Customer Reviews for BOND ARMS Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers

BOND ARMS Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers

Descendents of the original Derringer Pistol, these double-barrel personal-defense firearms are ideal for carry in a pocket, purse, tackle box or pack. Sturdy stainless steel construction and handsome hardwood handles. Chambered to shoot .45 Long Colt cartridges or .410 bore shotgun shells, they’re among the most powerful handguns of their kind. Barrels are interchangeable with other calibers available from Bond Arms. Automatic extractors facilitate quick reloading. Rebounding hammers allow fast follow-up shots. Retracting firing pins and crossbolt safeties add peace of mind. Spring-loaded, cammed locking levers create a tighter frame-to-barrel fit. All have blade front and fixed rear sights. Made in Texas by Texans. Available: Snake Slayer – If you live or hike in snake country, this is ideal protection when loaded with .410 shotgun shells. It has a 3.5" rifled barrel with a chamber that will accept 3" shotshells or .45 LC cartridges. Extended custom rosewood grips and trigger guard are standard. Snake Slayer IV – Identical to the original Snake Slayer, but with a longer 4.25" rifled barrel. Cowboy Defender – Built for fast drawing and quick shots, this ultracompact model sports handsome hardwood grips, but has no trigger guard, making it easy to shoot even when wearing gloves. The short 3" rifled barrel accommodates 2-1/2" .410 shells and .45 LC cartridges. Special Edition Texas Ranger – Celebrate the 200th anniversary of the Texas Rangers with this limited-edition gun and knife set. Both have visually striking grips made of Texas Mesquite wood and Texas Ranger stars handmade by Texas Dept. of Corrections inmates. Custom glass top display case. The 4.25" barrel accommodates 2-1/2" .410 shells and .45 LC cartridges. USA Defender – Its 3" barrel will chamber 2-1/2" .410 shells and .45 LC cartridges. Comes with a premium driving/concealed-carry holster. Pink Mini – Its the smallest .38 Special/.357 Magnum on the market. Pink grip scales.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Review 1 for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Pluses and Minuses

Date:September 15, 2012
I wholeheartedly agree that this is a superbly constructed derringer, and I like its looks. I bought the Snake Slayer IV in 45 LC. I discovered that because the chamber will accept the 3" 410 shotshell, it will also accept a 454 Casul round, and I suspect that a 460 magnum round will chamber as well. I mentioned this to Bond. They said not to try to fire a 454 Casul round. The 45 LC operates at about 25% of the pressure of the 454 or 460. So be careful you don't get your ammo mixed up.
The derringer is very concealable, but for some reason it has very unnatural feeling in my hand. For the price, I think my funds could have been better utilized. I bought it on an impulse, and wish I had employed a little more self-restraint.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: King County, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snake Slayer IV

Date:February 27, 2010
Lucky me, on whim drove to Lacey Cabela's and they had ONE Snake Slayer IV left! This is a very comfortable piece. Easy to operate and the recoil is mild for such a powerful yet small package. The trigger pull will take some getting used to. It's nothing like most semi-autos I've shot; it's a heavier pull.
First shot with 45 colt ammo was in left field, but after that it was not bad at all shooting at roughly 18 feet. Only shot 8 rounds 45 colt LFN and 6 shells 410 Federal Handgun. I am going to have a lot of fun with this extremely well crafted piece. I was able to come within (8 - 10 inches) reasonable distance of aim point in my opinion. I am quite confident that after shooting 50 rounds of 45 colt that I will have the sights and barrels pretty well figured out and should be within a few inches of aim point. For a gun this small that is pretty accurate. With shot shells, at 15 feet or less, the target (subject) will be quite full of lead; 000 or 00 buck should do quite well at that range too. If you want a smaller and slightly lighter unit, get the 3 1/2" Snake Slayer, still accommodates 3" 410 shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Concealed Pistol

Date:December 27, 2012
Pistol is easily concealed and comfortable to carry, prefer it over my other three Pistols
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It has its place...

Date:October 13, 2012
Above all... I really love the gun.
Shooting 45LC has about the same recoil as shooting a 9mm... Believe it or not. When I used the 000 buck... It really smacks you in the hand. Yes, it's not a "range" gun. But it's very easy to manage.
People say,..."the gun is hard to pull the trigger". No, that's not true. It's just different. Meaning, to pull the trigger, it's a down-ward action vs. the straight back like other guns.
Also, it's a single action. With practice, it's pretty easy to pull and cock the hammer back in your drawl. I bought the "driving" holster which makes it really easy to use.
It is engineered very well... And if you run out of ammo, it makes a great "brass knuckles"!
This derringer is bigger than others but small and narrow enough that you can just put it in your front pocket. I carry this as a back up or in my daily primary.
Yes, it's only a 2 round gun... But 90% of people are close enough for just one good round to use. Think of it this way... It's a "mini" Judge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bond derringers are great personal protection guns

Date:August 11, 2012
I chose the Bond .357/38 cowboy defender as my day to day carry weapon. It is extremely well made and I feel that I can safely carry this gun because it's anti-hammer bouncing feature. I use .357 hollow point ammo and had 4 bullet loops sewn into a hidden area of my cellphone pouch. I generally use a pocket holster which allows me to carry it in my jeans without being seen. I chose a derringer to carry because I have had my semi autos jam, although rare I have even had my revolver misfire such that I could not pull the hammer again. These problems are OK at the range but not when you are carrying for protection....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

well worth it

Date:July 24, 2012
I have the .410/45LC Snakeslayer and it is the easiest gun to carry I own. Thus I carry it easily. We all know the best gun to use is the one you have with you... Moreover, at a recent group shooting trip, all the guys wanted to try it and everyone was impressed by how simple and sturdy it was. Easy to clean too !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Aubrey, Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snake Slayer .45LC/.410 3.5in barrel

Date:January 28, 2012
Excellent concealable protection! Built like a tank from all stainless and you can order interchangeable barrels of different calibers direct from the mfg's website plus a wide range of holster options! I keep 000 buck in mine in the 3 in shells and drop a couple .45LC in my pocket for backup. Also have the B.A.D. all leather driving holster for cross draw capability and a comfort when driving that is easily accessable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Packs a Powerful Punch

Date:September 4, 2011
I recently purchased the Snake Slayer in .45 Colt / .410 Shot Shell. I put a box and a half of .410 shells through it the first day and this little shooter is impressive. I'm using 2 1/2 inch #8 shot intended for Rattle Snakes and other varmints. The Snake Slayer is accurate right out of the box and fits the hand quite well. Recoil is mild and very controllable, the Rose Wood grips are well presented and provide a very stable grip as well. I like the stiff trigger pull as a serious decision maker. I doubt if there will be any accidental discharges with this one. This is one comfortable hand gun to use with a potent punch as well. I highly recommend this shooter. Bond Arms built a winner with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bond Arms Centerfire Derringers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snake Slayer IV

Date:August 12, 2011
Fine weapon. Built to last. The 3 inch 410s kick like a mule but the 45s are not too bad. I like shooting the 45s but would probably use the 410s if I CC the gun which I do not. I have not tried the 21/2 inch Win PDX 410 in it yet. But I want to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.