Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets

BARNES Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets

The Tipped TSX features a 100% copper body with rings cut into the shank. A polymer tip boosts BC, improves long-range ballistics and provides even faster expansions. Exceptional accuracy and penetration.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 117 reviews
5 Stars
103
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
112 out of 117(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Review 21 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes TTSX 150 gr. 7MM Weatherby

Date:August 13, 2013
I have used Barnes bullets since they came out with the original X bullet and the accuracy and lethal combination on big game are exceptional. I've loaded the 7mm 150 gr TTSX with RE 22, 73 gr and my groups are within .50" at 100 yds. and 1" at 200 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

performance

Date:August 5, 2013
I shot a moose a couple of years ago with Triple Shock bullets. All 4 passed through vitals at 220 yds. The cartridge was 30-06 so velocity was not high at that range. Going on another trip this fall and am concerned that these bullets do not seem to open up at moderate velocities.
What has your experience been?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bullet

Date:July 16, 2013
I first tried Barnes bullets a few years back because I live in the "lead free zone" in California. I originally used the TSX bullet but switched to the TTSX bullet when they became available because the tipped bullet expands better and has a higher BC for better long range performance. Although the TTSX bullet has a bigger hollow point than the TSX it is still a very tough bullet so when hunting big game I try to avoid the classic double lung broadside shot that I grew up favoring with traditional lead core bullets that expand more. When possible I try and break a shoulder to ensure a quick recovery of the game. I have taken Barnes' advice and have dropped down one size of bullet weight to gain greater expansion, shock and flatter trajectory. For example I used to shoot 140 grain lead core bullets in my 7-08 and now I use a 120 grain TTSX. Expansion and weight retention are always excellent. Barnes bullets have always been very accurate in my hand loads (usually less than MOA). Barnes recommends .03 - .07 off the lands seating depth and 90% of the time .05 gives me the best results. Barnes Reloading manual is a great resource for load data. I am so pleased with the performance of the TTSX bullet that I use them in about 10 guns ranging from .243 - .375. Give Barnes TTSX a try, you'll be happy with the results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great in 300 Blackout

Date:June 18, 2013
These bullets shoot very good in my 300 blackout. Ran it out to 300 yards and consistently produced 3-4 inch 5-shot groups. Gonna give some hogs and deer a nap with these!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Bullets

Date:June 11, 2013
Love these bullets, accuracy is A+. The main reason I use the Barnes bullets is due to the expansion. More one shot kills that quickly dispatches your game. Excellent bullet for any caliber. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes bullets

Date:April 30, 2013
I have used these bullets for some time now and will not reaload hunting ammo with anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wish I'd Bought These Sooner!!!

Date:April 9, 2013
Have seen the performance of these bullets before, but had never tried them myself. Bought one box .224dia. 62gr. for loading my AR 15 .223 Rem. 20" Colt Match Target. Three shots at 100m covered with dime accurate. I won't ask for more. Look forward to using on hunt. Will most certain buy more. Don't let the price scare you away, they are worth every penny!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome accuarcy

Date:April 8, 2013
I am using the 130gr 270 ttsx's and have shot half inch groups at 100yds and close to 1 inch at 200yds. I have not had an opportunity to take an animal with these yet, reason for 4 instead of 5 stars. I'll update my post after I've used them on game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullets

Date:March 19, 2013
These are by far the best hunting round I have ever used. They are very accurate and have awesome knockdown power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Performance and Accuracy

Date:March 12, 2013
I was forced to switch to a non-lead bullet several years ago due to the California Condor lead exclusion zone and have never looked back. I have switched all my rifles, shotgun slugs and muzzle loader rounds to the Barnes and couldn't be happier. Absolutley best accuracy in all my guns as well as terrific performance on the deer and hogs I have shot with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes TSX bullets

Date:March 5, 2013
Excellent consistency o0f expansion characteristics. I use these exclusively for large and dangerous game [NA and Africa] in big bore rifles. They just perform with predictable accurracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Medicine for Large 4 Legged Critters

Date:February 26, 2013
Used this bullet for elk hunting in Colorado, stellar performance in 300 RUM and 300 Win Mag. My shot was a bit under 200 yards, but it was a bit back and high from "ideal" and the big 5x5 went down in a big heap after going only 30 yards! Shot exited after taking out the tops of both lungs; could not ask for better performance!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets

Date:February 19, 2013
These bullets loaded into 300 AAC Blackout. Exceptional Accuracy . I loaded these for Hog hunting. Now just need to shoot them into a Porker. There will be no issue with the accuracy if I just point the gun in the right direction. I am impressed with the way the bullet opens up. I think this bullet would make an excellent White tail load also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Bullets

Date:February 12, 2013
The Barnes TSX are great for hunting. They also group very well in my .270, .300 Weatherby and .375 Kimber. I suggest that the reloader experiment with OAL and work up loads that are less than the maximum listed in the Barnes manual. These bullets offer excellent penetration and create a large wound channel. Overall, they are my first choice for a hunting bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullet

Date:February 5, 2013
Great bullet. Highly recommend for 375 H&H pushing about 2800 fps. Groups were awesome at 100 yds at a little more than half an inch. Only kill so far was a big south Texas doe at 170 yds, blew through her so easy she never even felt it. Double lung shot with about a half dollar size exit. Would not recommend ever shooting a whitetail any place solid. You will lose meat. Now if I could just find me a 300 lb boar hog to try them on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes TTSX Bullet

Date:February 5, 2013
I have used Barnes 120 gr TTSX in my 7M-08 the last two years with excelent results. They are accurate and deadly on deer and hogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bullets

Date:February 5, 2013
These are the best bullets for any game. Never had a deer take another step after taking a hit. 100% weight retention, I've retreived a bullet. Also very accurrate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cant say enough

Date:February 5, 2013
as always every bullet will shoot differant in every gun but thease work extreamly well in my 300 wby i have taken moose brown bear stag caribue elk ect from 20 yds to 320 yds flys rignt and stays together and holds it weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No arguments from 2 deer this season

Date:January 30, 2013
In my Armalite AR10T these shoot almost as well as factory match kings, about 0.6MOA. I shot the first deer at 230 yards through the lungs and it collapsed after about 40 yards. The second one I shot at less than 40 yards through both shoulders and it collapsed on the spot. I agree with one of the other reviewers that the exit wounds aren't huge but the deer are not going far and they seem to be pretty mangled up. I like having a bullet that works well both near and far cause sometimes Mr. Bambi doesn't like to cooperate!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Barnes Tipped TSX Triple-Shock X-Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Tipped Triple-Shocks

Date:January 22, 2013
Great bullets. Worth the cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 117