4895, speed is 3150fps. Small sample, 1 buck @ 25yds through the right front shoulder blade and exited mid ribs. Very heavy and very short blood trail to a 175lb whitetail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and work well on pigs.

Date:November 26, 2012
Shot great groups out of a Rock River 458 SOCOM and a Marlin 45-70 (Ballard rifled).
One shot stop on a 225 lb boar at 60 yard. Heart/Lung shot. Did not go more than two steps. For me that is real performace in a bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2012 elk hunt

Date:November 20, 2012
I booked and planned a fall 2012 Elk and Mule Deer hunt in Montana. While preparing for the hunt I started working up hand loads for the Savage model 110 in 300 Win Mag I planned to use on the hunt. I tried many different bullet, primer, powder combinations looking for the one the gun liked in many different weights. I found it liked a premum 168 grain bullet with under M.O.A. groups but when I went to the Barnes Tipped TSX 180 grain the group went to .500 or less at 100 yards off sand bags and under 2 inches at 300 yards. I was able to practive out to 400 yards so when we spotted the bull and the guide asked how far I was comfortable taking the shot I said 400 yards and in. I shot my 5X5 bull at 362 yards and brought him down with one shot. I also made a one shot kill on a well above average Mule Deer. With 2 one shot kills terminal performance was all I could have asked for. I got pass throughts on both shots with with large wound channels that brought the animals down on the spot. I know practice and shot placement is the key. I feel I did plenty of practicing putting well over 200 rounds through the gun prior to the trip. With a gun and bullet combination that shot that well it gave me all the confidence to make the shots I did. The Savage 110 shoots way better than a kit gun it that price range should and the Barnes bullets I believe helped make that happen.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent performance

Date:November 19, 2012
Excellent expansion and weight retention with the .224 62gr. They preformed very well on white tail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TTSX bullets

Date:November 19, 2012
been using thees for a while and they shoot super Accurate and expand great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 110