Customer Reviews for IKE-CON Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

IKE-CON Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

A slug load with the all the ballistic advantages of a polymer-tipped bullet. The polymer tip increases the bullet's ballistic coefficient, making it sleeker and more aerodynamic. Capable of 2" groups at 100 yards and 4" groups at 200 yards. Other advantages include increased downrange energy, high 1,900-fps velocity, controlled expansion and a flatter trajectory than hollow points. Per 5.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
36 out of 47(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Review 21 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shooting Slugs

Date:January 8, 2008
These slugs are some of the best shooting for accuracy, flat trajectary, and knockdown power I have ever shot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

Date:January 8, 2008
This new slug from Federal cycles and shoots flawless. Sighted in at 150 yards dead zero. They are pricey but well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marion, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

federal barnes expanders 20 gauge

Date:January 7, 2008
I have hunted since I was 14 or 15. I got my big game license when my son turned 13, as a promise to him. Since then I have taken at least one white tail deer every year. All the deer have been taken with one shot, mostly heart shots. I did get a very nice eight point buck this past season with one shot in the neck. I would not use anything else in my Remington 870 20 gauge except barnes expanders sabot. Excellent and very accurate. P.s. I am a lady...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sussex County, DE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs-Deadly Accurate

Date:January 7, 2008
I picked up a few boxes of these in 20 Ga. to get my gun sighted in before our shotgun season. It didn't take lon and I only shot through a box and a half and some of that was for fun. I had no problem getting 1 inch groupings at over 100 yards. I was poking holes in the center and I put 2 through the same hole. DEAD ON!!! I didn't have any super long shots yet this season, but the 2 that I have killed so far proved the effectiveness of this round. This Tipped Slug is an awesome round. I have had excellent penetration and expansion. Neither of the deer got beyond 10 yards. The first just crumpled up and the second didn't get much farther. This is an accurate deadly package for a slug gun and I will keep buying them for my H&R.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Surf City, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dropped in tracks

Date:January 4, 2008
Bought my son a slug barrel for his 20 ga. youth 870. Topped it with a 2x7 Leupold shotgun scoped. It took 4 shots to get it zeroed at 75 yards. Opening day he took a nice 8 pointer for his first good buck. He dropped the deer in its tracks at about 30 yards. The slug was just under the skin on the far side and looked like a daisy flower as big as a silver dollar. I will be using these bullets next year after having 3 deer run up to 100 yards with my 3006.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glen Gardner, N.J.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Slug Yet!

Date:November 27, 2007
I use a H&R 20 guage single shot slug gun. I went to the range with a variety of different make and brand slugs, including the slugs I used last year.
I was very impressed with the power and accuracy of the Barnes Expander Slugs!
At 50 yards I cut right thru the bullseye, so I went directly to 100yards and shot a three shot group in 4 inches!
Very impressive, and did I mention the power, the other 3 inch shell didn't compare. Be careful if you use a scope. You don't want to get scope eye!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

frederal premium vital shock 12ga.expander tipped

Date:November 24, 2007
I picked up a box of federals premium vital shock Barnes Expander tipped 12a. sabot slugs to trial at the gun club range.I proceeded to fire a 1" group at 50 yards,shooting all five rounds."Wow"!,Impressed to say the least!I used a Mossberg Trophy Slugster shotgun to perform accuracy test.Truthfully this is the best grouping of any sabot style slug I have ever used out of this shooting rig!Try it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Warren,Ar.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

Date:November 5, 2007
Good group at 100 yards. Hadn't shot any further, bought for a 100 yard shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N.J.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Barnes Expander out of 12ga 11-87 Hastings

Date:November 3, 2007
I purchased a box and shot a 3/4 inch 3 shot group at 65 yards which is better than I shoot with a rifle. I need to purchase more to get the gun zeroed in at 100 yards. The last 2 shots were 4 inches low at 100 yards with the 65 yard zero. If the killing power is as good as the accuracy these slugs will be devestating on game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hunt in Noth Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal 20 Ga Tipped Barnes Expanders

Date:October 9, 2007
The area I shotgun hunt changed from a requirement of lead only slugs to Sabot slugs permitted for the upcomming season.
I tried several brands of slugs thru a 24" 20 Ga fully rifled barrel. The best shot group by far was the Federal Tipped Barnes Expanders.
@ 50 yds supported, my initial shot was about 3 inches high and to the left. I made an adjustment and refired. This centered the shot but was still high. I adjusted and fired, re-adjusted and fired, then repeated once more each time taking the scope down 2 clicks.
The result was a trail of holes touching coming down the paper. At 50 yds I have ~true rifle accuracy from a slug gun.
I would recommend these slugs to anyone serious about accuracy and performance!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Barnes Tipped Expanders

Date:October 9, 2007
I tried all kinds of slugs in my Beretta 24" 1-28" twist rifled slug barrel and these by far are the best. At 50 yards they nearly go thru the same hole, at 100 yards they shot a tight 2" group. Compared to the others, these have the tightest most consistant groups, great wind resistance and shoot really flat out to 150 yards. I can't wait for deer season to try these on whitetail. Federal has a winner with this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsgrove NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This 20 guage slug has Rifle like accuracy!!!

Date:October 5, 2007
I just purchased these slugs! I fired them from my TC encore Pro Hunter Series 20 guage 28" fully rifled barrel. These slugs performed flawlessy! I shot a 5/8" group at 100yds. That is right, one ragged hole! I shot the Remington buckammer and my results were a 1 1/2" group, the buckhammer shot 13"s lower at 100yds than the Federal Barnes tipped. The rate of twist in my 28" barrel is 1 in 26". keep this in mind when shooting these high velocity slugs, as they may not stabilize out of slower rate of twist barrels. I also compared this Federal Barnes tipped slug to the 2 3/4" Barnes expander 20 guage slug. I was not happy with the Barnes expander(non-tipped)as my groups opened to about 4" at 100yds. I will be trying this out next month in Illinois on whitetail deer. This combination of the Federal Barnes Tipped expander 20 guage 3" slug, and my Encore slug barrel is by far the best shooting slug combo I have shot yet!
Fenwick from Pittsgrove, New Jersey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate in Mossberg 500

Date:February 9, 2012
These tipped slugs have improved ballistics over traditional shotgun slugs. I tested the Rem. AccuTip, Hornady SST, and Federal Tipped Barnes Expander out of my 20 ga Mossy 500. All three shot really well, the Remington had a slight edge over the Federal, and the Hornady were not quite as accurate, but still very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NW Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just my gun maybe?

Date:October 16, 2008
These slugs shot horribly out of my heavy-barreled H&R single shot slug (12ga) gun. I have tried other tipped slugs out of this same slug gun and it didn't like any of them either. I doubt this is in part due to the slug/shell. I think you have to be careful reviewing ammunition simply because every gun firing it is different and likes different loads. I gave this a 4-star because I didn't want to skew the rating since the slug is probably stellar in performance, like most all other Barnes bullets. It just didn't shoot well in my set up. It may even shoot good for someone that has the same brand/model of gun that I have- again each one is different. I really liked the design, velocity, and ballistics of this slug, which is part of what made me try them anyhow. Barnes reputation for effects on game would be the other factor that influenced me to try them. Based on that, I would still recommend these slugs to my friends to try and see what they would do for them and their guns. I know some people read/use these reviews to see if someone else has already mentioned results with the same gun that they have before they purchase them, so that is basically what I am letting people know. Again, not to say they won't fly well out of your H&R. Give them a shot, it's worth the price of at least one box just so you know. If they do group well for you, the ballistics and thus range should be crazy (good) for a 12 gauge slug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good as Gold

Date:September 10, 2008
I recently tried these slugs (3 inch) in my 20 gauge Browning Gold Deer Hunter with a 2-7x Leupold Rifleman slug scope. I had previously tried Lightfield, Remington Corelokt, Winchester Partition Gold, and Hornady SST slugs, with the Hornadys giving me the best 50 yard grouping of around 2.5 inches. The Federal Barnes Ballistic Tip grouped around 1.5 inches at 50 yards. I have not hunted with these, so I cannot offer any opinion on their effectiveness on game. I realize that each slug gun is different with respect to slugs, but I offer this review for those who have Browing Gold slug guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: nehalem, oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet

Date:February 25, 2008
i just loved these shells great expansion, accurate,total knock power, all around just a good shell
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Liberty Hill, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Slug for the Money

Date:January 8, 2008
I shot these slugs using a Benelli Super Black Eagle Shotgun with a E.R. Shaw Custom Slug Barrel and also a Remington 1100 with a Hasting Slug Barrell. They shot very consistent out to 125 yds through both guns. I got more consistency through the Hasting barrel then the H.R. Shaw. For me they didn’t shoot as well as the Winchester Supreme Partition Gold slugs that I still shoot through the Shaw barrel but I’ve found that slugs are still very inconsistent out of the same gun and you really need to shoot several brands to find the best slug for your gun. I had trouble getting the 4 inch grouping at 200 yds as claimed on the box but hey, how many times are you throwing slugs at deer out to 200 yds anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Central New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Barrel Confusion

Date:December 3, 2008
5 inch groups" @ 100 yards out of my 20 Mossberg 500 rifled barrel. The groups open up to 12 inches at the same distance out of my 20 H&R slugger. The 2-3/4 flavors all seem to shoot more consistently out of both guns. They kill just the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

few flyers

Date:May 21, 2008
This would have been my slug of choice if they grouped well. The best 5 shot group I got was 5". I shot 2 other boxes and both had flyers way off the paper. I also noticed that some of the sabot petals would break off after being fired. I used a solid rest at distance of 100 yards. I clean my gun after each 5 shot group. I have better accuracy with a couple other brands but neither have the velocity or down range energy of this slug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Fed Barnes Exp Tipped Slugs

Date:March 10, 2008
TC Pro Hunter - 28" barrel - 4-5" grps at 100 yds. Expecting really great grps from this bullet, just would not do it! Hornady SST grps 1.5" consistantly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 47