Customer Reviews for Pioneer Powder Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Pioneer Powder Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4

Endorsed by renowned big-game hunter Jim Shockey, this premium muzzleloader propellant is clean, accurate and dependable. In fact, Jim trusts GOLD when hunting dangerous game such as Cape Buffalo, where a misfire could mean the difference between a trophy and disaster. Available in four 1-lb. bottles of granular powder or four 10.06-oz. bottles of Shockey's GOLD Sticks&#8482. The 150-gr. equivalent Super Sticks™ four 6.38 oz. bottles burn better and provide unbelievable accuracy. Per 4.Available: .50 caliber sticks - 10.06-oz. containersFFFG - 1-lb. containers FFG - 1-lb. containers Super sticks - 6.38-oz. containers
Overall Customer Rating:
2.742 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
14
14 out of 31(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Review 21 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DONT USE THE STICKS

Date:December 3, 2008
I tried this product in the stick form. Could not get a consistant pattern at 25 yds. Shot 12 times and the burn rate was different EACH TIME!! Shot placement was everywhere.
Cleaned my muzzleloader in the field, swithched back to another brand and had a center shot in 3 tries. Maybe the loose powder is better don't know. But the sticks are a waste of money!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Burleson, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works for me

Date:November 29, 2008
Although I have shot BP ML for a long time I haven't ever used a modern ML or any modern BP replacement powder. I got the Jim Shockey's gold based on advice from a sales person at Cabela's.
The powder works as advertised and I was able to shoot some excellent groups @ a 100 yards using 300 grain bullets and two 50 grain pellets of Gold while siting in a new rifle. Took only 15 shots total to get zeroed!
It was pretty easy to clean up as advertised. Only complaint is that it is available only in 50gr pellets. Wish it had smaller increments to adjust loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:November 18, 2008
Great Product! The best grouping and cleanest powder I have ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Johnson City, TN.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Powder

Date:October 27, 2008
I can't figure out what people are complaining about. This powder is great. I have shot 1 bottle of the sticks and no misfires. Does not leave a black mess in barrel like 777 or pyrodex. If your having misfires, try another brand of primer. As for accuracy, you can't get any better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Washington, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Jim Shockey's Gold Sticks

Date:August 27, 2008
I wish I would have read the previous reviews before buying the product. I went by name recognition as most probably do. Pros--convenient and easy cleanup. Cons--very inconsisent charges-- The sizes vary. I actually had to chip the corners off a couple sticks to get them to fit down the barrel. I shoot a TC prohunter. It groups better with 777 and pyrodex. I think they (777 & pyrodex) may be better alternatives for most people.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Ontario Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Jim Shockeys Gold-American Pioneer Powder

Date:June 24, 2008
I used this powder to hunt with this last fall 07 it sited in no problem but I noticed that the powder granulations are some what inconsistant, it does clean up well like they say and does not smell and leave bad residue the only thing different between Shockeys Gold and American Pioneer Powder is the price to have Jim Shockeys picture on the bottle I tryed both powders and got the same result. I must say the powder worked ok for me and I took my first muzzle-loader buck this last year using it a nice 225lb 8 piont Buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2shots 2kills

Date:May 18, 2008
switched in 07, two ran less than 60 yards.Pull the trigger and gun ALWAYS goes off. Left my gun loaded until 1st week of may and it still went off.Less smoke than pyrodex and no hang-fires or missfires like triple seven pellets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Fool's Gold

Date:April 16, 2008
Do not, I repeat, do not buy this powder. If you want some, I have 3/4 can left because I gave up on trying to make this work. Terribly inconsistant, dirty, and a lot of misfires. What more can I say.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Did you work for that other company?

Date:April 8, 2008
I have now gone through 4 pounds of this product. I have no complaints. My rounds are hitting the targets and the clean up is easy. I've just ordered more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pendleton, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Unhappy

Date:March 13, 2008
I am very disappointed in this producted. When I took my first look at the design thought to myself it was a little strange looking. I was always told that a square peg won't fit in a round hole and I was right. When I went to load my gun some pellets droped right down the barrel, and some scraped the sides going in. Its pretty sure the quality standards are very low on them. Shooting was another problem, sighting in a brand new rifle, 34 shots later and inconsistent shooting, I finally gave up and switched to another brand (you know, the one with the hole in it) and 10 shots later I was done. I would not recomend this product to anyone that takes shooting seriously.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Pioneer Powder Jim Shockey's™ GOLD™ Powder – Per 4
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Bob of New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very unhappy with this product

Date:March 5, 2008
I was very unhappy with the performance of this product. I had wasted a lot of time an money and hope I can spare you the same. When I went to sight the gun in I had nothing but problems. First of all, just look at the design of the pellets. They are a sort of triangle that are a different width at one end. Not a problem at first however, just shoot a few rounds through the gun and you will see that the pellets start to get wedged in the gun. That day on the range I problobly fired about 25 rounds trying to sight the weapon in. Out of those 25 shots, about 4-5 of them were some type of odd mis-fire. I dont know how to describe the mis-fire other then it sounded like a "Poof" sound. When it mis-fired the gun did not kick like it normally does and the bullet did not hit anywhere on the target! The first time it did this I thought maybe it was just me or I mistakenly only put one pellet in instead of the two that I was using. But this was not the case. I made a point each time to ensure both pellets were in. As a result, I sent an e-mail to the company weeks ago. To date, I have not heard a word back from them. I have since went back to the "other" pellets with the hole in the middle and re-sighted my gun in. If you buy this product, I hope you have beter luck....Bob...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-31 of 31