Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology

HORNADY Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology

Hornady’s Low Drag Sabot turns the ultra-accurate SST-ML into the easiest-loading, hardest-hitting and most-accurate muzzleloader bullet on the planet. New polymer technology in combination with cutting-edge CNC design deliver an easy-loading muzzleloader bullet that is accurate. In the past, easy-load muzzleloader bullets have delivered questionable accuracy. This is due to the fact that they must be manufactured smaller than the bore to allow for easy loading. Being too small for the bore means that the rifling doesn’t always get the bullet spinning properly, and accuracy suffers. Hornady’s new Low Drag sabot changes all that. The new sabot reduces loading effort by a whopping 50% and does not sacrifice any of the accuracy that has made the SST-ML bullet famous. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 117 reviews
5 Stars
98
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
110 out of 117(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Review 21 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady SST

Date:January 9, 2013
Any bullet placed properly will kill a deer. The important performance difference lies in what the deer does after it's hit. If you want a bullet that is going to anchor a deer versus it running 100 yards then go with the SST! This is important when hunting public land, close to a property line and during low light or poor tracking conditions! What a great bullet!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate

Date:January 8, 2013
When working up loads for a new Accura V2, I shot xtp sabots, thors, fbp, barnes, and SST low drag. I found the SST Low drag 300 grainers shot the best with a load of 110 gbv of blackhorn 209. Consistent groups with 3 shots touching at 100m. Easy to load to load and great performance on deer. Took 4 deer this year. When hit in the shoulder/lung the dropped immediately, heart and lung shot deer were found with 30-40, with a good blood trail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Performance

Date:December 17, 2012
Good accuracy out of my Encore. I shoot the 250gr. bullet with Blackhorn powder and get 2" groups at 100 yards. We killed two north Missouri bucks last weekend with this combination, and both bucks were over 200lbs and shot broadside thru the heart. On both deer, the bullets passed thru, and left good exit holes. The deer were recovered after running about 40-50 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:December 17, 2012
A buddy and I are shooting the 300 grain models with 100 grain triple 7 pellets. Getting 2inch groups at 100 yards, 4 inch groups out to 150 yards. He shot 6" groups at 200 yards. Can't complain about that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady® SST®-ML

Date:December 12, 2012
Recently purchased a box to give them a try since I use Hornady with my 25-06. Wow!! First time I have been able to cloverleaf at 100 yards with a muzzleloader. Have not shot a deer with them yet to see how they perform but I would think they would be fine. Worth the money. Just purchased 2 more boxes on sale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ez to load

Date:December 12, 2012
good bullet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The important part

Date:December 7, 2012
If you can't hit anything, everything else is beside the point! These were suggested by Leupold when I bought the Ultimate Slam scope. From the benchrest I am shooting 23/4" groups at 200 yds.! using 100 grains powder. The results speak for themselves.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One option

Date:November 26, 2012
Loads fairly easily and has good consistent pattern.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady SST Expansion

Date:November 22, 2012
I have been using these bullets/sabots for two years, with a powder load that gives about 1800 fps at the muzzle. The sabots are relatively easy to load; a bit stiff for the first load on a cold barrel, but pretty slick on a second shot reload in a warm barrel.
Three deer have wandered into range between 65 and 120 yards, and none have walked away without fatal results. The bullets are very accurate - 3 MOA at 100 yards off a rest - much more accurate that I can hold on a real hunt. I have found that they will shoot completely through a 160 pound deer. I have yet to recover a slug, but my brother has recovered one slug from a hip-to-chest shot; the bullet is dinged up a bit - but no sign of expansion. In spite of the plastic tip - consider this as a solid slug at moderate velocities. Deer die when you hit them - just don't expect a massive exit wound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to load, very accurate

Date:October 26, 2012
These sabots are easy to load and accurate. Using blackhorn powder and swabbing between shots, I can put one shot into the another at 100 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SST-ML

Date:October 12, 2012
Shot 250 gr loads. MOA at 100. Shot a deer at 100 yards with great results. Shot through the chest, exit hole was the size of a 50 cent piece. Deer only when 30 yards. Great blood trail. Would recomend this bullet to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady SST 300 gr

Date:September 28, 2012
Best bullet i've fired from my muzzle loader. Shoots less than 3/4 inch group at 100 yards using my T/C impact with 130 grains of triple 7 powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most Accurate ML Bullet I've shot

Date:September 18, 2012
I've shot PowerBelts for years out of my CVA Optima Pro but never could get that consistent accuracy I've looked for. I've also experimented with 3 other types of sabots but either accuracy didn't improve or the plastic fouling was so bad, that a follow-up shot was impossible.
I found these 300 gr. Hornady SST sabots in the Bargain Cave and figured I'd give them a try and I'm sure glad I did. After some minor adj. to my scope, I had 3 bullets in 1 elongated hole at 100 yds. Then repeat. Then, at 200 yds, their drop was consistent and easy to account for.
Amazingly, to me, was that I could get 3-4 shots down the barrel before swabbing. Even then I probably could have held off if I'd wanted too.
Can't wait to see how the ammo perfoms on whitetail, this fall., but I went and ordered another box as soon as I got back from the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cheap and accurate

Date:September 12, 2012
I have shot a lot of different sabots, these are the most accurate i have found for my muzzle loader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:September 7, 2012
I shoot the .50 Caliber 45-300sst out of my CVA and they are dead on accurate. Took a buck last year at 30 yards and the impact of the shot knocked him over even though the bullet passed through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet!

Date:September 3, 2012
I shot these bullets this weekend out of my traditions 50 cal and they patterned great i nailed a elk vitals sized target at 200 yards 5 out of 5 times they shoot awesome and i will be using them this season
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bullet i've found

Date:July 29, 2012
After buying some of these in 300 grain, i read some sketchy reviews but today i went out and shot three rounds at 60 yards and when i went to check my group there was only one large hole right smack in the center of the target. I have never shot a bullet that loads this easy and shoots this good. Every bullet went down with two fingers and i didnt swab my barrel one time. Needless to say i will never buy any other brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lawrenceburg IN
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:February 11, 2012
I buy these all the time and tried different kinds like tc sabots because i have a tc muzzleloader and the hornady sabots fly better more accurte and goes down the barrel when loading and the best price of them all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Muzzleloader Bullet I've ever used

Date:November 16, 2011
I've used these for a couple years now and continue to be impressed. The last 7 deer I've shot with these bullets have dropped in their tracks. I use them in a T/C Black Diamond XR and a Remington Genesis with 100 grains of loose Pyrodex 777. They group in the 1-2 inch range at 100 yards. I love them and highly recommend. My son and I have already killed 4 deer this year with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hornady® SST®-ML™ High-Speed Low™-Drag Sabots with Flex Tip® Technology
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grapevine, TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This bullet work flawlessly

Date:October 29, 2011
I purchased 6 different brands and styles to find out which one shot best out of my new CVA Apex rifle. I coupled it with a charge of 110 grains of Blackhorn 209. The SST's were shooting cloverleaf groups at 100 yards, with the Leupold 3x9 scope. Just got back from a 5 day hunt where I took my largest buck (128") to date in northern AR. Placed a frontal shot in the collarbone, and recover the bullet, under the hide at front of the ham. It traveled over 2.5' cross body, taking out the heart along the way. The mushroom was perfect measuring twice the diameter it started out as. The weight retention was 217 grains out of the initial 250. That 87%. I wont be shooting anything else. Just bought 3 more boxes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 117