Customer Reviews for TICH Lee Classic Turret Press Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

TICH Lee Classic Turret Press Kit

With a sturdy iron base, rigid cast-iron frame, powerful long stroke and quick-turret-change versatility, this press has the ability to reload any centerfire cartridge from the smallest varmint caliber to the largest magnum cartridges. Typical single-stage reloading requires that dies be individually changed out between stages. This press will speed up your reloading considerably with a turret that holds up to four dies. Just rotate the turret to advance to the next stage and you can load complete rounds one by one without stopping to change dies. Buy extra turrets for other dies and calibers, and you’ll be able to change from one caliber to another in seconds. The large ram is drilled completely through to dispose of spent primers through an attached clear plastic tube. Lee’s new built-in Lever Prime System™ and the optional Lee Safety Prime Tool to make priming clean and easy. Dies and shellholder not included. Includes a Classic Turret Press (described above), large and small Safety Prime primer feeders, and a Pro Auto-Disc Powder Measure with four measuring discs, an Auto-Disc Riser for convenient use of other brands of dies with extended adjusting screws and a Rifle Charging Die for small-capacity rifle cases. The Safety Powder Scale reads to the nearest 1⁄20 grain. This kit has all you need except cartridge components and dies.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 105 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
103 out of 105(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Review 21 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Harbor City, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Starter Press

Date:January 20, 2011
The press is very sturdy and simple to use. it is a good starter kit, eventually you will want to upgrade to a more accurate scale. I have reloaded about 1000 rifle rounds on this press everything from .30-06 to .375H&H Mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:January 18, 2011
Solid ! Works great, good support from Lee.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well

Date:January 18, 2011
This is my first experience with reloading and it would've been nice to have a video included
for the setup of the press and the dies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Midland, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Press for the money

Date:December 10, 2010
I have reloaded for years on a single stage. I wanted something faster for pistol ammo but didn't want to buy a progressive. This was just what I needed. I have loaded hundreds of 9mm and 45 ACP with no problems. I like the control that I have over the process. At first I thought the priming tools were a little cheap. But they work fine. The powder tool works good. I have checked the loads and found them to be accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saginaw, MI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very easy, affordable, & efficient.

Date:October 3, 2010
I bought this mid Sept and have already produced 600 rounds of 9mm. Once you get the rhythm down you can do about 200-250 rnds an hour. The included instructions are vague at best.
If you have no experience (as I did at purchase) get Lee's 2nd edition reloading book, very helpful and informative on all his presses).
You should also get the auto disk riser and the safety primer feeder at time of purchase.
About $200 for the press, accessories, and a set of dies, this will pay for itself in less than 2000 rnds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hartford CT
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Package for the Price

Date:September 19, 2010
I just began reloading and purchased this kit as my first press. The kit came with the press, scale, powder measure and primer feeder, which is almost everything you need to get started reloading.
It did need some adjustment when first getting it set up. Fortunately, I had assistance from someone who has used it before and was able to show me exactly what "juryrigging" had to be done. We did the following:
1. Added an extra washer under the primer mount to raise it up just a bit.
2. Duct taped part of a wooden popsicle stick to the front, where the primer mechanism comes down so it pops into place correctly.
After these adjustments, the press works great. You can use it in two ways, as a rotating turret, where you perform all four reloading actions on each cartridge, or by removing the center post, as a stationary press, performing the same action on every cartridge before manually turning the press to perform the next action on every cartridge. This is really a matter for personal preference.
The powder feeder works ok, but because of the specific sized rings is not precise to the .1 grain level.
The scale is not very good. It is hard to read at the .1 grain level and is hard to zero. I find that it sometimes has to be zeroed between readings.
The primer feeder works fine, except for the last two primers. Then there doesn't seem to be enough weight from additional primers above to allow them to feed correctly.
Despite the little idiosyncracies, so far I've reloaded 500 rounds and am very happy with the results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: S.E Pennsyvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classic Turret Press Kit

Date:September 15, 2010
Four Stars only because of the scale. Personally I like a larger scale like a Lymann or RCBS because of my big fingers. It may be a bullseye for you so don't get me wrong in my review.
The Classic press is awsome !! LPS primer system is great. Just need to get some emery cloth and polish up the levers edges alittle so they won't bind and watch your finger when cleaning the ram around the opening for the lever, mine had a sharp edge. Ouch! I really love using this press. I have the loadmaster and would much rather use the turret, even if it takes longer to make the loads, it's much much less likely to have bad loads. The press itself, ease of operation, value and sturdiness I give a 5 star rating. BEST for beginners and expierienced alike in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: new cumberland,pa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great press for the money

Date:September 9, 2010
works well and does a very good job of reloading saving me money. if your are new to reloading, go to lee's website and watch all the help and set-up videos. turret indexing is trichy and sometimes does not work, i index by hand, wich is just as easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glendora, CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classic Turret Press

Date:August 29, 2010
I have reloaded 300 rounds of 45 long colt with the Classic Turret Press and am completely satisfied. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in reloading. I was a novice at reloading and didn't want to invest a large amount of money. It is working out perfectly for me. Also, the dies are excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: southwest virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Turret Press Kit

Date:August 21, 2010
Overall this is a ok press kit, it is not the absolute best kit but it is not the worst kit either. I had a problem with the arm that is designed to move the turret head automatically right out of the box. Now I have to move the dies around by hand which is not really a big problem but the press was designed to not have to do that. The press itself seems to be very well built. The pro safety primer works ok but can get in the way, I have found that it is best to go ahead and prime all the cases then take off the safety primer and then continue reloading. Also be careful not push the press arm down to hard when pushing the primers into the case it can push the primers in to deep.
The auto powder measure also works ok, however make sure to measure the powder load because the auto powder measure is not always very accurate, and can be way off when using coarser type powders. The powder measure comes with a paper chart on which disk to use for most types of loads. The chart is not that accurate but is a good starting point for later adjustments to the powder loads.
As for the safety scale it works very well and if you are looking for extremely accurate powder loads I have found it best to use the scale rather than the auto powder measure, because the powder measure can range plus or minus .3 grains or so.
overall this seems to be a good press for the occasional reloader or beginner and for the price it cannot be beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Classic Turret Press Reloading Kit

Date:August 12, 2010
First Impression:
- I received delivery in three business days - great service!
- Setup took less than an hour although if I was an inexperienced reloader I would have found the directions somewhat challenging (this is my only improvement suggestion)
- I was productive loading rounds in minutes and using the second turrent I purchased, conversion from 9MM to .45 SCP was a matter of swapping the turret, changing the primer feed and set from small to large, swapping the powder feed and recalibrating the load, all done in around 5 minutes. As a first experience right out of the box, outstanding from my perspective.
Overall a great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oakley, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

If there was an option for 6 stars...

Date:June 21, 2010
I would give it 6 stars!! This is my first press and after having it a month and loading approximately 500 rifle rounds so far, I love it!! I collect and shoot quite a few 7.62X54r rifles and also a 1903 Springfield 30-06. I bought both sets of dies and jumped in with both feet. I admit it was a little overwhelming at first, but I got it all figured out. I took the rod out that advances the turret so I could do everything slowly and learn how each stage works, then last week I felt ready to try the progressive loading and loaded over 100 rounds with the 4 stage press and it was a breeze. The only part that is a little frustrating is the powder disk auto measure doesn't measure enough powder for most of my rifle loads, even after I bought the dual disk upgrade. I solved this by figuring out half of the needed charge and then pulling the handle twice, but I wouldn't recommend this when loading progressive, too many chances for mistakes. Luckily, if you choose the right powder for 7.62x54r you can just barely get it in one shot with the dual disk option, so that's what I load progressive. 100 rounds took about 75 minutes!!! I just shot a match yesterday and did way better than I ever did with the old corrosive surplus ammo.
Oh... also I broke a part on my press and called Lee, they sent the new part immediately with no problem. Great customer service!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cali
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Classic Turret Press Reloading Kit

Date:April 12, 2010
Very happy with press, great press for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Classic Turret Press Reloading Kit

Date:April 7, 2010
Very complete kit and an excellent product. I had been out of reloading for over thirty years and needed all new equipment. This is a great kit and very inexpensive. Have run about 300 pistol reloads so far and it works really well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great press, great kit...

Date:March 23, 2010
I am a Lee fan and this press is the best one yet. I used the Pro-1000 for several years and the regular turret press...both good, but the former was a pain to adjust and the latter kept fritzing up the auto-index. This press is built like a tank. The auto-index works like a charm and alignment is point-on each time you pull the lever. I'm loading 45-70 cases with the auto-index and it is great. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't really need a true progressive press. For the price, you can't beat it. And the kit includes most of what you need for fast production, including the scale to check the charges being thrown by the powder measure. The powder measure is really only for pistol cartridges, but I wish Lee would just go ahead and put their micrometer adjustable powder slide in as part of the powder measure kit, since it enables you to really throw whatever weight charge you want without getting stuck with whatever charges the regular slides give you with the selection of cavities you get... But the equipment functions very well and will last you forever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hawaii
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Classic Turret

Date:March 22, 2010
This is a good press. Simple and strong. I've been loading pistol calibers and will soon start loading for rifle. I think it'll do good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great press

Date:March 19, 2010
This is a great place to start reloading . If your loading for a pistol or your feeding a 223 semi auto . You can turn out enough ammo for an afternoons shooting in less than an hour. This press loads full length rifle cases with ease. To complete the kit you need to order the double disk kit if you are giong to load anything larger in powder capicity larger than a pistol , you will also need a case length trimmer and a deburring tool . Don't forget to order extra turrets for easy calibre changes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the money

Date:March 4, 2010
I'm loading .223, .308, and .40 S&W with it. I've had no real problems with it and find it very versatile. Even the scale (which is chincey) works fine. I just upgraded to a digital to make my life easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oHIo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Press

Date:January 30, 2010
I have reloaded for several years now and have used Lee products exclusively. I started out with the Challenger press, then to the Classic Cast, and graduated to the Classic Turret Press. I have since got rid of the Challenger, kept the Classic cast for resize and deprime operations in .223, and for small quanity (30-06) reloading.
I did lots of research on progressive and turret presses before making up my mind on the The Classic Turret Press. This product is just wonderful press, i don't know why I didn't start out with this model to begin with!!! I load .223 Remington, .38 spec, .357 magnum, and .45 ACP with ease and speed now. The Pro Auto Disk Measure is really nice and I did get the Double disk kit and am happy with how it works.
The only drawback on any Lee product is the lack of detail in their printed instructions. But Lee does stand behind their products, I have sent several of their decapping pins back to the factory and they send new ones at no charge. There is an abundance of helpful video on Youtube for the Classic Turret Press as well. And as always, Lee products are not going to put you in debt, and the quality is just as good, if not better than some of the "other" presses on the market. Plus these presses just look darn good next to my MEC shotgun reloaders as well!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Lee Classic Turret Press Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greenville, Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great reloading press at a great price.

Date:January 25, 2010
I wanted a turrent press so I could feel each stage required pressure/movement and not have to change dies for each operation. The Classic Turrent press gives me everything I wanted in a reloading press. The price of the press and the four hole turrent is a lot of quality at a very reasonable price. The powder measure has worked flawlessly and the indexing has been perfect. The priming devices are easy to load and operate and the spent primers are always collected in the plastic tube below the press. Lee has another winner with this press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 105