Customer Reviews for AGUILA Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

AGUILA Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain

You won't find this .22 ammo just anywhere. If you're a persistent plinker who wants good performance and quality .22 long-rifle loads at a great value, these Interceptors are perfect for you. These 40-grain copper-plated loads fire 1,470 fps. Per 500 rounds. Available: .22 Interceptor
Overall Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
24 out of 30(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Review 1 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Avoid

Date:July 23, 2013
Bought a brick....sadly.
Had 3 fail to fire primer problems out of first 20.
The ones that fired were extremely dirty and smoke wafted
out a lot after each shot. Even dirtied up my hands enormously..
I wouldn't give these to my brother-in-law.
Avoid
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, reliable ammo

Date:June 25, 2013
This ammo fired reliably (only about 3 FTE for 100 rounds) in both my very picky Sig 22LR conversion and my CMMG 22LR conversion. Gave 3/4" groups at 25 yds using open sights and 1" at 100. I haven't been able to take it out hunting yet, so I cannot comment on its effectiveness in filling the pot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FTF Nightmare

Date:October 14, 2012
Purchased this ammo based off all the positive reviews. One out of every two rounds FTF in my 22/45. After comparing them to other brands I found them to be shorter, thus causing them to jam on the feed ramp. Waste of money if shooting through a semi automatic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cheshire, OR.
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Powerful! But Dirty!

Date:December 28, 2011
I like these because the power. They are a little dirty, but most Aguila "Hot" ammo is. I bought these when I couldn't find clean burning CCI Velocitors. Never had a FTF. I will buy more when I can't get CCI's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lafayette, IN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ajuila .22LR Interceptor

Date:July 12, 2011
I have been using these in my Buckmark Camper for mainly plinking and target shooting. I have found the accuracy to be pretty good. I'm not the best shooter by far, but at 50ft I can keep a 10 shot group close to a 2in circle, and usually get 4-6 into a 1.5in dot I put on the target. When I first started shooting these I don't remember them being very dirty, but the last brick I went through, I found them to put out more smoke, but I have shot cheap bulk ammo that was dirtier. I have never had a misfire, ever, with these and usually you can get them for a pretty good price here on Cabela's. Also, my son has been putting them through his 10/22 with no feed problems and I think the higher velocity really works well in it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Interceptor

Date:November 18, 2010
Just went thru half a brick with no ftf or fte. I will be buying more. I shot this thru a GSG-522 and not a single problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheap but unreliable ammo...Very Dirty.

Date:June 8, 2010
Shot this ammo through my Glock 19 conversion kit and that was not a very good experience. Dirty ammo for one. Jammed the gun almost every single time. Bought a whole brick because the cover looks good. Waste of money. Of course for the conversion kit CCI's were recommended and that what you should stick to if you do not have dedicated 22L gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value!

Date:April 10, 2010
My son and I just fired 350 rounds of the Aquila Interceptor from four different weapons – an antique Mossberg Model 152 carbine, a Ruger 10/22, a Remington 510 Targetmaster, and a finicky Sig Mosquito. The rounds performance was exceptional in all weapons except the Mosquito, though I can’t blame the round for the performance in this particular weapon. We’ve experienced misfeeds with this weapon from CCI, Remington, Winchester, and Wolf ammunition. This said, of the 100 Aquila rounds fired through the Mosquito, we experienced only 9 misfeeds. We found these rounds to hit higher than expected and had to re-zero, however, with their muzzle velocity, I should have expected a variance. The only downside to this ammo is the residue. One must perform a thorough cleaning after using these rounds. Great value!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VIVA AQUILLA

Date:December 2, 2009
Aquilla has brought .22 LR rounds to the next level with these babbies at 1470 fps. They have as much hitting power at 100 yds. as most .22 LR do at the muzzle. And just when you thought it couldn't get any better Aquilla out does themselfs again with their .22 LR Supermaximum Hyper Velocity rounds. These little whistlers clock in at over 1700 fps. They definatly give you .22 Mag. velocity out of a .22 LR. Ten to twenty years ago velocities in these numbers was unheard of from a .22 LR., but not today. People complain that they are dirty, or leave a lot of residue behind, but with velocities in these ranges you have to expect some sort of comprimise. It's definatly the powder that gives these rounds their sizzle, and if it burns a little dirty then so be it. I challenge anyone to find another .22 LR round with the same, or higher velocity in any brand. You will have to rezero your scope though, as they group higher than any other .22 LR does at 100 yds. For their increased velocity they group better than I expected. They arent going to group as tight as match ammo, but then most match ammo only tilts the scales at 1080 fps., at best. Without rezeroing the scope the interceptors hit dead on at 150yds, and the Supermax's are a little low at 200yds !!! AQUILLA !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aquila Intercepter .22LR

Date:November 29, 2009
Hi-vel .22LR ammo that is also accurate is hard to find. For years I've used CCI Mini-mags, and that is my preferred load, but I needed something hotter for my Tactical Solutions/Buckmark pistol. My Tactical Sol/Buckmark is equipped with stabilizer and equipment rail, and I found the Interceptor rounds to be as accurate as my preferred load. Further, I found the Interceptor to be a little hotter than my preferred load, providing exceptional functioning. I had no stoppages during a 200 round drill using a TLR-2 laser for target acquisition. At 25 yards, where the laser touched--the Interceptor impacted. Afterward, clean up was fast with a tooth brush and bore snake soaked with my favorite cleaning solvent. I purchased two bricks of this ammo, and I'm going to assume the second brick will be as reliable and accurate as the first brick. If not, there's my old reliable load...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Twentynine Palms Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ballistic Consistancy in a 22!!!

Date:September 10, 2009
100 rnds. fired from a hvy brl tgt Ruger 10/22 @ 100yds. This ammo held a 4.5 in. group with seven rounds as flyers out-side. Shot from a sandbag- the ammo performed better than I expected. Good price-great deal. Ordered 1,500 more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tempe, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kind of greasy

Date:July 16, 2009
Overall pretty good ammo. I put 200 rounds through my 10/22 without one single FTE or a FTF. So that was good. The only bad thing is the grease that comes on the shells. It gets in the gun, and all over your hands, also a bit on the expensive side for plinking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Dallas, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This stuff is junk

Date:July 2, 2009
About 10% misfeed or plain won't fit in the breech. Another 5% are duds. Spend the extra couple of bucks and get real, reliable .22 ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mayby for a bolt action

Date:June 15, 2009
If you like gun cleaning these are the shells for you. There is so much residue that they clog up semi-autos. They may be fast and accurate but they were very disappointing to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hot but dirty

Date:May 23, 2009
Rounds worked well, but were dirty upon receipt. I had to hand clean each cartridge. The factory didn't do a good job and they were fouling my pistol. If your weapon isn't finicky and you clean it after every use, these will work fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: three lakes WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

drillopad42

Date:May 11, 2009
good buy. Will get'em again when I run out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

interceptor

Date:May 4, 2009
a little pricey but mainly using it as a hunting cartridge in my mark III hunter. accurate with no misfires in a couple hundred rounds so far. i like it, compares with velocitor real well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo, great pirce

Date:April 20, 2009
I have an AR-15 for fun and a .45 Glock that I carry for self defense. I like to do a lot of plinking to keep my skills up but the price of ammo has gone through the roof, and that's if you can even find any.
My solution was to buy a .22LR target pistol and a .22LR conversion kit for my AR. Now I can actually get ammo for practice, not to mention that it is far easier on my wallet.
The Aguila Interceptor rounds are great. They had the highest muzzle velocity I could find at a reasonable price. They work great with my AR conversion kit and they work great in my target pistol as well.
I've gone through about 300 rounds so far. No misfires, no FTEs, no problems at all. My first order was for 500 rounds of this ammunition and I like them so much I have since ordered another 1500 rounds.
Have fun shooting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: A volcano
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:April 7, 2009
This is great ammo. It is pretty cheap and it will get the job done. I've shot dozens of vermin with these rounds and they will not get up after a hit. Also an accurate round, haven't shot groups past 50yd (where it was bout 1/3 inch group) but it seems fine at a 100 plus. You canm hit a 8 by 5inch steel plate every time at one-fifty.
P.S. Have had no problems with cycling in semi-autos, no jams yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aguila .22LR Interceptor - 40 Grain
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Franklin, Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aguila Interceptors perform as claimed

Date:March 10, 2009
These 40 grain high velocity 22s exhibited excellent acuracy grouping under one inch at fifty yards and averaged 1433 fps at 15 feet thru my chronagraph from a 20inch barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 30