Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology

HORNADY Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology

Hornady’s Low Drag Sabot turns the ultra-accurate SST-ML into the easiest-loading, hardest-hitting and most-accurate muzzleloader bullet on the planet. New polymer technology in combination with cutting-edge CNC design deliver an easy-loading muzzleloader bullet that is accurate. In the past, easy-load muzzleloader bullets have delivered questionable accuracy. This is due to the fact that they must be manufactured smaller than the bore to allow for easy loading. Being too small for the bore means that the rifling doesn’t always get the bullet spinning properly, and accuracy suffers. Hornady’s new Low Drag sabot changes all that. The new sabot reduces loading effort by a whopping 50% and does not sacrifice any of the accuracy that has made the SST-ML bullet famous. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.711 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 142 reviews
5 Stars
120
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
135 out of 142(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Review 21 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Muzzleloader Bullet

Date:September 23, 2014
I've been using Hornady SST bullets in my muzzleloader for many years. They are super accurate and consistent. I've found that the original black sabots that they used to come with are harder to load than the new red ones, but more accurate in my gun. I usually just purchase the black sabots separately to use with these bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bullet performance I have found

Date:September 16, 2014
I have tried some other muzzleloading bullets, and believe the Hornaday SST is the best on the market. Great smackdown power on the receiving end combined with unmatched consistency and accuracy. I am now comfortable shooting 200 yards with my muzzleloader!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SST ML

Date:August 12, 2014
Shot whitetail deer at 125 yards last year and deer never went any where. Best round I ever used. Wish you could use them in Colorado.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work for me

Date:July 10, 2014
I've shot these quite a bit in my Thompson Center in-lines. I've killed two deer with them. They shoot better in my guns than others I've used and they performed well on the two deer I've shot with them. Thompon Centers have tight barrels and while these sabots offer some resistance in loading, they still load more easily than other brands I've tried.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady SST ML-Awesome accuracy and stopping power

Date:April 15, 2014
I've been shooting these sabots in my Savage ML-II with outstanding accuracy and knock down power. I've taken many deer with them and the exit wound looks like a bomb went off, and when sighting the gun it's common to have 1" or smaller groups at 75 yards. I won't shoot anything else!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo buy

Date:March 5, 2014
I shoot these in my 50 cal muzzleloader and they have proved to be a very accurate shooting ammo. I have killed two deer out to 150 yds distance. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shoot great

Date:January 22, 2014
I shoot them in all my inlines.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:January 16, 2014
these are really accurate and load really easy. I smoked a nice doe with these this year and there was blood sprayed 15ft behind it from the exit hole. the doe didnt run very far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shot in instantly!

Date:January 7, 2014
These sabots shot almost perfect in my T/C Omega. Now I only shot a 100 yds so far. Easy to
Load and with150 grains of powder a deer won't have a chance!! Nice bullets!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked great on a whitetail buck

Date:January 7, 2014
These bullets work great in my T/C Omega. I use blackhorn 209 and get great groups. All shots touching at 100 yds. from a bench rest. I shot Whitetail buck with one of these this year. A quartering towards me shot. The bullet took out the near shoulder, lungs and exited on the offside. Great expansion and penetration. The deer dropped in his tracks. Can't ask for more than that. I hope to do more field testing of this projectile on Whitetails next season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smokepole Sabot

Date:December 31, 2013
Has the best accuracy of all the ones I tried. Also found the 300 Gr to have the best grouping, with the plus of having more energy down field.
Bullet hung together and mushroomed out as expected on the last deer I took.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely Pleased

Date:December 24, 2013
It was a pleasure doing business with this company. The quality was there,along with timely delivery. Ill be using them again in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my 2 cent

Date:November 21, 2013
the best bullet I have used up till now. 92 gr of jim shockie power win 209 primer= big 8point va whitetail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'll stick with these!!!

Date:November 12, 2013
Tried the easy loading non-sabot bullets. They shot all over the target. Went back to these 4 shots sighted dead on. On top of that they are well priced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:November 5, 2013
This is one great sabot loads easy very accurate only problem is expensive cost as much as fully loaded ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly!

Date:November 3, 2013
After checking out user reviews, this seemed to be the ammo of choice for my Traditions .50 cal muzzleloader. At the range, I put two bullets in the same hole at 100 yards! First time hunting on Mauna Kea, I put down a wild boar with a head shot at 100 yards. The next hunt, my son used the muzzleloader and got his first kill, a feral goat at 100 yards. Back to the range, 4 inch groups at 150 yards. I haven't tried any other bullets because this one does the job and is affordable. 110 grains Triple Se7en / 250 grain bullets.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best

Date:April 24, 2013
I took 2 deer myself this year with these bullets and my friend got her 1st. Shots ranged from 20 yards to 175. Short tracking jobs or no tracking required. I use 2 Hodgdon Triple Seven Pellets (50 grains) and not the 3 pellet load. No reason to be a he-man/woman if you don't have to. Like I said in regards to the distances we shot deer at. We have thick, thick stuff to open hay/corn fields. This load works. Shoulder friendly and much nicer groups. Devastating on game performance. I did a lot of research before settling on these bullets. I will not change. Think I will shoot some tomorrow :))
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady SST 250 Grain Sabot

Date:April 23, 2013
I have been using this sabot for the last 2 years in my TC Triumph 50 cal.
Patterns are consistent and tight whether I am shooting at 50, 100 or 150 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 Gr Hornady M/L bullets

Date:February 26, 2013
These are very accurate out of my Traditions rifle. Easy loading and have not had any trouble with plastic fouling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great accuracy

Date:February 12, 2013
I had never tried saboted rounds before and wish I had. These are the most accurate loads I've ever fired from a black powder rifle. I was amazed at the accuracy. I can shoot these sabots out to 100 yards with iron sights and my tired old eyes, and with a good scope to over 150 yards. I wish I had tried them sooner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 142