Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology

HORNADY Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology

Hornady’s Low Drag Sabot turns the ultra-accurate SST-ML into the easiest-loading, hardest-hitting and most-accurate muzzleloader bullet on the planet. New polymer technology in combination with cutting-edge CNC design deliver an easy-loading muzzleloader bullet that is accurate. In the past, easy-load muzzleloader bullets have delivered questionable accuracy. This is due to the fact that they must be manufactured smaller than the bore to allow for easy loading. Being too small for the bore means that the rifling doesn’t always get the bullet spinning properly, and accuracy suffers. Hornady’s new Low Drag sabot changes all that. The new sabot reduces loading effort by a whopping 50% and does not sacrifice any of the accuracy that has made the SST-ML bullet famous. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
119 out of 126(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Review 21 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

All over the paper - junk

Date:November 25, 2013
At 100 yards it was grouping around the size of 2 paper plates. Using 777 pellets on a cva optima v2. Switched to tc bullets and was cutting holes!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my 2 cent

Date:November 21, 2013
the best bullet I have used up till now. 92 gr of jim shockie power win 209 primer= big 8point va whitetail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'll stick with these!!!

Date:November 12, 2013
Tried the easy loading non-sabot bullets. They shot all over the target. Went back to these 4 shots sighted dead on. On top of that they are well priced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:November 5, 2013
This is one great sabot loads easy very accurate only problem is expensive cost as much as fully loaded ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly!

Date:November 3, 2013
After checking out user reviews, this seemed to be the ammo of choice for my Traditions .50 cal muzzleloader. At the range, I put two bullets in the same hole at 100 yards! First time hunting on Mauna Kea, I put down a wild boar with a head shot at 100 yards. The next hunt, my son used the muzzleloader and got his first kill, a feral goat at 100 yards. Back to the range, 4 inch groups at 150 yards. I haven't tried any other bullets because this one does the job and is affordable. 110 grains Triple Se7en / 250 grain bullets.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best

Date:April 24, 2013
I took 2 deer myself this year with these bullets and my friend got her 1st. Shots ranged from 20 yards to 175. Short tracking jobs or no tracking required. I use 2 Hodgdon Triple Seven Pellets (50 grains) and not the 3 pellet load. No reason to be a he-man/woman if you don't have to. Like I said in regards to the distances we shot deer at. We have thick, thick stuff to open hay/corn fields. This load works. Shoulder friendly and much nicer groups. Devastating on game performance. I did a lot of research before settling on these bullets. I will not change. Think I will shoot some tomorrow :))
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady SST 250 Grain Sabot

Date:April 23, 2013
I have been using this sabot for the last 2 years in my TC Triumph 50 cal.
Patterns are consistent and tight whether I am shooting at 50, 100 or 150 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 Gr Hornady M/L bullets

Date:February 26, 2013
These are very accurate out of my Traditions rifle. Easy loading and have not had any trouble with plastic fouling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great accuracy

Date:February 12, 2013
I had never tried saboted rounds before and wish I had. These are the most accurate loads I've ever fired from a black powder rifle. I was amazed at the accuracy. I can shoot these sabots out to 100 yards with iron sights and my tired old eyes, and with a good scope to over 150 yards. I wish I had tried them sooner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely accurate with good expansion

Date:February 7, 2013
Tried every sabot combo out there in all three Muzzleloaders I own! CVA Electra, AccuraV2 and TC and these were hands down the most accurate of All four major brands I tried! Had 2" groups at 150 yards and 1-1/2" at 100 @ 2" high!! Shot the entire box without cleaning and was amazed at how clean and easy the very last one loaded! Blackhorn powder and CCI primers and these SST 250 and you have the Trifecta!! Great product Hornady!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

On the Money

Date:January 20, 2013
I sighted my new CVA Accurra V2 in with these bullets this morning. I used 110 grains ( by volume) of Blackhorrn 209. At a 50 yards, my last 3 shots were touching. Very, very easy to load, first shot to last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady SST

Date:January 9, 2013
Any bullet placed properly will kill a deer. The important performance difference lies in what the deer does after it's hit. If you want a bullet that is going to anchor a deer versus it running 100 yards then go with the SST! This is important when hunting public land, close to a property line and during low light or poor tracking conditions! What a great bullet!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate

Date:January 8, 2013
When working up loads for a new Accura V2, I shot xtp sabots, thors, fbp, barnes, and SST low drag. I found the SST Low drag 300 grainers shot the best with a load of 110 gbv of blackhorn 209. Consistent groups with 3 shots touching at 100m. Easy to load to load and great performance on deer. Took 4 deer this year. When hit in the shoulder/lung the dropped immediately, heart and lung shot deer were found with 30-40, with a good blood trail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Performance

Date:December 17, 2012
Good accuracy out of my Encore. I shoot the 250gr. bullet with Blackhorn powder and get 2" groups at 100 yards. We killed two north Missouri bucks last weekend with this combination, and both bucks were over 200lbs and shot broadside thru the heart. On both deer, the bullets passed thru, and left good exit holes. The deer were recovered after running about 40-50 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:December 17, 2012
A buddy and I are shooting the 300 grain models with 100 grain triple 7 pellets. Getting 2inch groups at 100 yards, 4 inch groups out to 150 yards. He shot 6" groups at 200 yards. Can't complain about that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady® SST®-ML

Date:December 12, 2012
Recently purchased a box to give them a try since I use Hornady with my 25-06. Wow!! First time I have been able to cloverleaf at 100 yards with a muzzleloader. Have not shot a deer with them yet to see how they perform but I would think they would be fine. Worth the money. Just purchased 2 more boxes on sale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ez to load

Date:December 12, 2012
good bullet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The important part

Date:December 7, 2012
If you can't hit anything, everything else is beside the point! These were suggested by Leupold when I bought the Ultimate Slam scope. From the benchrest I am shooting 23/4" groups at 200 yds.! using 100 grains powder. The results speak for themselves.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best I've Tried So Far

Date:December 6, 2012
After trying several others my gun seems to like the Hornady much more so than the Barnes. These are very very easy to load and I'm shooting a 2 inch pattern at 100 yds with 2 pyrodex pellets. I have not used these on game yet so can't report how well they work in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

SST-ML 300gr

Date:November 27, 2012
They shot OK, but my XTP bullets grouped better. My guess is because of the flatter base on the XTP, but I am not 100% certain. All I know for sure is the holes in the paper are tighter with the 300gr XTP bullets and the rest of the equation being equal (I even used the same sabot for both)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 126