Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

FEDERAL Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

A slug load with the all the ballistic advantages of a polymer-tipped bullet. The polymer tip increases the bullet's ballistic coefficient, making it sleeker and more aerodynamic. Capable of 2" groups at 100 yards and 4" groups at 200 yards. Other advantages include increased downrange energy, high 1,900-fps velocity, controlled expansion and a flatter trajectory than hollow points. Per 5.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
36 out of 47(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Review 1 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2013

awesome slugs

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I do alot of Deer hunting in New Jersey. And I always used Lightfield Slugs until this year. While sighting in I had a few shots. fly off the mark. So i tried the Barnes Expanders at 3/4 ounce they hit there mark every time at the range. And when it came to Deer I shot 8 Deer with 8 shots and everyone drop in there tracks. I highly recommend these slugs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

DEADLY ACCURATE

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
These slugs will make your rifled barreled shotgun shot like a rifle. Zeroed @ 100yds........they are good from zero to 125 yds. Hard to beat that type of accuracy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012

Very Accurate in Mossberg 500

By
These tipped slugs have improved ballistics over traditional shotgun slugs. I tested the Rem. AccuTip, Hornady SST, and Federal Tipped Barnes Expander out of my 20 ga Mossy 500. All three shot really well, the Remington had a slight edge over the Federal, and the Hornady were not quite as accurate, but still very good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2011

GREAT Slugs

By
Location: Hillsdale, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought a new Savage 212 and put a leupold1-4x on it. Used these slugs and shot 1" groups at 80 yards. Went out hunting this year and shot a doe and a 14 point buck with them. They worked great and with great success. Would recomment them to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2011

Your better off throwing rocks

By
Location: Los Banos, Ca
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
All over the place with a Remington 870 even at 50 yards. No consistency.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2010

GOD AWEFULL

By
Location: Upstate NY
Shooting a Rem 870 w/ cantilever rifled barrel topped w/ Nikon 2X7 scope. Sand bagged on a sturdy table. First box of "Tipped" was all over the right side of a 2'X3' target at 100 yds. Second box of "Tipped" sprayed all over the left side! I did NOT adjust the scope in any way during my attempt at sight in. Then shot the "Expander" NON-Tipped version which showed a very tight group!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2010

20 Ga Barnes Exp Tipped 3" mag

By
Location: Ellington, CT.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Sighted in my Savage model 220f today.
These slugs produced groups of 1 inch at 100 yards. I tried several slugs, these were by far the best. Looking foreword to deer season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2009

great slug

By
Location: columbus, ohio
I have taken several deer using this ammo with great results. I am shooting a Browning Deer Stalker semi-auto and it holds a 1.5 group at 100yards and 3.5 at 200 yards. With the preformance out of these sabots i would not think twice of taking a deer at these ranges with the proper rest.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2009

12G- 2 3/4in 3/4 oz: remington 870

By
Location: Ohio
Sighted in my new Leupold scope on my Remington 870. Went through 5 different slugs trying to find a good match. Federal'd Barnes Tipped slugs were the best I shot. Sighted in at 100 yds with about a 2 in. group right on the bulls. Two days later took a doe double lung shot, beautiful blood trail and went about 30 yds. Def. would recommend these slugs. Well worth the slightly high price for the accuracy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2009

Federal Premium Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

By
Location: Belleville, Il
I have an Remington 870 Wingmaster with a cantilever barrel with a Bushnell Banner Scope. This deer season i had to shoot this load on three different ocassions and each time it seemed to shoot differently but finally i got it dialed in, or so i thought. i ended up getting an opprotunity at a eight pointer at about 40 yards i put my crosshairs on him and fired but the deer was not hit i fired two other times but still nothing. i know what many of you are thinking it probably its him and i have to admit i would think the same thing but i am very particular about my equipment and everything is in excellent condition. this round has cost me a deer and i am very dissaponted in the performance of this round needless to say i will be switching to another sabot slug.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2009

best sabot available

By
Location: upstate ny
I have been using sabots out of my 500 pump for several years. Remington and Winchester are very good, but the Barnes sabot is the best. I get 1.5 inch groups at 100 yds using a lead sled and a cheap 3x9. I know these sabots wont shoot good in all guns, but anyone testing a new gun should try them. The sst's got 10-12 inch groups at 100 in my 500 and a friends 870. I haven't tried a 200 yd group yet with the barnes but im confident it will be around 4 or under with a steady rest.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2009

I like it!

By
Location: Ca
Used the 20ga. on a coyote at about 150 yards running. I shot and the skull turned to crumbs and went straight through a tree behind it. Good for little kids, it kicks like a regular lead shotshell.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2009

07SEUCHUNTER

By
Location: Loganton, PA
Used these during Iowa hunt. Worked flawlessly at ranges out to 100 yds. If they worked this well on big Iowa whitetails they should work for anyone heading into the whitetail woods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2008

Federal Premium Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs

By
Location: Upstate New York
I sighted in my shotgun using the Barnes expander tipped sabots, with a one inch grouping @ fifty yards. I then fired the non tipped, and found they grouped lower and not as tight. Opening day of shotgun season I dropped a nice buck @ 90 yards with a perfect heart shot. This is the only sabot I will ever purchase again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2008

Barrel Confusion

By
Location: Central New Jersey
5 inch groups" @ 100 yards out of my 20 Mossberg 500 rifled barrel. The groups open up to 12 inches at the same distance out of my 20 H&R slugger. The 2-3/4 flavors all seem to shoot more consistently out of both guns. They kill just the same.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008

Great results

By
Location: Greenwood, DE
These slug group good. The best part is the bullet performance. The Barnes bullet performs great on deer, making tracking almost fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2008

12 gauge Barnes Tipped Expanders

By
Location: America's North Coast
I've used Barnes slugs and muzzleloader bullets exclusively for five years or more. Have always been thoroughly satisfied with their products. Had an especially good experience when first using the tipped muzzleloader bullets through an Omega on a western Mulie hunt in fall of '08. Thought I'd try the tipped bullet inside of a slug for shotgun season here in Ohio. Was shocked and disappointed when they wouldn't group at the range. The regular old Barnes Expanders (1 oz, 2 3/4 inch, 1450 fps) have always been tack drivers out of my 870 cantilever barrel but these tipped bullets loaded to 1900 fps were anything but. Retrieved several of the sabots and they were pretty badly deformed. Thought y'all should know since many are shooting the same rig I am and these slugs are a little spendy. I'll stick with the untipped expanders by Barnes from Federal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2008

barnes expander tipped slug

By
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
these slugs perform flawlessly!! i shoot a remington 870 with a 23" fully rifled barrel, and can get 2 1/2" groups at 100 yards. shot a doe with these slugs at 50 yards. the bullet broke the front sholder and left a exit wound i could just about fit my fist through!!! found lung matter on the ground where i shot the deer, and had a ausome blood trail.. my deer only ran 30 yards before piling up. barnes is the only bullet i shoot in all of my guns!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2008

Awesome

By
Location: Birmingham, AL
It is amazing that deer slugs of today can shoot this good. From my HR 20ga heavy barrel with 2-7 Leupold I can touch all five slugs on the paper with little to no effort. The HR gun is amazing at that and I have shot almost ever slug under the sun out of this gun and NO slug which has this much velocity shoots this well out of my gun. I had gun sighted in with Federal BRI sabots and was bout 1" high at 100 yards but when I shot these they shot 5-6 inches higher! I have never killed a deer with a shotgun at 200 yards but I think I may do it this year. I am from Indiana and grew up deer hunting with a slug gun, today I live in Alabama and can hunt with anything but am contemplating just shooting my slug gun in every state I hunt. Awesome slug don't know how it would shoot out of a gun different than a HR though. Every gun likes certain ammo but when you are trying out new ammo in a gun defenately try these before writing them off.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Premium® Barnes Expander Tipped Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2008

Just my gun maybe?

By
Location: NW Ohio
These slugs shot horribly out of my heavy-barreled H&R single shot slug (12ga) gun. I have tried other tipped slugs out of this same slug gun and it didn't like any of them either. I doubt this is in part due to the slug/shell. I think you have to be careful reviewing ammunition simply because every gun firing it is different and likes different loads. I gave this a 4-star because I didn't want to skew the rating since the slug is probably stellar in performance, like most all other Barnes bullets. It just didn't shoot well in my set up. It may even shoot good for someone that has the same brand/model of gun that I have- again each one is different. I really liked the design, velocity, and ballistics of this slug, which is part of what made me try them anyhow. Barnes reputation for effects on game would be the other factor that influenced me to try them. Based on that, I would still recommend these slugs to my friends to try and see what they would do for them and their guns. I know some people read/use these reviews to see if someone else has already mentioned results with the same gun that they have before they purchase them, so that is basically what I am letting people know. Again, not to say they won't fly well out of your H&R. Give them a shot, it's worth the price of at least one box just so you know. If they do group well for you, the ballistics and thus range should be crazy (good) for a 12 gauge slug.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 47