Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

FEDERAL Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

A slug load with the all the ballistic advantages of a polymer-tipped bullet. The polymer tip increases the bullet's ballistic coefficient, making it sleeker and more aerodynamic. Capable of 2" groups at 100 yards and 4" groups at 200 yards. Other advantages include increased downrange energy, high 1,900-fps velocity, controlled expansion and a flatter trajectory than hollow points. Per 5.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
36 out of 47(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Review 21 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2008

Reel Tight

By
Location: Maryland
This is an amazing slug. Knowing not all guns shoot a particular slug like another, this one through mine is awesome. Four out of five touching at 100 yds, with sub four inch groups at 200 yds. I am, as were the others watching, very impressed with accuracy. Can't wait to see the stopping power in the field, this is the real test.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2008

Wildly inconsistent

By
Location: Knoxville, TN
Shot this ammo through an 870 and a 11-87. Shots were all over the place, sometimes as much as 20 inches apart. Very surprised, have used other Barnes Expander slugs with great results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2008

Lethal

By
Location: Eastern shore of Maryland
Shot for the first time today, this is a lethal shotgun slug. The first five shots at 100 yds were touching, higher than the other slugs I had been using, which were slower fps, thus the difference. With a good measurement, a few scope cliks, the next five 1" high @ 100yds. 3 of five were touching with the other two less than 2 inches off the first three. Gun was dirty and hot by now, so I quit. I shoot H&R 20ga., Bushnell Banner,D/D 3x9 scope. Maryland is mostly shotgun, hope to beat last years final number of deer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2008

Good as Gold

By
Location: Northern Illinois
I recently tried these slugs (3 inch) in my 20 gauge Browning Gold Deer Hunter with a 2-7x Leupold Rifleman slug scope. I had previously tried Lightfield, Remington Corelokt, Winchester Partition Gold, and Hornady SST slugs, with the Hornadys giving me the best 50 yard grouping of around 2.5 inches. The Federal Barnes Ballistic Tip grouped around 1.5 inches at 50 yards. I have not hunted with these, so I cannot offer any opinion on their effectiveness on game. I realize that each slug gun is different with respect to slugs, but I offer this review for those who have Browing Gold slug guns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2008

Useless

By
I shot 5 rounds out of a Remington 870 at 50 yds from a sandbag rest. The group diameter measured 8 inches.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2008

pleased

By
Location: Wellington, OHIO!
Here in Ohio deer hunting is a shotguns only proposition but due to new advancements in slug technology that is no longer a short range deal. I have an Ultra Slug Hunter single shot 12 guage with a heavy barrel (made by H&R) and it shoots these slugs very well.. 1 1/2 in groups at 100 yards. I dropped a nice 8 pointer in its tracks with one shot at 130 yards. It comletely knocked it off its feet as if a semi truck hit it! I shot a piebald doe the next year at about 30 yards with these same slugs and it also dropped in its tracks. I have yet to shoot these on paper at 200 yards but plan to do so soon. I'd also like to try Hornady's SST as my friend shoots those very well and see which one groups the best. Good Hunting to all this season!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2008

few flyers

By
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
This would have been my slug of choice if they grouped well. The best 5 shot group I got was 5". I shot 2 other boxes and both had flyers way off the paper. I also noticed that some of the sabot petals would break off after being fired. I used a solid rest at distance of 100 yards. I clean my gun after each 5 shot group. I have better accuracy with a couple other brands but neither have the velocity or down range energy of this slug.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2008

Fed Barnes Exp Tipped Slugs

By
TC Pro Hunter - 28" barrel - 4-5" grps at 100 yds. Expecting really great grps from this bullet, just would not do it! Hornady SST grps 1.5" consistantly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2008

sweet

By
Location: nehalem, oregon
i just loved these shells great expansion, accurate,total knock power, all around just a good shell
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

Very accurate

By
Location: Dallas, Tx
Shooting 1 1/2 groups from my Rossi slug gun. I am very pleased.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

Incredible

By
Location: Plainfield, IN
I bought a 20 gauge deer gun this year so I can ease my wife into deer hunting next year. I tried several different brands of slugs and I liked these best - I was having all three holes touching at 100 yards with iron sights!
The real test was what they would do in the field, however. I had harvested two does with another brand of slugs, with typical pass through results. The giant 170 pound doe I hit with the expander tips went 10 yards and dropped. You would have thought I hit her with a sledgehammer - the vitals were just obliterated with no pass through. That Barnes did the job that a 12 gauge would have done!
My wife may be getting my old gun for next year...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2008

johndeere1

By
Location: syracuse new york
best balistc tipped slugs i've shot. they shot 1 inch groups at 100 yards though my winchester sx3. great slugs
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2008

Expander tipped plugs

By
Location: New Jersey
They were excellent!!! I was out in the gun season, one shot at 50 yards right on target. Deer didn't go 10 yards. Created a larger than normal entrance hole, but very effective!!!
I bought five boxes and I am glad I did.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

Great Shooting Slugs

By
Location: MI
These slugs are some of the best shooting for accuracy, flat trajectary, and knockdown power I have ever shot!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

Federal Premium Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

By
This new slug from Federal cycles and shoots flawless. Sighted in at 150 yards dead zero. They are pricey but well worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2008

Good Slug for the Money

By
Location: Liberty Hill, TX
I shot these slugs using a Benelli Super Black Eagle Shotgun with a E.R. Shaw Custom Slug Barrel and also a Remington 1100 with a Hasting Slug Barrell. They shot very consistent out to 125 yds through both guns. I got more consistency through the Hasting barrel then the H.R. Shaw. For me they didn’t shoot as well as the Winchester Supreme Partition Gold slugs that I still shoot through the Shaw barrel but I’ve found that slugs are still very inconsistent out of the same gun and you really need to shoot several brands to find the best slug for your gun. I had trouble getting the 4 inch grouping at 200 yds as claimed on the box but hey, how many times are you throwing slugs at deer out to 200 yds anyway.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

federal barnes expanders 20 gauge

By
Location: Marion, NY
I have hunted since I was 14 or 15. I got my big game license when my son turned 13, as a promise to him. Since then I have taken at least one white tail deer every year. All the deer have been taken with one shot, mostly heart shots. I did get a very nice eight point buck this past season with one shot in the neck. I would not use anything else in my Remington 870 20 gauge except barnes expanders sabot. Excellent and very accurate. P.s. I am a lady...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

NOT FOR ENCORE PRO HUNTER

By
Priced o.k for high tech ammo. But if you are using it in a Encore Pro Hunter 20 gauge, I found that the brass expands to the point that you can not break open the action for about a minute. If your looking for a second shot or sighting in the gun try the Federal Partition Gold. A bit pricy but faster and harder hitting than any other 20 gauge slug made to date.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs-Deadly Accurate

By
Location: Sussex County, DE
I picked up a few boxes of these in 20 Ga. to get my gun sighted in before our shotgun season. It didn't take lon and I only shot through a box and a half and some of that was for fun. I had no problem getting 1 inch groupings at over 100 yards. I was poking holes in the center and I put 2 through the same hole. DEAD ON!!! I didn't have any super long shots yet this season, but the 2 that I have killed so far proved the effectiveness of this round. This Tipped Slug is an awesome round. I have had excellent penetration and expansion. Neither of the deer got beyond 10 yards. The first just crumpled up and the second didn't get much farther. This is an accurate deadly package for a slug gun and I will keep buying them for my H&R.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2008

dropped in tracks

By
Location: Surf City, NC
Bought my son a slug barrel for his 20 ga. youth 870. Topped it with a 2x7 Leupold shotgun scoped. It took 4 shots to get it zeroed at 75 yards. Opening day he took a nice 8 pointer for his first good buck. He dropped the deer in its tracks at about 30 yards. The slug was just under the skin on the far side and looked like a daisy flower as big as a silver dollar. I will be using these bullets next year after having 3 deer run up to 100 yards with my 3006.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 47