Customer Reviews for MAGTECH MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MAGTECH MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition

Sharpen your shooting skills at the range, or just have fun plinking. This is excellent target and match ammo for 7.62x51 caliber rifles. This full metal jacket (FMJ) ammo is accurate, produces no barrel leading and does not expand. All MagTech ammo is manufactured to SAAMI and CIP specifications. Excellent-quality ammunition that will produce quality brass for reloads. Available: 147 gr. FMJ 50 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
19 out of 25(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Review 1 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

WARNING not for AR/auto 308's

Date:August 16, 2013
Thought I would try these in my AR10 during the ammo shortage,big mistake.
Had a friend shooting and rifle jammed,shoving next round back in case and bending it, surprised it didn't blow. Went to load another round and found casing was stuck in chamber,had to rod it out. Inspection showed that rim was torn from round,compared to S&B,REM,WIN rounds and the rims are very thin on these cases,they also appear to be of very soft brass. They need to marked for use in BOLT action's ONLY. They also have very dirty powder, which puts out a big cloud of smoke.
They accuracy does not seem very consistent on paper with these compared to other makers similar bullets,say ~3" at 100 vs 1/100. Not sure I want to use up the +50 I have left in my weapon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sticks in barrel

Date:August 18, 2010
I purchased 2 boxes, 100 rounds, of this ammo for my brand new savage 11. I have fired about 25 rounds of this ammo and only about 5 rounds have ejected properly. The rest have required me to tap the lever with a block of wood to get the spent brass to eject. I have fired other factory ammo threw the riffle with no problems. Being new to rifles I kept firing these rounds thinking it must be the rifle and not realizing I could cause damage to my ejector by having to force the spent brass out. I now know better and have around 75 rounds of ammo I refuse to shoot. Other people obviously love this ammo, but I have found various post on the net of people with bolt actions having similar issues to mine. Be careful in choosing to buy this ammo for a bolt action rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Terrible/poor/junk

Date:August 17, 2010
Maybe I just bought the only terrible box on the planet, but this stuff is terrible. This ammo does not even eject out of my dpms 308. Thought I would try it out in my friends original m-14, at least it would eject, but it would not load the next round. I cannot believe they would even sell ammo that is this bad. Shot maybe 20 of them, unloaded the rest. Upon inspection the primers looked horrible and the primer charge was falling all over the place, probably dangerous. I believe the poor primers to be the problem of this ammunition, not to mention the overuse of the bullet sealant used. Reloaded the rest with good primers and good powder, and amazing, the ammo shoots great now. Neadless to say I will never buy this ammo ever again, the quality is extremely poor. Again just terrible and a complete waste of time and money. I would give it 0 stars if I could.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Magtech .308

Date:August 5, 2010
I had trouble with these rounds in my rem 700. The case would expand to the point of sticking in my chamber(needed to knock them out with a coated rod so as not to damage my extractor).I emailed magtech support and they did not reply! Called Cabela's customer support and they made it right! These are mfg.in Argentina and have a tight crimp. They are a cross between mil spec and std.Each round has been seated with a black tar like substance in the case neck.the rounds are FMJBT w/c seated so the tar cannot be seen.
They do not appear to have a primer crimp. Thy are made for a semi-auto .308 and work fine in one. The accuracy is about 3'' at 100 yds. Looks like you can re-load these but be sure to clean the fired case necks with lighter fluid to get rid of the tar.
Cabela's is great to do business with especially when you have a problem........they are top notch and I will be doing a lot more business with them in the future!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

MagTech in SAKO TRG 22

Date:March 10, 2008
This is inexpensive brass ammo. I tried the ammo in my SAKO TRG 22 and it has proven to be inconsistent. The SAKO TRG 22 is capable of 0.5" groups with factory ammo at 100 yards, but didn't get better than 1.5" with this ammo. It is not the rifle; The SAKO TRG-22 was designed by to be the most accurate rifle you can buy .The brass is good (not perfect) for reloading, if you have time to cut and measure every case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

low cost but unsure about quality

Date:August 19, 2013
Have fired 2 rounds and stopped. I'm not ready to blame the ammo yet. First round fired in a Rem mod. 770 basically froze bolt closed. Had to beat on handle to extract. Brass stuck in chamber. Inspected brass no signs of any defect. Checked chamber and bore all looked well. Shot placement was perfect. Round impact
Was with the same point and group of 5 winchester loads I shot prior. Punched bore and chamber and thought maybe it was a fluke. 2nd round fired had same results. Obviously its a brass exspansion issue or I have possibly a dirty chamber issue. I fired a entire box of Winchester 308 after those two rounds without issue. I will attempt again after a good cleaning of the chamber and try one more round. I would say just be aware. Maybe its the ammo or maybe its just certain rifles may not like the ammo. I won't blame the ammo even though I had issues with the first two and only rounds I fired so far. I won't say don't buy. I'm not ready to say its bad stuff yet. But..be aware that there may be issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Some love it, some don't

Date:August 2, 2013
Shoots great in my PTR91, but does not do good in AR10's for some reason. Flawless in the PTR, but neither the Sig or my DPMS fire this reliable. The problem appears to be FTE's in the AR's, constantly jamming up. Has to be something with the rebated rim as far as I can tell. Luckily, the PTR loves it so I will continue to buy at the current price. All you AR guys, just take caution. Apparently I'm not the only one having issues after reading past reviews, which I already knew but decided to give them a try considering the price. In terms of how clean it is, it's average. It has good accuracy coming from my PTR, but that is with a match grade bull barrel of 18inches. I have to give it 3 stars, because of the FTE's but would def recommended it to people who have PTR's and don't want to shoot the very dirty steel cased Herters .308 stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for price

Date:August 2, 2013
cant beat this ammo for price. ran 3 boxes through fnar and two saiga 308..no problems. Box a little flimsy for 50 rounds but I can buy freezer bag with money saved. Kills me when people want to shoot under 1" groups at 200and complain when they cant with nato round , not really true 308, go get some black hills for 50 a box nosler tipped if this ammo demeans your gun, Excellent for price.will buy again no fte or ftf's.
Not tried in rem 700I I expect to and pay more for 308 that goes through her
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:May 14, 2013
Runs great in my FLN, pretty good for import rounds,
price is o'kay for the time that we are in with no ammo on the shelfs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Magtec 308 fmj

Date:March 31, 2008
Good reloadable ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MagTech 308

Date:February 26, 2008
This is good clean and inexpensive brass ammo. It has proven to be very consistent for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the price

Date:January 29, 2008
I bought a box for practice at the range. The ammo was fine, but just didnt shoot that well in my Savage bolt action. I had been getting consistant 1" groups with factory ammo in this rifle at 100 yards, but didn't get better than 2" with this ammo. Not all ammo shoots well in all guns, and I think that's the reason in this case. I would use it again for practice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

slower than advertised on box

Date:January 28, 2008
Good brass and bullet, used to sight in my Savage 10FCS Scout. About 200fps slower than stated velocity on box of 2820fps according to my chronograph. Still accurate though. Will be reloading the brass which appears to have annealed necks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works in My SCAR17

Date:October 15, 2013
Picked up a couple boxes last week and this ammo worked flawlessly in my SCAR 17s. Was accurate at the 75 and 100 yard ranges and not a single jam or issue. I would recommend tossing a piece of tape of the bottom of the box and on the cover as this box WILL break open with just a little movement. Not a big deal but it was a pain when I had 100 cartridges rolling around in my range bag.
Overall a great product for the price as long as your platform likes it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

semi-auto not bolt

Date:September 14, 2013
The first thing that should be said is this ammo is not for your bolt action hunting rifles. Its purpose is for military style rifles where the tolerences are not so tight. Some have said that they have issues with the AR platform rifles. I am using a Springfield SAR-8 and it cycles and fires every round with some excellent groupings for this style of ammunition. If you feel the need to get very tight groups you should purchase a higher quality hunting or target style of ammo. If all your are interested in is shooting a lot of rounds this is the stuff to use. Great quality brass for reloading also!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty Good Stuff!

Date:September 4, 2013
Picked up 4 boxes of the CBC 147 gr FMJ and was thoroughly pleased with it! Some people said it didn't cycle their semi auto's, but my Sig 716 chewed them up and spit them out with ease. With Iron Sights at 100 yards I was getting <2" groupings with ease. I feel it will be much better with a scope. I bought 4 50 rd boxes, and intend to buy more!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Scar likes it

Date:July 31, 2013
I shot a whole box of 50 without issue through my Scar 17s. All shells ejected to the same area, and I was able to group all rounds nicely on targets at 50 & 75 yards. No problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:June 11, 2013
This is very good ammo, shoots good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good shooting ammo

Date:April 18, 2008
Product reasonably priced and preformed without problems in a variety of rifles chamber for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MagTech 7.62x51 147-gr. FMJ Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Littlerock Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my scout liked it

Date:March 17, 2008
I had a good time with the .308 ammo. Great if I could get in bulk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25