Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology

HORNADY Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology

Hornady’s Low Drag Sabot turns the ultra-accurate SST-ML into the easiest-loading, hardest-hitting and most-accurate muzzleloader bullet on the planet. New polymer technology in combination with cutting-edge CNC design deliver an easy-loading muzzleloader bullet that is accurate. In the past, easy-load muzzleloader bullets have delivered questionable accuracy. This is due to the fact that they must be manufactured smaller than the bore to allow for easy loading. Being too small for the bore means that the rifling doesn’t always get the bullet spinning properly, and accuracy suffers. Hornady’s new Low Drag sabot changes all that. The new sabot reduces loading effort by a whopping 50% and does not sacrifice any of the accuracy that has made the SST-ML bullet famous. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.725 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 149 reviews
5 Stars
127
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
142 out of 149(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Review 21 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Effective

Date:November 26, 2014
Haven't tried them all, but these work great for me. Cost effective and dead deer = repeat customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tack Driving

Date:November 18, 2014
They are the easiest loading sabots I have used.I own a pro hunter fx very accurate also 3 shots at 100yds all holes touching. Would recommend every one try these
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My TC Omega ML loves these

Date:November 4, 2014
I started using the Hornady SST ML sabots several years ago, after finding mediocre performance from the Power Belt bullets. I will never use any other sabot for whitetail hunting with my TC Omega. I routinely get 1 inch groups at 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

These make best better

Date:October 21, 2014
I have a CVA Accura and it is a great gun which I also purchased from Cabelas. This gun and those Hornady SST-ML sabots are the most accurate combination you can get. I am sure they would perform well in other Muzzel loaders too. I used them last year and shot 4 deer they didn't go far when hit. I purchased more just in case they stop making them don't want to run out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shooting

Date:October 14, 2014
My inline Savage was very picky in bullet selection, these are the best performing that I have found.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

perfect

Date:October 11, 2014
I just bought these and went out with my savage 10ml ll muzzle loader useing these 250gr hornady sst ml with 43gr of IMR SR4759 smokeless powder and at 100 yards i did 3 shots and all 3 shots were touching will never use anything else
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly difference

Date:October 9, 2014
After trying different sabot loads in my 50 cal. muzzle loader I switched to the new Hornaday SST.
Accuracy improved and the first hunt was successful
with a nice 143 class 12 point Kansas Whitetail.
Deer was taken at 100 yds, with pass a through shot on a deer well over 200 lbs.
Deer travelled 50yds and ran out of gas.
A great product and a great result.
.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.50 CAL. 250 GR. HORNADAY SST LOW DRAG SABOTS

Date:October 7, 2014
I SHOOT THEM IN A CVA ACCURA V2, VERY, VERY ACCURATE IN MY GUN USING 3, 50 GR PRYODEX PELLETS. EXCELLENT PRODUCT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bullet

Date:October 7, 2014
The best bullet I have found. I used to shoot another Hornady style bullet until a friend started shooting these and had great success. These load much better in my ML than the other round I was using. Great value and excellent quality, can't ask for much more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Muzzleloader Bullet

Date:September 23, 2014
I've been using Hornady SST bullets in my muzzleloader for many years. They are super accurate and consistent. I've found that the original black sabots that they used to come with are harder to load than the new red ones, but more accurate in my gun. I usually just purchase the black sabots separately to use with these bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bullet performance I have found

Date:September 16, 2014
I have tried some other muzzleloading bullets, and believe the Hornaday SST is the best on the market. Great smackdown power on the receiving end combined with unmatched consistency and accuracy. I am now comfortable shooting 200 yards with my muzzleloader!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SST ML

Date:August 12, 2014
Shot whitetail deer at 125 yards last year and deer never went any where. Best round I ever used. Wish you could use them in Colorado.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work for me

Date:July 10, 2014
I've shot these quite a bit in my Thompson Center in-lines. I've killed two deer with them. They shoot better in my guns than others I've used and they performed well on the two deer I've shot with them. Thompon Centers have tight barrels and while these sabots offer some resistance in loading, they still load more easily than other brands I've tried.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady SST ML-Awesome accuracy and stopping power

Date:April 15, 2014
I've been shooting these sabots in my Savage ML-II with outstanding accuracy and knock down power. I've taken many deer with them and the exit wound looks like a bomb went off, and when sighting the gun it's common to have 1" or smaller groups at 75 yards. I won't shoot anything else!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo buy

Date:March 5, 2014
I shoot these in my 50 cal muzzleloader and they have proved to be a very accurate shooting ammo. I have killed two deer out to 150 yds distance. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shoot great

Date:January 22, 2014
I shoot them in all my inlines.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:January 16, 2014
these are really accurate and load really easy. I smoked a nice doe with these this year and there was blood sprayed 15ft behind it from the exit hole. the doe didnt run very far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Did the job

Date:January 11, 2014
This was my first year hunting with a muzzle loader. I purchased a CVA Optima from Cabela's bargain cave and decided to give the Hornady SST's a try. I use 100 grains of white hots and the 250 grain sabots. I didn't have much time to sight the gun in, but was able to get 3" groups at 100 yards while rushing (range was closing. That was good enough for me as the land I hunt does not offer shots nearly that far anyway. I shot a buck at 40 yards and dropped him in his tracks. The round fully mushroomed, although I haven' weighed it to see what the weight retention was. I am very pleased with the performance and plan to spend MORE time on the range to tweak in for the optimum accuracy for next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shot in instantly!

Date:January 7, 2014
These sabots shot almost perfect in my T/C Omega. Now I only shot a 100 yds so far. Easy to
Load and with150 grains of powder a deer won't have a chance!! Nice bullets!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked great on a whitetail buck

Date:January 7, 2014
These bullets work great in my T/C Omega. I use blackhorn 209 and get great groups. All shots touching at 100 yds. from a bench rest. I shot Whitetail buck with one of these this year. A quartering towards me shot. The bullet took out the near shoulder, lungs and exited on the offside. Great expansion and penetration. The deer dropped in his tracks. Can't ask for more than that. I hope to do more field testing of this projectile on Whitetails next season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 149